Disc Golf Store
Decorah, IA 
Luther College DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 9/2006)
-- / 326ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    5/9/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: LoganPeiffer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes are relatively short, generally well maintained. 40 minute playing time makes it easy to sneak a round in between classes. Possible to birdie nearly all holes with a proper drive.
Cons: Short course, holes 6-9 are dirt pads that can get muddy. Easy to lose a disc on #7 if you don't make it out of the initially narrow fairway. Holes 3 and 4 are prone to pedestrian traffic, 4 has a launch pad directly in front of a sidewalk that is frequented by students and is on a hill where many congregate to slackline, etc.
Other Thoughts: Hole average between ~200-400 feet. Water hazard on 9.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quick, Fun Play

2-4    8/3/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: Eagleclaw
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: First things first, I played this course in August on a family trip so I didn't have to deal with crowds of students interfering with play. Take this review with that in mind.

-Parking right next to the tee for hole 1 and hole 9 brings you back out near the parking lot.
-Some nice level concrete tee pads, I assume they plan on pouring more next year as the budget allows.
-Signs with distance and an arrow guiding you where to throw, I believe all but one hole had line of sight to the basket as well.
-Nice Mach 3 baskets
-Well maintained. The course is set on a small private college campus so it has that manicured feel that many private colleges portray.
- Quick play. Relatively short holes and most are open enough that it would be difficult to lose a disc.
-A couple holes played 300+ feet downhill with branches overhanging and trees in the middle of the fairway, so the elevation change on the course was definitely entertaining.
- Restrooms and running water on campus
Cons: -Some natural grass tee pads that could get washed out and rutty, especially the one at the top of the hill (#7 I believe).
-Hard to know you're way around if you haven't played the course before. Luckily, we had a smartphone with the course map pulled up.
-A couple of holes have long grass or water to lose a disc in.
-Campus is probably busy enough with students during the school year that it would be hard/dangerous to play through very quickly
-No benches, bag holders, or trash cans. Course plays fast enough that these aren't extremely necessary though.
- I believe every hole was either straight on or typical RHBH hyzer shots. Elevation or trees was the only thing to change shot shaping. No forced anhyzers or forehands.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with my family as a break to stretch the legs on a road trip. It was long enough and had enough elevation/obstacles that my brothers, cousin and I were challenged and engaged, but short enough and open enough that my mother (who had only played twice before) could still enjoy playing with us. Fun course and worth your time in the summer, can't say about during the school year due to student crowds etc.

 Decorah Course

1    10/9/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: Brown Bear
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: Cement tee boxes for first half of course.
Pretty easy to find first hole.
Cons: There are 2 holes that interfere with students sitting around the campus. One of my buddies drives actually hit a tree that a girl was sitting by. If there wasn't a hazard of a person, there was a road hazard or a water hazard, but that's what makes it interesting. There wasn't really any holes with distance. All par 3's. Very difficult to maneuver the course because you walk by the tee of hole 5 to get to hole 2, and just very confusing.
Other Thoughts: Only one person in my group of 4 liked this course, but we only tried it twice. Still a nice quick course, just don't pick a busy weekend like we did. We happened to go on Family Weekend and nobody was paying attention to the discs so you had to be very careful with your shots.

 Just Passing Through...

1    7/9/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: DerekTonn
Played: 353  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 37.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fun elevation changes and a decent amount of variety between holes.
- Fairly well maintained (though once you got back around Holes 6-9, you lose the concrete tee pads and it was a little rougher around the edges).
Cons: - Strong potential for disc vs. pedestrian problems on Holes 3 and 4.
- Severely RHBH hyzer-designed. Every hole that isn't straight-on, except for Hole 1, basically has the same right-to-left action.
Other Thoughts: I had fun playing the course! You can tell it's going to be a much better course in 2-3 years, if they continue with the work they've started. It's your typical RHBH design, however, which makes me roll my eyes as a LHBH player! But it's not the first course I've played that is designed for RHBH players...and it most-certainly won't be the last.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/26/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: DunbarTrout
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 4/30/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of terrain and elevation. Holes are a moderate distance, ranging from 209 ft to around a 380 ft, all holes have a possibility for a birdie, but are still challenging enough. Good course to learn on and good course to try to master. Easy to play 9 holes in 30-40 minutes.
Cons: Short course that is shared as a lawn for two of the dorms, often times people will be lying on on holes 3 and 4. Also several of the holes are on a cross country course. Tee boxes are essentially mud, and the ground gets really soggy in the last 3 holes if it has been raining.
Other Thoughts: Hole 9 has a water hazard and is a very nice challenge and hole 7 can be really rewarding if you toss past the initial narrow fairway. Hole 8 is an ace opportunity.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Luther College Disc Golf Course

5+    4/26/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: discgolfdan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 5/13/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes are short but difficult due to elevation change, trees and dog legs.
Cons: Hard to know where next hole is without a map or already knowing course. Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Fun course for both experienced and beginners.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center