Cleveland, WI
LTC Cleveland Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #8 (Taken 8/2013)
5 / 315ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 

1    11/22/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LTC Cleveland is a fun course on a college campus. There is good signage at each hole and directional signs between holes where needed so navigation is a breeze. The baskets are blue and look really nice.

There's a good variety of short, medium and a few long holes. Most of them are lightly wooded with mature trees and very little undergrowth, but none feel wide open which is nice. There are rolling hills throughout the course which you have to think about on a lot of the holes and some of the hills are used to make more challenging putting greens. The course does a good job of utilizing the available the elevation changes here. There's a really pretty creek that comes into play on a few holes. OB roads come into play on a few holes so be sure to watch for cars.
Cons: The tee pads are grippy rubber mats. I didn't have a problem with the material, but many of them were hilly and lumpy in places making the run up a bit difficult.

Holes 13 and 15 force quality turnover shots for RHBH players. Other than that, the shot variety is a little lacking. There were a few holes where I felt like I was throwing the same shot over and over.

There's a car scrap yard next to hole 3 and 4 which is a bit of an eyesore. Obviously no fault of the course or LTC since it's next door. Otherwise the course is very visually appealing.

I had a hard time locating the basket for hole 5 at first, not realizing it's across a road that's not listed on the otherwise very accurate tee signs. After looking at the course pictures on here, I see that road is a somewhat recent addition to the campus. This isn't really a con, just something to be aware of it this is your first time here.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice college course that will be a great place to introduce students to the sport and allow for a quick round between classes. Although the course isn't very challenging to more advanced players, that doesn't stop it from being a fun round!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 B = Beautiful and deceivingly challenging. A “feel good” course!

1    6/25/2010   2/27/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LTC Cleveland is a "feel good" course. Strolling around a beautiful and green manicured park and not getting slapped down by DG brutality will put a spring in your step and send you on your way smiling.

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(The usage of the available trees and mild terrain sets up several holes for decent decision making in what route you want to take, what disc to throw, and how to creatively shape that throw. There are only 1-2 places where it is conceivable that a bad drive will result in a bogey 4, but there are a ton of places where the lack of hitting your line will deny you a birdie that seems so attainable. It is a deceptively challenging course in this aspect.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
(6 or 7 holes that are 220' or less made me thought that this course would be a birdie fest. But as already stated, the required routes from tee to target are deceptively tricky. So, while many holes seem easy, this course will let you know that you are on your game if you can go low - as in 10-12 down versus 4-6 down.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
(Certainly not a wooded course, but a fair amount of shot shaping is required. Due to the nature of the smallish gaps between trees on many fairways you need a good combination of shot shaping AND accuracy along the entire flight path to get you a copious amount of deuces.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(Most of the course plays on beautiful grass and through medium size hardwoods along the main driveway from the main road to the main college building. So, while there is a beautiful manicured feeling you cannot get away from knowing you are around people and cars and roads. The area is quite rural and quiet so there is a nice tranquil atmosphere - at least on weekends and when classes are not in session.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    10/31/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the grounds of a vocational college, with no other activities going on. Maybe some students doing whatever, but nothing organized.
- Terrain is pretty good for a disc golf course, as there are rolling hills, a good amount of trees (with some forest), and a small creek. Roughly half the holes use the hills to provide a sloping fairway (both up and down), as well as some tricky basket locations. At least two are on hills, providing some legitimate roll-away spots. Some of the holes feel a little cramped in, and close together (a few fairways are very, very close), but they make up for it with some longer hole lengths.
- Large majority of holes have a lot of trees to contend with, including low hanging branches. While there aren't a ton of tight windows to hit, there are plenty of spots where line-shaping is very important, both right and left. Many basic RHBH hyzer routes are taken away, and a lot of baskets have trees blocking an easy approach. There are a few shots that require little to no thought, but the majority have some wrinkle.
- A few holes use the forest to force a particular shot, like left, right, and tunnel, with little other options. Hole #15 makes great use of a dense, depressed forest; you can go all the way around, usually conceding any chance at a deuce, or try to get through the deep woods. Awesome risk-reward hole.
- Small creek is in play on a few holes, especially behind the basket on #11. Also some marshy area that may not be OB, but definitely is not fun. The road OB is also a pretty big factor, so there are many places where laying up might be an option.
- Great signs and baskets, tees in OK shape. Navigation is a breeze.
Cons: - Overall, the course is pretty easy and does not have many extremes (except #15). There are gentle slopes, gentle curves, gentle everything. Most of the holes are very straightforward and some feel very similar to each other. A few holes are ridiculously short, especially around the creekbed.
- Heads up in a few places, where holes and fairways are right next to each.
- Plenty of road OB means plenty of pavement, which is an eyesore and bad for the discs.
Other Thoughts: - This is a nice, relaxing course that provides a pretty solid range of shots. The real beast here is #5, which is a long uphill, with road OB in the fairway, and a basket perched on a hill. Most others can be easily parred or deuced, although it takes the right shot to get it there. I think most people will find enjoyment here; chances are good that a hole or two will exploit any weaknesses you may have. More advanced players might get a little bored after a while, due to the shorter hole lengths.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun campus course

