Urbana, IL 
Lohmann Park Share
Uploaded By: phish3460 Hole #8 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / 321ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Review From A Local

5+    3/8/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: try122583
Played: 113  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 17.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Multiple tees give this small nine hole course some variety. Each hole has three tees as well as a couple of tees for playing backwards. The course plays short from the front tees, but alternate tees give you a chance to stretch out your arm a bit.
- Pretty clean and nice park.
- Looking for some birdies? Lohmann Park is the place for you!
- Pretty easy to follow if you're new to the course, at least when you're playing from the first tee.
Cons: - Parking - If you go to play during school hours (course located behind a middle school), you will have to park a nice distance away from hole 1. This leads to a long walk before and after your round. During non-school hours, parking is fine.
- Nature - Use to be some nice trees that forced you to find alternate routes to get to the basket. Over the last couple of years, the local park district has been cutting down trees that made some holes challenging. This has created a number of open shots for drives and putts (Holes 1, 2, 7 and 9 come to mind).
- If you are new to the course, locating the anything other than the first tee will be difficult, if not impossible. These others tees are not marked at all. Most are just dirt areas of ground and easy to find, while others are very tough to scout out.
- A little nit picky here, but some flood issues on some of the tees. Front tees are limestone, and those boxes have been dug quite a bit, which invites sitting water. Also some locations of alternate tees can be flooded at times after a good rain.
- It isn't just a disc golf park. They also play soccer, football, cricket, and I've even seen rugby there. During these respective seasons, these activities can get in the way of some holes and force you to play the course differently.
Other Thoughts: It isn't the greatest course in the world, but it's all we got in Champaign-Urbana, so we enjoy it. If you're from out of town and thinking about coming to Urbana to play, I would tell you to not bother. It wouldn't be worth your time. However, if you're a U of I college student looking for a place to play, Lohmann isn't that far away. Everyone out there is usually friendly, so say hi to your fellow golfers!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly boring

1    11/14/2010   12/7/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat open area next to a school. The grass is nicely maintained, and the course is pretty free of trash. There is good signage that shows hole number, distance and layout, and the course flow is really easy to follow.

A couple holes use a nice stand of pine trees to make some more interesting holes that force you to hit a line and have some level of punishment for errant shots. It seems like the locals have a couple alternate sets of tees, that's a big plus on a course like this though it would be nice to have them marked so a non-local player could follow them. I love seeing courses at schools, I hope the kids have the chance to use the course and be exposed to a course that's at a reasonable level for kids to enjoy playing.
Cons: For players who aren't new, this course doesn't really offer much challenge or variety. The couple holes in the pines are nice, but the rest of the course is flat and open with few obstacles to limit your line. There isn't any punishment for poor shots, even beginners will be able to get 3s on most holes.

The tees are rutted out and not in great shape, and have spread so it's not clear where the actual tee area is. Some of the baskets aren't in great shape, they're older and don't catch all that well. I didn't rate the course down for this, but parking might be difficult on school days, and I'm not sure if it's playable during the week.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course, where new players can be successful, but a couple holes require some basic shot shaping. It's a little long for elementary school kids, but not unreasonably so. More experienced players won't find much here to bring them back (unless the alternate tees make the course more challenging and interesting, if so, awesome!).

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/28/2006   8/21/2010
Review By: gordonbombay
Played: 51  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a short beginner friendly course and easily navigated.
Helen Keller couldn't lose a disc on this course considering how open it is.
Alternate tee placements allow you to play up to 18.
Cons: Alt. tees don't create too much more of a demanding shot or variety.
Gravel tee pads are rutted and uneven.
Other Thoughts: The only place to play close to U of I and not too hard to find and get in a quick round or two.
The course seemed to have room to expand and make use of land features without encroaching on multi-use parts of the park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  My Home Course

5+    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: LBlackburn
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easy to navigate, quick to play, and usually has little traffic. It is also clean.

The holes do have adequate variety and most holes have alternate possible lines of play. For example, hole 3 has several full trees in the middle of the fairway. You can play a big hyzer over the trees, a straight flat shot through the center of the trees, or a big left-to right shot around the trees. I've seen players do all three.

