Auburn, PA 
Long Trout Winery Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #11 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun, but no destination course

1    11/22/2014   11/22/2014
Review By: adlacro
Played: 67  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with baskets that are older, but still in decent shape. The course runs mostly uphill and downhill with lots of trees and a few water holes. Most of the holes are short, but require good accuracy. Of course, I must mention 17. 17 is the classic hanging basket in the barn, and it is elevated for tournaments, but otherwise a fun play with the mando in between the trees.
Cons: The teepads are a mix of wooden planks that don't allow for either a ful run-up or a step out of the box unless you want to risk your life. Some of the baskets look like they run really close together, so take care if others are nearby. No real open holes and the walk back to your vehicle is all uphill. Ground is very rocky and if it is wet, it can be really slippery.
Other Thoughts: I was pleased to finally play this course after living not too far away, but I left rather desiring to stick to some other area courses. This is not to say that it shouldn't be played, because there are some fun shots here, but rather it is not worth going out of the way for.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

What a duet.

5+    11/3/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: TMF2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Loved the tee signs. Really liked most of the holes. A great mix of challenges. 17 is a blast. Like 18 as a finishing hole. Birdie chance with water to bring some danger. Flows well. Fun rounds!
Cons: Footing can be an issue. Limited hours. A couple of slick tees. The new number 9 is a really bad idea. Bad tee, right behind 8 basket. Bad flow. Bad pin right off #1 fairway. Be better and safer to play from the old tee.
Other Thoughts: This heavily wooded course will make you play all sorts of shots. You have to make some precise throws, however, if you miss the lane, sometimes you can dig yourself out.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Welcome to the jungle.

5+    6/19/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: jbetz45453
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is located at a winery which is kind of neat. The hanging basket on 17 is pretty cool. If you play here a lot you will get good at making shots around trees. You will be in the shade most of your round.
Cons: Most of the course is in the woods which can really affect your game as you just let your drive fly and hope it makes it through the trees. Limited hours of operation. Sneakers or hiking shoes are a must as it is very hilly and rocky at some places. Hole #10 borders some neighbors land with a fence and if your disc goes over it is lost.
Other Thoughts: Nice course which I will probably play when it is open as it is closest to my house. Most of the holes are pretty short but that does not mean it is easy as you have to navigate around all those trees. Pond in play on 2 holes so bring some floater discs.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Quick play

2-4    5/19/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: jcarvin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was told by the owner that I could play anytime unless it was dark which goes against other comments I've read on limited hours. I've been back a number of times on different days and times and I've never had a problem or had anyone chase me off.

It's great exercise walking up the down the hills and I'm usually tired when I'm finished. I guess this could be a con for some people but I see it as a plus.

It challenging because there are a lot of trees to go around. Sometimes you rely of luck as much as skill to get your disc far on certain holes. While your discs may get beat up a bit, your accuracy will definitely (eventually) improve by playing here.

On sunny days you get to play almost entirely in the shade. That's a big plus for those of us with fair skin. The trees are also nice protection on an overcast day when some slight rain could come into play as you'll be well covered.

The hanging basket is nice alternative to mix it up.

95% shaded which is nice on very sunny and even slightly rainy days.

There's a winery...a nice way to end your game.
Cons: The trees....holy crap are there a lot of then. You can always tell if there's someone else on the course somewhere by the familiar "thunk" of someone's disc being eaten by a tree somewhere. Sometimes you just want a nice long green field to throw over and there are none here.

The first time I visited, the pond was a weird blue color which I guess is contain water weeds or algea but I put a disc in there and it was gone with zero chance of finding it. Since then it's a regular murky pond color put it's deep so use a floating disc if you're not very accurate.

The baskets aren't marked with a number so sometimes I had a hard time figuring out to which basket I should be throwing (though I figured it out). After playing the course a few times this isn't a problem however the baskets have very little, if any, color on them to locate them from the tee. It can be tough seeing them against the dull brown/grey forest in the dim light, especially on an overcast day.

#9 basket...if you don't get out of the woods quickly then the pond becomes an issue as I find myself having to lay up to avoid sending my discs swimming. I've had some of my worst scores on #9.

I guess I'll mention the hills here too, they can be tough if you show up to the course already tired or out of shape. And once you're finished with #18 you get the nice long climb up the stairs to get back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really like the course but it is challenging with so many trees. You will improve your accuracy playing here so that's a great thing but until then you'll be challenged to throw well with the right disc. I find that I can bring a small bag here since I don't need anything that travels too long distance. I can comfortably get away with just one putter, three mid-range (1 floating), and two fairways (1 floating).

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 venatus quod vinum

1    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Even w/o a map, a cinch to navigate, having a fairly natural flow with short/obvious walks to the next tee, and with an arrow at each basket also pointing you in the proper direction.

Hand-painted teesigns provide a very nice touch, in keeping with the character of the site
Cons:
Single tee/basket position.

Limited hours of access - check their webpage before making the trek.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays up, down, and across a thickly-wooded, moderately-steep slope, and small bits of open space, behind/below the very funky (check out the bathroom in the wine-tasting area) buildings forming the Long Trout Winery. Hard-soled shoes are advised, as the ground has very thin soil, so there is lots of gray stone to tread upon, and tree roots as well. The ferns growing in scattered places beneath the thick canopy add to the ambiance.

