Auburn, PA 
Long Trout Winery Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #9 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
What a duet.

5+    11/3/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: TMF2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Loved the tee signs. Really liked most of the holes. A great mix of challenges. 17 is a blast. Like 18 as a finishing hole. Birdie chance with water to bring some danger. Flows well. Fun rounds!
Cons: Footing can be an issue. Limited hours. A couple of slick tees. The new number 9 is a really bad idea. Bad tee, right behind 8 basket. Bad flow. Bad pin right off #1 fairway. Be better and safer to play from the old tee.
Other Thoughts: This heavily wooded course will make you play all sorts of shots. You have to make some precise throws, however, if you miss the lane, sometimes you can dig yourself out.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Near the top of my list.

5+    1/15/2013   11/20/2011
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2013
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Descriptive tee signs and all the tees line up nicely with the fairways. Arrows point you to the next tee.

Uphills, downhills, L to R, R to L...you will have to play a lot of your shots and probably improvise a few along the way.

As others noted, creative basket locations and hole design.

A course that is very narrow, but there is usually a way to get out in the fairway. Fun design, it will challenge just about anyone, but won't discourage new players too much.

Cons: A few of the holes need more definition. Losing just a few trees would create needed flight paths without changing the nature of the course.


It is rocky, but as anyone who hikes in this area knows, this is just the nature of the beast along this stretch of the Appalachians.
Other Thoughts: I am not a big fan of mandos. IMHO they often
seem a simple way to avoid good course design, but the mando to the hanging basket on 17 is an exception.

Well worth the drive!


5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Challenging yet fun

5+    7/6/2014   10/8/2011
Review By: big cat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2014
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation throughout the course.

The number of trees make shot shaping a major requirement for this course.

Hole #17 has a hanging basket which is coupled with a mando to make one of the most unique holes I have come across.

Challenges await almost every hole (trees and water hazards)

Great signage to help direct new players.
Cons: This course is densely wooded and is not great for beginners.

The elevation changes can be difficult for casual disc golfer.


Other Thoughts: It is a nice course with a friendly atmosphere. The elevation combined with dense trees make this course a challenging one. If your up for a nice hike, some scenic views, and some challenging disc golf, Long Trout is the course for you.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great fun course but challenge

1    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: brian lee
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The woods and I mean woods well really help people learn to control their throws and how to navigate through tight areas. The baskets are all marked well and so are the signs leading u to the next tee...
Cons: The woods is also a con as far as for beginners it could be discouraging and u could really tear up some plastic. Be warned if you throw wild u well bear up ur plastic.. the first couple of baskets are around a lot of large rocks so if u miss and u well ur disc may get beat up....
Other Thoughts: Its a must go to course.. I plan on going back as many times as I can ... and I also an on tasting some of their wine....

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  pleasant day

5+    6/20/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: doogie76
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: i am a newcomer when it comes to disc golf this is the only course i have played so maybe my review isnt really fair as i have nothing to compare it to.This course is alot of fun its heavily wooded which makes scorin low challenging.I bounce off of alot of trees
but its a fun day my friends and i have a great time here everyone i met here was very cool if id see someone do things differently id ask about their "style" and they've all been real cool and explained things to me the people here are just cool the owners are awesome people and the wine is good and inexpensive.youll need every shot "in your bag" to score well here the fairways are tight and the terrain is rough (i wore flip-flops my first time ouch) the length of the holes vary from mid 100s to 300 plus which is nice the short holes go uphill so they play a little longer than posted but with the trees i dont really see too many people drivin the baskets anyway hole 17 is cool with the barn and hangin basket this is the only hole youre gonna let it fly on (the barn will stop a long shot) but watch out for the mando. I think the "dead dogs" did a great job here they made great use of the elevation and terrain hole 9 comes through the woods then opens up to a pond with giant koi in it runnin along the left side of the fairway. i love playing here its a tough couse maybe i couldve started at an easier course for my first time but im sure this place will make me score better at a more open course
Cons: -lots of trees with very tight fairways
-paths get very rocky
-some high growth makes your dics hard to find here and there
-ive slipped in the gravel tee boxes
Other Thoughts: overall i absolutley love playin here it opened my eyes to disc golfing its a hard course for anybody let alone a beginner i hit alot of trees but my friends and i have a great time here and thats whats important we laugh alot and enjoy the round. the winery is only open wenesday during the week from 6-9 i believe but you can still go out anytime we run into the owners during the week sometimes and they are really cool to talk to.
So overall this course made me love the sport and to those of you who cmplain about the trees if you want a wide open course hidden valley isnt far away buy some clubs and go there we have a blast here and thats the whole point is having fun and unless youre anal (like the neighbors) you will so in my book we all win
So far eveyone i met at Long Trout Winery seems very laid back and pleasant other players even came over to help look for my disc then we bs'd awhile.I think society as a whole could learn alot from this place i feel fortunate to be able to exprience this place

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch atmosphere

2-4    4/11/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: Grundleking
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very technical course with great signage and variety.. Free wine tasting before you tee off the owner's back porch.. great environment to play in, probably the most relaxed I've been playing dg.. nice baskets and course seems to be pretty well maintained
Cons: TONS of trees.. small tee boxes and the neighbors suck
Other Thoughts: the hanging basket on hole #17 has a surprise if you play with the "locals".. the owners can open the upstairs of the barn to play an additional basket that is hanging in the upstairs loft

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.