Brainerd, MN 
Lum Park Share
Uploaded By: hedfan1 Hole #5 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 352ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
My training ground

5+    3/5/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: Austin James Annable
Played: 56  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where I first started playing, good beginner course, nice scenery, not to many trees, and we are getting cement tee pads with the money donated by the Brainerd Fly-by Disc Golf League.
Cons: The water hazards and cars flying by all the time is the only downside to Lum

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid course in Brainerd

5+    11/19/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: TrustYourRubber
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2014
Pros: -Alternate tees which confer a degree of difficulty for both beginners and more experienced players
-New and improved baskets (tee-boxes coming soon)
-Well-kept by the city of Brainerd
Cons: -Heavy play during summer months
-Nefarious hazards ranging from long, uncut grass to roads to streams of water and swamps, which can destroy or lose discs
-Many questionable lines and narrow gaps left by the tree canopy
-Few awe-inspiring holes, hole layouts leave much to be desired from a disc golfer stand-point (despite utilizing the space nicely from a land-use stand-point)
Other Thoughts: Lum was the first in the area, and it remains a popular getaway for residents of Brainerd. Course upkeep is a major issue, given the amount of play Lum sees during the summer months, but thankfully the city of Brainerd and many devoted volunteers have worked to keep this course in great shape in 2013.

Beginner player experience - 1/1 for a solid experience
Intermediate player experience - 0.5/1 for being a pitch-and-putt course
Advanced player experience - 0.1/1
Setting - 0.5/1 for being a nice park, i.e. nicer than the surrounding areas
Overall course experience - 0.5/1 for heavy traffic, uncomfortable lies just outside of fairway, and many lost or damaged discs

Total = 2.6/5


1    8/3/2012   5/13/2013
Review By: Tlrmessner
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.3 Years
Pros: Definitely worth swinging by if vacationing in the area. Very short course but fun to get a few chances at an ace, and has a few interesting throws.
Cons: Very short, and not very challenging. A few spots that make finding discs a little difficult, and pretty outdated/poor baskets.
Other Thoughts: If you are vacationing in the area, this is a must stop. A great place to go with a large group and a cooler of beer and just have fun, but if your looking to spend the day doing some serious disc golf, search elsewhere.

Fun for all skill levels

5+    5/7/2013   5/7/2013
Review By: mjsather2000
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick Rounds.
Many different ways to play every hole to keep it fun.
Generally kept clean and groomed well.
Long tees for every hole is available to give the option of a full 18 or more of a challenge.
Cons: Short
If you miss the fairway on some holes, it can be difficult to retrieve your disc.
At times there can be very large groups of non serious disc golfers that can hold you back.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course over a hundred times and I still am not sick of it. Every hole is possible to make it 2, but most require a good first shot. There are so many ways to play each hole that it will always be interesting to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

5+    4/2/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: narcher007
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly open.
Great for beginners.
Some challenging holes for more experienced players.
Gas station right nearby.
Cons: Bridges need repair.
Lots of flooding when wet/rainy.
Other Thoughts: Fun 9-hole course that all skill levels can play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 UPDATE

2-4    7/22/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: timj5304
Played: 105  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Updating Erik's review on the baskets, they have totally added new baskets, all brand new from holes 4-9, 2 and 3 are not the worst but hole 1 still is, either way you can tell that the city is making an effort to improve it even if it is slow, adding 6 new baskets in a year is a step!!! I was just stopping in for a quick round or 2 on my way up to a wedding and tried it out, had a good time. Fast rounds, the few people out there were very nice. Clean course, nicely fresh cut grass.
Cons: Flows poorly, holes 1-3 are on the other side of the road but was not too tough to follow.
Other Thoughts: I ran into a random guy who had only 1 discs, a mamba and was flicking it. I threw 6 shots to end my 2nd round because I was out of time and he went out of his way to compliment me on my accuracy of parking all 6 saying he wishes he had more money for discs so he could get better. Well I went out of my way after seeing him going back to hole 1, stopped him and gave him 2 wizards, 1 drone, 1 valkyrie, 1 flash and 1 orc. Being kind, friendly and cool got this guy 6 discs, if he never said hi to me he would of gotten nothing but because I remembered being in his position 7 years ago starting this game it made me realize how much extra plastic I have and how I can truly make a positive impact on someones playing career giving them some putters and other catergorys to use. Maybe he quits in a few weeks but maybe this will make him spread the love for the game and keep this course clean for future players and pay it forward!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Pitch and Putt