A good mixture of right/lefts/straights will be needed off the tee, but errant shots aren't punished too severely, as the trees, though plentiful, are scattered - some type of reasonable recovery shot will typically be available. Initial/mid flightpaths tend to be fair, with an optimum window to hit, but a few of the holes, typically nearing the basket, tend to have a shotgun-spray of trees, making the luck-v-skill ratio a bit high. While not a course for bombers, it plays longer than the average ~250' length, as the required turns and up-slope shots increase distances.

Course consists of two nine-hole loops. The first loop starts beneath the back corner of a building, and proceeds in roughly a clockwise fashion, with basket nine at the far end of the ornamental pond. From basket nine, you walk along the backside of the pond to find tee-10, and the latter half of the course plays in a counterclockwise fashion. This has the effect of fairways 7-9 roughly paralleling fairways 15-18.

Tees are mixed - some are ground-level frames containing rough gravel, others, are raised, wooden platforms. Teesigns are good, although they sometimes tend to exaggerate the amount of turn needed. Baskets are single-chained, but with deep baskets. Can be hard to see from the tee at times, as the flags placed upon the top of them are a bit faded,

Hole-17 is fun - two large hardwoods, and the split-rail fence in front of them, form a challenging-but-fair mando about 100' from the tee. The basket is about another 100', hanging down from the eaves of the entrance to a faux barn.

Hole-9 potentially brings the small pond into play (rake provided). A safer-but-less-direct route from the tee is to throw towards a small early gap to the right.

One of the more unique sites I've visited to play a course, and I'm glad I made a bit of a detour to play it.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Wine and Disc Golf? sign me up!

5+    5/20/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ITS A WINERY AND A DISC GOLF COURSE. very challenging. standing on the first teepad, look around. you will be batting the hills, and dealing with that pond in the coming round. ENJOY IT. and if the first 9 upset you, drink a bottle of wine before you tackle the back 9. the barn basket is legend and an ace-run. great use of terrain, L-R, R-L, uphill, downhill...etc. very creative teesigns
Cons: Dont expect to have clean run-ups. the gravel tees are uneven, and awkward. some tees have wooden platforms, but usually throw downhill, where a run-up isnt required. safety is a large concern. hole 9 especially. you are in the flightpath for hole 8. there are a few fairways that are damn-near shared. there are quite a few trees that can certainly come out, as you will not find a "fairway" on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: i cant stop coming back t this place. wine and disc golf. this is a great winery, and a VERY challenging and enjoyable disc golf course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Near the top of my list.

5+    1/15/2013   11/20/2011
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2013
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Descriptive tee signs and all the tees line up nicely with the fairways. Arrows point you to the next tee.

Uphills, downhills, L to R, R to L...you will have to play a lot of your shots and probably improvise a few along the way.

As others noted, creative basket locations and hole design.

A course that is very narrow, but there is usually a way to get out in the fairway. Fun design, it will challenge just about anyone, but won't discourage new players too much.

Cons: A few of the holes need more definition. Losing just a few trees would create needed flight paths without changing the nature of the course.


It is rocky, but as anyone who hikes in this area knows, this is just the nature of the beast along this stretch of the Appalachians.
Other Thoughts: I am not a big fan of mandos. IMHO they often
seem a simple way to avoid good course design, but the mando to the hanging basket on 17 is an exception.

Well worth the drive!


5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Huge Dead Koi Fish

5+    10/16/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: Justin Stoner
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Hole 17's hanging basket is pretty awesome. This course can challenge your hyzers and anhyzers.
Cons: Almost every hole on this course is tight and heavily wooded. I was also disappointed in the #15 tee sign not marking the unit of measurement.
Other Thoughts: If you happen to go to the course after a huge flood be expected to find an enormous dead koi fish laying in the drain. Besides the koi fish they have a monstrous dog & creepy little animal manikins around the course.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Challenging yet fun

5+    7/6/2014   10/8/2011
Review By: big cat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2014
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation throughout the course.

The number of trees make shot shaping a major requirement for this course.

Hole #17 has a hanging basket which is coupled with a mando to make one of the most unique holes I have come across.

Challenges await almost every hole (trees and water hazards)

Great signage to help direct new players.
Cons: This course is densely wooded and is not great for beginners.

The elevation changes can be difficult for casual disc golfer.


Other Thoughts: It is a nice course with a friendly atmosphere. The elevation combined with dense trees make this course a challenging one. If your up for a nice hike, some scenic views, and some challenging disc golf, Long Trout is the course for you.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wine & Disc Golf

1    8/14/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A winery with a disc golf course! I would give the course a 2.5 but having a winery bumps it up a half point. It is mostly heavily wooded and has a nice use of elevation.

Other Pros:
- water hazards used
- unique hanging basket
- private, secluded, & free
- hand made tee signs
- short yet challenging
Cons: There are limited days and times you may play: Wed. 6-9 pm, Sat. 1-7 pm, Sun. 11 am-5 pm.

Other Cons:
- tightly wooded becomes monotonous
- tough terrain...come prepared
- some tee areas get slick
Other Thoughts: Overall, the place is very enjoyable. The combination of a winery and a DG course really appealed to me. The wine will help you forget all those trees your disc hit!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.