Disc Golf Center
Wichita Falls, TX 
Lucy Park Share
Uploaded By: mrstiggy Hole #17
3 / 285ft.   3 / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Golf, Needs Signs

1    9/2/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Concrete Tees
Good Baskets
Next Tee arrows on most baskets (some were pointed a little off)
Some Teesigns (distance in yards)
Plenty of Benches/rocks
Plenty of Trashcans
Very Clean and well kept
Plenty of parking
Bathrooms and water fountain
Pavilion and gathering area for Tourneys

Love the layout for the most part
Great Variety
Some short/med/long
Some Right/straight/left
Some Open/technical/tight
Some forced lines/options
Some up(ish)/flat/down(ish)
Makes you throw several different shots
Works your accuracy
Even the "repetetive" holes all had those little differences that matter
Something for everyone
Great for beginners
Int and adv can work on their placement and Midranges
A few places to air it out
Great place to take Family/Noobies to

Playground and picnic area for the family
Walking path or volleyball for the Non-DG'ers


Favorite Hole(s): #3, #18
Cons: Very Few Tees had anything except hole #
Needs directionals and a map badly
What Teesigns there were had distance in Yards (some were way off)
#2 and #15 had dirt tees with very little marking (2's basket was moved making the existing pad irrelevant)
Several holes (8-10 I think) were kind of repetetive
Walking path could cause safety issues if the place was busy
A few of the baskets need the numbers "refreshed"
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a very fun round. Definitely a good stop if you're in the area. If I lived in the area I would be here often. Worth traveling a little way to play. Not a destination course by any stretch.

The play is very good and is worth the hassle of looking for tees (IMO).

I will definitely play here again when I come through. The fun factor on this course overcomes the lack of good signage enough for me to rate it 3.5.

PM me and let me know how I can make my reviews "more helpful."

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/16/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: Sounds
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Park has a variety of range shots . Parks hardly ever crowded. Locals are really good at leting you skip ahead. And really clean . You go from throwing a farely long shot , then 2 60-75 yard feet baskets , then 3 long shots , 2 more mid range baskets , long shot , mid range , mammoth distance on 13 . All shots have their obstacle . All in all this a great course
Cons: Have more elavation change shots and I would be happy .
Other Thoughts: Big ups to the locals Jesus , John , Brandon , xmen , Tommy , Dennis , Tom , eroc , Robert , Derrick , steve ,random , and any one I forgot..

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Lucy Park

1    4/15/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: Eagle
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Multiple pin placements
Benches & trash cans
Course doesn't seem to get crowded
There's an arrow on most baskets, pointing to the next tee
Bulletin board at first tee
Cons: No putting practice basket

A set of posts at the front corner of each tee pad. One identifies the hole number, & one lists yardage. I couldn't help but feel like these posts were in the way, every time I threw from the tee. I could see this actually becoming a safety issue down the road. Better signs would be a nice improvement.
Other Thoughts: This course is on the East side of a large city park, near the swimming pool. Not a technical course, but there are mature trees to contend with, as well as walking paths which can be considered OB.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park, Could Be Even Better

1    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: mrstiggy
Played: 78  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets in great shape, and graffiti free. Good mix of shots, both open and with trees. Beautiful surroundings, very well manicured. Good mix of distances, most holes seemed to be at least 300 ft. Hole 13 if I had to guess would be around 700 ft. Many ace ops, but bad shots are easily punished. Concrete tees. Arrows on baskets pointing to next tee. Awesome waterfall about 1/2 a mile away (Should have made it part of the course ;) ) Plenty of trash cans, and mostly litter free. Hard to loose a disc here.
Cons: Lack of sinage. There were usually the hole number, and the distance (in yards, which is odd) on posts on the outside of the tee pads. Course is crammed into a wide open park, the land could be used in a much better manor for DG. Although the walks between tees are short, the course has a really odd flow to it. Even though the tees were concrete, they were slippery even though they were dry.
Other Thoughts: This could easily and inexpensively be made into a 4.5 or 5.0 course with a good redesign, and good signs. If you are in the Wichita Falls area, it is certainly a must play, I will stop again on my way through.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tourny course 2 2003

5+    12/13/2003   7/11/2009
Review By: Fata2683
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well taken care of park course, has a mix of long and short, slight elevation changes, and some real nice opportunities for aces
Cons: Can be busy, but other than that, no complaints here.
Other Thoughts: Aced 3 and 18 here on seperate dates.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.