Layout Extinct

Carrollton, TX 
Greenbelt Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #14
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Good for a quick weekend game

2-4    9/26/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: Maximus
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This coures has never been too crowded even on really nice sundays. It can be a quickly played course if needed. A better than average variation of holes, some playing right on the creek, some across, then playing the hills with changing amounts of trees.
Cons: The order of some holes don't really make sense in the playing order. Because of this you can get lost or miss some holes. The tees are very worn in some places, others are very nice concrete.
Other Thoughts: This is a underated course in my opinion.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/23/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: tylaj04
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent scenery, although the "creek" smells pretty septic... Long holes (300ft+ avg). Not too crowded on a nice Sunday.
Cons: Creek hazard plays into almost every single shot. Otherwise, not very challenging. Not alot of shade. Long walks between some holes. Course not clearly marked - hard to find the next tee, and many markers are faded beyond recognition.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 just a walk in the park cazanski

1    7/24/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: cubby09
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a nice park with some interesting pin placements. I really liked the elevated tees and pins on the back nine as well as the placement of the tee boxes which require you to drive over/next to the creek. If your Disc happens to go into the creek the bank is very easy to climb down and the water was shallow and clear.
Cons: Stay out of the weeds on the front nine near the creek...they're thick. few of the baskets are labeled so it was difficult to sometimes figure out which basket to shoot at.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Greenbelt

5+    6/3/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course to work on your 350 foot hyzer shot(RHBH). Not everything is 350 but I think that is a good average and something that can get you in the mindset for this course. Concrete pads on most holes but not all. Some tee signs are missing and with Greenbelt north being in the ground, it can get a little confusing around holes 5-7 due to the use on both courses. Pretty wide open so you can throw lots of different shot pretty easily. A little elevation on holes 12-14 which is nice for around here. Can be played backwards which is fun and alot more challenging but you will need a local to walk with because some of those pads are hard to find. Carrollton Open is a fun tourny that should be hit up as well.
Cons: Wind can make it tricky and its usually windy! It can get hot and theres not alot of shade to protect you, so bring lots of cold drinks. Grass can get out of control at times. Creek can get nasty at certain points and I have seen snakes in there during the warm months.
Other Thoughts: Parking sometimes can get a little hairy with the apartment that borders the parking lot. Play Greenbelt north while its in the ground, alot more fun and rewarding I think. Start at 5 then 6 goes back towards 5's tee, then play back towards the road and cross the bridge. The first hole plays across the creek then look for worn out dirt tee pads, pretty easy to follow as it winds across the creek then back across the bridge. Then original 7 and the original 4 finishes the 18.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Updated May 17

1    5/17/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course. Lots of birdie-able par 3s. The creek provides some fun obstacles but is shallow and clear enough in most places that you can go in after a disc.
Cons: Rumor has it that many people play this course "backwards." I don't know how any one could truly play it in reverse order, but there are enough holes and dirt tees out there that you could play this course any way you wanted to. These people have also relabeled the hole numbers on the baskets, so if you want to play the course the way it is supposed to be played, follow the signs at the teeboxes. There is no map(but see below) The basket for 18 is missing, there is an additional basket over by the parking lot, but its a pain to get to from the tee, so I usually add a hole in between 2 and 3, you. Just look for the dirt tee off the the left as you are walking towards #3 tee, its out in the open field, shoot towards the apartments.
Other Thoughts: There are 17(#4 is not marked) well marked tee boxes. I created a google maps that shows the map of the course the way it should be played according to the signs at the tee boxes. If you play this course another way, maybe you could make a map of the way you play it and share it with everyone else.
http://maps.google.com/maps/m...abb6&z=16

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 tall grass

1    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: skipbo1
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good layout of disc course.
Cons: Grass is way to tall, Needs mowing really bad. Hard to find your way around. Apts near park attracts some strange people.
Other Thoughts: Course needs alot of work. The city or poeple living and playing there have let this course go downhill. Could be a good place to play if they take better care of park and the area. Go play in Lewisville, Tx the parks are better.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 POTENTIAL