1    7/3/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays on rolling grassy hills with scattered mature trees in one area of a nice college campus. Many holes have some slight elevation changes for a little more challenge, and one hole plays up a steep little hill through a gap in some trees. There is a nice mix of left and right turning holes with different lengths so you'll have to shape some different lines. The course design felt pretty balanced for righty or lefty players.

The baskets were in great shape, and look cool with the blue cage and custom number plates. There are decent signs with hole distance and layout, and signs to point the way where the transitions between holes aren't obvious, so the course is easy to follow. The rubber tee pads are in fine shape and are pretty level for the most part. The grounds are nicely kept, with well mowed fairways and no trash or vandalism. The bridges over the creek and marshy areas are a nice touch here.
Cons: The course is lacking a little in challenge and variety. There isn't enough length for the park style holes to provide much challenge to more experienced players. It's a shame the design wasn't allowed to use the woods, that would have added some nice variety and possibly some more challenge. The creek is nice but could have come into play a little more. The baskets looked nice, but seemed to have a tendency to spit a little more than I expected. The roads come into play a little, which could be a safety issue and lead to some waits.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course, and worth a stop if you're in the area. There's not enough challenge or variety to make it worth too much of a drive, but it's a great campus course to expose college students and the community to the sport. The maintenance is very nice, and makes it a nice atmosphere to play. This is a great course for newer players to try the sport and learn, with enough differently shaped shots to make players try some different shots. More experienced players will find it a bit easy and open, but it's a pretty and fun quick round.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Creative design, waiting for more!

