Farnham, NY 
Evangola State Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #7
5 / 260ft.   5 / 390ft.   3 / 470ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Oh boy...

2-4    6/21/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: Led Zeppelin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: The baskets are intact and none are missing. Has potential to be a good course when redone.
Cons: No signage in park directing you to hole 1, the park pamphlet doesn't even acknowledge a disc golf course exists there, park employees not helpful, Tees are mixed up, mislabeled with wrong hole numbers and distance, or blank, some tees are backwards, Old signage still up for previous course layout, A few holes make you walk back towards the tee box area putting yourself in danger.
Other Thoughts: There is a $7/per vehicle fee to enter but the course is pretty much unnavigable and unplayable in it's current condition so save yourself the money.


2-4    6/7/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: Dr_Johnson
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Easy to navigate for the most part, but the changes to the course need to be noted and mapped better. Free if there isn't anyone at the gate for the parking charge (after 5:00). Definitely has some fun holes with lost of open space on most.
Cons: Very wet and grass on the fairways was too long. The grounds are not well groomed with long grass and thick underbrush in the woods. The changes to the course are not well mapped or marked.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course when it is dry since it is the only free course around. Unfortunately, it has been wet and swampy each time I've played there in either the spring or fall. Even now it's very wet in spots. It is not very well maintained and if you find yourself in the woods you are in trouble.

Let It Rip. Needs Signs!

1    7/27/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - There were a lot of opportunities to let the disc fly.
- There were enough trees in play to make the course not just an open field.
-The signs that the course had were nice when they were up.
- The last few holes actually go into the woods and were fun holes.
Cons: - Course was missing a ton of signs.
-A bit hard to navigate without the signs bc the signs from the old course are just put down and the hole #s do not match up correctly.
-At times the holes seem very similar
Other Thoughts: Take a picture of the course map near hole number 1 or else you will most likely get lost. Kinda stinks you have to pay to enter the park, but if you go with like 3 or 4 people the $7/car to enter really is not that big of a deal. The course goes in a figure 8 pattern where you do have to cross the road but that was not an issue because there was no traffic at all on the road.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course, Needs Some TLC

1    7/27/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: scpeterson
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good balance of nice, open fairways, with just enough woods, mandos and guarded baskets to make things a challenge. Parking here is no problem at all, and the course map is excellent. There is a snack shack in the building by the lake, although it may have been open due to an event the day we were there. One basket is set in amongst a group of trees, making it a real challenge. If the course looks too open to you, the last few holes are in the woods and require a bit of an S curve to get through. The designers always seemed to include a clump of trees or a dogleg somewhere that adds a challenge. One basket was literally several feet in the woods, with no real approach from anywhere but the fairway.
Cons: As people have mentioned before, the course was redone, which throws off the numbering a bit. Some holes have signs that match the style of the overview map (I'll echo other reviewers before me when I say that you really will benefit by taking a picture of the overview map), but some holes are missing signs altogether. The information on the tees doesn't always match the hole; we found what had to be hole number 7 (based on the picture we took of the overview map), but it was missing a sign and had tees marked #13. It was unclear if the par and distance values were correct, again the result of missing signs and mis-marked tees.
Other Thoughts: Some people complained about the fact that you have to cross roads often to get to holes, and it's true, you do have to do that, because the layout is a figure 8 pattern. However, we didn't really mind it because there was virtually no traffic. We were the only ones playing, but we did run into park employees mowing. However, they were very accommodating in terms of waiting for us to play through, etc. We did not run into any real water issues; most water hazards were dry. We also did find some deer droppings, but not enough to be a problem.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 An Easy Walk

2-4    12/1/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: iacas
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Flat layout makes for an easy walk.
- Blue, white, and red tees to let your wife or kid (as mine did) play along with you.
- Really good map at the beginning. I took a picture on my iPhone before beginning play and it came in handy.
- The last four holes are unique.
- Good variety of distances. Some holes are a driver and a good approach, others are a mid and a putt.
- Good variety of left to right and right to left as well.
- Relatively ample parking for just the disc golf course.
- Baskets in good shape.
- Tees relatively easy to find with large colored blocks - you could see them from far away.
- Fairly large park with amenities. Restrooms were closed for the season when I was there last but there are also benches and tables and whatnot. Right on the lake.
Cons: - When we last played, deer poop EVERYWHERE.
- Hole distances aren't right on the signs. One said about 300 feet and was 178 yards. Minor con since they recently re-designed the order of the holes.
- Have to cross the road a few times. Again, minor con - the walks aren't too long.
- Natural tees which can get muddy.
Other Thoughts: Apparently this course has undergone some changes. The course layout was fairly easy to understand (if you look at the map near the first tee beforehand) - it's just a little annoying to cross the roads a few times.

