Lumberton, NC 
Luther Britt Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #6 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 264ft.   3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee - Tight shot that fades left.



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Waterworld

2-4    2/23/2014   3/25/2014
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Sweet atmosphere. The park itself is really nice, offering a playground, picnicking, walking/biking trails, and plenty of scenery to enjoy around the several acres of land it occupies. When I played in Spike Hyzer's Sink or Swim tournament this year I even saw people on horseback. In short, there is plenty for others to do while you play your round(s) if they're not into hucking the plastic.

- Nerve-racking design (but in a good way). Despite being mostly wide-open, this course will test your accuracy. Being set around two large ponds/lakes, water is in play on nearly every hole which, if you value your discs, will make you seriously evaluate each shot. Even when you're playing the few holes away from the ponds, there is still a canal that runs behind the course you have to throw over or avoid; although the elevated tee on #4 is a real bastard that seems to dare you to take a run at it. As a relatively new player, the anxiety caused by the prospect of drowning a new G-Star Tern in the drink can either settle you down to ensure every shot is on point or work your psyche into a frenzy that results in grip-lock or early release. The woodlands, though relatively sparse, are challenging themselves due to the clearly defined fairways they outline. They offer a nice change from the bombs you'll throw most of the day, encouraging you use both your brawn and your brain. The pins on the peninsula and island holes are exceptionally well placed and really motivate you to play them well, if only to make sure you don't bring home a light bag.

- Easy navigation. The flow of the course is logical and the sensible tee & pin placements offer a natural progression to your round. Teepads feature signs that indicate your target and the organic flow to the course leaves little doubt as to where you'll be teeing off from next once you sink your putt.

- Picturesque. It's tough for a relatively flat, open course to be really pretty, but Luther Britt dresses up nice. It's not going-to-church-Sunday-morning-in-Atlanta dressed up, but it's very peaceful and the local club members take good care of it. Being so large and set around two huge ponds it gives a real feeling of tranquility despite being at a public course. Mornings and late afternoons are particularly charming.

- Good equipment. The well-kept Discatcher Pros are forgiving enough and the concrete teepads support your wound-up, full-force drives without fear of slippage.
Cons:
- EXTREMELY lefty/flick friendly. Playing counter-clockwise around the ponds nurtures left-handers and those who can flick with serious snap. On the majority of holes RHBH'ers are fairly limited to throwing understable discs they can easily turn without fading too much. Because of the course dynamics any RHBH shot that doesn't stay straight is liable to end up in Davy Jones' locker.

- Benches….there are very few. The long walks around the ponds would make having some on at least every other tee a nice amenity. Especially when the water's up and the tee boxes and fairways get overly sloppy.

- VERY breezy. Being such an open course it's hard to fault it for wind and barometric pressure, but as we all know wind can make your disc do unexpected things, which only adds to the angst of throwing so close to, over & around water.

- Pedestrians/potential danger. Because it's such a nice park there are bound to be plenty of patrons on nice days when disc golfers tend to flock to the course. The walking paths run right down some of the fairways and the bike lanes route parallel to many of them. Kids and joggers are often in the way and there are no signs (that I saw) that indicate the potential danger of flying discs. Golfers need to be mindful of this and take steps to ensure that they're playing safely.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
Overall, Luther Britt is a pretty darn good course. It's unique and a nice change from the wooded courses you often see in North Carolina where power takes a back seat to technique. Here you can really air it out while still very much needing accuracy to finish even. It can be very frustrating too if, like me, you have a noodle arm and an unpredictable forehand. Nevertheless, Luther Britt is definitely worth playing. It's not my favorite by any means, but I'll be back to play again and encourage y'all to check it out.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Super unique course, but a bit risky!

