Rock Island, IL 
Longview Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 186ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 under-rated

5+    3/14/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: BuzzArmStrong
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Good use of elevation, some fun memorable shots created by the use of the elevation - Good amount of distance along with a few tight challenging lines - Never gets too crowded due to the plethora of good courses in the area.
Cons: natural tees make it difficult to navigate for a first timer (would really help to have tee pads paved) - No signs - One shot goes right along the side of a road (seems like a poor choice).
Other Thoughts: I feel as though this course is a bit underrated/used due to the lack of signs and cement tees. If you have never played it you ought to bring a map with you.

 Below average QC course, but not bad overall

1    8/30/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Well named course as this course is set on a very hilly property that seems to be th ehigh point in the county. Again up on top of the Mississippi river bluffs.

2) Very challenging basket locations on many holes. Rollaways are very possible on putts, approaches and drives. Be careful, think your flight out from beginning to end here.

3) Challenge is ever present. This is a positive for this course because I love being tested!!!!

4) Fun elevation changes. These create some interesting shots. There is a lot of ups and downs as well as some that go alongside of hills.

5) Disc golf is fairly well removed from other activities. There are a few walk paths that get in the way of some holes but when I was there, noone else was around really.
6) Pretty nice variety here. There are the hills sure, but there are some mature large oak tees, a couple of ares of pines come into play, some tight wooded shots to execute as well as some open parkable holes.
7) Waterpark and all sorts of other play areas in this park. Come for the day, but you probably won't like to play more than 1 round or maybe 2 as it is a really tough walk!!!
Cons: 1) No signs on this course so finding the tees is very difficult since it is just buried concrete pieces. Your best bet is to look for the dirt spots wore out from repetetive tee offs.

2) This course is a tough walk. Not a huge negative for me because I love what this does for the disc golf shots, but many people will find the walk difficult.

3) Dirt tees leave a lot to be desired. I would certainly prefer throwing off concrete on this course because so much of the shot relys on the drive here. You want to be sure of how you are throwing and I am not the most confident throwing drives on grass or dirt.

4) Hole layout on 13-16 is goofy. There is a lot of switchback walks from basket to the next tee and you can very easily get lost here.

5) Signage needed pointing to the next tee or a sign needs to be placed by each tee. Even a 4x4 post would be enough for me to help navigation.
Other Thoughts: All in all this course presents challenge on most shots. It has extreme elevation changes and some tough basket locations. Ther really aren't any throwawy holes as each one is unique and fun to throw. It lacks the amenities like signs and concrete that are very needed on this course, but it still is a well design layout. It brings into play as many cool spots on this course as possible and I can still appreciate it. I enjoyed it and I would come back but I will make sure to have good traction on my shoes because the grass/dirt tees as well as the walk up and down the hills require it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rocks but map needed

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **PRINT A MAP PRIOR TO PLAYING**

For all you fellas with a wife and kids this is a great stop. There is a sweet water park right next to the course.
http://www.rigov.org/whitewat...talparty.html

This is a very well kept park. There is some excellent elevation on this course. There are some large hills that you throw up, down, and across. Your dogs will be barking when you complete it.

There are many good holes that are fun to play. There is only 1 spot that you can lose a disc and that is hole #4.

This is a great course for all skill level players.
Cons: Print a map. Without a map finding the tee pads are really difficult. There are no tee signs.

The tee pads are natural and marked by 2 cement circles in the ground. After rain they are muddy. There was only 1 tee that we did not find and that was #17.

The flow of the course was pretty good until hole #13. You walk a long way to get to the tee. Double back to tee #14. Walk farther to get to #15, and then walk again to get to #16. That section was really frustrating. We threw a drive on 13 and 14 at the same time. Played 13 then walked to our drive on 14. We did the same on 15/16. Threw a drive on 16. Went and played 15, then played from our drive on 16. This helped.
Other Thoughts: I am very surprised this course has an overall rating of 2.0 but I do understand. The QC area has a ton of awesome courses. This course is fun and well worth the time to play. Just make sure to bring a map.

The Quad Cities has some very good disc golf. Plan a vacation here and play as many course as you can. You will not be disappointed.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Longview

1    9/23/2009   7/23/2010
Review By: Big_Man
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me say this about Longview. It is a course with great potential. The elevation changes and scenery make this course fun to play. There are some challenging holes that many disc golfers will enjoy. Besides that however, I feel that there is a lot to be desired about this course.
Cons: Well to start, no tee boxes. I would like to say "natural" tee boxes, but some holes it was just grass. Perhaps this is because the QCA has many courses and this one is underplayed and the "natural" tee boxes are not utilized. Some tee boxes had a wooden plank at the end which allowed you to know how far you can run up. I feel that his could be a safety hazard however if you take your approach a little too far or strong.

Another major con about this course is the lack of direction. When I played I literally had no idea where I was going. Luckily I was met by a local, who gave me directions on how the course lay out was. Unfortunately this helped little because I did not know the park layout very well.
Other Thoughts: Longview, as a course has great potential. When I spoke to the local about the course he explained that the course has been there for a very long time. Perhaps Rock Island could put some money into this course and bring it into the 21st century. If they could do that I'd play it again. If I'm in the QCA I am going to try out some of the other courses which seem to have higher reviews than this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Hill Batman!

