Auburn, PA 
Long Trout Winery Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #2 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 352ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 great fun course but challenge

1    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: brian lee
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The woods and I mean woods well really help people learn to control their throws and how to navigate through tight areas. The baskets are all marked well and so are the signs leading u to the next tee...
Cons: The woods is also a con as far as for beginners it could be discouraging and u could really tear up some plastic. Be warned if you throw wild u well bear up ur plastic.. the first couple of baskets are around a lot of large rocks so if u miss and u well ur disc may get beat up....
Other Thoughts: Its a must go to course.. I plan on going back as many times as I can ... and I also an on tasting some of their wine....

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 woods and more woods

1    8/22/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: discNDav
Played: 293  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The very idea of a DG course and winery on the same property is very cool. Free wine samles. Free private course to play. Good directional arrows on each basket pointing you towards the next tee. White painted rock piles at the base of some baskets making it easier to spot the basket in the dense woods. Tee signs with a hand drawn picture of the hole. The hanging basket on #17 was very unique. Long Trout discs were for sale in the small winery.
Cons: EVERY hole on this course is tight and heavily wooded. Some of the fairways are about 8 feet wide in places. The tees are short with uneven gravel or wood which surprisingly was not slippery.

Single chain baskets.

The terrian is not only hilly but has numerous large rocks/boulders which makes it a tough walk, bring appropriate foot gear and walk/hike carefully.

Not much need of a driver disc on this course as most holes are under 300 or mid range narrow type of holes.
Other Thoughts: Sunday hours are listed as open at 11a, I called during the week asking if I could arrive early and was told "no problem".

I didn't enjoy the wine I sampled, it simply wasn't my style.

I laughed at the sign stating "profanity should be whispered"

No encounters with the neighbors as others have mentioned.




3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  pleasant day

5+    6/20/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: doogie76
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: i am a newcomer when it comes to disc golf this is the only course i have played so maybe my review isnt really fair as i have nothing to compare it to.This course is alot of fun its heavily wooded which makes scorin low challenging.I bounce off of alot of trees
but its a fun day my friends and i have a great time here everyone i met here was very cool if id see someone do things differently id ask about their "style" and they've all been real cool and explained things to me the people here are just cool the owners are awesome people and the wine is good and inexpensive.youll need every shot "in your bag" to score well here the fairways are tight and the terrain is rough (i wore flip-flops my first time ouch) the length of the holes vary from mid 100s to 300 plus which is nice the short holes go uphill so they play a little longer than posted but with the trees i dont really see too many people drivin the baskets anyway hole 17 is cool with the barn and hangin basket this is the only hole youre gonna let it fly on (the barn will stop a long shot) but watch out for the mando. I think the "dead dogs" did a great job here they made great use of the elevation and terrain hole 9 comes through the woods then opens up to a pond with giant koi in it runnin along the left side of the fairway. i love playing here its a tough couse maybe i couldve started at an easier course for my first time but im sure this place will make me score better at a more open course
Cons: -lots of trees with very tight fairways
-paths get very rocky
-some high growth makes your dics hard to find here and there
-ive slipped in the gravel tee boxes
Other Thoughts: overall i absolutley love playin here it opened my eyes to disc golfing its a hard course for anybody let alone a beginner i hit alot of trees but my friends and i have a great time here and thats whats important we laugh alot and enjoy the round. the winery is only open wenesday during the week from 6-9 i believe but you can still go out anytime we run into the owners during the week sometimes and they are really cool to talk to.
So overall this course made me love the sport and to those of you who cmplain about the trees if you want a wide open course hidden valley isnt far away buy some clubs and go there we have a blast here and thats the whole point is having fun and unless youre anal (like the neighbors) you will so in my book we all win
So far eveyone i met at Long Trout Winery seems very laid back and pleasant other players even came over to help look for my disc then we bs'd awhile.I think society as a whole could learn alot from this place i feel fortunate to be able to exprience this place

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  The Ultimate Disc Golf Course

5+    5/24/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: Stuts
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is my home course and I have played it a 1000 times. At first in the beginning of my disc golf career, I hated this course because the fairways were too tight and course maintenance was poor. I have been playing for 5 years now and I can't get enough of this course because of the technicalities. This course has shaped and molded me into a relatively good disc golfer. You will learn every shot there is to know about disc golf at this course except for open fairway shots. This is a course for all levels, however, players new to the sport and new to this course will have more difficulty scoring a low round due to the tight fairways. As in most of the other reviews of this course it is said that the owner's of this course are extremely cool; they are the coolest most laid back people you will ever meet and if you feel like playing a round on the course on a non business long trout winery day, just call and ask to play...but in all honesty, most of the time they really don't care just as long as you are courteous and respectful of their grounds. NO LITTERING!!! I have recently been maintaing the course but being a one man team takes a long time. Not much seating on the course so bring a chair (I'm working on seating this summer on most holes) All-in-all: even though this course is extrememly difficult it is fun to play. Once you master this course, you can pretty much play anywhere and shoot a great round of disc golf.
Cons: I'm working on minimizing all cons by cleaning up the fairways and providing seating at most of the holes! This course is very rugged and brutal on your ankles so wear appropriate footwear.
Other Thoughts: Be respectful to the owners and their land. DO NOT LITTER!!! There is a trash can in-between Holes #9 and #10 (Use it!)