1    2/20/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 43  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The best "water" course I've played yet. If you have some floating discs or some throwaways, it's a great time. Only twice do you HAVE to throw over water (#10 and #17), so you can play it safe if you want. Good mix of holes. Nice park in general.
Cons: The water is a factor--even on a good day you may lose a disc, so this is not a course you could play aggressively very often. Water was very high when we played, which made for some messy fairways.
Other Thoughts: Super fun course, but is more of a novelty in my opinion. They don't let you jump in after your discs so if you catch a bad roll, you're out $15! Really unique and a good time though.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Water

1    11/22/2013   11/24/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really nice course, just off the highway, set around two lakes. And by around two lakes I mean around two lakes. Play circles each of them in turn, meaning water is in play on almost every hole. It is relatively easy to stay out of, as most pins aren't too close to the edge, and from the white tees, it should be no trouble to stay out of the drink. It does offer some memorable holes where the lake is certainly in play. 5 plays to a peninsula green, with the blue tee directly across the water and the shore line to the left of the carry. It should be fun whether played or gone directly at the pin. The other obvious great one is 17. The island hole. It's not a particularly long carry, but there's just something about playing to an island. It definitely just looks cool for one. I have to imagine that walking across the bridge to get the green plays into the effect though. It could be knowing that not only do you have to make it over the water, you can't go too far either because of how islands and having water on multiple sides and such. Really fun hole though.

Two of the better holes don't even feature water at all. 2 and 6 give the course a little surf and turf feel. Both are tight holes down very narrow fairways. It's not a wooded area, but the trees on these two holes from precise lines to throw down. It's a great change-up to throw something like that when flight path doesn't matter on the majority of the holes here. The other memorable hole is 4 which sorta employs water. The tee is elevated on a long dike. It throws from the high point over a canal and then over a large flat space to a tee tucked into the woods. It's not the most challenging hole on the course but aesthetically, it's second only to 17.
Cons: For as much water as there is here, it's not often used in fun/creative ways. There are three straight holes where the tee is by the water and the basket just ahead and to the right. For a RHFH player, or anyone that can throw straight, the water might as well not be there. The 9 tee is on a small peninsula and its impossible not to think that it should have been the basket location for 8. It would have been a little bit similar to 5 but it would have been in the opposite direction. There is also that long walk between 14 and 15, in the middle of that long unused stretch there's an awesome spot where a corner of the lake could be thrown over. I'm guessing it's not used because there's some picnic tables in the area? I feel like picnic tables aren't that hard to move though and it's not like more than half of the holes here don't throw over areas that non golfers are using.

That's the other thing. There is a walking path and it was mostly empty on the Friday morning that I was there but with people walking, fishing and apparently riding horses, a ton of fairways traverse areas that are used for other activities. This could potentially be a nightmare of having to wait on path-users to clear holes or having to skip holes entirely. (I did have to skip one. After teeing of in the general direction, and looking confusedly for the several minutes, I realized that it was directly behind (one foot about) the SUV that someone had driven down the path.)

I also feel that the holes are crammed in a bit around the first lake and then spread out too much around the second. One of which is 15, a strange hole that parallels a fence on the other side of which is a working warehouse. There's this wonderful location, and all of this natural OB in the form of two massive lakes and after walking around a third of one of them since the last hole, the next hole is laced near this fence?
Other Thoughts:
In any case, there is a ton of water here, but partly due to the shape of the lake(too wide to carry, few nooks) it's not used very interestingly during most holes. At least in the standard layout. From others comments, another layout is sometimes used and I could see that being fantastic. I'm guessing this layout does something like removing the short and unnecessary 1, combining the stretch of similar short holes into one long one, etc. Moving pins and/or tees to use the water more could make this a great place to play.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Super fun if you have your floaters

1    11/10/2013   11/10/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is situated around two lakes with water coming into play on nearly every hole.

Risk reward- the holes are usually situated where you have to throw an anhyzer over the water, or you can be safe and throw a righty hyzer to the right and steer clear of the lake. Most of the water holes, if you come up short or throw long. You might find yourself swimming.