5+    6/7/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: xsjunkie
Played: 31  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very good use of elevation
-Relatively quiet park during the week, play was uninhibited
-Natural Tee pads with bright yellow concrete markers showing distance and par. At 14 and between 16 and 17, there are now markers pointing to the next Tee. Some of the Tees have been worked on and leveled.
-Plan to be challenged on this course, physical fitness comes into play early in the round
-Challenging OB plays with the road and path
-#5 is my favorite, downhill to the basket
Cons: -Parking lot in the middle of #6, beat in my new Pro Wraith with only one throw!
Other Thoughts: I originally rated this park a 2.5 because of the difficult navigation. That is now 50% better, but a first timer still needs a map. If they put up signs, I'd give this baby a 3.5-4.0 rating.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Big hill

1    4/11/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 764  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large grassy multi-use park that's basically one big hill. You start at the top of the hill, and play down it, across it, back up and down it, and end up back at the top where you started. There are scattered large and small trees throughout the park that add some obstacles, and no underbrush to eat discs.

The elevation is used pretty well here, with a great variety of shots up, down, and across the hills, with several pin placements that make you risk severe roll aways with a bad miss. There is also a pretty good mix of ace run holes with some longer holes, including a few that you can open up on a little more.

The grass was nice throughout the park with no muddy spots. The park was free of trash or vandalism, and despite the less than affluent neighborhood surrounding the park, it seemed very well taken care of and full of families picnicking. The baskets were in pretty good shape, and caught fine.
Cons: The navigation here is pretty tough. The tees are just boards set flush into the ground, with grass or dirt surfaces. Several are overgrown with grass, and tough to find unless you're standing right on top of them. The course map is a must, and even then expect to do some backtracking, wandering, and searching to find all the holes. The tees are natural, and many are not at all level. Some are right next to trees, and the ground has eroded to expose roots, not good for the trees or your ankles.

There are lots of pretty serious safety issues on this course. Several holes play along or over park roads and parking lots. Apparently some of this has happened since the course was put in, but either way it could be pretty bad in the summer with lots of water park traffic. The course also has several shots that throw blindly over the walking path, you'll need to scout ahead to make sure there isn't someone walking up the hill before you throw. The park is also a popular picnic spot, and there were several places where the fairways were being used as a nice spot to spend the day, making some holes dangerous to play.

The course uses the elevation well, and the spots in the park with more trees are used to force some different lines, but most of the holes are pretty open which doesn't really test your whole game.
Other Thoughts: This course was hard for me to rate. There are some really fun elevation shots, but the safety and navigation issues just make it less fun to play. If you can get to this course with a map or guide on a weekday or early enough that the picnickers aren't out yet, this course is worth a stop. If not, you might find it pretty frustrating.

Newer players will find this course challenging but approachable, but the safety issues are magnified with less accurate players. More experienced players will enjoy the elevation shots, but won't find the course all that challenging.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Get your Cardio In HERE

1    3/29/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun Course. Starts with a fairly long, fun shot down the hill, then the next hole plays right back up. Plays up, down and around a fairly huge hill. You won't need to get your Cardio work at the Gym after this course .
Cons: Ditto on the new parking lot :-( ...# 6 is a GREAT downhill Hole to just RIP a shot on, but, not with any cars in the new parking lot
Other Thoughts: DO NOT go without a map. Tees in several places are nothing more than a small bare spot on the ground. Print out the Course Map from here at Disc Golf Course Review and take it along, you'll need it. Ditto on the Sketchy NeighborHOOD at the bottom of the hill

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Improvements have been made

5+    6/6/2009   2/10/2010
Review By: paperboy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 6/1/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the variation in holes - elevation changes, length, open vs. clear, etc.
Good course to practice different types of shots.
Cons: Only thing I will mention is that there was a decision made to install a large parking lot in ths middle of #6 fairway since the previous time I had played. It was off-season for the water park that's in the park, so the lot was empty. In-season would make this hole unplayable unless you wanted to cause serious damage to vehicles parked in the lot.
Too bad, because #6 was a fun hole. I have not been back there since the lot was installed and messed up the course. Maybe they have redesigned things to fix the problem.

Update! Just heard that the Park Board is working on a possible re-design to fix the problem. Great news!
Other Thoughts: An alternate tee pad has been provided for times when cars are in the new lot.Looks like problem solved.
Some upgrades have been made. Flat markers have been placed flush with the ground at the tees. The hole number is painted on one, and the distance is painted on the other. Bright yellow.
Also the tees have been moved a slight amount on a few holes to make throwing safer, away from roots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cement pads and signs would make this a whole lot nicer

1    6/11/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well taken care of park with some wonderfully challenging elevation and some scenic views from near the top of the park. Shiny new baskets. Good course for beginners who are not used to elevation to learn on as there is little potential to lose your disc. Not the longest course in the world, but it does have some variation between up and down, short and long. I particularly liked hole 5 which shoots downhill from the water park area.
Cons: No tee pads, well to be correct there are pads, but they are boards in the ground, a number of which have eroded away. Because of this, there is a serious lack of orientation and you can shoot at the wrong basket easily if you don't know where you're going. There are also a number of holes that cut dangerously close to other activities in the park (the pictures illustrate this well). I played in the AM on a weekday, but I imagine this park gets mighty crowded on the weekends with the water park and playground there.
Other Thoughts: I had not intended to play Longview, but a wrong turn put me in the neighborhood, so I decided to stop wasting gas and play this one. While it will never stack up to some of the other quality courses in the Quad Cities, this thing could be a rec level gem if some pads got poured, and some signage put up. If you're in the mood for challenging, you probably want to skip this one. If something more moderated, Longview will fit nicely.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Longview, long hills

2-4    5/16/2006   4/22/2009
Review By: djmcgaffey
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course with all the hills that are on it.
Cons: The dirt or mud tees are not good. Some are very hard to find. Close to playgrounds and a couple of busy streets that you can easily through a disc onto.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to play if you want to kill a hour or so, but don't plan on going back to work afterwords, you will need a shower to clan off all the mud, unless it is very dry.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.