Urbana, IL
Lohmann Park Share
Uploaded By: phish3460 Hole #4 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 203ft.   3 / 232ft.   3 / 283ft.   3 / 266ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/17/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is another perfect example of when I'm glad that they installed a course, but it's definitely not a good course.

The biggest and only pro I can think of is that this is a mediocre training facility for U of I students since it's pretty open and has baskets.
Cons: For starters, all the equipment is bad.

The tees are an awkward gravel/dirt mix where a clear throw line isn't marked. It's more like a zone.

The baskets and the signs are antiquated and need some updating.

As for the design, the land it's built on isn't fantastic, so the designer basically always tried use trees as pin guards. Where ever there's a tree or group of trees, you can safely assume there will be a basket there. The shots are all very repetitive (with 1-2 expections). 200 feet of open then 50 feet that are pseudo-guarded.
Other Thoughts: Here's what I don't understand, there were a ton of people playing disc golf while we were there and it wasn't even when U of I students were at school. It's very apparent that people want another course. It blows my mind that Normal-Bloomington has 3 public courses and Champaign-Urbana only has this.

If I lived in Urbana, I would definitely email the city and get another course installed. It's an absolute must. There's 40+ thousand college students that study in this town and not having a decent course is, in my mind, a disgrace.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nothing to write home about

1    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 89  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lohmann Park seems to be Champaign's only permanent course. It's located behind a school. For beginners, this place is fine to get basic throws down, but more experienced players or beginners should not bother going to this course. Here are some of Lohmann's positive features:

*Hole 8 was kind of nice... it forced a straight shot through a patch of trees. This patch of trees was not large enough to be present for any of the other holes on the course.

*Decent signage

*Not very busy... and the park is rather open so if you want to do some field work after or before your round you probably can.
Cons: Here they are:

*Teepads: Dirt. There's no distinct point about where the runup should start and stop. Poor footing on just about all of them.

*Distance: None of the holes exceed 250' with the majority of them being significantly shorter.

*Poor flow

*Parking: It looks like the course shares a parking lot with the school, so I'm assuming that parking here is near impossible on school days

Overall, there was really nothing exciting about this course. No notable scenery, challenges on the course, or anything like that.
Other Thoughts: I'm surprised there are not more courses in Urbana-Champaign. There are some serious improvements to be made on this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 All Urbana has, but still pitiful

5+    4/2/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: amryan11
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: open space for driving practice
usually not crowded with ample parking
unlikely to lose dics
signs are pretty good, although hole 9 has been missing its sign for years
Cons: very flat with few trees or obstacles except for hole 8
only 9 holes
baskets are mediocre and only have one layer of chains which aren't as effective as most
tees are just patches of dirt or gravel which are pretty bad when its wet
Other Thoughts: Honestly, this course is all Champaign-Urbana has amazingly, so you play what you have. That said, I'd choose almost any other course over this one. It's 9 very short holes with little challenge and just isn't that exciting. There's nothing particularly terrible about it, there's just a lot better out there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/28/2006   8/21/2010
Review By: gordonbombay
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a short beginner friendly course and easily navigated.
Helen Keller couldn't lose a disc on this course considering how open it is.
Alternate tee placements allow you to play up to 18.
Cons: Alt. tees don't create too much more of a demanding shot or variety.
Gravel tee pads are rutted and uneven.
Other Thoughts: The only place to play close to U of I and not too hard to find and get in a quick round or two.
The course seemed to have room to expand and make use of land features without encroaching on multi-use parts of the park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great First Course

5+    3/13/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good use of trees on a lot of holes. For instance, Hole 1 forces a left fading shot to go between the trees. Hole 8 is pretty wooded, and requires either a straight or lucky shot to get to the pin. Almost all holes (8/9) have trees in play.
- Minor elevation changes help a lot of holes. Hole 3 has a slight downhill slope, and hole 2 plays slightly uphill. Better than nothing.
- Usually drains pretty well, very rarely have I seen standing water anywhere. Holes with dirt near forest included, it somehow never gets unplayable due to mud.
Cons: - Yes, the course is very short. The alternate tees definitely help, but are poorly marked and are usually just picked at random. Rutted patches of dirt only go so far, for all sets of tees.
- Most holes are open enough where any shot will get it there. Probably only 2 or 3 holes that "require" a certain line to get there.
- Not very secluded. Apartments on one side, and new houses on another kind of kill the scenery. Sometimes kids want to play, or just get in the way, especially on holes 8 and 9.
Other Thoughts: This was my college course, so I have probably played it 100+ times. Tough to be subjective. I like to play it when I go visit as a confidence booster, using fairway drivers and slower. Could probably get 2's on every hole if I played a good round. Excellent, excellent course to learn on. A bit off the highway, so if you are driving through you might want to take the time to check it out, but it's not imperative.

I have played during school hours, I don't think they care if you are there. Have never had trouble parking there either.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short niner

1    8/9/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 335  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -makes good use of available land
-a couple wooded holes (7 and 8)
-one slight uphill shot and one slight downhill shot
-tee signs are informative
Cons: -Way short
-pea gravel tee pads extend 30 ft in front of tee signs (looks bad and encourages people to make short holes really short).
-Very little shot variety
-No facilities (no bathroom or water)
-Parking situation could get a little hairy when school is in session
-Old baskets with rusty chains
Other Thoughts: -Quick, short nine holer. But the only course in the Champaign Urbana area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.