Long Trout Winery Disc Golf Course has one of 4 known hanging basket shots on the Northeastern Coast. There are actually two hanging baskets in the barn here but the one up top is usually only opened during tournament play but even still come out and shoot one of the coolest ace run shots there is!!!

Give me a chainsaw and I'll give you a par!!!

Long Trout Winery: "Where the wine is cool and the hippie chicks rule!"

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I must be weird I love this course

1    5/15/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After reading the reviews for this course I was expecting far less than what I discovered here. This is 18 holes of swell not hell. The first shot you actually throw off the deck of the winery overlooking the woods and the pond to start your round. Very Unique! Then its an endless challenge of woods that play brutally fair up and down the hillsides and over the pond and streams. All of the holes have lanes to the green but it's up to you to find them and then to execute. A true test of creativity and technical skill. Some of the holes are over 300 feet and tight through these woods so recovery from a bad shot is not always so simple. There are a few short holes but these are usually straight up the hill so they play a bit bigger. Highlights for me were as follows:
- the initial drive off the deck
-#2 a 352 foot hole with several lanes but lots of tree trouble.
- Holes 6 and 15 were steep 300 foot downhill drives through the woods.
-#7 was a clever out of the woods across a field back into the woods anhyzer to an elevated basket.
-#8 was a nice L to R into the woods and sat in front of a streambed.
-#9 shot through a tight lane and then burst into the pond area where the basket was to the rear right corner....don't fade early or come up short here or your swimming with 3-4 foot long koi fish!
-#14 is a particularly challenging 300 foot but tight gauntlet set precariously atop the hillside...it's hard enough to throw so straight but then factor in the doom of rolling down the L slope...brutally tough hole
-#17 the 200 ft barn hole is a blast as you can ace run at full throttle as long as you make the double mando...the barn will block any on target misses so basically its bang into the barn and birdie
-#18 an ace run in shorts with stream running the entire L side and a pond jump to finish if you play the long position.
The other holes play technical but are still fun as long as you hit your line..if not your scrambling, which to me is also fun. These woods are beautiful and they have been maximized with this creative design. Plenty of variety with 4 gleeful downhills, 5 climbing uphills, 4 semi open holes, 14 heavily wooded, 3 stream holes and the pond hole.A multitude of different shots are required to score well here. Bridges, ropes, and trails have been created to help you along. The tees are adequate for the shots required and vary between larger gravel and then wooden decks on the hillsides to create a level surface. Oh did I mention that the course is set on a counter culture themed fantastic winery with really cool people and unique inexpensive wines available to sample and buy.
Cons: Limited hours of operation. The neighbors barricade of a fence along holes 10 and 11 screams at you and kind of briefly spoils the mood. Some tees are smallish for those who require a run up...(most of the longer holes are downhill though so relax) Ferns and boulders do a dandy job of hiding discs. If you are a newer player, someone who cannot control their throws, or insist on throwing high speed drivers you will not enjoy this course. This course rewards those with a delicate and more refined game. Grip it and rip it types will enjoy themselves more elsewhere. I do agree that perhaps an occasional low hanging limb or small tree might get in the way of some shots...but I would hate to see too much of the technical flavor destroyed here.Tough walking on the terrain as its often up and down over rocks.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line is this is a fine technical course that happens to be set on the grounds of a truly unique and fun winery. How anyone could not have fun here is a mystery to me. When considering the ogres who complain about how this place isn't any fun the word "WHINERY" kept popping in my head. There are far tighter and unfair woods than this magnificent little paradise.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Wine and Woods

2-4    9/23/2009   2/23/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Also home to a Winery with good, cheap wine.
Often has bands so you can enjoy some great music while playing.
Nice variety on length/elevation, although most holes are heavily wooded
Nice pond (with monster Koi) that some holes play around
Cons: Woods Woods Woods. If you enjoy open holes, or ripping your driver, big run ups, and open air, this course is not for you.
The neighbors of this property set up cameras and "no tresspassing signs" and will prosecute people that stray onto their land, even if it's to retrieve a stray disc.
The gravel tees are a little small, although you usually don't need much of a run up.
Some of the tees are not safe.
Only open during certain hours:Wed. 6 PM - 9 PM, Sat. 1 PM - 7 PM, Sun. 11 AM - 5 PM.

