Cleveland, WI 
LTC Cleveland Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #4 (Taken 8/2013)
4 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Loving Tender Care in Cleveland

5+    6/11/2012   6/2/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2012
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. LTC Cleveland is a well-balanced course that plays over generally flat and lightly wooded terrain on a technical college campus. Many holes allow different routes to the pin, but the holes are designed with every tree and slope possible in mind, including some holes with early trouble off the tee and a couple with very punishing rough. Centerville Creek comes into play on the fun and dangerous ace run of #11, a downhill 181-footer begging you to go for it with the creek just past the pin and to the right, as well as the picturesque tunnel shot on the finishing hole. Hole #3 forces a low RHBH shot to clear the first trees and hopefully attain a good enough skip to punch through the green's guardian trees leaving an easy uphill putt. Distance variation is enough that it's not a deuce-or-die course; a great example is #5 with deep rough to the left and guardian trees across the fairway at around 300' with the pin on a slightly elevated mound 377' away (and a cool view of the college's Wind Energy program's achievements), and the big RHBH anhyzer over a hump and usually into a headwind on #14 to a basket 366' away, but every hole is deuce-able (I know because I've done this, just not all in the same round!). Hole #13 is another unique shot with a blind pin tucked uphill and to the right, forcing a well-executed RHBH anny of only 192' but with plenty of risk. The "horseshoe hole" of #15 is a love/hate hole, and my attitude towards it changes like the seasons. This is a great course for beginners to work on both big drives and tricky finesse shots, and even though it's my home course, I still find enough challenge and enjoyment here that it never gets boring. Half of the holes are between 250' and 350', which is perfect for someone at my level (and who has plateaued and will presumably be at that level indefinitely).
2. Maintenance. The LTC crew keeps this place in top-notch condition. The grass is mowed regularly, dead and downed branches are almost immediately cleared, and woodchips are kept around many tree bases. Trash cans are present at the info kiosk/course map near #1 and at the tees of #5, #10, and #15, and there is another one on the trail leading back to the lot after #18. Being on a pretty sizable campus, there is the usual parking lot litter that blows around and the occasional beer bottle that's been thrown into the woods, but the maintenance crew, LTC's disc golf club, and myself and other local golfers tend to keep up with trash before it becomes a problem.
3. Tee signs. These are some of the nicest tee signs I've ever seen on a course, and they're still in great shape with barely any fading (and no vandalism!) after 6 years. I wish more courses went with informative and colorful signs like these, because they really weren't outrageously expensive and have really proven to be worth every penny.
4. Navigation. Next tee signs guide the way in tricky areas, like crossing the road from #1 to #2, coming back across the road from #7 to #8, and down the path from #17 to #18. It's usually clear where to walk after holing out due to the intuitive flow, and the course conveniently loops back to the parking lot between #9 and #10. The large course directory near #1 should be a big help as well (hint: take a photo with your phone!).
5. Practice basket. Right behind the tee for #1 with a slope behind it to practice uphill putts, plenty of trees to work on tricky obstructed upshots, or gauge how that day's wind will affect your putts. Course Secret: On days or times when no class is in session (and thus no other cars are in the lot), "Hole #19" can be played back to the practice basket from the walking path in front of the bench after you hole out on #18 (modify as desired) - it's a big risky RHBH anhyzer with LONG untamed rough over the Centerville Creek floodplain.
6. Tees. Rubber tees are in pretty good shape and mostly level, and don't seem to allow water to collect. A little lumpy in spots; #5 tee tends to be the worst in the spring with the front end tending to be submerged; a few have been hit by the big mowers.
7. Location. Halfway between Sheboygan and Manitowoc (and also halfway between Milwaukee and Green Bay), the course is only a few blocks off of the Cleveland exit on I-43. It's surprisingly quiet here, even with being located on a busy campus and two main roads running nearby, as well as the interstate traffic so close. Even though you play near and around a number of roads running through the campus, you manage to get a feeling of seclusion here and may encounter a variety of wildlife or enjoy some of the apples, pears, or mulberries (look around #10 when in season!).
8. Amenities. The campus will usually have a port-a-potty (or two) near the shed off to the left of #1 and by #9, but it's not guaranteed to be there and tends to be a seasonal thing. When school is in session, one could make their way down to the student services building where there are vending machines and access (with permission; check at the desk) to restrooms. Boardwalks through the wetlands on #5 and #13 and bridges over the creek crossing from #11 to #12 and on #18 are a great addition, and have eliminated long walks in these areas. The only benches are at the info kiosk/course directory (more of these would definitely be a plus). Stop at Bonde's Citgo/Subway before, during, or after for refreshments/restrooms.
9. Baskets. These were locally made and PDGA approved (though I do not see the model on the most recent approved target list as of June 2012), and although some folks seem to think they spit a little worse than other "legit" models I think they're just fine (but then again I've been playing on them for years)! The chains and number plates are rusty in some areas, but overall they're all in pretty decent shape and level.
10. Year-round. The baskets are permanently cemented into the ground, so they aren't going out for any seasons!
11. Nine-hole loops. You can easily start at #1 or #10, and several other 9-hole options are available (see "Other Thoughts" below).
Cons: 1. Single tees. Dual tees would add so much more flavor to this course and make it enjoyable to more players. Some holes would benefit from a shorter tee whereas many could use longer ones, and enough (although sparse) trees are around that the holes could be changed up significantly. This will hopefully be an improvement to the course in the near future.
2. Unused potential. There are some fantastic wooded areas near the Back 9, including some great elevation changes, which is really another thing this course would benefit greatly from that it currently lacks. During the original design my co-designer indeed had some holes going through here but were limited on how much cutting we could actually do, so merged our designs and came up with the current 18 holes.
3. Safety issues. With the numerous roads in play, there is potential for conflict (the roads are always OB, although the rarely used access road (at about 350') on #5 can be played OPTIONALLY as OB based on a group vote at the tee), but there aren't any holes where you are throwing towards a road. Some of the fairways are close to each other, which can be a problem on a busy day (though that is rare unless one of the busier city courses nearby is closed for a tournament or already overflowing). If you wind up in the deep pit on the "horseshoe hole" #15, beware of old scrap metal or barbed wire (presumably from the previous farm), although I rarely see it anymore.
4. Wet seasons. In the springtime or after a particularly rainy stretch, the course can hold water pretty badly in a few areas, obviously around the creek valley and wetlands near #5, and beware that the practice basket area can get really soggy as well.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned above, you can play several different 9-hole configurations if you're under time constraints, and all of them loop back to the start/end rather nicely. Besides the usual 1-9 and 10-18, here are some different niners I came up with:

