Disc Golf Store
Petaluma, CA
Lucchesi Park Share
Uploaded By: dawatbay  



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/25/2013   3/27/2013
Review By: joegraham
Played: 84  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played on a Monday morning with no traffic. 9 baskets in a well maintained park. I threw from what I could try to find a tee spot from the course map that is available inside the rec center and the shots were actually all challenging. Only parked 2 holes and had long birdie shots at 4-5 others. Uses the trees as obstacles well. Water fountains in the park and bathrooms in the rec center. Not a lot of Pros for this course.
Cons: Baskets aren't marked. No marking on the sidewalks where the tees should have been according to the map. There is no way you could find a tee without a map. This can easily be remedied with some spray paint! Tight layout that I'm sure will conflict with any amount of traffic in the park.
Other Thoughts: Great safari potential with NO traffic!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Welcome to Planet Goose Poop!

1    10/6/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• A decent park
• There are restrooms and water
• Easy to find
• Some fun shots here and there
Cons:
• Goose poop
• Tricky to navigate
• Goose poop
• No tees/signage
• Goose poop
• Heavy park traffic in play
• Did I mention the goose poop?
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
• Bring a map.

Random Thoughts:
Wow. Twice in one week I came to a course and thought immediately about turning around and leaving. I'm apparently on a roll. While this is a nice park, and there are a few interesting shots, the goose poop is completely out of control, and I'm not talking about the dry, only in one spot variety that you find out at Lagoon Valley. This park has it EVERYWHERE and it's nice and gooey fresh. I felt like I was walking around in a goose port-a-potty. It's really quite disgusting. Now I know this has nothing to do with the course per se, and the local course designers probably can't do much about it, so I certainly don't blame them. It's really more a comment on perhaps considering moving this course. As for the course itself, it's not the easiest to navigate so you will need a map and then you may just be guessing, and that's assuming there's no one in the way on the hole you're throwing on as this is quite a busy park, even in the early AM when I went. One obstacle which I had never encountered before was a gaggle of young girls massaging the basket chains in some sort of ritualistic circle. Put that on your next tournament test! Anyway…most of the shots are pretty straight forward with the more interesting holes being #3, #4, #7, and #9. #3 is interesting because it demands a high hyzer. #4 has a guarded basket with OB along the right. #7 has quite a few obstacles to deal with, including a tent (which probably isn't there normally). #9 is obviously the signature hole on the course as it throws over the lake, but here's the trouble with this hole: if you follow the map, the tee is in the dirt under some very low trees, which you means you have an unorthodox/difficult run-up, and you really need a good tee area because this is not an easy shot. Between the fountain and the trees, the route/landing area is not all that big and it's not exactly short either. I imagine kersplashes occur frequently out here. But I can say this: it is a picturesque shot.

Bottom Line:
There is actually a lot of potential for a nice course out here but I'm really not sure if it's possible to execute it. Between the proximity and busyness of the park goers and the ridiculous amount of goose poop, this didn't make for a fun experience for me, despite what is actually a decent park. So for that, I'd advise skipping it for now, or at least planning your trip appropriately (i.e. when the people and the geese aren't there and there's some miracle shower for the place).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Better than nothing

1    8/1/2007   7/3/2009
Review By: Mergz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It's a course. Green fairways. It's in a nice park. It's pretty open. It's difficult to lose discs. There are some challenging drives.
Cons: Lot's of park people. The course can get congested due to waiting for pedestrians.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Where to where

1    10/14/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: beauzen
Played: 24  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 35.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Community park = grass
Cons: Community park = people on walkways; goose poop everywhere. Even with a map, it was very difficult to know where to go. The tee pads (areas) were virtually non-existent.
Other Thoughts: I heard that this course may be relocated, which would be a good thing. Nothing too special here.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.