Farnham, NY 
Evangola State Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #11
4 / 231ft.   4 / 332ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 New and Improved Evangola

5+    8/18/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: mrfyeah
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: They just revamped 9 of the holes making it a figure 8 today as well as changed 9 holes completely! This was long over due and really makes the course alot better. Great course for beginners. Very easy to find your disc, and you dont tend to lose to many, which is always a good thing. I just really enjoy playing this course since I just started playing a month ago.
Cons: Grass could be cut more as well as weedwhacked but that is only because of the rain and the state is short stafffed. 7 bucks to park, if you come before 9 it is free or after 5 or you can always park on old lakeshore rd
Other Thoughts: Need garbage cans on the course! Great new design the signs are still not up and come tees are missing but completely revamped DEF worth trying out!

 Evangola

5+    1/20/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: Pyro419
Played: 17  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy course to find and navigate. Great course for beginners, Mostly open with some tree/brush obstacles near pins, 2 small ponds you must throw over and a creek running along the last 5 holes. Great for a couple of fast rounds when in the area.
Cons: A bit of a drive if your not in the southtowns, not really worth it if driving from Buffalo. Favors distance rather than accuracy, most tee shots wide open. Also, holds water really bad during rainy months.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course over 30 times, you can play 36 in about 2 hrs. nice place to try new discs and hone in your throws.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This is no Eva Longoria!

1    6/4/2007   2/13/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. 9 holes down one side of the road, 9 holes back up the other. 3 sets of tees. We had the course to ourselves. There were some really old baskets on display near hole 1 which was probably the best thing about the course.
Cons: Though the park is on the lake, the course is not near it. The park seemed deserted (this was the middle of summer!) Most of the holes were rather boring and repetitive. The back had some different, harder holes, but they seemed forced into the design and layout.
Other Thoughts: We created a game utilizing the 3 different tee lengths to make this course more interesting. If you birdie a hole you play from the long tees on the next hole, par is middle tee, bogey or worse you move up to the "ladies" tee!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A course of a different color

1    8/4/2008   10/12/2008
Review By: Nerdboy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Intuitive flow from hole to hole. Inexperienced players can do reasonably well here. I liked the Manditory's here, I thought it added a nice challenge. This is a course where you can really air it out, it's so open. A mistake in a putt or drive isn't so punishing here as it is at other area courses, like the Ridge and Como Park. This park is a contrast to other area parks, and that really is its strength. There is also ample parking and beautiful lakeside scenery including a fantastic picnic area. There is also a Tim Hortons minutes from the park for coffee or food. Friendly locals invited me to go with them and showed me the course. Thanks Dave Mc.
Cons: A very wet course, for weeks after a rain. Standing water on the fairways, and the incorporation of a small creek as a hazard on the last six or so holes will guarantee soggy sneaks. This course is also very out of the way, and paying six dollars to park burns me after driving all that way. You can get around this fee during the summer by playing before 8:30am when the personnel arrive. Spring and Fall are free to park.
Other Thoughts: The Empire Pass might not be a bad investment for locals, as I believe Beaver Island also has a summer fee to park. ($40) This park could use some TLC, better marked tees (blues on #18?whites on #4?) and the basket on #12 or #13 was held in place by a stick! I'd love to see the last 4 holes redesigned.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Boring...get back in the car!

6/7/2007   4/4/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are actual baskets and not "tone-kegs"
Cons: No course design at all until about hole 15. Pretty much they had some land, placed some baskets and said here you go.
Other Thoughts: If you can throw a 250-320 ft gentle hyzer consistently, you should have a score around 30 going into hole 15. The tee shot is almost exactly the same for the first 14 holes. Lengths vary. We should have never gotten out of the Xterra. My pals and I kept referring to this place as "Eva Longoria". My numerous and unending apolgies to Ms. Longoria-Parker. We will never again ridicule your name by mentioning it in conjunction with this park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2/21/2008   2/21/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is near Buffalo, 18 holes, (3 tees per hole) A lot of the holes seem to require the exact same shot every time. I do not think the parks department keeps upkeep very well. (Maybe I always go at the wrong time) . All flat (one green was raised). Had more mando's than I thought were necessary that I thought hurt the course not helping it. Every hole seemed to have a road on the Right, and Trees/rough/trouble on the left.
Cons: Last time I went it was 6 dollars to enter park during the Summer time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Course by the Parkway

8/6/2007   8/11/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an extremely easy course to navigate, even without a map. Just follow the parkway away from the lake for the front nine, then back on the other side for the back nine. All the tees are well marked / easy to find. It is a very open level course, but a few mandos try to keep it interesting. A few minutes' walk from the course is a large scenic beach on lake Erie. While the breeze off the lake can be heard near the beginning and end of the course, the fairways are far enough away to be spared the brunt of the winds.
Cons: Some signs are missing; at least one basket was seriously bent out of shape. Some of the holes on the front nine play as repetitive throws away from the road toward the woods. The last few holes have some tall, razor sharp grass patches which while not having any real effect on the run of play do make discs difficult to find and painful to get to.
Other Thoughts: Quite a few of the baskets had trees surrounding them in a way such that it proved effective to simply throw a disc high into the trees to get it to fall close to the pin. I liked the fact that these shots were available, but realize that many don't care for them.
Of all the courses the NRDG league plays, this is the most out of the way, and arguably the least well cared for. Those two factors may go hand in hand. It's a decent course, but I rarely make the trip from Buffalo to it, with so many better courses closer by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.