Auburn, PA 
Long Trout Winery Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #6 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 367ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Top notch atmosphere

2-4    4/11/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: Grundleking
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very technical course with great signage and variety.. Free wine tasting before you tee off the owner's back porch.. great environment to play in, probably the most relaxed I've been playing dg.. nice baskets and course seems to be pretty well maintained
Cons: TONS of trees.. small tee boxes and the neighbors suck
Other Thoughts: the hanging basket on hole #17 has a surprise if you play with the "locals".. the owners can open the upstairs of the barn to play an additional basket that is hanging in the upstairs loft

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Daytripper

5+    3/28/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 283  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2014
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The fine people at Long Trout Winery are living the dream, owning their own winery and their own disc golf course on the property to boot. Long Trout's course offers just about every shot type you could want, with the exception of open holes that is. Lefts, rights, straight-aways, big uphills, down hills. The landscape also has its variety, though mostly wooded, holes play through small boulder fields, creeks and around a small pond with some of the biggest koi I've ever seen. Hole lengths vary from 150ish (on steep uphills) to 375ish (on flat or down hill shots) so if you can keep to the narrow fairways you'll have a number of birdies here. Doing so requires a number different shots, I even found myself throwing a baseball drive on a couple of holes. The hanging basket shot is real cool, and what could have been the most open shot on the course is turned into a tunnel shot right up the middle by a couple of mandos. The basket hangs from a barn which makes a nice backstop. All and all you have to be ridiculously accurate on this course, possibly the most heavily wooded I've played. All tee signs are nice and informative, and finding the next hole has never an issue.
Along with the course comes the awesome atmosphere of the winery, the very cool owners, and of course, the delicious wines.
Cons: As stated this is one of the most heavily wooded courses I've ever played. On about a third of the holes the fairway is nonexistent and requires luck more than anything to reach the basket. As such your drives will be very frustrating or very rewarding. I felt at times the fairways could use a little clearing. The gravel tee pads are small and could certainly use a leveling out, though I'm not sure they need much size increase. With the accuracy required on the drives I was never doing a big run up. The elevated wooden plank tees that are found on very uneven ground could be scary. No room for big run ups on these, but again they aren't very necessary. Overall the biggest con here is how heavy the trees are. A nice shot 1/3 of the way to the basket can be suddenly redirected 75 feet of course leaving you fighting to keep a bogey. And it can be like that on most holes.
Other Thoughts: Twice now I've gone on birthday camping trips with friends, played multiple rounds here, let the wine flow and we all had a blast. The course could use son fine tuning. The owners are great, played once with him. And the wine is amazing. I recommend the Daytripper.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 WINERY COURSE REVIEW

8/10/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: chriswhitey
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Owners are really cool. Nice condition of baskets. Hanging basket in barn is really really cool. Koi pond is nice too. Signage makes it easy to find next tee withouth a map.
Cons: No variety. Par 3 every hole. Longest one is just over 300 ft, pretty much the same on every hole. Tee boxes way too small, I can only take 3 steps or so. TOO many trees, way too thick on almost all holes. Neighbors that own adjoining property are anal and will prosecute you if you wander on their property or retrieve a wayward disc. Hard to see most of the baskets from the tee box. Terrain is difficult. Not a course for beginners. Water hazard does not allow retrieval of disc b/c water too cloudy.
Other Thoughts: My two biggest gripes were that the wooded holes (almost all of them) are way too thick and tee boxes way too small. Plus no variety, par 3 throughout , no distance either 300 ft is the norm for all holes. Not a course to take a beginner to. I would be lying if I said I was not disappointed in the course. Neighbors are also asinine. They will prosecute you for wandering on their property or attempting to retrieve your disc, cameras everywhere in the trees , pretty ridiculous. I wish they would have skipped the wooden tee boxes and cleared some more trees. Course is less than average. IF it wasnt for the cool people, the winery and the hanging barn basket shot, this woulb be ranked really poor. Too bad.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A unique challenge with unique wines

6/7/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 51  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging, narrow fairways. Free wine samples: the biggest pro of all. Huge elevation changes in tight woods. #9 is a lovely hole that has water along one side. #18 seems to have an alternate pin using the water as well. Well-marked.
Cons: Missing a certain something for me. Too many holes seem the same: Up the hill through a gauntlet, down the hill through a gauntlet, along the hill through a gauntlet. No benches, no free water to drink. Very limited hours.
Other Thoughts: Be forewarned: This is NOT a beginner's course. Especially in 98 degree heat like when I played! If you see distances on the scorecard like 180 feet, that's because it's straight up a hill through a maze of trees.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Long Trout Review

1/12/2008   1/12/2008
Review By: mike
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation. Very well defined fairways and directions to the next tee. Custom bridges over the casual streams throughout the land. Oh yea...Long Trout owners/family are awesome people!!
Cons: Custom teepads are short and made of wood...no anti-grip hardware. Off-fairway trees could use some grooming. Terrain is very brutal on your ankles. Ankle support is beneficial.
Other Thoughts: This was my second time playing the course.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.