Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #15
3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
This is a good course but ...

1    8/3/2015   8/7/2015
Review By: BuckeyeMark
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really like this course because it could be very challenging, and fun to play. Who doesn't like to have to span some water or be challenged by the occasional long hole?

The Pros are solid layout and some memorable holes.
Cons: The course really isn't in very good shape right now. There is a ton of litter because it's by a lake where a lot of camping, partying, etc. go on. But that leads to some icky situations on the fairways and especially off the fairways where trash accumulates in the woods and brush. Some abandoned soccer chairs and other debris complete the ambiance. It just needs a big time clean up.

The third hole is a shot across a cove but the cove is so thick with vegetation from the recent flooding there is just no way to throw it. You can't hardly see the basket much less find a lane to throw in.

The seventh hole is gone. No basket.

Several of the signs on holes are also gone. That leads to some basket hunting - "where are we going to?" gets old after a while.
Other Thoughts: This course needs some work and it could be a gem. Someone looking for an Eagle Scout project could really make hay here. Or maybe the City of Lewisville ought to stand someone on tee box 1 on a Saturday and see if they can get everyone to donate a couple of bucks. Take the money and do so some brush hogging, painting, and re-doing some signs. With a little work this could be one of the top courses in the area. But right now -- it's good but a little worn, a lot trashy and a lot of "this could be better ... MUCH better."

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lake Lewisville is re-emerging!

1    8/2/2015   8/2/2015
Review By: Rodmon
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Lewisville is a classic course, well laid out and challenging. All other DFW courses, when LL emerges from the damaged by last May's flooding, will bend the knee to the best course in North Texas. Name another course with this much shade outside of McKinney?
Hole 4's tee has water at the far edge of the concrete and Hole 2's basket has water 12 feet from the back. Hole #16 has returned to us, as has everybody's favorite Hole #1. Hole 18s tee is still under water but the basket is fine.
Cons: Hole #3 is still lost under the New Lake lewisville as is Hole #7 and #17. Hole #5 has a few downed trees making it a tougher technical hole, but playable.
However, we have much more lake activity with people who don't understand disc golf and walk willy nilly. Whole lotta parking along Hole 9 and 10 and 14.
Other Thoughts: With 3 holes out, #3, #7 and #17, Lake Lewisville park is a 15 hole course as of 8/2/15. When DD does their mini's sometimes they bring basket to reach 18.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Always a fun round

5+    5/9/2015   5/10/2015
Review By: eegor
Played: 102  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 19.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Natural beauty.
The lake.
Well designed holes that are all fun to play.
Drains well.
Proximity to Dynamic Discs.
Elevation - OB and water hazards - well kept.
Cons: Crowded with people and crowded course design with fairways that are side by side. Some tees are in position to take incoming drives from another hole.

Be careful where you park.
Other Thoughts: I have always had a good time at this course. It's the best course to play after or during a rain in north Texas. In the summer, it's fun to swim in the lake between rounds or after playing.
This isn't a bomber course, but you will be required to play golf with well placed shots. It seems to have a little bit of everything. That's why I rated it so high. You'll love to play here - guaranteed.

If you like to drink when you play, the vigorously enforced no alcohol policy would be a con.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun course with a lakeside view

2-4    3/17/2015   4/2/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 338  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of short, moderate, and longer length holes.
Adequate signage and excellent tee pads.
This course uses the elevation well especially on the front 9 and the last few holes of the back 9.
There are wooded/technical holes as well as holes that are more open. All of which provide excellent lines to be hit and make for great discing.
The chance to run the chains is present here as well.
There are benches and trash cans throughout the course, so that is a plus. This course has protected baskets and elevated tees and baskets too.
The flow is logical and there are also directional arrows to keep you pointed in the right direction.
Water threat was present on hole 7 in particular and a few holes give you a nice view of the lake.
My favorite holes here are 1,3,7, and 16.
Cons: If you are not paying attention on 10 you could hit an oncoming car with a disc so safety is priority number one.
7's sign is missing its diagram and just had HOLE 7 spelled out with white tape. Sadly 8's signage is missing as is 12, 13, and there wasn't any info for 15 either.
Not a major con but you could twist an ankle in a few spots where the terrain is a bit uneven on the front 9.
Other Thoughts: I can't say enough good things about this course as I've grown to appreciate it more as the years have gone by. This was actually my second course ever played and I was really impressed by it in 2010 and even more so now that 5 years have gone by. The golf shots here are fun and challenging and you will use a variety of shots when you play this course.
This course can get a lot of traffic but after you play it you will see why so many players of all skill levels love playing here. This course is a must play if you are in the area and worth it even if you must drive several miles to get here.
I'm highly certain that you will find this course enjoyable. I know when I get the chance to make it to this area again I will be playing here again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Challenges, Beautiful Location, and the Locals Make It Fun