5+    7/27/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 158  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creative design, good use of the elevation and the creek, and risky pin placements.
Some of the more unique holes I love are the risky #11 playing down to the basket with the creek behind it. #13 playing uphill across a marsh to a blind basket. The U-shaped fairway hole 15, and the tight tunnel and across the creek to pin 18 on a nook of the creek bend.
Very nice campus setting without lots of kids, graffitti, garbage, etc. You can actually enjoy your round out here.
Commitment, dedication, creativity, and pride by the local designer is what makes the course exceptional. Without that personal touch, the school would have had some students throw something in that is less than stellar.
Great tees signs.
Cons: Too many open holes that are just okay. They play mainly across fields with only slight elevation and a few trees. None of the open holes are real long or truly unique, and they are not "prairie style" holes either because the entire lawn is mowed (no long grasses as borders for a more natrual look, and also punishment for an errant shot. Need to branch out and push the envelope more (once released by the school requiremnets). I mean this in regards to lack of use of the woods (thank LTC for this, it was their requirement, maybe they'll back off and we'll get some awesome wooded holes on that excellent elevation behind #17). Also use of the water hazards could play more into an advanced players landing zones. The waterway that runs across holes 5 and 6 doesn't really come into play at all. It is simply in the middle of the hole where no one should really land on their drive (or at least where I never would).
I also prefer much riskier greens and with the course being mainly open field, there aren't many here. These are not your old school style greens either that are wide open, there just isn't extreme elevation/terrain change here to make really risky greens.
Baskets. I know they are a great value and made locally, but I think they spit very bad (I admit I am not the best putter anyway, but they do spit more than others - I refer to these as the Spit Monkey brand). I think it is due to the links, they are the more rounded (rather than rectangular style) and it sounds and feels like they are composed of a different denisty metal (you can hear a softer "ching" than almost any other basket. Better than Mach 2 baskets any day though!
Lack of dual tees. I really think more tees would add what everyone else is looking for. The existing tees are probably white/red skill level. A longer, and more skillful set of blue tees would attract many more players and provide an extreme more amount of challenge (the water hazards and landing zones would come into play, and shot selection off the tee could be even more varied by bringing more trees into play on the open holes).
Other Thoughts: I would rather play here than Vollrath or Quarry, but Silver Creek isn't far to the north and takes my attention away. I love the quiet peaceful look here (beside playing predominatly near a county road and campus streets). The seclusion is very nice and allows you to enjoy your round. The designer and his family and friends are very proud of this baby, and it shows. I love playing 'personal' courses that have been adopted by the designers with a huge sense of pride and creativity. I anxiously await course expansion, and more use of the woods behind hole 15 (with the sharp ravine) and 17 (on that nice mound). I would personally add a new last hole on the other side of the creek, playing a long right hand turn along the slope up to the parking lot, bringing you back nearer to hole #1. I would utilize the creek as much as possible (even more), lengthen some of the open holes (if adding more wooded ones in comparison), and also bring that waterway on the front nine into play more with new landing zones and defined as OB. I hope I'm not sounding too critical, just offering some opinions. And although this course is very near a 4, I would rather play the courses I did rate a 4, so I have to knock it down by relation. My personal preference for sadistic style woods, huge risky greens, and less open fields keeps it down in my mind too. Based on what I hear and the possibilities of more risk/reward, challenge, and even more holes, I know that the pride in this course, along with these elements, could make this much more appealing than the 4 disc courses around.
With all the interest the school is seeing in the course, and the pride and effort that Jason and crew put into it, you otta pitch to get some elevated tees, terraced greens, etc. Give this a true links feel in a gorgeous setting, like Token Creek. Keep up the good work, continual improvement, and those big dreams of bigger and better (Blue tees, risky pin placements, and tight woods!)
UPDATE: Relative to my other reviews, I think this one stands out of line too much. I have to adjust it to a 3, but easily at the top of my 3's.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Cleveland Bombers

5+    9/4/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: pmrunning30
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2012
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Sweet front 9 and Great back 9 . The rubber mats are sweet and give you nice footing in the tee off.

Cons: I would really like to see a hole over 400' make it longer!!
Other Thoughts: Many very good apple trees on the back 9 keep your eyes open. There very tasty snacks.

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Bland

1    2/16/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: Sensai Scuba
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Hilly course where a lot of your shots are on the other side of a small hill, these shots are allways fun and lazy for me cuz of the deceptive distances. I really liked the water hazards though. I went in late fall or early spring I can't remember but I wouldn't wanna see that course mid july lol those marshy parts would be terrible. Theres a beautifull hole over a narrow but long wooden land bridge and then over a small bump hill at the end to the basket on top of the hill, there's a big marshy part that the land bridge runs through and there are tree "guardian" at the bottom and top of the hill so; basically your looking at a long low straight shot then up a bump hill to the basket.... beautifull but.... if you mess up your in for it.
Cons: Gotta deal with traffic and during a rush hour school thing going on it's just kind of a pain. I got lost in the middle when your supposed to walk over a small bridge, doesn't have signs pointing you to the next hole.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/23/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: dangerous dave
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good layout for the land that is available. Clean, well marked, great baskets. Tough shots mixed with medium level shots makes it enjoyable for many levels of players.
Cons: Can be very wet in spring/wet times of the year. Tees could be rubber, concrete, or brick for better footing.
Other Thoughts: Add 9 more here!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Why does nobody play here?

