Layout Extinct

Carrollton, TX 
Greenbelt Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #2
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Love the Creek

1    9/3/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: Discengineer
Played: 67  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of Different looks and shots. Was well mowed but had some work going on by hole 3 didnt see 3 basket or 4
Cons: Creek comes into play more than would expect good thing its man made and has concrete bottom so golden retriever is a life saver. Hate to admit but I was in there three times.
Other Thoughts: On hole 3 didnt see so walked down and didnt see 9 or 10 so jumped to 11 and rest where there. With a added basket randomly on hole 13. Was very nice and will do this one again. Thought was better than Jimmy Porter at least no weeds taller than I am.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Greenbelt Park

1    7/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tees and baskets were in good shape( a lot better than jimmy porter)
the grass was great condition
I like the use of elevation and different looks that the course offers
Cons: That canal is a disc eater thank goodness we had a retriever with us or we would of had to buy a new bag of disc completely

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 For the Inventive Disc Golfer

5+    9/6/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: True - the course only has about 11 baskets up due to construction, but for the disc golfer that can think outside the box, this coarse offers some truly unique looks. Once your through playing the 11 baskets you can easily make up 7 incredible holes. For that matter, you can make up the entire 18. It's a lot of fun for me because it's never the same course twice.
Cons: The fact that it's currently not a complete coarse. Some peeps I've taken haven't been able to get past the "where are my 18 baskets" thing. If you're OCD, this may not be the course for you.
Other Thoughts: Be aware of the canal that runs through the center of the course. It's a magnet for discs and you have to get really nasty to get them back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dang creek...

5+    6/10/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 49  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Mostly open, but still challenging
- Rarely crowded
- Well maintained park with nice grass fairways
- Elevation, trees, and water hazard combine for a variety of shots
Cons:
- Inconsistent tee pads / signs
- The creek is a disc eater and is in play on most holes. Most can be retrieved with a pole if it's clear, but when it's murky, good luck
Other Thoughts:
The creek is annoying when it eats your disc, but it makes this course more of a mental challenge than many others. The risk/reward aspect is largely amplified.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    10/1/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: masterchuck
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are not that many trees in the way, it is a very open course. Every hole is easily parred by a somewhat experienced player. The downhill holes are the tits.
Cons: The creek is a mental challenge, if you put it out of your mind it is avoidable. Pedestrians are sometimes in the way. On the weekends there's this homeless Mexican guy that chills around hole 2, give him a beer and he'll love you forever
Other Thoughts: Second course I've ever played, love it! Consider it my home course, come see me at the hangout at hole 5!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Greenbelt=tough

2-4    9/5/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: LuvMyLeopard
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course setup. Challenging. It has it's fair share of length and short, birdieable par 3's. Good for all skill levels, but favors the seasoned veterans as the water comes into play a lot. Love the elevation changes.
Cons: I've been working on my game all summer at some of the easier courses in the area and thought I was ready for this one. I will probably not play it again for a while until I'm more confident. My friend and I ran into problems with water on 3 holes. I was able to salvage 2 discs from the creek, but lost one on #7. It was a little intimidating to say the least. Also, there was a ton of trash on the course. Please throw your water bottles, beer cans etc. in the trash. It was sad to see actually.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Way Open

5+    5/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: bumpspeed
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of room to throw. Great place to break in new drivers. There aren't that many trees that will bend your discs but plenty of spike hyzer opportunity.

With all the other quality courses in the area this isn't all that busy. you should be able to get through a round in just over an hour, if your moving.
Cons: THE CREEK!!! This thing is a disc eater. If it has rained within the last couple days it will be murky and your never going to see your disc. If it has been a while since it rained the thing will be full of moss and weeds. You probably won't be able to see your disc. If it has been the usual HOT Texas summer the things smells. Any disc that comes out of ther is going to have a beautiful stench. Hopefully you can find a local kid willing to hop in and find your disc. A good disc is worth 5 bucks to get back.

Multi use park and weekend ball games can get in the way.

Not many obstacles. Would be nice to have some tighter lanes to throw. Plus this would increase the shade. Texas summers can get a bit brutal.

No/Bad Tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad fall back course. Needs to be brought up to speed with some of the more premiere courses in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 130  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Couse is never packed. Ive played this on weekdays, weekends, mornings and evenings, it is not packed.

2. Plenty of parking (it is also a Con, see next section).

3. Has some difficult holes along the creek. IT also has some elevation shots as well.

4. It has been well maintained for last couple of months. Playing on a clean couse makes it so much more fun.
Cons:
1. With the parking (shared with an APT complex), it can get pretty scary at times. There are some very "colorful" people that you run into there.

2. Some of the tees are not in the best of shape.

3. Some of the holes are missing markers or very difficult to figure out where to start from.
Other Thoughts: I started playing this couse when Jimmy Porter started getting over packed. After a while I started treating these two courses the same. They both are good course, but not great ones.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Not That Great

2-4    5/5/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: goober555
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice and quiet when away from the road.
-Usually not very crowded
Cons: Unless you've been to the course several times and figured it out (or if you go with someone who knows the course) you'll end up shooting at the wrong hole from the tee. And along the back 9 or 10, all of the holes are backed up to the water hazard that runs through the course. Very frustrating for new players.
No parking lot for the course
Other Thoughts: Could do with some better markings for the tee/hole, and signs indicating where the hole is from the tee need to be replaced as most are missing or defaced.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Meh

2-4    4/23/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: robertsm99
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wide open at many places
Cons: Creek that runs through, pads are mixed only 1-2 concrete tee boxes. Not well marked out as to course and where next tee is on occasions. Course maps need to be updated.
Other Thoughts: Wasn't very impressed with the course needs to be better maintained and updated.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.