Navigation- next tee signs were helpful, most of the next tees were located relatively close to the previous basket.

Multiple tees- twos sets of concrete tees, the longer tees having bigger concrete tees. The tee signs were located at the long tees, but from most of the short tees you were able to see the holes basket.

Fun factor- this was a very fun course to play, but i could see a newbie getting very frustrated seeing their discs hyzering out towards the water

Favorite holes-
2- interesting tunnel shot. It is a turnover for a RHBH player.
4- tee off from a big hill, over a canal to a basket tucked into the woods.
5- 300 feet all over water to a basket located on a peninsula
6-another tight turnover shot this one is a sweet tunnel shot through a row of pin trees.
17- probably the coolest disc golf hole that i have ever played. It is a short hole only 265, entirely over water, to an island, the basket is 40 feet from the water tucked into a row of pine tres with water another 40 feet behind

Cons: Safety issues- some holes play over walking paths and play close to playgrounds. Errant throws on some holes when there are alot of people playing could result in someone getting hit. I could see this place getting very crowded during the summer, because there is a beach and it seems like bosta would be in the water.

RHFH or lefty friendly, most of the shots require a right turn especially over the water.

Huge chance of losing discs-the shorter tees will provide some relief from this, but a beginer could get very frustrated seeing their discs hyzering out towards the water
Other Thoughts: Great stop if driving up I-95

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    10/8/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Chuck6995
Played: 195  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 32.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is offers very good signage,easy flow, great tee pads to throw from, easy access from I-95. Plenty of holes to air out your long game and just a few holes that have tree lined fairways.
Cons: I cant think of anything bad about this course other than maybe painting a spoke on the basket that points to the next tee-pad
Other Thoughts: A fast round here if you need to stop as my wife and I done to stretch out, we did see only one problem here and that was that the service road that circles the ponds here did have cars parked olong side the road

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Let 'er rip!

1    2/10/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course playing around a couple small lakes and a canal. Some of the largest and nicest tee pads you will find.

Even though there is a lot of water, don't let it scare you. For the most part you can play safe here if you don't like to risk losing discs. If you enjoy the shots over or near the water then this will be a treat for you.

Mostly open holes. A change of pace from most NC courses.

Good use of the water and what little elevation there is. One tee is up on a small hill so you can throw down over the canal. One basket is placed on another hill making the green a little dangerous for roll-aways.

Short and long tee pad positions. The shorts are marked, but are not huge concrete like the longs.

Signs at pads showing distance and hole layout.
Cons: Kind of boring if you like to shape lines and use accuracy. Most of the holes are open with little obstructions.

People fish around the lakes. I was forced to skip hole 5 due to about 10 people along the fairway and near the basket. This probably just depends on luck and timing.

Very RHFH friendly and straight shot friendly. Not many places where you are forced to make a disc bend to your will. Throw straight and long, or straight with a little right fade and you're good.

Other Thoughts: When I played this course some of the baskets were in a temporary long position for an upcoming tourney. It made the navigation a little more challenging, and the tee signs inaccurate. Normally this seems like a very easy course to find your way around.

While there wasn't a ton of really fun holes here, there is some challenges. You need to navigate the water holes without shanks or roll aways. There is also some trees by a few holes to make the approaches difficult.

#6 is a classic pine tree tunnel. 264' of tight bark for your enjoyment.

#12 and #15 have enough trees in the fairway or by the basket to force some accuracy. If you aren't careful there will be no birdie opportunity.

#17 has to be the signature hole. Tee of from the main land, and get to a basket sandwiched in the pine trees on an island. Not a huge throw, but a great looking hole, and fun to play.

If you're driving up or down 95 this course is definitely worth a stop. If is very different from other NC courses so give it a try.