5+    6/17/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: thefranchise3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This couse is on campus so it is well maintained and clean.Like the layout of the course.Trees make u really think out ur shots. When u first pull up u think its gonna be an open boring course but once u get to hole 1 the placement of the trees make it challenging. Every time i go to the course i got it myself and i can't figure out why? No smoking on it either.
Cons: Holes are kinda simular through out, with a few exception. My friends dont like going cause u cant smoke or drink.
Other Thoughts: My friends had mixed feelings about this couse but i really enjoy playing here.If ur in the area give it a try.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Loving Tender Care in Cleveland

5+    6/11/2012   6/2/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2012
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. LTC Cleveland is a well-balanced course that plays over generally flat and lightly wooded terrain on a technical college campus. Many holes allow different routes to the pin, but the holes are designed with every tree and slope possible in mind, including some holes with early trouble off the tee and a couple with very punishing rough. Centerville Creek comes into play on the fun and dangerous ace run of #11, a downhill 181-footer begging you to go for it with the creek just past the pin and to the right, as well as the picturesque tunnel shot on the finishing hole. Hole #3 forces a low RHBH shot to clear the first trees and hopefully attain a good enough skip to punch through the green's guardian trees leaving an easy uphill putt. Distance variation is enough that it's not a deuce-or-die course; a great example is #5 with deep rough to the left and guardian trees across the fairway at around 300' with the pin on a slightly elevated mound 377' away (and a cool view of the college's Wind Energy program's achievements), and the big RHBH anhyzer over a hump and usually into a headwind on #14 to a basket 366' away, but every hole is deuce-able (I know because I've done this, just not all in the same round!). Hole #13 is another unique shot with a blind pin tucked uphill and to the right, forcing a well-executed RHBH anny of only 192' but with plenty of risk. The "horseshoe hole" of #15 is a love/hate hole, and my attitude towards it changes like the seasons. This is a great course for beginners to work on both big drives and tricky finesse shots, and even though it's my home course, I still find enough challenge and enjoyment here that it never gets boring. Half of the holes are between 250' and 350', which is perfect for someone at my level (and who has plateaued and will presumably be at that level indefinitely).
2. Maintenance. The LTC crew keeps this place in top-notch condition. The grass is mowed regularly, dead and downed branches are almost immediately cleared, and woodchips are kept around many tree bases. Trash cans are present at the info kiosk/course map near #1 and at the tees of #5, #10, and #15, and there is another one on the trail leading back to the lot after #18. Being on a pretty sizable campus, there is the usual parking lot litter that blows around and the occasional beer bottle that's been thrown into the woods, but the maintenance crew, LTC's disc golf club, and myself and other local golfers tend to keep up with trash before it becomes a problem.
3. Tee signs. These are some of the nicest tee signs I've ever seen on a course, and they're still in great shape with barely any fading (and no vandalism!) after 6 years. I wish more courses went with informative and colorful signs like these, because they really weren't outrageously expensive and have really proven to be worth every penny.
4. Navigation. Next tee signs guide the way in tricky areas, like crossing the road from #1 to #2, coming back across the road from #7 to #8, and down the path from #17 to #18. It's usually clear where to walk after holing out due to the intuitive flow, and the course conveniently loops back to the parking lot between #9 and #10. The large course directory near #1 should be a big help as well (hint: take a photo with your phone!).
5. Practice basket. Right behind the tee for #1 with a slope behind it to practice uphill putts, plenty of trees to work on tricky obstructed upshots, or gauge how that day's wind will affect your putts. Course Secret: On days or times when no class is in session (and thus no other cars are in the lot), "Hole #19" can be played back to the practice basket from the walking path in front of the bench after you hole out on #18 (modify as desired) - it's a big risky RHBH anhyzer with LONG untamed rough over the Centerville Creek floodplain.
6. Tees. Rubber tees are in pretty good shape and mostly level, and don't seem to allow water to collect. A little lumpy in spots; #5 tee tends to be the worst in the spring with the front end tending to be submerged; a few have been hit by the big mowers.
