Kalkaska, MI 
Log Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: deBebbler Hole #18 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Thwack!

1    5/27/2016   5/31/2016
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 93  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Definitely a bit of line-choosing to be done here. Lots of tight, tight woods golf. Probably a con for beginners.
- Nice, brand-new looking baskets. No issues.
- Hand-carved signs at each tee with the basics. Distance and general drive-line.
- Navigation is generally not an issue - the next tees are mostly near the previous basket. There are a few "next tee" signs where needed.
- Generally not a lot of tall undergrowth to lose discs in.
- I liked the layout and design of a stretch of holes early - #6 through #9.
- Benches at quite a few of the tees. Some very new looking.
- Very clean and well-kempt course.
Cons: - Tee pads have seen better days. Especially on the front 9, many have spalled and are just places to stand, opposed to run up.
- Some holes don't seem to have great lines to get within the putting circle on the drive. There were a few that seemed like getting a 60 ft jump putt was about the best you could possibly, skillfully, achieve for a chance at birdie. #10 comes to mind, if I remember correctly.
- There is a small bit of elevation on this course, but it really only comes into play on a couple of holes.
- It's difficult to put into words, but there are stretches of holes that begin to feel repetitive or cyclical.
- With the amount of trees here, there were plenty of guarded baskets, but hardly any guarded tees, which probably aided my feeling on the previous observation.
- Really a short course in general. I did not find much need to throw more than a fairway driver ever on the course - and even so they were drivers I felt I could really control. Big arms will be brought back down to the rest of the field here.
Other Thoughts: - I enjoyed my round here, even though I scored horribly from hitting so many trees. Unfortunately, it was a mostly mid-range disc course for me, which just makes me feel like I didn't get to use my full repertoire.
- Something legitimate to consider, I suppose, is that this course is under snow for more of the year than not, I'd imagine, so I'll bet the local club gets more rounds in without leaves than with, which I'm sure makes a difference in how the course plays.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Do you like trees?

5+    6/27/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: rsr2
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is now under new management so the course is now getting a few positive changes.

Signs, the signs for each hole are now stumps and they are really neat. I like this new change because they are informative with the distance and also they look nice. There are also new paths so people don't get lost for a couple of the holes.

There are a couple new benches out on the course and they are really cool looking such as hole 3 and hole 7. They make it really nice because people in past destroy the benches for no reason and some of the holes during the fall season had destroyed bench pieces on the ground.

The park now has a garbage can at every hole and it also keeps the park clean which is really nice.

A lot of technical holes make it great. There are a lot of trees so there are some challenging holes which is fun to play.

There are also a couple holes that are really nice looking like scenic.
Cons: Everything is pretty flat. There are a couple holes with slight elevation but other than that.

A majority of the holes are under 300' so you don't have many shots that are distance.

This place can get packed on Sunday, Monday, and Wednesday so be prepared for a little wait.

There have been problems in the past of vandalism but it has changed a little. There were a couple benches vandalized since the opening but nothing really major happened yet. There are also a lot of tress that got vandalized too which makes things look pretty bad.

After hole #11 I felt it was getting a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played on and it was really fun.. It's a great course to start out on until you feel confident enough to play Hickory. But if anyone is out there, be prepared for hitting a tree because if you didn't hit one, there is a problem.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for Beginners

5+    12/19/2008   4/19/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Log Lake is a pretty course in the woods with only a couple of holes with wide open fairways. Short holes and few real consequences from bad shots make this course a beginner's dream (and a great place to train for more closed-in courses). A nice variety of necessary shots and interesting basket placement keeps things fun. Swampy mud/water in play on 2 holes (#6 and #9).

The putting practice basket located in a wooded copse in the parking lot is a definite bonus for warm-ups.
Cons: This is a really busy course and back-ups are common. Vandalism has robbed almost every tee of any type of hole identification. This, combined with at least 2 areas where the layout doubles back on itself and a couple of road crossings, can make navigation interesting.

*** UPDATE 4/8/10 ***
A crew has been through with the leaf blowers making nagivagation a breeze! All of the tee pads now have nice engraved 4x4 tee markers with hole number, distance and direction clearly shown. Thumbs up to the maintenance crew here!!!
Other Thoughts: In areas where navigation gets confusing, next tee numbers and arrows have been drawn on surrounding trees with Sharpies, so keep your eyes open to avoid skipping entire sections of the course. A course map and scorecards are now available in the "Links" tab as well - I highly suggest printing and taking the map for your first couple of rounds (I still get turned around at the 8/10/15 junction!).

The baseball field that the course circles around is a great place to practice distance throws, rollers, and other "trick" shots.

This is one of the best courses to play in the winter, as well. Several people keep the tee pads cleared and there's a guy who packs the fairways down with a snowmobile. Ribbons are needed to keep from losing discs during winter play, and snowshoes are handy for errant shots that end up in "the deep".

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Technically Woody

7/12/2008   7/12/2008
Review By: colombo117
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty course through the woods. Some elavation changes, with shots that have you throwing blind towards the basket. Pine trees tower over has discs fly below.
Cons: Land shared with campground, busy in the summer with people walking on the course. Not many long holes. Trash is a problem and so are large groups drinking while they play.
Other Thoughts: Tight holes through the trees will have you throwing with accurate precision. Ace opportunities abound. Most holes are 300 ft. and under

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center