Not all holes favor RHBH throwers. A few of the holes prohibit or discourage such throws. Holes 7 and 8 are very nice partial or full tunnel shots (though short).

The lack of heavy traffic allows for some creative play: improvised or personal alternate tees, or playing the course backwards.

A good course if you're looking for some ace runs.
Cons: The tee pads (gravel/dirt) aren't great. They are all different shapes and sizes, and some are too large. The tee-pad on hole 1 is about 40 feet long. I recommend playing all holes from where the tee-sign is rather than all the way up to the front of the tee pad--this will add some needed distance.

Some of the baskets are getting old (though all are still functional).

The distances on the tee-signs are all wrong. I recommend subtracting10--15% from each distance reported (even when playing from the tee-signs).

The terrain is boring as are a couple of the holes: it is almost all flat (slight inclines on a couple of holes); no water or other significant hazards; only one patch of forested area used for one hole. Holes 4 and 9 are wide-open, with no obstacles except for a tree on 4 and a few on 9 that are right by the basket.

Hole 9 is missing a tee sign and gravel tee pad (play it from the obvious large dirt ruts).

There is no parking lot designed for the park. The only lot is the school lot (the course is behind an elementary school). This causes no problems on weekends, evenings, or in the summer. But when school is in session, you'll probably have to find street parking a block or two away from the course.

On some weekends (mornings/early afternoons) a cricket club uses a big chunk of the park. You can play around them, but their field encroaches a little bit on one or two of the fairways.

The signs have 2 or 3 tees marked per hole, but only one tee per hole is obvious. There are a couple of dirt patches in the grass marking some of the alternate tees, but in half the cases, no sign of alternate tees can be found anywhere.

There are no bathrooms or water available.

Other Thoughts: I find the course fun and challenging enough to keep playing it. But I'm only a 20 minute drive away. I wouldn't recommend making a special trip (and it's not immediately off a highway).

The short tees are easy (but it's still challenging to get all or nearly all birdies). I've gotten extra challenge and fun out of making up alternate tees (where none are available). This can significantly lengthen the course. I now have some 300+ foot holes to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great First Course

5+    3/13/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good use of trees on a lot of holes. For instance, Hole 1 forces a left fading shot to go between the trees. Hole 8 is pretty wooded, and requires either a straight or lucky shot to get to the pin. Almost all holes (8/9) have trees in play.
- Minor elevation changes help a lot of holes. Hole 3 has a slight downhill slope, and hole 2 plays slightly uphill. Better than nothing.
- Usually drains pretty well, very rarely have I seen standing water anywhere. Holes with dirt near forest included, it somehow never gets unplayable due to mud.
Cons: - Yes, the course is very short. The alternate tees definitely help, but are poorly marked and are usually just picked at random. Rutted patches of dirt only go so far, for all sets of tees.
- Most holes are open enough where any shot will get it there. Probably only 2 or 3 holes that "require" a certain line to get there.
- Not very secluded. Apartments on one side, and new houses on another kind of kill the scenery. Sometimes kids want to play, or just get in the way, especially on holes 8 and 9.
Other Thoughts: This was my college course, so I have probably played it 100+ times. Tough to be subjective. I like to play it when I go visit as a confidence booster, using fairway drivers and slower. Could probably get 2's on every hole if I played a good round. Excellent, excellent course to learn on. A bit off the highway, so if you are driving through you might want to take the time to check it out, but it's not imperative.

I have played during school hours, I don't think they care if you are there. Have never had trouble parking there either.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 College Course

5+    12/15/2006   12/10/2009
Review By: goalkeeper19
Played: 133  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short beginner course, great for learning your upshot game. There are hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots, ceiling shots, and a tunnel shot. Several alternate teeboxes provide a little more length and challenge to an easy course. The homie backwards tees are more challenging, and add a few different twists to the course design.
Cons: Short, flat, and very easy. From the short tees, -4 or -5 is not hard to do at all. Many trees have been cut down around holes 1 and 2, which takes away some of the beauty of the course, and a little bit of the challenge.

