Lewisville, TX
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #3
3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Crowded, but good

2-4    1/25/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
- Lots of different lines and distances
- Ridiculously long teepads
- Challenging, but not annoyingly tight - a good mix of open and tight holes
Cons:
- Very crowded on the weekends, a lot of riff-raff
- Not a ton of elevation change
- Some bad overlap of fairways and proximity to parked cars
Other Thoughts:
I always play this course early in the morning or at a time when I know it won't be as crowded, because it can get bad. There are a lot of tournaments here, and they can get obnoxious practicing on baskets that other players are actually throwing on. A bad shank could easily hit a car on several holes, and there are a lot of "lake people" hanging around.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice mix

1    4/17/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a busy multi-use park, with a mix of wooded holes and more open park style shots. Much of the front nine plays through a wooded area along the lake with enough brush on many of the holes to punish an errant shot but not so much that it would eat discs. A couple of these holes offer great risk/reward decisions with risky routes over the water and safer but tighter routes that don't bring it into play. The back 9 is a little longer and a lot less punishing. Most of the shots play through mature trees with multiple lines and no underbrush.

The distance variety is decent, with a few longer holes and some rewarding ace runs. The holes that do force a specific line offer a good balance of right and left turning shots. The concrete tees are huge and in great shape. There is basic signage with hole distance and layout, and the baskets catch fine. Despite a ton of people playing, there didn't seem to be a big problem with trash here.
Cons: Several holes have some conflicts with park roads and parking lots, and with a lot of newer players those issues will be compounded somewhat. The area along the lake seems to be a popular swimming spot, taking the lines over the water means bringing swimmers into play on a warm day.

The course seems to get a ton of traffic, we had to wait quite a bit during our round and locals told us that was pretty typical. A few holes play right alongside one another, a potential safety issue with that many people on the course.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing here, and the two water holes were some of my favorite shots of the courses I played in the DFW area. There are a few filler holes though, and some safety issues that bring my rating down a little. Beginners can have a great time here, it's challenging for newer players but not so punitive that it will get frustrating. More experienced players won't be truly tested but there are enough fun shots that it's still worth a stop.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 N. Texas DG staple

5+    11/21/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of availale lake front land. Course holds up fine after rain or in moderate wind. Nice mix of long and short holes. Enough elevation change on the front nine to make up for the flat back. Staple of N. Texas dg. Not the best course you'll ever play, but definitely not the worst.
Cons: Better get there early if you want to beat the crowds of both disc golfers and lake goers. Only a matter of time before a fisherman gets it on hole 7.
Other Thoughts: Drink at your own risk. Apparantly you can sit by the water and drink, but you can't have a beer and play dg. With LL woods 5 minutes away, they make for a nice day of dg.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Metroplex Course

5+    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: BrookDaves
Played: 99  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Long Concrete Tees
- Good use of the land given, the holes wind around each other with only 3 holes in any danger of getting too close. Trees, brush and cliffs provide boundaries for the others.
- Tight lines on some holes.
- A course to birdie 14-15 holes if you hit the lines. If you don't you can easily bogey many too.
- Some good pin-placements.
- Great practice course.
- Good scenery and right on the lake. #3 is a great green.
Cons: - Tees are sandy on some holes, hopefully they sweep them before tourneys.
- A few too many righty-hyzer holes. Some old lefty lines have been overgrown.
- Everything is a par 3 and only 1, maybe 2 at 400 feet.
- Some too simple pin-placements.
- It gets packed on Thurs-Sunday.
Other Thoughts: This is my go to course if I want to play something good and challenging and not too far - I live in Denton. Playing here in the summer and the winter is night and day. Winter the lines are MUCH more open.
If you are in the North Metroplex, make the trip to the Lake and play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice day at the lake

5+    7/24/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 122  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
1, This course is right on the lake, could get some cooler weather (its also a con, see below).

2. Course is pretty easy to navigate and flows very quickly.

3. There are some difficult dog legs with plenty of elevational changes.

4. It does not get very muddy, should there be rain.

5. Park is nice and clean with stalls and all.
Cons:
1. As I said earlier its on the lake, so typically its quite a bit cooler, but when there is no wind at all (which was the case when I last played, it is a scorcher, first time i had to take a real break for water).

2. It can get crowded, parking becomes an issue. You will see plenty of people parking along the street (sometimes these cars become disc hazards!!).

3. Everything is a Par 3, even though I can see why it is. Some of the wholes are unrealistic if people think everyone can birdie those holes.

Other Thoughts: Since this is on the lake, its very nice. Plenty of things to do after or before the golf. You can take your family out and they will enjoy the park (while you and the guys/gals play some disc golf). I would give this a 4, but based on some of the other courses that I give 4s or higher, this one is not as good.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Another Great Course in the DFW!

