Brainerd, MN 
Lum Park Share
Uploaded By: hedfan1 Hole #2 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 200ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid course in Brainerd

5+    11/19/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: TrustYourRubber
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2014
Pros: -Alternate tees which confer a degree of difficulty for both beginners and more experienced players
-New and improved baskets (tee-boxes coming soon)
-Well-kept by the city of Brainerd
Cons: -Heavy play during summer months
-Nefarious hazards ranging from long, uncut grass to roads to streams of water and swamps, which can destroy or lose discs
-Many questionable lines and narrow gaps left by the tree canopy
-Few awe-inspiring holes, hole layouts leave much to be desired from a disc golfer stand-point (despite utilizing the space nicely from a land-use stand-point)
Other Thoughts: Lum was the first in the area, and it remains a popular getaway for residents of Brainerd. Course upkeep is a major issue, given the amount of play Lum sees during the summer months, but thankfully the city of Brainerd and many devoted volunteers have worked to keep this course in great shape in 2013.

Beginner player experience - 1/1 for a solid experience
Intermediate player experience - 0.5/1 for being a pitch-and-putt course
Advanced player experience - 0.1/1
Setting - 0.5/1 for being a nice park, i.e. nicer than the surrounding areas
Overall course experience - 0.5/1 for heavy traffic, uncomfortable lies just outside of fairway, and many lost or damaged discs

Total = 2.6/5

Nice course

5+    4/2/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: narcher007
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly open.
Great for beginners.
Some challenging holes for more experienced players.
Gas station right nearby.
Cons: Bridges need repair.
Lots of flooding when wet/rainy.
Other Thoughts: Fun 9-hole course that all skill levels can play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lum Park

5+    5/1/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: nickbunio
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short holes for lots of Aces
Quick play
New baskets really nice
Well maintained by the city and Fly By Disc Golf League
Cons: Bugs
The course floods easily
Other Thoughts: This course has only improved in the past few years I've been playing here. I've learned about the long tees and people care enough about the park to invest their time and money to make it the best experience possible.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 lum, my hometown course

5+    7/13/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: discordye
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well it just got a new basket, which is a plus. easy to play, quick play, close to where i live.
Cons: Great opportunity to lose discs in the two foot long grass and stream running right through the middle of hole five. The basket quality is horrible. The administrators and staff don't seem to care about the citizens and visitors who play at Lum, I've emailed the brainerd parks and rec dep many times stating the poor condition of Lum and they always give a dumb excuse like lack of funding or the staff is too busy or, we put a new basket in every summer but everyone knows theydont. I am disappointed in my town dg park, and am sad to say that the people who manage Lum are not lovers of disc golf, or else something would of been done about maintainence by now.
Other Thoughts: Losing discs and non regulation baskets are not fun.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.