Gravel teepads are unprofessionally installed, and look it. They are twice as big as they need to be.

Watch out for the kids in the neighborhood, they sometimes come out and pick up your discs on holes 8 and 9.
Other Thoughts: I was a student at U of I, so this was my "home" course for 6 years. I'm definitely grateful for those 6 years, as the course really improved my upshot game, and made me very comfortable with 200-250' shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but Could be Better

5+    9/19/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: Jax11
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lohmann Park plays around a small park located near an elementary school. Lohmann has numerous mature trees that will deflect throws off their line adding difficulty to the rather short course. All tee pads except hole #9 have nice signage with distances and pars posted. Hole #8 though only 200ft is a nice little tunnel shot to test accuracy. The park is kept clean and tidy. As already stated, most obstacles are mature trees which makes it very hard to lose a disc at this course. Lohmann has two great sets of alternate tees. A set of longer tees along the marked course and a set of backward tees that really spice up the course. The backwards tees have a variety of short technical holes along with a couple long bombs.
Cons: The teepads are gravel and do not have clear cut endpoints which can encourage foot faults. The marked course is rather short and repetitive. I believe there is too much wasted terrain. Though the backwards tees are a great way to play the course, they are hard to find if you do not know what to look for. Additionally, when the park gets crowded with disc golfers the backwards tees are hard to play quickly. Lohmann is also a multi-purpose park with an open field where cricket and football are often played.
Other Thoughts: As a student at the University of Illinois this is the best we have. Every time I play this course I play it forwards and then backwards for a relatively interesting 18 hole course. Learning the backwards tees will significantly improve your experience on this course. Either try to contact someone who knows them or look for the blue brackets painted on the ground. I feel this course would be far better if the backwards alternate tees were changed to the main marked course. As far as tee pads go, the Reds are marked, the white and blue I have never played and the backwards my group marks with orange spray paint when we can.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A practice course.

5+    9/15/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: uigrad
Played: 34  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 27 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only upside to this course is that it is the only one in the area. For this reason, I've played it more than 100 times (Some summers, I've played twice a week, and usually through 2x or 3x on each visit.)

The other good thing I can say about it is that you cannot lose your disc here. There were several ugly areas that have been fixed, because when it was first set up, you had to worry about losing discs in the cornfield (hole 3) or in the 7 foot weeds (hole 4).

There are 2 sets of alternate tees, and a map for playing the course backwards. These would would really be nice, if only they were better marked.

Can be played in 20 minutes.

Hole 8 plays through a grove of trees, which makes for an interesting hole. I'd call this the signature hole for the course.

Some students in the area have been doing what they can to make this a better course recently (2011). As examples of what they've done, a replacement sign for #9 has been added, wood chips have been put down, and concrete markers are being planned for some of the alternate tees.
Cons: There are a few standard problems that you may expect with any park-district built course:

1) Lack of elevation changes. This shouldn't be too surprising. We're in Illinois. :(

2) Lack of interesting features. It feels like you are walking around a 7-segment display. Nearly the whole course can be seen from the first tee.

3) Lack of medium or long range holes. Once again, this is probably to be expected for a 9-hole course run by a park district.

Sometimes park district courses can be nice, but the following concerns have made me rate it lower than a standard park-district run course:

4) Lack of parking. The normal parking area is often blocked off during school days, and you have to park in the elementary school's lot.

5) Lack of maintenance. The tees are still dirt and there is no foul line for throwing. Replacing the sign for #9 took 8 years, and many of the signs are dirty.

6)Inconvenient location: It's far from campus, and far from interstate.

7) Lack of right doglegs. Hole 2 is really the only one.

8) Crowded. Holes 3 and 4 are often unplayable because of soccer, and hole 9 is often unplayable because of either cricket or park district football practice.

Even if the park isn't being used for other sports, the course can be crowded just from disc golf players. This is the primary course for U of I students, and players from C-U, Mahomet, and Rantoul, so it gets a lot of use. Most days, playing the back 9 (reverse tees) is impossible just because of the number of other players.
Other Thoughts: Since CU is a college town, there is a lot of demand for a good course. This seems like it would be a nice secondary course for a town this size, but much too small to be the primary.