1    4/11/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: LAWMANIII
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL COURSE. THE CREEK IS CLEAR AND RUNNING. THE GRASS AND VEGETATION IS GREEN. LOTS OF OPEN SHOTS. LOTS OF CHANGES IN HOLES
Cons: AFTER THE FIRST THREE HOLES I NEVER FOUND ANOTHER TEE BOX WITH OUT LOOKING FOR A WHILE FOR THE NEXT. THIS WAS VERY FRUSTRATING. IF THE LOCALS CARED WHAT OUT OF TOWNERS THOUGHT, THEY WOULD SPEND A DAY MAKING EVERYTHING MORE UNDERSTANDABLE. ALSO IT WOULD NOT TAKE LONG TO MAKE A MAP AND POST IT ONLINE. THIS COURSE HAS THE POTENTIAL TO BE AN AWESOME COURSE. BUT I DONT PLAY OUT OF TOWN COURSES ONLY TO MAKE UP MY OWN SHOTS. I HAD TWO GROUPS OF TWO OTHER PLAYERS APPROACH ME FOR DIRECTIONS AND I COULD HONESTLY SAY THAT I HAD NO CLUE. I HERE THE LOCALS LIKE TO PLAY THE COUSE BACKWARDS.... ITS PROBABLY CAUSE THEY DONT KNOW WHERE THEIR TEE BOXES ARE EITHER.
Other Thoughts: TAKE SOME TIME ON YOUR HOME COURSE. TAKE SOME PRIDE. AND KEEP DISCIN

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 first timer

1    1/9/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: chopz33
Played: 74  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: i will first say that i havent been playing DG for very long (3 months) but i will tell you that this course can be fun but yet very frustrating. Lots of water and lots of open space. You will get some good excercise in and take some water. I went on a friday around 4pm and I saw plenty of people playing and probably 7-8 groups in all.
Cons: As mentioned above, its very hard to figure out where the baskets are if you a playing here for the first time. You could be on hole 12 and the basket will be labeled 3? The locals were very nice and were able to kind of give the run down on where everything was. One thing i did notice is that there were at least 2 groups play the course "backwards" and that kind of makes for a confusing time for new players.
Other Thoughts: If on a windy day, you could really get some distance on your throws but yet you could also end up in the water. The course is really spread out so be prepared to walk a good distance if playing 18. The creek makes for a nice round and gives you opportunities to throw around and over water. Recommended to play with someone who knows the course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 RIsk/Reward-They got it!

1    12/21/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a course of risk reward. There is water coming into play on most of the holes. This long winding creek was fairly low and see through on most of the course the day I played it, however, there are a few deeper parts. You could lose a disc here if you play like "Tin Cup" on every hole. The course is fairly wide open and has some trees, but they don't really come into play much. The baskets were all in good shape and were placed in some fairly risky places due to water behind them. This course does have so nice elevation on a few holes. The lengths of the holes did seem to vary some, but most of them were between 275'-325'. There were 2 holes around 250' and few around up around 400'
Cons: This course has a mix of cement, sidewalk using, and dirt tee pads. The sidewalk using tees were a bit awkward, and the ruts in the dirt ones were getting fairly deep. Very few tee signs and without a guide or a map, you may get lost. No bathrooms to speak of and you will need to keep your language (words and volume) under control, as this is built with homes and apartments on both sides of you. On a nice day there will be plenty of people here.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor will be split on this course for many of you. There is high chance of losing a disc to the water, but it really makes you bring your precision game. High wind days will make this a real challenge. So if you are a risk/reward person, this is a good stop.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Join a secret society to get a map?

1    11/29/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: brumbaughcm
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has baskets and many concrete tees. Elevation changes and obstacles like the creek. This course could be fun because of the creek. sometime you'll attempt throw over sometimes lay up.
Cons: The main problem, and its a big one if you are looking to play for the first time is that the locals have renumbered half or more of the baskets, and unless you have some sort of secret map, you'll be scratching your head on where to throw from or to for most holes. It seems that the original required crossing and back tracking over the creek, but the whole place at the time was????I went looking to have a great time, I did only because I brought beer!!! The place is all dicked up. I tried to follow the reverse direction, but I guess it is important to find the first tee eh!

Its all open, so for the most part you can throw the whole course with RHBH.
Other Thoughts: went on a holiday weekend sunny low wind. few players, but a few sketchy people. Whomever is renumbering the baskets, should consider that the standard is that you can see the face of basket from the tee, not the back or the side.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.