Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #4 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket: Note the excellent "Next Tee" signs present on every hole

Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
One of the all time greats

5+    9/15/2015   9/23/2015
Review By: Trex530swanson
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -one of the oldest and best courses in DFW
-Great large cement tee pads; they give you tons of room to do whatever type of run up you can think of
-drains great, best course to play after a good rain, elevation and sand soaks up all the water
-some super fun shots over water hole 3 and hole 7
-The front 9 and back 9 play pretty different which I like, lots of putters and mids for the front and you get to bust out a couple of drivers on the back 9
-quick to play as long as it doesn't get to busy
-after all the rain from this year and the course was super flooded for many weeks the course is still playable since the put all the baskets back in.
-lots of tournys here through out the year
Cons: -late fall when all the leaves fall off the trees, it makes it very hard to find disc that slide up under all the brush on the ground
-very popular course, can get very busy on sunny weekends and evenings
-Signs in poor condition
-there are many more shots for a RHBH player, it makes it interesting for left handed players
Other Thoughts: -I love this course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A top course for sure

5+    8/29/2015   9/12/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very challenging course that caters to advanced disc golfers
-Nice technical holes that can build your skill set...or frustrate you...
-Simply stunning surroundings with evergreens, red sand, and lake Lewisville as a backdrop. This course just offers a different beauty than other courses in the area. I always appreciate a course that has a "different" and "fresh" feel to it, and this one certainly does
-Nice concrete teepads and good tee signs
-The front 9 are more thread-the-needle types by the lake. The back 9, though just across the street, are like playing a different course. More open, longer holes, with light to medium tree cover
-There are tons of things to do in the area as well
- A lot of top area players come here often, which is always a good sign
- This is a great course to play when area rains or inclement weather force you out of your normal course. The elevation changes along with the sand and rocks just whisk the rain away.
-There is a port-a-potty about half way through
-Nice course flow, but know that #10 is across the street (that will help everything make sense)
Cons: -This is a disc eater course, especially on the front 9 where several holes are right by and/over the water. Any really good course such as this one always presents a risk of disc loss, however. Hole #7 is the bain of my existence. You can play it safe...but where's the fun in that? Go for it! Just be sure to use a disc that isn't going to make you cry like a toddler if you lose it.
-It would be nice if they would spruce up some of the signs a bit. They're not bad, but there are a couple holes that could do with some more info...like..towards the next hole.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in dfw. There is another course nearby for those who like to play two-fers. Great fishing as well. As a side note, there is also a very nice disc shop nearby.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course that needs some maintenance.

1    9/6/2015   9/7/2015
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 50  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through land on the edge of Lake Lewisville that has a moderate number of trees, though less dense that what I would call a forest. There is very little underbrush that comes into play. The first 9 holes play on the lake side of a park road that separates the two nines. The second nine plays longer and slightly more open feel than the front.There are no truly open holes - every hole has trees, but some holes are more open than others. There on only two true tunnel holes that I remember, 5 and 16, and a high hyzer can avoid the tunnel and get you in birdie position.

The challenge in this course is hitting your line to give you a shot at birdie. Only a couple holes on the front 9, 6 and 9, are over 400 feet and both are just over that distance. On the back 9, holes 11 and 17 are over 400. Most of the remaining holes are reachable for most players off the tee, but the course has been laid out well to force accuracy off the tee if you want to putt for birdie. There are many more right turning holes than left turning holes. I can remember only three holes that require a turnover or RHFH throw. Most are straight or hyzer holes.

Even the long holes require accuracy and have fairly low ceilings. I found this to be a fun course and wish I had had time to play it again.

Two holes, 3 and 7, invite throws out over the water, but can be approached without risking a disc. 3 is the better risk/reward hole of the two, requiring a blind right turning shot through a tight hole with a significant water carry. Two holes, 6 and 8 have "elevated" greens where long or short upshots/teeshots can take you out of easy putting distance.

The amenities are a mixed bag, with excellent tee pads and benches at many of the holes.

There is some minor elevation on this course that only comes into play in connection with two or three of the longer, low ceiling holes.

Another bonus is that Dynamic Discs has a location less than a mile from the park entrance. If you are traveling and playing this course, do yourself a favor and stop in and shop around.
Cons: As much fun as this course is and as well designed as it is, there are significant cons.

Many holes, if not most, require a hike to determine where the basket is. The baskets are difficult to see and I don't remember them having numbers on them. I found myself consulting the distances in the hole info on my DGCR app to help locate baskets.

