Layout Extinct

Carrollton, TX 
Greenbelt Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #1
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Greenbelt Park

1    7/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tees and baskets were in good shape( a lot better than jimmy porter)
the grass was great condition
I like the use of elevation and different looks that the course offers
Cons: That canal is a disc eater thank goodness we had a retriever with us or we would of had to buy a new bag of disc completely

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 For the Inventive Disc Golfer

5+    9/6/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: True - the course only has about 11 baskets up due to construction, but for the disc golfer that can think outside the box, this coarse offers some truly unique looks. Once your through playing the 11 baskets you can easily make up 7 incredible holes. For that matter, you can make up the entire 18. It's a lot of fun for me because it's never the same course twice.
Cons: The fact that it's currently not a complete coarse. Some peeps I've taken haven't been able to get past the "where are my 18 baskets" thing. If you're OCD, this may not be the course for you.
Other Thoughts: Be aware of the canal that runs through the center of the course. It's a magnet for discs and you have to get really nasty to get them back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dang creek...

5+    6/10/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Mostly open, but still challenging
- Rarely crowded
- Well maintained park with nice grass fairways
- Elevation, trees, and water hazard combine for a variety of shots
Cons:
- Inconsistent tee pads / signs
- The creek is a disc eater and is in play on most holes. Most can be retrieved with a pole if it's clear, but when it's murky, good luck
Other Thoughts:
The creek is annoying when it eats your disc, but it makes this course more of a mental challenge than many others. The risk/reward aspect is largely amplified.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Greenbelt=tough

2-4    9/5/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: LuvMyLeopard
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course setup. Challenging. It has it's fair share of length and short, birdieable par 3's. Good for all skill levels, but favors the seasoned veterans as the water comes into play a lot. Love the elevation changes.
Cons: I've been working on my game all summer at some of the easier courses in the area and thought I was ready for this one. I will probably not play it again for a while until I'm more confident. My friend and I ran into problems with water on 3 holes. I was able to salvage 2 discs from the creek, but lost one on #7. It was a little intimidating to say the least. Also, there was a ton of trash on the course. Please throw your water bottles, beer cans etc. in the trash. It was sad to see actually.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 130  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Couse is never packed. Ive played this on weekdays, weekends, mornings and evenings, it is not packed.

2. Plenty of parking (it is also a Con, see next section).

3. Has some difficult holes along the creek. IT also has some elevation shots as well.

4. It has been well maintained for last couple of months. Playing on a clean couse makes it so much more fun.
Cons:
1. With the parking (shared with an APT complex), it can get pretty scary at times. There are some very "colorful" people that you run into there.

2. Some of the tees are not in the best of shape.

3. Some of the holes are missing markers or very difficult to figure out where to start from.
Other Thoughts: I started playing this couse when Jimmy Porter started getting over packed. After a while I started treating these two courses the same. They both are good course, but not great ones.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Greenbelt

5+    6/3/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course to work on your 350 foot hyzer shot(RHBH). Not everything is 350 but I think that is a good average and something that can get you in the mindset for this course. Concrete pads on most holes but not all. Some tee signs are missing and with Greenbelt north being in the ground, it can get a little confusing around holes 5-7 due to the use on both courses. Pretty wide open so you can throw lots of different shot pretty easily. A little elevation on holes 12-14 which is nice for around here. Can be played backwards which is fun and alot more challenging but you will need a local to walk with because some of those pads are hard to find. Carrollton Open is a fun tourny that should be hit up as well.
Cons: Wind can make it tricky and its usually windy! It can get hot and theres not alot of shade to protect you, so bring lots of cold drinks. Grass can get out of control at times. Creek can get nasty at certain points and I have seen snakes in there during the warm months.
Other Thoughts: Parking sometimes can get a little hairy with the apartment that borders the parking lot. Play Greenbelt north while its in the ground, alot more fun and rewarding I think. Start at 5 then 6 goes back towards 5's tee, then play back towards the road and cross the bridge. The first hole plays across the creek then look for worn out dirt tee pads, pretty easy to follow as it winds across the creek then back across the bridge. Then original 7 and the original 4 finishes the 18.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 RIsk/Reward-They got it!

1    12/21/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a course of risk reward. There is water coming into play on most of the holes. This long winding creek was fairly low and see through on most of the course the day I played it, however, there are a few deeper parts. You could lose a disc here if you play like "Tin Cup" on every hole. The course is fairly wide open and has some trees, but they don't really come into play much. The baskets were all in good shape and were placed in some fairly risky places due to water behind them. This course does have so nice elevation on a few holes. The lengths of the holes did seem to vary some, but most of them were between 275'-325'. There were 2 holes around 250' and few around up around 400'
Cons: This course has a mix of cement, sidewalk using, and dirt tee pads. The sidewalk using tees were a bit awkward, and the ruts in the dirt ones were getting fairly deep. Very few tee signs and without a guide or a map, you may get lost. No bathrooms to speak of and you will need to keep your language (words and volume) under control, as this is built with homes and apartments on both sides of you. On a nice day there will be plenty of people here.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor will be split on this course for many of you. There is high chance of losing a disc to the water, but it really makes you bring your precision game. High wind days will make this a real challenge. So if you are a risk/reward person, this is a good stop.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Hyzer city

5+    10/16/2007   10/30/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has lots of hills on the outer edges of the park, and the grass is usually lush and green...but more importantly, regularly mowed.

Nice baskets, concrete tees on most holes, and a few unique holes with elevation keep this course from being a 2.5 or lower.

There's a fairly large creek in play on every hole except 1 to keep things interesting on this otherwise 80% flat/open course. The creek is typically shallow in most areas and has a solid rock bottom...so fishing your disc out isn't a big hassle.

I've never played this course when there were more than 3-4 other groups at the park, so getting in a quick round usually isn't a problem.

Great course for practice in the wind, as there aren't many trees to block it. Also good for night/glow golf, as there's zero underbrush...just watch out for the creek.
Cons: Lack of variety is the biggest con in my opinion. Almost every single basket can be reached with a 300-350' RHBH hyzer. The few holes that incorporate some kind of elevation are what kept me going back to Greenbelt when I lived in the area.

The few holes that don't have concrete pads are just dirt...and they're getting a bit worn down at this point.
Other Thoughts: Although not one of the more unique or challenging in the DFW, Greenbelt has a group of dedicated locals who play it all the time. It's also an important part of Dallas disc golf history, being one of the 2 courses typically used for the Mr. Jim's Carrollton Open, one of the largest events in North Texas.

There's a backwards layout that many of the locals call the "Beltbuster" that, from what I've been told, is TONS more interesting and challenging than the normal layout. One of the previous reviews mentions specifics about the layout.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Good, open course

2-4    5/10/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads on most holes. Signs on some holes, but not all. Good baskets. The park is pretty and the course is in great shape. There are some fun holes around the waterway that are challenging simply because of the fear of going in the drink. If you do go in the water, it isn't too hard usually to get it back if you're willing to get wet. There are some cool downhill and uphill shots. There are also a few holes that let you unleash the long drives.
Cons: This is a pretty open course. Not a lot of trees to add challenge to the course. Can be pretty windy and not a lot of shade. Some of the teepads are just dirt. Some signs are missing/damaged.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the better courses in the area. I'd say this is a good course for beginners.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.