Option A: Play holes #1-4. Skip #5-6. Play holes #7-11.
Option B: Play hole #1. Skip #2-7. Play holes #8-13. Skip #14-16. Play hole #17 and #18.
Option C: Okay, this one's a little goofy and closer to safari style, but variety IS the spice of disc golf! Play hole #1, then play hole #2 to basket #3. Play from hole #4 to basket #7. Play from hole #8 to basket #10. Play holes #11-13. Skip #14-16. Play holes #17-18.

This course would not have been possible were it not for the tremendous help and input of my friend, John Ader, of Cleveland (who also designed Quarry Park in Sheboygan and pitched in on the original Tower Ridge design in Eau Claire).

I appreciate any and all feedback, concerns, critique, etc. relating not only to my review, but to the LTC Cleveland course, and I will happily guide you if it's your first time! Message me here or e-mail me at jhgonzo@yahoo.com.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely a model of how to do a course correctly.

1    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) New signage and new baskets. Baskets even have a nice touc of blue painted basket with a special Lakeshore Technical College logo on the hole # sign.

2) Signage on troublesome (confusing) areas too indicating where the next hole is. Those are a nice touch for a new person to the course, you don't have to look all confused and wonder where you are supposed to go for the next hole.

3) Practice basket and bulletin board with all pertinent info.

4) Garbage cans are plentiful and almost no garbage is found on this course, despite being next to a junkyard of vehicles on the prevailing wind side of the property. It looks like the college must have a large maintenance budget for property maintenance, as everything looks well maintained.

#11 is my favorite hole with the river flowing rapidly just to the right and past the basket. It is a downhiller too so that brings the river into play more than you might think.

#12 has a nice boardwalk across a wetland, to a basket tucked up and to the right of the opening in the treeline.
Cons: 1) Missing out on challenege slightly. It isn't a simple easy course but I would like a little more challeneg out of a course.