This seems to be a fairly popular park. I went on a holiday weekend and there was a lot of non-disc-golf activity, including people swimming and fishing along the holes by the lake and just walking around the course in general. Hole 9 required a throw directly at a parked vehicle with a lady milling around aimlessly by it (I still have no clue what she was doing). The distance was probably out of play, but an inopportune turnover might have caused a scene.

Navigation is less than good. Some holes have next tee signs. Some holes do not. Some tees are easy to find, some are not. Some holes have tee signs, some don't, etc. This is a shame, because this is a fine course being dragged down by lack of maintenance. Print out the map before you go because none are available and you will need it if you've never played this course before.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and challeging course. It would be a solid 4-4.5 course in my opinion if I had wasted so much energy and time scouting around to figure out where to throw and where to throw from. Really, just updated tee signs and replacing missing next tee signs would seal the deal on this course for me. I can't complain about the layout at all, just really fun.

Take water with you as I saw none on the course. There were portable toilets along the roadway separating the two halves of the course. I do not know if those were there just for the holiday weekend or not. Also, there is a lot of sand on the holes by the lake. This is probably not a course to play in sandals. If I had known about the sand, I would have brought boots, but I really didn't have any problems being careful how I walked in hiking shoes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is a good course but ...

1    8/3/2015   8/7/2015
Review By: BuckeyeMark
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really like this course because it could be very challenging, and fun to play. Who doesn't like to have to span some water or be challenged by the occasional long hole?

The Pros are solid layout and some memorable holes.
Cons: The course really isn't in very good shape right now. There is a ton of litter because it's by a lake where a lot of camping, partying, etc. go on. But that leads to some icky situations on the fairways and especially off the fairways where trash accumulates in the woods and brush. Some abandoned soccer chairs and other debris complete the ambiance. It just needs a big time clean up.

The third hole is a shot across a cove but the cove is so thick with vegetation from the recent flooding there is just no way to throw it. You can't hardly see the basket much less find a lane to throw in.

The seventh hole is gone. No basket.

Several of the signs on holes are also gone. That leads to some basket hunting - "where are we going to?" gets old after a while.
Other Thoughts: This course needs some work and it could be a gem. Someone looking for an Eagle Scout project could really make hay here. Or maybe the City of Lewisville ought to stand someone on tee box 1 on a Saturday and see if they can get everyone to donate a couple of bucks. Take the money and do so some brush hogging, painting, and re-doing some signs. With a little work this could be one of the top courses in the area. But right now -- it's good but a little worn, a lot trashy and a lot of "this could be better ... MUCH better."

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Saucer Sisters Tourney 8/28/15 played all 18 holes!

5+    8/28/2015   8/2/2015
Review By: Rodmon
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 21.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + LLP is drying out, but loss of beach still plagues course
+ Well laid out & challenging for all players
+ Sand dries quickly so after rain, LLP is best course to play
+ Best Shade (next to Alex Clark)
+ Great course to curse at trees!
+ Tournaments clean up the park
+ One of more challenging technical courses in DFW with plenty shade
Cons: - Still recovering from spring flood 2015
- Park crew has not cleaned up dead trees like they used to.
- One ranger will come check for alcohol.
-Hole #3 no longer has a beach, so Throw right or you're wet left.
- Opposite with Hole #7, you'll throw an ace right or you are wet & lake is deep. Stay safe & go under fur trees to left.
- Hole #5 has a few dropped trees making it a tougher technical hole.
- Whole lot more sand on 2's fairway
- Gotta share course with swimmers. picnic parties & fisherman who don't understand disc golf and walk willy nilly,,,
- & park along fairways for 9,10 and 14.
Other Thoughts: BEST locals you'll find anywhere in North Texas. Granted it's my home course and it's been a rough, wet summer. I miss the beach for Holes 3 & 7, but that's nature. Shade and layout with up and down hill shots still make LLP challenging.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Always a fun round

5+    5/9/2015   5/10/2015
Review By: eegor
Played: 107  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 19.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Natural beauty.
The lake.
Well designed holes that are all fun to play.
Drains well.
Proximity to Dynamic Discs.
Elevation - OB and water hazards - well kept.
Cons: Crowded with people and crowded course design with fairways that are side by side. Some tees are in position to take incoming drives from another hole.

Be careful where you park.
Other Thoughts: I have always had a good time at this course. It's the best course to play after or during a rain in north Texas. In the summer, it's fun to swim in the lake between rounds or after playing.
This isn't a bomber course, but you will be required to play golf with well placed shots. It seems to have a little bit of everything. That's why I rated it so high. You'll love to play here - guaranteed.

