Lumberton, NC 
Luther Britt Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 250ft.   3 / 391ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 White Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 win and swim

5+    2/28/2010   3/8/2010
Review By: MWallbrown
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: I like the entire course from the distance and open drives down to the semi tight holes through the woods. Mando holes are always a favorite. The tee boxes are awesome regardless of skill. Their club is very organized, and course is well maintained.
Cons: water, its everywhere.
Other Thoughts: all the wide open shots make for some very nicelay ups and the course itself from the white tees is an easy par, the greens are more challenging but as long as you stay dry you should enjoy yourself and still come out with a good score.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Water, water everywhere

2-4    1/15/2010   1/21/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course from the long tees, a lot of 300'+ throws. Much easier from the shorts. All holes are Par 3's. Concrete tees, two tees for every basket, great tee signs. Beautiful park. Permanent Rest Rooms. Playground for the kiddies, walking trail for the family, fishing for fish and/or discs. Great use of water to create risk/reward on most tee shots. Easy navigation, except for #15. Course is clean and well-maintained. Good use of the elevation available. Good work to make the short tees and the long tees play very differently. the signature hole is #17, a 200'+ throw to an island green. Very nice.
Cons: Water. The course plays counter-clockwise around two lakes, so the predominate throw for a rightie will be flicks, thumbers and anhyzers. So it gets a little repetitive. I throw LHBH so it was a pleasant day in the park for me. My RHBH and RHFH playing partner was a little frustrated by all the flick shots off the tee. Another thing, be careful of pedestrians. There is a walking trail/road that runs around the lakes, along with the course. Make sure to check your flight path for walkers before you throw. I would have liked some Par 4's or 5's. For longer-throwing players, this will be a pitch-and-putt. It seems like they have the space for this.
Other Thoughts: If you don't have a good flick or annie, play the short tees. Bring a floater. Be warned, that these lakes are not pleasant. They are green and mucky, so if you are planning on fishing your disc out of the lake, be prepared to go knee-deep in muck, chest-deep in water. That's not a negative, but worth mentioning. The lake gets deep fast. I know because I fished a disc out. I have played the course in the summer, and it can be hot. There isn't much shade while playing around the lake. Bring a hat and sunscreen. The wind can be a factor, which adds to the challenge. Overall, I like the park. I travel about two hours to play here. There is an active club that supports the course. It is a great course and definitely worth the trip. If you haven't played this course, you're missing a treat.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Splash! bring the floaters

1    1/19/2010   1/20/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 210  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.2 Years
15 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging, interesting, good signage, and multiple tees.
Hole 17 is a clear signature hole over water onto a tree covered island.
Signs everywhere warning people to watch out for flying discs.
Several risk vs. reward opportunities with baskets sitting near the water line, or surrounded by water on 3 sides. Hole 18 tries to utilize some elevation requiring an up putt to sink your final shot.
Cons: 1 starts off close to the playground and a parking lot, so too far in either direction will get you in trouble. Risk of disc loss is extreme. I threw a dolphin and a dragon for 90% of the course. Hole 15 was hard to find, the sign telling you where the tee was located was 600 feet from basket 14.
A couple was sitting on the tee for hole 8 and there was a lot of other traffic on a Tuesday afternoon. 2 holes appear to have you throw risky shots to get to the basket (11 and 15) If you throw towards the wrong basket you will lose your disc needlessly, on both holes the disc is tucked into some brush out of sight on the right.
Other Thoughts: Course flow could be difficult, but currently signs guide you to the next hole pretty well, so it is not an issue.
If you type Branch St. instead of Branch road your navigator will take you to an old man's house whom coincidentally has the last name Britt

15 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/12/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think this course has the most potential to be great than any other I have played.
Lots of risk/ reward with the numerous water holes here.
Easy to follow the course and was easy to find since it was just off of I-95.
There are some really challenging and fun holes here including a shot across water onto an island.
-multiple tees
-easy to navigate
-not crowded
Cons: I have read the other reviews where it says it is clean but it wasnt clean the day I was there. Most of the trash was in the water. One lake even had a neon green color to it. I also don't think I would have felt safe if I was by myself. The restrooms were filty too.
*edit* I have made it back since I reviewed the course and it was much cleaner! Not perfect, but enough for me to raise my rating and to have a better impression of everything.
Other Thoughts: Water comes into play on many holes. The water of the back 9 is very clear so if you do not throw it too far in then you should be able to see it. Overall, I really enjoyed the course the 2nd time I was there.
Keep it clean and this place can be really nice!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/25/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice and informative tee signs on each hole. Good size cement tee pads, with alternate tees on most holes. Each hole has its own unique challenge, whether it's semi wooded, an elevation change, water or a combination of these, you won't feel like you played the same hole twice.

The course has a nice flow around both the lakes, and even without a map, was fairly easy to navigate. There is little chance of losing a disc here, other than throwing it in the water.