Many of the holes had a pattern wherein you had a fairly open drive, then approached or putted to a basket tucked into some trees. A little more variety would have been nice.

This course is worth checking out if you're in the area. The wide open holes let you work on some distance throwing and form, while the trees near the baskets make hitting accurate lines a must for birdies.

It's not great, but it's not bad, either.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Somewhat Disorganized

1    2/28/2012   2/29/2012
Review By: BigCam
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of straight shots, easily walkable, with a few dog-legs here and there that make for a more challenging experience.
Cons: Somewhat disorganized. After hole 6, it appears that the remainder of the course works in reverse order, as you work your way backwards from 14 to 10, and then 7 through 9. It was almost as if someone had jokingly replaced the tee markers and put them in random order. Difficult to tell whether this was done intentionally, or if the course is being re-built during the winter months.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to seeing what the course looks like in the summer and if the problem of disorganization is corrected by then.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Still Under Construction

1    5/9/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: lucasfnelson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a good number of long, open holes so you can really let your plastic fly. Many holes are also wooded, which keeps your throws focused.
Cons: The course is in disarray. The first 5 holes are the same, and they are great, but after that things go awry. Holes 6 through 9 are flip-floped, meaning the hole is where the tee was and vice versa. This makes for a lot of back tracking. The back four were completely underwater and overgrown with grass when I played.
Other Thoughts: According to the other reviews, this course has been "under construction" for a while now; hopefully they get things ironed out soon. This course has a lot of potential to be fun, but the lack of a good flow undermines this quite a bit (esp. if you have never played the course before). I'd recommend printing off a map for the simple fact that you will know where the course is supposed to go. However, if the course is quiet, I recommend just making your own course out of the existing holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A refreshed course but no maps

5+    7/3/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: ssejhill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course does have its Pros - [1] few people play there so you won't feel rushed as a group behind you waits, [2] water hazards are kept to a bare minimum (only 1 and even that one is dependent on weather conditions), [3] the course isn't so heavily weighted to lefties as some other courses are (Como comes to mind), [4] there is a good mix of open and wooded throws to keep you honest, [5] I actually like the presence of the wind off the lake and how that impacts your throws both throwing into the wind, with the wind and crossing the wind.
Cons: Being one of the oldest courses in Western NY, Evangola is showing its age which may be why they re-designed holes 6-14. The holes can be a bit monotonous as several holes seem to be to just duplicate previous holes.

These Cons are fairly minor - the biggest gripe we had was the complete lack of maps, distances and course layout of holes 6-14. I guess once you play it a few times it would be no problem but for those of us who just come down to play once a year (or less) this is NOT acceptable. They re-designed the course nearly a year ago yet there still are no maps on the posts, you may have difficulty finding hole #6, the scorecard maps, Pars and distances for holes 6-14 are all wrong.
Other Thoughts: I'm sending an email to NRDG to prod them to update the maps and scorecards but I don't hold out much hope since they have never even replied to my previous note about the Par values needing to be corrected for hole #8 at Como.

Still, Evangola is a worthwhile stop. The lake, beach and picnic areas just add to a pretty good course. I just wished they would finish the re-design.

[7/7/10 edit. according to the course designer "The park is in the process of creating a wetlands project through the DEC. Holes 15, 16 and 17 will need to be changed and work has started. As soon as all the changes are in place, a new scorecard will be created."]

[7/3/11 edit. Course is still without maps or signs and now the tees and baskets for holes 14, 15 & 16 are gone and the tee for 17 is very difficult to get to. One can only hope that the NRDG finally gets around to completing this renovation. They spend far to much time on creating new courses (Emery, Ellicott, Darien State Park and Chest Ridge II) and not enough time maintaining the existing courses like Evangola and Chestnut Ridge I]

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/8/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: Diskioto
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great all around. Lots of tail wind on the front 9 with equally challenging headwinds on the back. Rarely anyone there, atleast recently and they are installing a driveway directly to the first tee so you dont have to drive all the way around and bottom out goin through the ancient lot.
Cons: Have to pay to park. Sucks when you go there for a quick round.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Plain Ol' Frisbee Golf

5+    9/2/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes on well maintained grass. Easy to follow, nice new layout (figure 8). The last couple of holes make a nice ending to an otherwise bland course. Quick play, minimal walking allows you to play 18 in an hour or two.
Cons: Too much of the same thing. Course plays up and down the main road(45MPH), which requires you to cross three times (4 if you count walking back to your car). No signs on the re-designed portion, which means no pars/guidance, etc.
Other Thoughts: This course has improved in the few years since I'd first played in, but there's nothing special. I would recommend this to anyone taking a trip to the Irving reservation (it's about 5 minutes down Rt 5 from the rez).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center