Wichita Falls, TX 
Lucy Park Share
Uploaded By: mrstiggy Hole #11
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Very Confusing

1    6/16/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: Houstoned
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The park is in great shape. There are several holes with birdie opportunities even if you are not a monster off the tee. Good variety of distances. Some baskets have arrows to point you to the next tee.
Cons: Most of the baskets do not have hole numbers on them and there are no hole maps. This gets very confusing because there are clusters of baskets where you have to guess which one goes with your hole. Hole 11's basket is labeled 16, but 16 is not even close to there so it must be a mistake. Hole 2's tee box is hidden in the woods to the right of basket 1.
Other Thoughts: Pretty easy course for beginners with 0 risk of losing a disc. No water or heavily forested areas would make for a relaxing round if you were not constantly searching for tee boxes and trying to figure out which basket corresponds to which hole.

Great Golf, Needs Signs

1    9/2/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Concrete Tees
Good Baskets
Next Tee arrows on most baskets (some were pointed a little off)
Some Teesigns (distance in yards)
Plenty of Benches/rocks
Plenty of Trashcans
Very Clean and well kept
Plenty of parking
Bathrooms and water fountain
Pavilion and gathering area for Tourneys

Love the layout for the most part
Great Variety
Some short/med/long
Some Right/straight/left
Some Open/technical/tight
Some forced lines/options
Some up(ish)/flat/down(ish)
Makes you throw several different shots
Works your accuracy
Even the "repetetive" holes all had those little differences that matter
Something for everyone
Great for beginners
Int and adv can work on their placement and Midranges
A few places to air it out
Great place to take Family/Noobies to

Playground and picnic area for the family
Walking path or volleyball for the Non-DG'ers


Favorite Hole(s): #3, #18
Cons: Very Few Tees had anything except hole #
Needs directionals and a map badly
What Teesigns there were had distance in Yards (some were way off)
#2 and #15 had dirt tees with very little marking (2's basket was moved making the existing pad irrelevant)
Several holes (8-10 I think) were kind of repetetive
Walking path could cause safety issues if the place was busy
A few of the baskets need the numbers "refreshed"
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a very fun round. Definitely a good stop if you're in the area. If I lived in the area I would be here often. Worth traveling a little way to play. Not a destination course by any stretch.

The play is very good and is worth the hassle of looking for tees (IMO).

I will definitely play here again when I come through. The fun factor on this course overcomes the lack of good signage enough for me to rate it 3.5.

PM me and let me know how I can make my reviews "more helpful."

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

So close, yet so far away

1    9/2/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice, old city park in Wichita Falls. Play winds around through old growth trees, picnic areas, and a nice walkway. The overall experience was very pleasant.

I really appreciated the layout, as it incorporated long and short, left, right, and straight shots very well. No two holes felt the same to me.

The pads and baskets were in good shape, though obviously well worn and aging. There was plenty of parking and I think there were restrooms (didn't have to check).

Not overly crowded (on labor day), but enough people to ask for help if needed, which leads to my main con...
Cons: ...Signage! Please, for the love of Pete, improve the signage! Okay, so I get frustrated when I spend more time hunting baskets and pads than throwing plastic (or rubber). Maybe I'm weird. But, several times I spent 5-10 minutes trying to figure out if this pad goes to that basket. Most of the pads were marked and most of the baskets were marked, but they didn't necessarily coincide. Thankfully there were several friendly people that helped me on my journey.

Really, other than signs, I have no major complaints. Just the typical shortcomings of a city park that hamper the designer in their efforts. Space constraints and working around the other park activities did cause some awkward transitions, but nothing major.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed this course and hope to return. I really enjoyed pretty much every hole and was impressed with the maintenance of the course. I highly recommend playing here if you can.

My biggest suggestion is to find a local if you're traveling through. If you're a local, please organize a group to put up some signs. Thanks!


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice, shady, int-beginner course

1    8/17/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: 1TallTXn
Played: 30  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty course
Flat, easy to walk,
With good shot placement, should be birdie-heaven.
Short holes are nice for those who haven't perfected long drive yet.
Most baskets have arrows pointing to the next tee-pad
Cons: Short shots aren't going to challenge those with long drives.
park is obviously used quite a bit, during busy times, non-DGers could become hazards.
Course flows well, but many baskets are unmarked and only a few yards from other baskets making it a guessing game ot figure out which basket you're throwing for.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 doesn't have arrow pointing to 2nd tee-pad. (It's back and too the right if you're facing the basket for 1)
Distances, if present, are marked in yards.
Hole 10 basket is marked as 16.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Beginner/Rec Course

5+    3/5/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: TxViper3187
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and recreational players. Park is kept up very well and usually very little trash on the course. Course is easy to navigate. Has the option for multiple pin placements but has not been changed in quite some time.
Cons: Tee pads on 6 and 11 have been worn down and are slick. No significant challenge for Intermediate or better players. Only long hole is 13 but it is wide open. Not wooded enough to be called "technical".
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned to play and still love playing a round here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 first course

5+    7/5/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 51  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *easy layout, makes for quick walk from basket to tees
*plays quickly (i played both wichita falls courses under 3.5 hours, with the drive and a convient store break)
*great beginer course
*limited tree coverage, just enough to get new player use to playing
*weather affects course, north texas winds can change the way you play course
*concrete tees (are becoming slick though esp 6)
*most baskets good condition
*multiple basket positions
*set up in nice park, with limited oustide interference, only a few walkways plays through course
*plays completley different then other city course
Cons: *beginer course
*lack of "trademark hole"
*skilled players may feel too easy
*hole 7 and 8 can flood (when there is rain and not 105 degrees)
*fairways for most part are wide open (one or two tree placements could really make shots challenging
*texas summer heat
---besides being a beginner course, i do not have alot of knocks on it, because overall its a nice little course
Other Thoughts: This is the course i learned on, so im a bit partial to it.
Its great to get new players into the game

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lucy Park

5+    5/11/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: ChainOut
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quick, easy play. Many birdie opportunities. Good park to learn to play.
Cons: Not too challenging for a skilled player. Skilled player should shoot under par consistently. Tee boxes have become quite slick/slippery with wear over time. Be particularly careful on 6 and 11.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Beginner course

2-4    4/17/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: oidhchegaoth
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice Quick course, good use of trees and what elevation options are available. Nice labeling to send you from one basket to the next Tee box,
Cons: Short holes, need a little bit better or bolder labeling on the baskets, when have some so close to each other easy to play the wrong one.
Other Thoughts: would someone local please put the hole pars and distances on here, thanks

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/19/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: tyocky
Played: 51  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park. Peaceful and pleasant. Nice course for beginner players or those wanting to work on their short game.
Cons: Almost every hole is very short which is not fun hole after hole. I actually drove to the wrong basket a couple of times because I could not believe that the correct basket was that close. I used my putter from the tee box about 3/4 of the time.
Other Thoughts: The course made good use of trees but adding about 40 feet to most of the holes would make for a course that more experienced players will enjoy.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/16/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: Sounds
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Park has a variety of range shots . Parks hardly ever crowded. Locals are really good at leting you skip ahead. And really clean . You go from throwing a farely long shot , then 2 60-75 yard feet baskets , then 3 long shots , 2 more mid range baskets , long shot , mid range , mammoth distance on 13 . All shots have their obstacle . All in all this a great course
Cons: Have more elavation change shots and I would be happy .
Other Thoughts: Big ups to the locals Jesus , John , Brandon , xmen , Tommy , Dennis , Tom , eroc , Robert , Derrick , steve ,random , and any one I forgot..

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.