Wichita Falls, TX 
Lucy Park Share
Uploaded By: mrstiggy Hole #2
3 / 189ft.   3 / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
So close, yet so far away

1    9/2/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice, old city park in Wichita Falls. Play winds around through old growth trees, picnic areas, and a nice walkway. The overall experience was very pleasant.

I really appreciated the layout, as it incorporated long and short, left, right, and straight shots very well. No two holes felt the same to me.

The pads and baskets were in good shape, though obviously well worn and aging. There was plenty of parking and I think there were restrooms (didn't have to check).

Not overly crowded (on labor day), but enough people to ask for help if needed, which leads to my main con...
Cons: ...Signage! Please, for the love of Pete, improve the signage! Okay, so I get frustrated when I spend more time hunting baskets and pads than throwing plastic (or rubber). Maybe I'm weird. But, several times I spent 5-10 minutes trying to figure out if this pad goes to that basket. Most of the pads were marked and most of the baskets were marked, but they didn't necessarily coincide. Thankfully there were several friendly people that helped me on my journey.

Really, other than signs, I have no major complaints. Just the typical shortcomings of a city park that hamper the designer in their efforts. Space constraints and working around the other park activities did cause some awkward transitions, but nothing major.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed this course and hope to return. I really enjoyed pretty much every hole and was impressed with the maintenance of the course. I highly recommend playing here if you can.

My biggest suggestion is to find a local if you're traveling through. If you're a local, please organize a group to put up some signs. Thanks!


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice, shady, int-beginner course

1    8/17/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: 1TallTXn
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty course
Flat, easy to walk,
With good shot placement, should be birdie-heaven.
Short holes are nice for those who haven't perfected long drive yet.
Most baskets have arrows pointing to the next tee-pad
Cons: Short shots aren't going to challenge those with long drives.
park is obviously used quite a bit, during busy times, non-DGers could become hazards.
Course flows well, but many baskets are unmarked and only a few yards from other baskets making it a guessing game ot figure out which basket you're throwing for.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 doesn't have arrow pointing to 2nd tee-pad. (It's back and too the right if you're facing the basket for 1)
Distances, if present, are marked in yards.
Hole 10 basket is marked as 16.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lucy Park

5+    5/11/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: ChainOut
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quick, easy play. Many birdie opportunities. Good park to learn to play.
Cons: Not too challenging for a skilled player. Skilled player should shoot under par consistently. Tee boxes have become quite slick/slippery with wear over time. Be particularly careful on 6 and 11.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Beginner course

2-4    4/17/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: oidhchegaoth
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice Quick course, good use of trees and what elevation options are available. Nice labeling to send you from one basket to the next Tee box,
Cons: Short holes, need a little bit better or bolder labeling on the baskets, when have some so close to each other easy to play the wrong one.
Other Thoughts: would someone local please put the hole pars and distances on here, thanks

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  my local field

5+    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: multidiscn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Different shot on every hole.alot of ace runs here and the park are very clean. arrows on baskets showing next tee box.
Cons: no real elevation change.nothing bad that i can really say about lucy.
Other Thoughts: its my local park n started out playing here. ive been playing for 6 months now and i have 3 aces so far.locals have been the best n helping me improve my game as well as my friends.more people show up every time i go out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lucy Park

1    4/14/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: lohrtom
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park with friendly players. Easy to navigate as the baskets have arrows on them pointing towards the next tee box.
Cons: No elevation change.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time on this course and recommend to especially for those that are just learning.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 home course

3/1/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: hopper58
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I may show a little favortism on this course as it was the course i learned to play on.......Good set up as there is not alot of extra walking between tees, and sidewalk will be used on some tees, park is well maintained and mowed, mutliple pin settings that are changed regularly, good mix of long and short holes, tee markers (wood post infront of tee pad) gives you hole number and distance (i believe for short setting), concrete tees,
Cons: sidewalks that are used heavily by pedistrans make for easy targets if your not careful (believe on 3 or 4 holes this is a problem) doesnt really have anything special about it (no water in play, all flat, not many hazards inless you count people)
Other Thoughts: most of the opens shots have one tree that sits in your throwing line that likes to collect disc (some are right off the tee pad and are more of a mental thing then a true intereference)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice layout Great Park

4/16/2007   4/16/2008
Review By: Okiewildcat
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes are closely arranged limiting distance between holes. A good variety of shots required for both the beginner and the more experienced disc golfer.
Cons: Very little elevation changes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Park

4/16/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great park. Very clean. Course has good flow. Has a couple mammoth shots to offset the shorter ones. Some trees/ some open holes.
Cons: All flat.
Other Thoughts: Nothing real special, but nothing real bad about it either.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center