2-4    7/12/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + variety of shots are needed whether you use your Left or Right throwing arm
+ good layout for the use of space
+ popular course and many locals will help you out if you are new to the area (like myself)
Cons: - some trimming/pruning of trees on the lake side and possibly hole #3 & #16 come to mind during the Fall/Spring should be done to help the trails and flight line choices
- trash along the course sadly
- Correct tee signs and measurements
- use better markings for Mando's other than small pink tape
Other Thoughts: Good fun course and location. I was there on a busy weekend and you could see all types of experienced players throwing discs.. that's a good sign for the sport in the area.

I was able to throw a variety of shots if I chose and I had options for bigger ones, but the winds and lack of course layout knowledge prevented me, but I will consider it next time.

I enjoyed Hole #3 since I almost ACED it twice in the same weekend with a RHBH Flick over the lake's edge.

Side note/tip I got from a local: Ensure ALL WHEELS of your vehicle are OFF THE PAVEMENT when you park or else the parks police could write you a ticket for being on the right of way.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course!

1    3/25/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: CantThrowStraight
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course along Lake Lewisville! Played for my first time and not my last. Very challenging course of mixed shots. Everything will be needed to play here. Nice signs at most tee boxes and super long tees giving you lots of room for the run up. Trees look to have been trimmed back and some removed making it a little easier to get a disc where you want. Nice signage for next tees, very easy to navigate the course and not get lost. Though, having a local around did help us on a couple of them.
Cons: It is very busy. Be prepared to wait on people in front of you and many solo players to play through. Everyone seemed to be very respectful about it. Even turned my group of 2 into 5 with some guys who decided to play along instead of play through.

Fairways run close to each other. Pay attention if you get out of your fairway as you are probably in someone elses!
Other Thoughts: I will be back many times and hope to not get beat too bad in June!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lake Lewisville Lovin'

2-4    1/19/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 91  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Lewisville plays as nicely as it looks. Situated in a quiet neighborhood in a historic district, the course pleases from the moment you drive up to the last putt on hole 18. Hole 1 drives off the top of a hill down towards the beach and then the course winds along the shore. As you play through the course you will find that Lewisville will challenge you with uphill approaches and both hyzer and anhyzer approaches. The course is both technical and open at the same time. Great baskets complimented by luxuriously long and wide teepeads add to the atmosphere of a quality course. The parking lot for the course is marked by a sign which is situated with benches near hole 1 and hole 18 finishes near the parking area as well.
Cons: The course does have a few cons that detract from the overall experience. Parking is very close to the fairways and can become an issue. Holes in several places seem to be throwing at each other or are overlapping. There are a lot of non golfers wondering in and out of the woods and fairways!
Other Thoughts: - Need some plastic before or after the round? Stop by the Dynamic Discs pro shop, a mile from the course!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Lake Park is awesome

5+    11/13/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: mikeykline
Played: 68  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long tee pads, great terrain, great view, some nice ace-able holes that are not too easy. Different shot selection on most holes
Cons: Very easy to lose a disc here during the summer months be it in the lake or in the trees. There are normally a lot of people here. Parking is terrible, while abundant but in lines of shots. The port-a-cans are semi clean, but real restrooms would be nice. The random people walking through the course to get to the lake.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf by the Lake

1    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very nice course on Lake Lewisville. Several different types of shots come in to play. Generally shorter holes. The lake is put into play on a few holes, an obstacle that few other courses in the area have. The elevated basket areas are very nice.
Cons: It's easy to throw into or across the roads in a few places. In a number of places baskets for two different holes are very close to each other, 20ish feet in some cases. This can lead to some confusion as to which basket goes with which hole. The benches, while well built and in general a good idea, are too tall to really be used comfortably. This seems really odd.
Other Thoughts: I imagine that the holes by the lake shore could be hellacious in heavy winds.

The city takes care of this course very well, and the DD people help to keep it looking nice.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded, but good

2-4    1/25/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
- Lots of different lines and distances
- Ridiculously long teepads
- Challenging, but not annoyingly tight - a good mix of open and tight holes
Cons:
- Very crowded on the weekends, a lot of riff-raff
- Not a ton of elevation change
- Some bad overlap of fairways and proximity to parked cars
Other Thoughts:
I always play this course early in the morning or at a time when I know it won't be as crowded, because it can get bad. There are a lot of tournaments here, and they can get obnoxious practicing on baskets that other players are actually throwing on. A bad shank could easily hit a car on several holes, and there are a lot of "lake people" hanging around.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center