2-4    12/20/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lum Park is just a little more than a pitch and putt but is still a fun play. Located just outside down town Brainerd it is a must play for anyone in the area camping, fishing biking, hiking or enjoying any number of other recreational activities this area has to offer. Lum Park is a nice setting for a 9 hole disc golf course with big mature trees and a small stream that comes into play on a few holes. The park is right on the edge of Rice Lake so if the family is going fishing and you're not the fishing type this course is perfect for you.

1. Adequate signage at each hole with hole number, par rating and hole length.
2. Good flow that is easy to follow for the most part. The last few holes get a bit confusing the first time threw.
3. Great uses of available land and obstacles. The stream is used very well on 5 of the 9 holes.
4. Great course to introduce new players to the game.
5. Good variety of shot requirement with the exception of long bombs. The course is fairly technical and forces you to hit you line on most holes. Big arms need not bring drivers though I played most of the course with a putter.
6. Good risk reward opportunities on the holes with the stream.
7. The park grounds are very well kept.
8. Fast rounds.
9. Lots of other activities in the area.
Cons: There are some let downs at this course. The baskets suck really bad, missing chains, holes in the basket that let disc's slip through. Hole 4 has a brand new DGA basket and if the rest of the course had these it would instantly bump the rating up by at least .5.

1. Baskets are garbage with the exception of #4.
2. Natural tee pads that are a bit rutted but not too bad.
3. The course is mostly flat. Hole #1 has a basket on a hillside that makes rollway's very prevalent but other than that there is no elevation to speak of.
4. This park could get really busy on a nice day.
5. Not a long course, big arms will not be able to use them.
6. If there is a lot of rain the ground can get really wet and there can be lots of bugs
Other Thoughts: If the city put in some cement tee pads and updated all the baskets this course would be a lot more fun. It is not bad as it is but with just a few improvements it would be much better. Brainerd has lots of other activates so if you are in the area this course is an easy play that is not out of the way. It is nowhere near a destination course but is worth a few throws if you are in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little Course

2-4    7/1/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: Wattenphul-2009
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2011
Pros: Good variety of holes with water hazards and trees to keep things challenging.

Front 9 holes are easy to follow along from hole to hole.
Cons: About half of the baskets are in need of repair. A few putts went in the basket and then fell out of the bottom. Also, some of the baskets are double chained and some are only single chained baskets. A friend had a couple putts that went through the single chained baskets.

Need concrete or rubber tee pads. The gravel/dirt tees are a little unprofessional.

They tried to fit 18 holes on a 9 hole course by making the back 9 aim at the same baskets from a different location (ie. hole 1 also doubled as hole 10, etc.). 18 baskets are preferred for an 18 hole course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fun 9 hole course to play. Nothing extremely challenging. Most of the holes are short which allows you to work on midrange throws and putting. Only one somewhat long hole to breakout a distance driver.

 

2-4    5/30/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 94  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Many chances for aces
- Nice park, few bugs and annoying plants
- Multiple tees
Cons: - Could use new some new baskets
- Long tees tough to find
- Boring, repetitive course
- Could use new signs at tee boxes
- No real chances to open up your dives because of walkers on the path and the short tees
Other Thoughts: Fun little course, could use an update, but overall fairly simple. Better for beginners or more casual players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lum Park

5+    5/1/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: nickbunio
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short holes for lots of Aces
Quick play
New baskets really nice
Well maintained by the city and Fly By Disc Golf League
Cons: Bugs
The course floods easily
Other Thoughts: This course has only improved in the past few years I've been playing here. I've learned about the long tees and people care enough about the park to invest their time and money to make it the best experience possible.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.