Lumberton, NC 
Luther Britt Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 212ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 White Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Super fun if you have your floaters

1    11/10/2013   11/10/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is situated around two lakes with water coming into play on nearly every hole.

Risk reward- the holes are usually situated where you have to throw an anhyzer over the water, or you can be safe and throw a righty hyzer to the right and steer clear of the lake. Most of the water holes, if you come up short or throw long. You might find yourself swimming.

Navigation- next tee signs were helpful, most of the next tees were located relatively close to the previous basket.

Multiple tees- twos sets of concrete tees, the longer tees having bigger concrete tees. The tee signs were located at the long tees, but from most of the short tees you were able to see the holes basket.

Fun factor- this was a very fun course to play, but i could see a newbie getting very frustrated seeing their discs hyzering out towards the water

Favorite holes-
2- interesting tunnel shot. It is a turnover for a RHBH player.
4- tee off from a big hill, over a canal to a basket tucked into the woods.
5- 300 feet all over water to a basket located on a peninsula
6-another tight turnover shot this one is a sweet tunnel shot through a row of pin trees.
17- probably the coolest disc golf hole that i have ever played. It is a short hole only 265, entirely over water, to an island, the basket is 40 feet from the water tucked into a row of pine tres with water another 40 feet behind

Cons: Safety issues- some holes play over walking paths and play close to playgrounds. Errant throws on some holes when there are alot of people playing could result in someone getting hit. I could see this place getting very crowded during the summer, because there is a beach and it seems like bosta would be in the water.

RHFH or lefty friendly, most of the shots require a right turn especially over the water.

Huge chance of losing discs-the shorter tees will provide some relief from this, but a beginer could get very frustrated seeing their discs hyzering out towards the water
Other Thoughts: Great stop if driving up I-95

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 wind and water

1    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: this course is a fun throw. lots of open bombs, and plenty of water to get you in trouble. not much in the way of elevation, 2 pads for most holes.good signage to guide you along the course.
Cons: there was a ton of flies and knats the day i went, the walk from 14 to 15 was pretty long,
Other Thoughts: there is alot of water at this course but you can avoid it pretty easily. wind could be a factor too, but all in all a good course to play on the way to the beach

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Water water everywhere

5+    4/3/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 225  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tees for differant skill levels. Shorter tees make the water less intimidating on most of the water holes

open course with a few wooded holes to start off and even a unique Island hole #17

Well maintained by the Lumberton DGA

On a sunny day this is a beautiful course to play
Cons: Water....Tons of it. This course is not for beginers for the pure fact that they WILL lose plastic.

Long walk from 14-15. It's necessary because of the layout of the park (ampitheatre, boat ramp, Playground) but it still takes away from the flow of the course when you have a long walk between holes.
Other Thoughts: The course isn't that hard for the average players and up if you can get over the intimidation the water brings. On a windy day it can become much tougher.

Ldga is adding baskets for the upcoming PDGA event that are even more water happy and would make the course VERY hard

Overall I like this course but i do not like losing discs. If you are prepared to risk your plastic or go swimming you'll probably enjoy this course more

Addition: The Win or swim layout is a bear! The LDGA is rotating some of the basket positions from time to time and I will try and keep it updated. If you are out there you can see where the alternate placements are by the White buckets that stick out of the ground.

Brief description of the holes that are different when in swim layout:

Hole 2: The Alternate basket is moved farther to the right by about 120ft and makes the anhyzer line much tighter. There are more trees between you and the basket OB Fence to the right and a Steep drop off to the left to a creek.

Hole 3. The hole is moved across the Creek on the dike to the right of the original pin making it a much longer shot and likely a par 4 from the longs. OB water Right of the basket.

Hole 4: One is right on the edge of the dike making it a "death putt" type green with the creek behind.

Hole 5: Penesula hole is made harder as the moved 25 ft right to where it is almost touching the edge of the lake. Don't miss your putt!!

Hole 10: The Basket is moved across the creek to the dike. It is a ways down the dike across the bridge.

hole 14: The basket is moved past the peninsula about 150ft+ to the skinny part of land. Very small landing zone with water on the left. Possibly a par 4

Hole 16: The basket is moved about 120ft straight back from the tee.

Hole 17: The Island Hole. The basket is moved to the far right side of the island making it a bear! position is really close to the bridge.

If the hole locations are changed i will attempt to keep them updated on here.