Other Thoughts: This is a great course to have a good time at. Bring the wife for some wine, and play a round or two in the woods. This course is heavily wooded, which will be very challenging for your mid range game. Accuracy is much more important than distance, and this course is also a great place to beat in your discs. If you see the owner I'm sure he'd love to shoot with you.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch atmosphere

2-4    4/11/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: Grundleking
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very technical course with great signage and variety.. Free wine tasting before you tee off the owner's back porch.. great environment to play in, probably the most relaxed I've been playing dg.. nice baskets and course seems to be pretty well maintained
Cons: TONS of trees.. small tee boxes and the neighbors suck
Other Thoughts: the hanging basket on hole #17 has a surprise if you play with the "locals".. the owners can open the upstairs of the barn to play an additional basket that is hanging in the upstairs loft

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Daytripper

5+    3/28/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 245  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The fine people at Long Trout Winery are living the dream, owning their own winery and their own disc golf course on the property to boot. Long Trout's course offers just about every shot type you could want, with the exception of open holes that is. Lefts, rights, straight-aways, big uphills, down hills. The landscape also has its variety, though mostly wooded, holes play through small boulder fields, creeks and around a small pond with some of the biggest koi I've ever seen. Hole lengths vary from 150ish (on steep uphills) to 375ish (on flat or down hill shots) so if you can keep to the narrow fairways you'll have a number of birdies here. Doing so requires a number different shots, I even found myself throwing a baseball drive on a couple of holes. The hanging basket shot is real cool, and what could have been the most open shot on the course is turned into a tunnel shot right up the middle by a couple of mandos. The basket hangs from a barn which makes a nice backstop. All and all you have to be ridiculously accurate on this course, possibly the most heavily wooded I've played. All tee signs are nice and informative, and finding the next hole has never an issue.
Along with the course comes the awesome atmosphere of the winery, the very cool owners, and of course, the delicious wines.
Cons: As stated this is one of the most heavily wooded courses I've ever played. On about a third of the holes the fairway is nonexistent and requires luck more than anything to reach the basket. As such your drives will be very frustrating or very rewarding. I felt at times the fairways could use a little clearing. The gravel tee pads are small and could certainly use a leveling out, though I'm not sure they need much size increase. With the accuracy required on the drives I was never doing a big run up. The elevated wooden plank tees that are found on very uneven ground could be scary. No room for big run ups on these, but again they aren't very necessary. Overall the biggest con here is how heavy the trees are. A nice shot 1/3 of the way to the basket can be suddenly redirected 75 feet of course leaving you fighting to keep a bogey. And it can be like that on most holes.
Other Thoughts: Twice now I've gone on birthday camping trips with friends, played multiple rounds here, let the wine flow and we all had a blast. The course could use son fine tuning. The owners are great, played once with him. And the wine is amazing. I recommend the Daytripper.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 WINERY COURSE REVIEW

8/10/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: chriswhitey
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Owners are really cool. Nice condition of baskets. Hanging basket in barn is really really cool. Koi pond is nice too. Signage makes it easy to find next tee withouth a map.
Cons: No variety. Par 3 every hole. Longest one is just over 300 ft, pretty much the same on every hole. Tee boxes way too small, I can only take 3 steps or so. TOO many trees, way too thick on almost all holes. Neighbors that own adjoining property are anal and will prosecute you if you wander on their property or retrieve a wayward disc. Hard to see most of the baskets from the tee box. Terrain is difficult. Not a course for beginners. Water hazard does not allow retrieval of disc b/c water too cloudy.
Other Thoughts: My two biggest gripes were that the wooded holes (almost all of them) are way too thick and tee boxes way too small. Plus no variety, par 3 throughout , no distance either 300 ft is the norm for all holes. Not a course to take a beginner to. I would be lying if I said I was not disappointed in the course. Neighbors are also asinine. They will prosecute you for wandering on their property or attempting to retrieve your disc, cameras everywhere in the trees , pretty ridiculous. I wish they would have skipped the wooden tee boxes and cleared some more trees. Course is less than average. IF it wasnt for the cool people, the winery and the hanging barn basket shot, this woulb be ranked really poor. Too bad.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A unique challenge with unique wines

6/7/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging, narrow fairways. Free wine samples: the biggest pro of all. Huge elevation changes in tight woods. #9 is a lovely hole that has water along one side. #18 seems to have an alternate pin using the water as well. Well-marked.
Cons: Missing a certain something for me. Too many holes seem the same: Up the hill through a gauntlet, down the hill through a gauntlet, along the hill through a gauntlet. No benches, no free water to drink. Very limited hours.
Other Thoughts: Be forewarned: This is NOT a beginner's course. Especially in 98 degree heat like when I played! If you see distances on the scorecard like 180 feet, that's because it's straight up a hill through a maze of trees.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center