Urbana, IL 
Lohmann Park Share
Uploaded By: phish3460 Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 192ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Not at all bad for beginners and families!

1    8/28/2015   9/3/2015
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 210  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lohmann Park sits directly behind Thomas Paine elementary school. It's a flat grassy expanse, one half mostly open with a few scattered trees and another section that is a bit more heavily "treed" without ever approaching "wooded." No schule or undergrowth makes finding discs super easy. This is a stellar example of above average course design catering specifically to school children and/or beginners. Great layout for families!
- First of all, this course is pretty short. Experienced discers will be tossing ace runs on most baskets and playing deuce-or-die golf. That said, there's still enough line shaping (#'s 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, and 9) all require some sort of good golf shot around trees in order to be close enough for the "gimme" birdie. The lack of long holes makes this layout ideal for younger players, people new to the game, and families. Bad shots can be recovered from for easy pars in most cases, but could lead to the occasional bogey.
- Outstanding use of the trees. Almost all the holes have some sort of tree or tree grouping to force the shot one way or another. #1 starts this off, #3 requires either a low-clearance shot under the branches or an up-and-over shot (spike hyzer/tomahawk/thumber), #8 is a tunnel shot (very cool for this sort of course) and #9 has a protected green. All above average for this sort of park style 9er.
- Rubber tees were easy to find and totally serviceable. The red markers were difficult to find (I started finding them, despite looking, on hole #5 and could only locate two or three altogether). The supposed whites and "singles layouts" were nowhere to be seen. The course was immaculately groomed. Grass neatly mown, signage in place and serviceable, mulched areas under baskets, trashcans, benches, and portajohn (located by #6's tee).
Cons: - None, really. I guess the flatness of the property kinda stinks, but not much they could do about that.
Other Thoughts: - Not a world beater, by any stretch of the imagination; however, it's easily fun enough for experienced discers to play a round or two here and not get bored or entirely complacent while remaining accessible enough for beginners and families.
- If you're looking to find a good template for what a beginner 9er on less than stellar land should look like, you'd do well to at least check this course out. I've seen waaay more crappy 9ers than I have good, so props where props are due!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring, and a bit painful

1    6/21/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 84  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 15.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Mostly dedicated area to disc golf. There is a cricket field by a few holes, however.
- Great for beginners.
- Decent signage.
- Multiple tees for each hole, evidenced by the map here on DGCR. Occasionally a painted stone marker here and there. Obviously lots of safari-type course layouts to keep things interesting.
- #8, is a nice technical wooded hole. All suggested tees have a different line through the stand of trees.
Cons: - Dirt tee pads. Mud the day I went, 2 days after a rain. Really no indication of where the throw line actually should be. I mostly just threw from the grass to the side, where I thought there was the more difficult shot.
- Not a ton of variety or elevation. Variety is mostly just in the amount and placement of trees in the way.
- Just, pretty boring. Chances to throw some specific shots here, but not much.
- No amenities at the park, or nearby.
Other Thoughts: - Glad it's here, so this large populace has some place to play. Just unfortunate that this is all they have.
- Also, it's kind of hard to write a long, extensive review on this course, no matter how hard I try to come up with stuff. Nothing outstanding about the course, but for what it is, nothing absolutely terrible.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/17/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 127  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is another perfect example of when I'm glad that they installed a course, but it's definitely not a good course.

The biggest and only pro I can think of is that this is a mediocre training facility for U of I students since it's pretty open and has baskets.
Cons: For starters, all the equipment is bad.

The tees are an awkward gravel/dirt mix where a clear throw line isn't marked. It's more like a zone.

The baskets and the signs are antiquated and need some updating.

As for the design, the land it's built on isn't fantastic, so the designer basically always tried use trees as pin guards. Where ever there's a tree or group of trees, you can safely assume there will be a basket there. The shots are all very repetitive (with 1-2 expections). 200 feet of open then 50 feet that are pseudo-guarded.
Other Thoughts: Here's what I don't understand, there were a ton of people playing disc golf while we were there and it wasn't even when U of I students were at school. It's very apparent that people want another course. It blows my mind that Normal-Bloomington has 3 public courses and Champaign-Urbana only has this.

If I lived in Urbana, I would definitely email the city and get another course installed. It's an absolute must. There's 40+ thousand college students that study in this town and not having a decent course is, in my mind, a disgrace.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a Casual Game

1    8/3/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: Smileyaili17
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: --Nice and easy course for a casual game
--Good for a quick game
--Excellent tee signs (some wear and rust on some of them but mostly they are great)
--Nice setting too.
Cons: --No tee pads, just sand patches
--Baskets are sub-par
--Challenge is lacking
--Located behind an elementary school
--All holes are under 300 ft (They could have easily made longer holes with the available land)
--Par is too generous at 32 (I only saw one tee per hole, so I'm not sure if there are 4 different tees with different pars as the hole info says), it should be 27 instead.
Other Thoughts: Good course for a casual game. Nothing about it makes it a great course, it's just a decent course for a not-too-difficult casual game.

Grading Criteria:

Landscape quality

Baskets, Tees and Hole Diagrams

Variety in hole distances

Variety in hole types
(field/wooded holes; hilly/level holes; etc)


Course flow

Outside interference
(pedestrians; traffic noise distractions; etc)

Fun factor

Use of Available Land

Total: 2.5/5 (actual score: 2.2/5)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing to write home about

1    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 110  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lohmann Park seems to be Champaign's only permanent course. It's located behind a school. For beginners, this place is fine to get basic throws down, but more experienced players or beginners should not bother going to this course. Here are some of Lohmann's positive features:

*Hole 8 was kind of nice... it forced a straight shot through a patch of trees. This patch of trees was not large enough to be present for any of the other holes on the course.