As of 2011, there is a group of students that run tournaments on Mondays and Fridays. The facebook page found in the links section is the place to get more information.

The course fills the role of a driving range. It's not designed for competitive play, and it's not designed for people new to the sport. It pretty much functions only as a practice location for people that are already interested in the sport.

The city of Champaign has made a plan for a new 18-hole course on 150 west of Champaign, but they say it is at least 8 years away (stated in 2008)! I think that the park districts here do not understand the popularity of this sport.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Only course in town

2-4    8/29/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: phish3460
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice little course in Urbana, Illinois, several miles east of the University's campus. The course seems to be in a pretty good area of town and I felt safe at all times. First and foremost, I had fun when I played this course. There are signs on most holes 8/9, and for the most part, are pretty detailed -- listing the distances, par, and alternate tee pads. I had no problem parking in the lot, but I was there on a weekend. Although this course was short, it is still decently demanding. Playing the primary tee pads is definitely the easiest of the routes you can take, and low scores are definitely possibly, with the longest hole being only about 280-290 feet. That being said, trees come into play on nearly every single hole, some much more than others (tunnel shot on #8), so there's always the potential that a shot just a little offline gets trejected. For people with a little bit more experience, this course is great for working on midrange fairly shots, since there are no concrete teepads and nothing in excess of 300 ft. If you play the alternates, which are much longer, and often times much more difficult due to the trees, the course is actually very enjoyable and nowhere near as easy. I liked the variety of shots that each hole allowed me to throw. It was nice to go to the teepad and have the option of going straight, hyzer, anhyzer, spike hyzer, etc., on a good portion of the holes. It's a very fun way to work on that all important short game.
Cons: The fact that there are only 9 baskets limits this course quite a bit. Without going into the school (frowned upon, I'm sure), there are no public restrooms or water fountains. There is a gas station just one stoplight west on Florida Ave. (along with a ton of fastfood). There are no ceiling limits with exception to maybe holes 7 and 8. If there was an elevation change, I couldn't find it, with exception to maybe 2 and 3. The gravel pads are okay, but are exceedingly long and at times uneven. It was sometimes difficult to find a place I felt would have sure footing for my toss. I can't say that I agreed 100% with the distances listed on the signage, so just be aware of that and use your judgment. Parking probably won't ever become an issue because the lot is fairly big, but just be mindful of the fact the parking lot of the park is shared with a parking lot for the elementary school adjacent to it. There is the possibility for street parking on Florida Ave if need be. The park serves multiple purposes -- which is awesome -- but because of the limited space, there is the possibility to have holes taken up by other activities (e.g., Rugby on Saturday afternoons). Suggestions: Concrete tee pads would be nice. Concrete tee pads for the alternate tees would be fantastic. Some of the baskets are getting a little old and are a little shallow compared to the newer Machs. Having the holes remeasured wouldn't be a terrible idea (unless I'm absolutely bonkers -- possible). I think there might the possibility of having someone with a keen sesne of space come out and redesign a good portion of the course, lengthen it and add more baskets. I really think they could get more out of the space they have allotted for the course without compromising the integrity of the park.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fun course to play. I just cannot in good conscience give it more than a 2 because of all the things that need work (and the lack of 9 extra baskets). It is however, a good 3.5 - 4/5 on the fun scale, if such a lunacy exists.There's supposedly chatter of putting in a new course somewhere in Champaign. There was a sign mentioning something about a league, if there was interest, but no actually designated time posted that I saw.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short niner

1    8/9/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 419  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -makes good use of available land
-a couple wooded holes (7 and 8)
-one slight uphill shot and one slight downhill shot
-tee signs are informative
Cons: -Way short
-pea gravel tee pads extend 30 ft in front of tee signs (looks bad and encourages people to make short holes really short).
-Very little shot variety
-No facilities (no bathroom or water)
-Parking situation could get a little hairy when school is in session
-Old baskets with rusty chains
Other Thoughts: -Quick, short nine holer. But the only course in the Champaign Urbana area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.