7. Location. Halfway between Sheboygan and Manitowoc (and also halfway between Milwaukee and Green Bay), the course is only a few blocks off of the Cleveland exit on I-43. It's surprisingly quiet here, even with being located on a busy campus and two main roads running nearby, as well as the interstate traffic so close. Even though you play near and around a number of roads running through the campus, you manage to get a feeling of seclusion here and may encounter a variety of wildlife or enjoy some of the apples, pears, or mulberries (look around #10 when in season!).
8. Amenities. The campus will usually have a port-a-potty (or two) near the shed off to the left of #1 and by #9, but it's not guaranteed to be there and tends to be a seasonal thing. When school is in session, one could make their way down to the student services building where there are vending machines and access (with permission; check at the desk) to restrooms. Boardwalks through the wetlands on #5 and #13 and bridges over the creek crossing from #11 to #12 and on #18 are a great addition, and have eliminated long walks in these areas. The only benches are at the info kiosk/course directory (more of these would definitely be a plus). Stop at Bonde's Citgo/Subway before, during, or after for refreshments/restrooms.
9. Baskets. These were locally made and PDGA approved (though I do not see the model on the most recent approved target list as of June 2012), and although some folks seem to think they spit a little worse than other "legit" models I think they're just fine (but then again I've been playing on them for years)! The chains and number plates are rusty in some areas, but overall they're all in pretty decent shape and level.
10. Year-round. The baskets are permanently cemented into the ground, so they aren't going out for any seasons!
11. Nine-hole loops. You can easily start at #1 or #10, and several other 9-hole options are available (see "Other Thoughts" below).
Cons: 1. Single tees. Dual tees would add so much more flavor to this course and make it enjoyable to more players. Some holes would benefit from a shorter tee whereas many could use longer ones, and enough (although sparse) trees are around that the holes could be changed up significantly. This will hopefully be an improvement to the course in the near future.
2. Unused potential. There are some fantastic wooded areas near the Back 9, including some great elevation changes, which is really another thing this course would benefit greatly from that it currently lacks. During the original design my co-designer indeed had some holes going through here but were limited on how much cutting we could actually do, so merged our designs and came up with the current 18 holes.
3. Safety issues. With the numerous roads in play, there is potential for conflict (the roads are always OB, although the rarely used access road (at about 350') on #5 can be played OPTIONALLY as OB based on a group vote at the tee), but there aren't any holes where you are throwing towards a road. Some of the fairways are close to each other, which can be a problem on a busy day (though that is rare unless one of the busier city courses nearby is closed for a tournament or already overflowing). If you wind up in the deep pit on the "horseshoe hole" #15, beware of old scrap metal or barbed wire (presumably from the previous farm), although I rarely see it anymore.
4. Wet seasons. In the springtime or after a particularly rainy stretch, the course can hold water pretty badly in a few areas, obviously around the creek valley and wetlands near #5, and beware that the practice basket area can get really soggy as well.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned above, you can play several different 9-hole configurations if you're under time constraints, and all of them loop back to the start/end rather nicely. Besides the usual 1-9 and 10-18, here are some different niners I came up with:

Option A: Play holes #1-4. Skip #5-6. Play holes #7-11.
Option B: Play hole #1. Skip #2-7. Play holes #8-13. Skip #14-16. Play hole #17 and #18.
Option C: Okay, this one's a little goofy and closer to safari style, but variety IS the spice of disc golf! Play hole #1, then play hole #2 to basket #3. Play from hole #4 to basket #7. Play from hole #8 to basket #10. Play holes #11-13. Skip #14-16. Play holes #17-18.

This course would not have been possible were it not for the tremendous help and input of my friend, John Ader, of Cleveland (who also designed Quarry Park in Sheboygan and pitched in on the original Tower Ridge design in Eau Claire).

I appreciate any and all feedback, concerns, critique, etc. relating not only to my review, but to the LTC Cleveland course, and I will happily guide you if it's your first time! Message me here or e-mail me at jhgonzo@yahoo.com.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.