*Decent signage

*Not very busy... and the park is rather open so if you want to do some field work after or before your round you probably can.
Cons: Here they are:

*Teepads: Dirt. There's no distinct point about where the runup should start and stop. Poor footing on just about all of them.

*Distance: None of the holes exceed 250' with the majority of them being significantly shorter.

*Poor flow

*Parking: It looks like the course shares a parking lot with the school, so I'm assuming that parking here is near impossible on school days

Overall, there was really nothing exciting about this course. No notable scenery, challenges on the course, or anything like that.
Other Thoughts: I'm surprised there are not more courses in Urbana-Champaign. There are some serious improvements to be made on this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    5/11/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: DaveW
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Huge Park. Multiple tees at each hole. Lots of other players there. Some holes have trees, low hanging branches that can make maneuvering to basket a challange for beginners, but adds some good variety.
Cons: Tee boxes are not well maintained. Hard to find the orange tees, usually below the grass line.
Other Thoughts: This is the second course I have played. Just getting my legs in the game, and it presented some good control challenges for me, trying to get through the trees on some holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New Player

2-4    6/26/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: Redleg
Played: 47  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open for most shots, some trees to make play interesting. Easy to spot both tees and baskets.
Cons: Rather short course. Not a lot of difference from one hole to the next for most. kinda short on parking if anything is happening at the school.
Other Thoughts: Great place to learn the sport. Easy to play with kids! Champaign/Urbana NEEDS more courses!!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 All Urbana has, but still pitiful

5+    4/2/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: amryan11
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: open space for driving practice
usually not crowded with ample parking
unlikely to lose dics
signs are pretty good, although hole 9 has been missing its sign for years
Cons: very flat with few trees or obstacles except for hole 8
only 9 holes
baskets are mediocre and only have one layer of chains which aren't as effective as most
tees are just patches of dirt or gravel which are pretty bad when its wet
Other Thoughts: Honestly, this course is all Champaign-Urbana has amazingly, so you play what you have. That said, I'd choose almost any other course over this one. It's 9 very short holes with little challenge and just isn't that exciting. There's nothing particularly terrible about it, there's just a lot better out there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Review From A Local

5+    3/8/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: try122583
Played: 107  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 16.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Multiple tees give this small nine hole course some variety. Each hole has three tees as well as a couple of tees for playing backwards. The course plays short from the front tees, but alternate tees give you a chance to stretch out your arm a bit.
- Pretty clean and nice park.
- Looking for some birdies? Lohmann Park is the place for you!
- Pretty easy to follow if you're new to the course, at least when you're playing from the first tee.
Cons: - Parking - If you go to play during school hours (course located behind a middle school), you will have to park a nice distance away from hole 1. This leads to a long walk before and after your round. During non-school hours, parking is fine.
- Nature - Use to be some nice trees that forced you to find alternate routes to get to the basket. Over the last couple of years, the local park district has been cutting down trees that made some holes challenging. This has created a number of open shots for drives and putts (Holes 1, 2, 7 and 9 come to mind).
- If you are new to the course, locating the anything other than the first tee will be difficult, if not impossible. These others tees are not marked at all. Most are just dirt areas of ground and easy to find, while others are very tough to scout out.
- A little nit picky here, but some flood issues on some of the tees. Front tees are limestone, and those boxes have been dug quite a bit, which invites sitting water. Also some locations of alternate tees can be flooded at times after a good rain.
- It isn't just a disc golf park. They also play soccer, football, cricket, and I've even seen rugby there. During these respective seasons, these activities can get in the way of some holes and force you to play the course differently.
Other Thoughts: It isn't the greatest course in the world, but it's all we got in Champaign-Urbana, so we enjoy it. If you're from out of town and thinking about coming to Urbana to play, I would tell you to not bother. It wouldn't be worth your time. However, if you're a U of I college student looking for a place to play, Lohmann isn't that far away. Everyone out there is usually friendly, so say hi to your fellow golfers!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly boring

1    11/14/2010   12/7/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat open area next to a school. The grass is nicely maintained, and the course is pretty free of trash. There is good signage that shows hole number, distance and layout, and the course flow is really easy to follow.

A couple holes use a nice stand of pine trees to make some more interesting holes that force you to hit a line and have some level of punishment for errant shots. It seems like the locals have a couple alternate sets of tees, that's a big plus on a course like this though it would be nice to have them marked so a non-local player could follow them. I love seeing courses at schools, I hope the kids have the chance to use the course and be exposed to a course that's at a reasonable level for kids to enjoy playing.
Cons: For players who aren't new, this course doesn't really offer much challenge or variety. The couple holes in the pines are nice, but the rest of the course is flat and open with few obstacles to limit your line. There isn't any punishment for poor shots, even beginners will be able to get 3s on most holes.

The tees are rutted out and not in great shape, and have spread so it's not clear where the actual tee area is. Some of the baskets aren't in great shape, they're older and don't catch all that well. I didn't rate the course down for this, but parking might be difficult on school days, and I'm not sure if it's playable during the week.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course, where new players can be successful, but a couple holes require some basic shot shaping. It's a little long for elementary school kids, but not unreasonably so. More experienced players won't find much here to bring them back (unless the alternate tees make the course more challenging and interesting, if so, awesome!).

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.