6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Lumberton

1    2/15/2011   2/20/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A great walk around and between two lakes. Good signage but some distance between last hole and next tee. Two tees and both concrete. Play short tees and be good. Play long tees and you better be good. Because of counter clock wise layout around lake a right hander with a good tomahawk might do well.
Cons: Other than gap from one to the other none.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful day with 20 mph wind. On two holes I thought I could reach, 1pen. 1 island, lost two discs. I can buy my replacements at Dick's for less than $20 dollars. Saw no reason to go in deep water. Pretty lakes and restrooms on premises. Good fishing in lake according to locals. Isn't disc golf wonderful? I have 5 discs in my bag costing less than $75 dollars total and have yet, but may sometime, paid a greens fee. My friend has $1500 tied up in clubs and pays $35 to $100. No wonder this sport keeps growing. If coming down I-95 you are within 1/4 mile of course. Suggest stopping strongly at least once.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Water, water everywhere

2-4    1/15/2010   1/21/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.6 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course from the long tees, a lot of 300'+ throws. Much easier from the shorts. All holes are Par 3's. Concrete tees, two tees for every basket, great tee signs. Beautiful park. Permanent Rest Rooms. Playground for the kiddies, walking trail for the family, fishing for fish and/or discs. Great use of water to create risk/reward on most tee shots. Easy navigation, except for #15. Course is clean and well-maintained. Good use of the elevation available. Good work to make the short tees and the long tees play very differently. the signature hole is #17, a 200'+ throw to an island green. Very nice.
Cons: Water. The course plays counter-clockwise around two lakes, so the predominate throw for a rightie will be flicks, thumbers and anhyzers. So it gets a little repetitive. I throw LHBH so it was a pleasant day in the park for me. My RHBH and RHFH playing partner was a little frustrated by all the flick shots off the tee. Another thing, be careful of pedestrians. There is a walking trail/road that runs around the lakes, along with the course. Make sure to check your flight path for walkers before you throw. I would have liked some Par 4's or 5's. For longer-throwing players, this will be a pitch-and-putt. It seems like they have the space for this.
Other Thoughts: If you don't have a good flick or annie, play the short tees. Bring a floater. Be warned, that these lakes are not pleasant. They are green and mucky, so if you are planning on fishing your disc out of the lake, be prepared to go knee-deep in muck, chest-deep in water. That's not a negative, but worth mentioning. The lake gets deep fast. I know because I fished a disc out. I have played the course in the summer, and it can be hot. There isn't much shade while playing around the lake. Bring a hat and sunscreen. The wind can be a factor, which adds to the challenge. Overall, I like the park. I travel about two hours to play here. There is an active club that supports the course. It is a great course and definitely worth the trip. If you haven't played this course, you're missing a treat.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/12/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think this course has the most potential to be great than any other I have played.
Lots of risk/ reward with the numerous water holes here.
Easy to follow the course and was easy to find since it was just off of I-95.
There are some really challenging and fun holes here including a shot across water onto an island.
-multiple tees
-easy to navigate
-not crowded
Cons: I have read the other reviews where it says it is clean but it wasnt clean the day I was there. Most of the trash was in the water. One lake even had a neon green color to it. I also don't think I would have felt safe if I was by myself. The restrooms were filty too.
*edit* I have made it back since I reviewed the course and it was much cleaner! Not perfect, but enough for me to raise my rating and to have a better impression of everything.
Other Thoughts: Water comes into play on many holes. The water of the back 9 is very clear so if you do not throw it too far in then you should be able to see it. Overall, I really enjoyed the course the 2nd time I was there.
Keep it clean and this place can be really nice!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not Too Shabby

1    6/20/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 45  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2011
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - This course had a lot of semi-challenging shots around the water that make some easier holes a little more exciting.
- Almost every hole has 2 different tee boxes to throw from and are generally two different shots (I played the long tees)
- The course starts out with a few wooded short wooded holes to ease you into the more open holes around the water.
- I thought the tee signs stationed at the longer tees looked very nice and some of the best I have seen. They reminded me of what you might find on a nice ball golf course.
- Very nicely sized tee pads for even the long run uppers.
Cons: - Since the course has a lot of open holes it can get pretty hot during the summer.
- While there was a temp hole in for the tournament between the two holes the walk between 14 and 15 is pretty long but it appeared that the area was a popular picnic area so that temp hole basket can't stay for regular use.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course. For never players the short tee's shouldn't be too challenging and the long tee's offer a good course for the more advanced player. I thought they used the lakes very well and incorporated some good pucker shots from the long tees.

If you plan on coming during the summer though be warned it is open and quite hot. I walked around with an umbrella and it still took everything out of me.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.