Brainerd, MN 
Lum Park Share
Uploaded By: hedfan1 Hole #4 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 235ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

1    8/3/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Johnson
Played: 36  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course to learn on. Many wide open fairways, descent scenery, no super frustrating holes. Hole 5 is fun, wide open, you can really rip it it's about 330' by far the longest hole.
Cons: Not enough tourneys, easy to lose discs in "protected wetlands" parks and rec does not seem to have any interest in keeping the course looking nice. Almost all tees have been vandalized. The ones you can read have innaccurate distances. Punks in early summer, 10+ person groups with no consideration for smaller groups really chaps my banana. Way to short, 8 holes under 300'. Only three baskets are double chained, this summer two baskets were literally laying on the ground. Look out for poison ivy on 5, if you over shoot it in the weeds you will definitely run into some. Bridges over small stream are unsafe and float away in heavy rain. Wouldn't take much to make this course a lot more fun... :(
Other Thoughts: Worth playing, guarantee you'll have fun but be disappointed at the same time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 lum, my hometown course

5+    7/13/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: discordye
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well it just got a new basket, which is a plus. easy to play, quick play, close to where i live.
Cons: Great opportunity to lose discs in the two foot long grass and stream running right through the middle of hole five. The basket quality is horrible. The administrators and staff don't seem to care about the citizens and visitors who play at Lum, I've emailed the brainerd parks and rec dep many times stating the poor condition of Lum and they always give a dumb excuse like lack of funding or the staff is too busy or, we put a new basket in every summer but everyone knows theydont. I am disappointed in my town dg park, and am sad to say that the people who manage Lum are not lovers of disc golf, or else something would of been done about maintainence by now.
Other Thoughts: Losing discs and non regulation baskets are not fun.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good fun

1    12/23/2009   5/3/2010
Review By: chad-o
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice course to have fun, a easy one to get the taste of disc golf in someones life. Ace holes all around and some tricky shots.
Cons: baskets are not the best but i have seen worse.
Other Thoughts: if your driving through or up for fishing, swing by this course and try it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 water, trees

1    6/24/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: bollwyvl
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.4 Years
Pros: Nice technical water in a few places to add challenge, well kept grounds and decent water/bathroom/facilities. Mid range on most holes with few proper driving opportunities, but on a few holes there are scuffs further back that aren't much worse than the gravel tees.
Cons: Bad baskets remarked on by other reviewers have not been fixed. Some relatively recent vandalism has left a few holes without markers. Some of the foot bridges over water hazards are in pretty poor shape.
Other Thoughts: Don't park in the first parking lot: continue on to the second, as then you get to look at the beautiful lake scene on the way in and the way out.

 Not too bad

1    6/4/2004   6/10/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You can pretty much reach every hole in one shot, so its pretty good for your short game. Its not very busy so you can throw multiple discs and take your time. Its got pretty good variety(mature trees and water on most holes) I used to live up there and it did the job for me.
Cons: Tees and signs could use a little help. No dog legs and kind of a week design.
Other Thoughts: I'll be back

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Memorial Day fun from a discer from Seattle

1    5/24/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: spletts
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was fun. I was in the Brainerd area visiting family from Seattle but brought by disc bag along and sought some relief! The course was very close to a lot of the local vacation type areas, so I expected it to be fairly busy on a Sunday afternoon when I visited...but it was surprisingly open...with light foot traffic. I met some local guys that were willing to let me tag along and showed me through the course. The course appears to be a great place for a lot of technical practice. The holes aren't terribly long, so it's a great confidence builder for those new to the sport...and gives those with some experience to practice a lot of the mid range discs in your bag. I like that it was near a lake, something I miss about living in MN...and it was a gorgeous day when I played. The tee boxes were gravel, granted, but were open enough to be able to pick and choose where you stood so you didn't break an ankle in a rut.
It's a 9 hole course, so it plays fast...and the locals like to use the walking area from hole 9's basket back to the parking lot as a driving range of sorts. If you use this but throw more than 300+ feet with your driver...beware the pavement and the river behind it!
Cons: The baskets...OUCH. Missing chains, missing pieces to the buckets. Discs falling through on a legitimate putt are a regular thing. Many of the holes are able to be hit as an ace...but good luck getting it to stick against the few chains in the poorly kept up baskets. New baskets would bring new life to the course 100%. The tee pads are what they are...gravel tee pads, in a park with kids, near a marina, and with lots of vehicular traffic on the nice weekends. I could overlook the tee pads...not the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Nice little get away course if you're vacationing up in the Brainerd area and are jonesing for some disc. Worth the 1/2 hour it takes to get through it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/10/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: DunbarTrout
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
Pros: Open and easy course with very forgiving par. Lots of ace opportunities.
Cons: The baskets need to be fixed. Period. Tee boxes are just gravel. Signs are either faded or non-existent. Little to no challenge for par.
Other Thoughts: Can be very buggy and water comes into play on a few holes. Baskets need to be replaced, they hardly hold a disc and in some cases, discs actually fall out of the basket.

 Lum Park

1    11/1/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: mike_riewer
Played: 44  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros: Easy to navigate and has hole makers on tee-off boxes. There is a good chance for an ace on this course. Nice overlook of the lake on front holes.
Cons: There can be water on a few holes depending on how wet the season is. A few holes run into each other, which can get messy. (If I can remember right it is holes 6 &7) A few of the home-made baskets are in need of repair.
Other Thoughts: This is a short technical course with only one or two holes to test distance. A good job of fitting nine holes in a small space. This area is in need of another course making this course very busy at times. A fun course to play and recommended.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.