If you like to drink when you play, the vigorously enforced no alcohol policy would be a con.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun course with a lakeside view

2-4    3/17/2015   4/2/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 341  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of short, moderate, and longer length holes.
Adequate signage and excellent tee pads.
This course uses the elevation well especially on the front 9 and the last few holes of the back 9.
There are wooded/technical holes as well as holes that are more open. All of which provide excellent lines to be hit and make for great discing.
The chance to run the chains is present here as well.
There are benches and trash cans throughout the course, so that is a plus. This course has protected baskets and elevated tees and baskets too.
The flow is logical and there are also directional arrows to keep you pointed in the right direction.
Water threat was present on hole 7 in particular and a few holes give you a nice view of the lake.
My favorite holes here are 1,3,7, and 16.
Cons: If you are not paying attention on 10 you could hit an oncoming car with a disc so safety is priority number one.
7's sign is missing its diagram and just had HOLE 7 spelled out with white tape. Sadly 8's signage is missing as is 12, 13, and there wasn't any info for 15 either.
Not a major con but you could twist an ankle in a few spots where the terrain is a bit uneven on the front 9.
Other Thoughts: I can't say enough good things about this course as I've grown to appreciate it more as the years have gone by. This was actually my second course ever played and I was really impressed by it in 2010 and even more so now that 5 years have gone by. The golf shots here are fun and challenging and you will use a variety of shots when you play this course.
This course can get a lot of traffic but after you play it you will see why so many players of all skill levels love playing here. This course is a must play if you are in the area and worth it even if you must drive several miles to get here.
I'm highly certain that you will find this course enjoyable. I know when I get the chance to make it to this area again I will be playing here again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Challenges, Beautiful Location, and the Locals Make It Fun

2-4    7/12/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + variety of shots are needed whether you use your Left or Right throwing arm
+ good layout for the use of space
+ popular course and many locals will help you out if you are new to the area (like myself)
Cons: - some trimming/pruning of trees on the lake side and possibly hole #3 & #16 come to mind during the Fall/Spring should be done to help the trails and flight line choices
- trash along the course sadly
- Correct tee signs and measurements
- use better markings for Mando's other than small pink tape
Other Thoughts: Good fun course and location. I was there on a busy weekend and you could see all types of experienced players throwing discs.. that's a good sign for the sport in the area.

I was able to throw a variety of shots if I chose and I had options for bigger ones, but the winds and lack of course layout knowledge prevented me, but I will consider it next time.

I enjoyed Hole #3 since I almost ACED it twice in the same weekend with a RHBH Flick over the lake's edge.

Side note/tip I got from a local: Ensure ALL WHEELS of your vehicle are OFF THE PAVEMENT when you park or else the parks police could write you a ticket for being on the right of way.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course!

1    3/25/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: CantThrowStraight
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course along Lake Lewisville! Played for my first time and not my last. Very challenging course of mixed shots. Everything will be needed to play here. Nice signs at most tee boxes and super long tees giving you lots of room for the run up. Trees look to have been trimmed back and some removed making it a little easier to get a disc where you want. Nice signage for next tees, very easy to navigate the course and not get lost. Though, having a local around did help us on a couple of them.
Cons: It is very busy. Be prepared to wait on people in front of you and many solo players to play through. Everyone seemed to be very respectful about it. Even turned my group of 2 into 5 with some guys who decided to play along instead of play through.

Fairways run close to each other. Pay attention if you get out of your fairway as you are probably in someone elses!
Other Thoughts: I will be back many times and hope to not get beat too bad in June!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lake Lewisville Lovin'

2-4    1/19/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 92  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Lewisville plays as nicely as it looks. Situated in a quiet neighborhood in a historic district, the course pleases from the moment you drive up to the last putt on hole 18. Hole 1 drives off the top of a hill down towards the beach and then the course winds along the shore. As you play through the course you will find that Lewisville will challenge you with uphill approaches and both hyzer and anhyzer approaches. The course is both technical and open at the same time. Great baskets complimented by luxuriously long and wide teepeads add to the atmosphere of a quality course. The parking lot for the course is marked by a sign which is situated with benches near hole 1 and hole 18 finishes near the parking area as well.
Cons: The course does have a few cons that detract from the overall experience. Parking is very close to the fairways and can become an issue. Holes in several places seem to be throwing at each other or are overlapping. There are a lot of non golfers wondering in and out of the woods and fairways!
Other Thoughts: - Need some plastic before or after the round? Stop by the Dynamic Discs pro shop, a mile from the course!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center