1    12/26/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice concrete tee pads
-Decent signs with hole info
-Easy to navigate without a map
-Baskets are in good shape
-Nice mixture of short and long shots
-Porta pottys
-Fun and Challenging
-Good hole layout
-Front nine plays by the lake and has some nice scenic views.
-Back nine is mostly open shots
-Signs directing you to the next tee, which was real helpful
-Good parking
-Cleaned and maintained
Cons: -Baskets and signs are worn but still does the job
Other Thoughts: This park has a real nice disc golf atmosphere. I had a great time playing this course and will come back again.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

fantastic course

5+    11/2/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -fun layout, nice variety of shots
-uses the limited elevation well and two great water shots also
-mostly shorter holes but many technical shots
-lots of blind baskets and challenging pin positions
-GREAT concrete tee pads, longer than you will need
-baskets are in good condition
-signs are mostly vandalized or missing but navigation is pretty straight-forward, with the exception of 5-7
-sandy soil drains quickly after a rain, doesn't get real muddy
-trash cans, porta-johns, and benches
-friendly locals, 2 weekly minis, great tournament events
Cons: -no alternate pins or tees
-signs mostly missing or vandalized, not good for visitors on blind holes
-navigation is a little tricky from 5-7, best to take a look at the map

Beware where you park your car on the street. Several holes have fairways next to the street and cars are likely to get hit.

Also, many people use the basket for 8 as a practice basket (it's right next to the tee for 1). Careful though because the basket is blind from the tee and you may hit someone putting or get hit yourself.
Other Thoughts: **Updates**
The first two trees have been cut down on hole 14.
Hole 16 has a new pin position, deeper in the woods.
Some trees have recently been cut down that really altered holes 5 and 16. Much wider lines now.
RIP Old Man Tom; you will be missed.
*****

This is a really fun technical course that opens up a bit on the back 9. The front 9 is has mostly shorter shorts, lots of trees, a bit of elevation, and 2 holes next to the lake. The back has a bit more distance and fewer trees. A good shot will have you parked on half the holes, a great shot can get you parked on all 18. Hole 1 is a great ace run and 16 used to be until they moved the pin in early 2013. Course is split with the front and back on opposite sides of the road. Almost a double loop; makes it easy to play 9 holes.

A fun option on the north side of the metroplex. Great course and great scenery. Fun factor is high and risk/reward opportunities are present, especially around the water.

The minis are usually well-attended with a good group of locals but bring lights for your discs. Tuesday minis are at 6:00 even during the winter so the sun will be down.

Look for Old Man Tom hanging out at his truck right by baskets 15 and 18. He runs the minis and sells discs out of his truck. Sometimes people return found plastic to him too.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Title of review

1    7/11/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: ftwxj
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Overall very nice course. The breeze off the lake is nice on a hot summer day. The elevation, trees, and lake make great natural obstacles.
Cons: Like most courses this one is difficult to navigate your first time out, but the friendly locals can help with that. It seemed a little crowded but we did go on a Saturday. My biggest complaint would have to be the park roads that the course crosses. On the weekends these can be filled with traffic. So be sure and look both ways before crossing roads. Safety first!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 day at the lake

2-4    7/31/2008   7/31/2009
Review By: cubby09
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice course with a lot of different layouts for each hole. Mostly shaded near a lake. The lake does come into play on several holes with elevated pins make for some fun drives.
Cons: The course is not well maintained as evident of the trash that litters many of the holes.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty looking course

1    4/18/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Quality double chain baskets. Very long (20') concrete tees... somewhat overkill for a 250' hole but nice nonetheless. Adequate tee signs. Logs have been laid down throughout the course to help stem erosion problems. Ample benches and trash cans. Good use of "Next Tee" signs to help keep you from getting lost. One of the few DG courses that actually has defined greens; they add a nice look to the course. Navigating the back half of the course is easy and obvious. Hole #3 is a great risk/reward shot with the wide open RHBH anny shot out over the water, or fight the heavily wooded path over land. Hole #7 is the same shot in the opposite direction, so it's a hyzer shot over the water. This is a really nice looking course and the upkeep is evident. The holes bordering the water are a surreal on a foggy morning. Other than fishermen there doesn't look to be any interference from non-disc golfers.
Cons:
Navigating the front half of the course can be tricky for first timers. The distance posted on the sign for hole #5 was pretty far off of reality which lead me to waste some time looking for the right basket. Tee signs are missing on holes #8 and #12. The tee sign for #13 is too close to the tee to allow a good throw and follow-through. Parking close to tee #1 can be limited. Other street parking is close to several fairways, i.e. cars get hit. A few fairways play close together (#6 vs. #9).
Other Thoughts:
This course is a tale of two halves with the end result being a good balance of length and trees. The first half plays pretty technical through lots of trees while the back half is significantly more open and gives you a chance to get some distance on your discs. I did enjoy my round at the "Lake course" and would play again in a heartbeat. I can see how it might suffer a bit on replays but this one is worth checking out for players of all levels.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.