There were bathrooms available at several locations around the course, along with plenty of parking. The park is very beautiful and provides plenty of other activities to do for everyone.
Cons: The walk from #14 to #15 is long, but is necessary to avoid park patrons. On #11 tee, you see #12 basket, so if you are not familiar with the course, it might be somewhat confusing.

The walk back from #18 to #1 is long, plus you need to cross through the parking lot, so watch for traffic.
Other Thoughts: You can literally see this course from I-95, and is very quick and easy to get too from there. As mentioned before, two beautiful lakes make the trip worth while.

Each hole isn't particularly long, but the course has you doing a lot of walking. You will get plenty of exercise here.

Best hole on the course is #17. The basket is located on a peninsula. If you throw too short or too long, you will be in the water. If you throw a bad hyzer shot that goes too much left, you will also be wet. It is definitely reachable, but will punish bad throws.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Not Too Shabby

1    6/20/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 43  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2011
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - This course had a lot of semi-challenging shots around the water that make some easier holes a little more exciting.
- Almost every hole has 2 different tee boxes to throw from and are generally two different shots (I played the long tees)
- The course starts out with a few wooded short wooded holes to ease you into the more open holes around the water.
- I thought the tee signs stationed at the longer tees looked very nice and some of the best I have seen. They reminded me of what you might find on a nice ball golf course.
- Very nicely sized tee pads for even the long run uppers.
Cons: - Since the course has a lot of open holes it can get pretty hot during the summer.
- While there was a temp hole in for the tournament between the two holes the walk between 14 and 15 is pretty long but it appeared that the area was a popular picnic area so that temp hole basket can't stay for regular use.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course. For never players the short tee's shouldn't be too challenging and the long tee's offer a good course for the more advanced player. I thought they used the lakes very well and incorporated some good pucker shots from the long tees.

If you plan on coming during the summer though be warned it is open and quite hot. I walked around with an umbrella and it still took everything out of me.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Too Much Water

1    9/8/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: norcalmofo
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Park is clean. Tees are nice. Baskets brand new and mostly visible from the tee. Liked hole 2 pretty difficult.
Cons: Most holes had very little to no natural obsticles ie; Lightly Wooded. Easy to get disc's wet and or lost for good. Hole 14-15 Long walk, Had trouble defining the basket on hole 4. All of the water holes after hole 5, which is the first water hole, had the same general idea pretty much.
Other Thoughts: I felt that this course was to basic for an advanced level. I sounds cool to disc around two lakes but when drawn out it sucked.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Water, water everywhere

1    2/20/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 302  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2010
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
If you like water holes, like I do, then this course is paradise! Playing around the perimeter of 2 lakes, it has the most water holes of any course in NC and the most I've ever seen on one course. As a result there's tons of risk vs. reward, so you really have to think about your shot placement. Appropriately, the long tees (Green) have more shots over water than the short tees (White).
There are 2 tee pads on 12 holes.
All of the Basics are in place: Excellent metal tees signs with a map on them; long and wide raked concrete tees; new double chain DISCatcher baskets. There a very good directional signs so it's easy to find your way.
There are good amenities too, with a course map and score card online, as well of complete descriptions of each hole with maps and pictures.
It's only about 5 minutes from I-95.
Cons:
There is very little to improve here, so these are only minor quibbles and suggestions…
They should think about changing the name of the long tees from "Green" to "Blue" since Green designates a short course for younger and lower rated players. It makes it confusing that here Green = Long.
There are some minor potential safety issues on holes 1 (playground close by), 8 (long tee close to 7 flight path), 18 (basketball court close by).
The course is almost all flat and most of the holes have few trees in the fairway, but that's to be expected when playing around lakes.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: Long tees = Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 925-975), Short tees = White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925.)

Make sure to bring some extra discs and a disc retriever.
• My favorite hole- 17 is one of the most unique, fun, and beautiful holes that I've ever played. From the long tees you drive to a wooded island in the lake that's long, but only about 90 ft from front to back. The basket is about 50 ft from the front, so it's possible to throw too long and hit water on the back side.

You be the judge
• Since the course plays counter clockwise around the 2 lakes the water is usually on the left, so newer RHBH players may see their discs tail left into the water more often. Because of the water, it's important to remember the long tees are most suited for Blue level players. Players of lower skill levels, especially newer or younger players, may want to make sure that they have good disc control before playing the long tees. The short tees don't have nearly as many water carries, so they are more forgiving.

This is a beautiful, fun, and unique course that's in the top tier of NC courses. It's worth making a long drive to play, so by all means play it if you have the opportunity!

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

~More detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a disc that floats

4/7/2008   4/9/2008
Review By: Ricemossj
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course layout. Variety of shots that require power and accuracy. Well kept park, no trash. Easy to follow hole locations. Signs with par and distance as well as a helicopter view of each hole with a path to take to the basket.
Cons: Water everywhere, but not necessarily bad, just be careful. The walk between 14 and 15 is a little long, but I guess the designers didn't want to throw over a boat dock.
Other Thoughts: This is now one of my favorite courses

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.