2) Concrete teepads would be the only other thing holding this course back.

3) No bridges on 2 holes where they are needed. A long walk around the river or just jump it, walk through it, I jumped 1 successfully, and was going to just walk across the other but decided against it and walked around. River was flowing extremely fast however, so maybe it is easier to cross when it isn't following massive rains.
Other Thoughts: This course had me at hello. It was obvious it was well designed, the structure is there (tee signage, signage pointing you to next hole in confusing spots), nice practice basket, some challenge to some holes vary from basket location, shot making requirement. I give extra credit for the nice signs and the touch of the painted blue baskets. The maintenance is this courses strongpoint, and the only big weakness structurally would be the tee pads. I desire a little more challenge o n courses especially when i comes to giving the ranking. If this was a little tougher and had better concrete tee pads I would consider it as a 4 - 4 1/2 for sure. It is not a 5 because I value a wide variety of holes to get above 4. I just prefer more wooded holes. Even just 3-4 holes in the dense woods would make this 1/2 disc better.The wide open with a smattering of trees just doesn;t cut it on everyhole.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Suprise!!!

1    4/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -INCREDIBLE signage, best I have ever played
-INCREDIBLE new baskets
-perfect layout for the available land near the campus
-short, long, technical mix
-Well manicured
-beautiful landscape
-NOT crowded compared to near by courses(Vollarth/Quarry)
-bathrooms/vending in near by school buildings
-tees that change due to wearing out conditions. marked by classy ball golf type cement white balls.
-rolling hills and small elevation changes
Cons: -non-concrete tees
-no am/pro tees
-first four holes a bit open(just a bit)
-no small bridges on two holes to help cross tiny creeks
-initial tee a bit hard to find, but the campus is small and the main course sign(tee 1) will stick out easily once by it.
Other Thoughts: Suprise! Another (see UW Parkside) local college course that seems to blow away any other course in the area for beauty, skill, upkeep, layout etc. Was a pleasant surprise after coming from a near by Sheboygan course(Jaycee Quarry) that was starting to fill up with players.

Holes 1-4
When you first walk up to hole 1 there is a small kiosk with information about the course, a full course map, rules, and any local events going on with the course. In this case a fling and brat event. Super cool. The tees are packed earth type, BUT it looks like the maintainers take the ball golf philosophy of moving the tees slightly to let the ground heal while another wears away. This is done by using small white cement balls to mark the tee pad. Very classy. Even the "open" holes are designed with every tree, branch, hill, mound into consideration. No two holes ever feel the same. There is even a sign to guide you to tee 2. Very nice.

Holes 5-6
Two long ripper holes with elevation changes, weeds, trees that guard the basket. Loved these two.

Holes 7-11
Some medium length holes that use every tree and road as an obstacle. These holes are considered the transition holes to tho the other side of the course. Once again showing the brilliance of the design and layout of the course.

hole 12-13
The course takes you down into river bed territory. just gorgeous. Hole 12 is a short downhill 140 shot to a basket surrounded by river banks and weeds. This is where a small bridge should be built to add to the courses beauty. It is no big deal to jump across this creek, but younger kids might have an issue. Hole 13 is an uphill shot to a basket that sits guarded by trees on to of the hill. A very well built wooden blank bridge is built to guide you through the weeds.

Hole 14-17
a long hole(once again with guarded trees) leads you to 15, another signature hole. 90 plus degrees around impenetrable woods. Not many options. A huge hyzer for a lefty, a thumber up and over, or a pray and poke through the trees. 16 and 17 once again give you a lengthy drive with technical options.

hole 18
finishing sig hole. 150+ through a tree tunnel, over a creek, and finishing on a slightly elevated basket. perfect finish. This little creek cross is in need of a small bridge, although once again a hop over is no big issue.

overall
a pleasant surprise and a well worth stop. I imagine this course is just beautiful in the summer with full leaf coverage, and the fall with the colors.(pics here look they were taken in early spring. don't do the course ANY justice) It reminded me of playing a ball course with it's rolling hills and layout. Serene for being on a college campus (small college at that). A gem.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

6/15/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: joshdarkstar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A very well kept course. All the tees are clearly labeled, and there are signs pointing you in the direction of the next hole.
Cons: On some holes it is extremely easy to lose a disc. Keep an eye on your shots!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.