I ran into Bravethrower out there, and it seems there are some good plans for improvements also. With a a few tweaks this could be a very nice course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 wind and water

1    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 95  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: this course is a fun throw. lots of open bombs, and plenty of water to get you in trouble. not much in the way of elevation, 2 pads for most holes.good signage to guide you along the course.
Cons: there was a ton of flies and knats the day i went, the walk from 14 to 15 was pretty long,
Other Thoughts: there is alot of water at this course but you can avoid it pretty easily. wind could be a factor too, but all in all a good course to play on the way to the beach

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Water water everywhere

5+    4/3/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 201  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tees for differant skill levels. Shorter tees make the water less intimidating on most of the water holes

open course with a few wooded holes to start off and even a unique Island hole #17

Well maintained by the Lumberton DGA

On a sunny day this is a beautiful course to play
Cons: Water....Tons of it. This course is not for beginers for the pure fact that they WILL lose plastic.

Long walk from 14-15. It's necessary because of the layout of the park (ampitheatre, boat ramp, Playground) but it still takes away from the flow of the course when you have a long walk between holes.
Other Thoughts: The course isn't that hard for the average players and up if you can get over the intimidation the water brings. On a windy day it can become much tougher.

Ldga is adding baskets for the upcoming PDGA event that are even more water happy and would make the course VERY hard

Overall I like this course but i do not like losing discs. If you are prepared to risk your plastic or go swimming you'll probably enjoy this course more

Addition: The Win or swim layout is a bear! The LDGA is rotating some of the basket positions from time to time and I will try and keep it updated. If you are out there you can see where the alternate placements are by the White buckets that stick out of the ground.

Brief description of the holes that are different when in swim layout:

Hole 2: The Alternate basket is moved farther to the right by about 120ft and makes the anhyzer line much tighter. There are more trees between you and the basket OB Fence to the right and a Steep drop off to the left to a creek.

Hole 3. The hole is moved across the Creek on the dike to the right of the original pin making it a much longer shot and likely a par 4 from the longs. OB water Right of the basket.

Hole 4: One is right on the edge of the dike making it a "death putt" type green with the creek behind.

Hole 5: Penesula hole is made harder as the moved 25 ft right to where it is almost touching the edge of the lake. Don't miss your putt!!

Hole 10: The Basket is moved across the creek to the dike. It is a ways down the dike across the bridge.

hole 14: The basket is moved past the peninsula about 150ft+ to the skinny part of land. Very small landing zone with water on the left. Possibly a par 4

Hole 16: The basket is moved about 120ft straight back from the tee.

Hole 17: The Island Hole. The basket is moved to the far right side of the island making it a bear! position is really close to the bridge.

If the hole locations are changed i will attempt to keep them updated on here.




6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Lumberton

1    2/15/2011   2/20/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A great walk around and between two lakes. Good signage but some distance between last hole and next tee. Two tees and both concrete. Play short tees and be good. Play long tees and you better be good. Because of counter clock wise layout around lake a right hander with a good tomahawk might do well.
Cons: Other than gap from one to the other none.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful day with 20 mph wind. On two holes I thought I could reach, 1pen. 1 island, lost two discs. I can buy my replacements at Dick's for less than $20 dollars. Saw no reason to go in deep water. Pretty lakes and restrooms on premises. Good fishing in lake according to locals. Isn't disc golf wonderful? I have 5 discs in my bag costing less than $75 dollars total and have yet, but may sometime, paid a greens fee. My friend has $1500 tied up in clubs and pays $35 to $100. No wonder this sport keeps growing. If coming down I-95 you are within 1/4 mile of course. Suggest stopping strongly at least once.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 theres water here

1    8/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: oki40484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: great course with even better friendly locals
not that hard of a course water can be avoided
Cons: they have 3 or 4 holes that have no water and no lack of water
stood waiting for my disc to come back and it didn't, usually doesn't when 40' out in there. rest in piece sidewinder.
Other Thoughts: best course i ever played with this much water
don't be scared, be dry

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center