Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #10
3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee

Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
One of the all time greats

5+    9/15/2015   9/23/2015
Review By: Trex530swanson
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -one of the oldest and best courses in DFW
-Great large cement tee pads; they give you tons of room to do whatever type of run up you can think of
-drains great, best course to play after a good rain, elevation and sand soaks up all the water
-some super fun shots over water hole 3 and hole 7
-The front 9 and back 9 play pretty different which I like, lots of putters and mids for the front and you get to bust out a couple of drivers on the back 9
-quick to play as long as it doesn't get to busy
-after all the rain from this year and the course was super flooded for many weeks the course is still playable since the put all the baskets back in.
-lots of tournys here through out the year
Cons: -late fall when all the leaves fall off the trees, it makes it very hard to find disc that slide up under all the brush on the ground
-very popular course, can get very busy on sunny weekends and evenings
-Signs in poor condition
-there are many more shots for a RHBH player, it makes it interesting for left handed players
Other Thoughts: -I love this course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course that needs some maintenance.

1    9/6/2015   9/7/2015
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 50  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through land on the edge of Lake Lewisville that has a moderate number of trees, though less dense that what I would call a forest. There is very little underbrush that comes into play. The first 9 holes play on the lake side of a park road that separates the two nines. The second nine plays longer and slightly more open feel than the front.There are no truly open holes - every hole has trees, but some holes are more open than others. There on only two true tunnel holes that I remember, 5 and 16, and a high hyzer can avoid the tunnel and get you in birdie position.

The challenge in this course is hitting your line to give you a shot at birdie. Only a couple holes on the front 9, 6 and 9, are over 400 feet and both are just over that distance. On the back 9, holes 11 and 17 are over 400. Most of the remaining holes are reachable for most players off the tee, but the course has been laid out well to force accuracy off the tee if you want to putt for birdie. There are many more right turning holes than left turning holes. I can remember only three holes that require a turnover or RHFH throw. Most are straight or hyzer holes.

Even the long holes require accuracy and have fairly low ceilings. I found this to be a fun course and wish I had had time to play it again.

Two holes, 3 and 7, invite throws out over the water, but can be approached without risking a disc. 3 is the better risk/reward hole of the two, requiring a blind right turning shot through a tight hole with a significant water carry. Two holes, 6 and 8 have "elevated" greens where long or short upshots/teeshots can take you out of easy putting distance.

The amenities are a mixed bag, with excellent tee pads and benches at many of the holes.

There is some minor elevation on this course that only comes into play in connection with two or three of the longer, low ceiling holes.

Another bonus is that Dynamic Discs has a location less than a mile from the park entrance. If you are traveling and playing this course, do yourself a favor and stop in and shop around.
Cons: As much fun as this course is and as well designed as it is, there are significant cons.

Many holes, if not most, require a hike to determine where the basket is. The baskets are difficult to see and I don't remember them having numbers on them. I found myself consulting the distances in the hole info on my DGCR app to help locate baskets.

This seems to be a fairly popular park. I went on a holiday weekend and there was a lot of non-disc-golf activity, including people swimming and fishing along the holes by the lake and just walking around the course in general. Hole 9 required a throw directly at a parked vehicle with a lady milling around aimlessly by it (I still have no clue what she was doing). The distance was probably out of play, but an inopportune turnover might have caused a scene.

Navigation is less than good. Some holes have next tee signs. Some holes do not. Some tees are easy to find, some are not. Some holes have tee signs, some don't, etc. This is a shame, because this is a fine course being dragged down by lack of maintenance. Print out the map before you go because none are available and you will need it if you've never played this course before.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and challeging course. It would be a solid 4-4.5 course in my opinion if I had wasted so much energy and time scouting around to figure out where to throw and where to throw from. Really, just updated tee signs and replacing missing next tee signs would seal the deal on this course for me. I can't complain about the layout at all, just really fun.

Take water with you as I saw none on the course. There were portable toilets along the roadway separating the two halves of the course. I do not know if those were there just for the holiday weekend or not. Also, there is a lot of sand on the holes by the lake. This is probably not a course to play in sandals. If I had known about the sand, I would have brought boots, but I really didn't have any problems being careful how I walked in hiking shoes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Challenges, Beautiful Location, and the Locals Make It Fun

2-4    7/12/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + variety of shots are needed whether you use your Left or Right throwing arm
+ good layout for the use of space
+ popular course and many locals will help you out if you are new to the area (like myself)
Cons: - some trimming/pruning of trees on the lake side and possibly hole #3 & #16 come to mind during the Fall/Spring should be done to help the trails and flight line choices
- trash along the course sadly
- Correct tee signs and measurements
- use better markings for Mando's other than small pink tape
Other Thoughts: Good fun course and location. I was there on a busy weekend and you could see all types of experienced players throwing discs.. that's a good sign for the sport in the area.

I was able to throw a variety of shots if I chose and I had options for bigger ones, but the winds and lack of course layout knowledge prevented me, but I will consider it next time.

I enjoyed Hole #3 since I almost ACED it twice in the same weekend with a RHBH Flick over the lake's edge.

Side note/tip I got from a local: Ensure ALL WHEELS of your vehicle are OFF THE PAVEMENT when you park or else the parks police could write you a ticket for being on the right of way.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded, but good

2-4    1/25/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
- Lots of different lines and distances
- Ridiculously long teepads
- Challenging, but not annoyingly tight - a good mix of open and tight holes
- Very crowded on the weekends, a lot of riff-raff
- Not a ton of elevation change
- Some bad overlap of fairways and proximity to parked cars
Other Thoughts:
I always play this course early in the morning or at a time when I know it won't be as crowded, because it can get bad. There are a lot of tournaments here, and they can get obnoxious practicing on baskets that other players are actually throwing on. A bad shank could easily hit a car on several holes, and there are a lot of "lake people" hanging around.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix

1    4/17/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a busy multi-use park, with a mix of wooded holes and more open park style shots. Much of the front nine plays through a wooded area along the lake with enough brush on many of the holes to punish an errant shot but not so much that it would eat discs. A couple of these holes offer great risk/reward decisions with risky routes over the water and safer but tighter routes that don't bring it into play. The back 9 is a little longer and a lot less punishing. Most of the shots play through mature trees with multiple lines and no underbrush.

The distance variety is decent, with a few longer holes and some rewarding ace runs. The holes that do force a specific line offer a good balance of right and left turning shots. The concrete tees are huge and in great shape. There is basic signage with hole distance and layout, and the baskets catch fine. Despite a ton of people playing, there didn't seem to be a big problem with trash here.
Cons: Several holes have some conflicts with park roads and parking lots, and with a lot of newer players those issues will be compounded somewhat. The area along the lake seems to be a popular swimming spot, taking the lines over the water means bringing swimmers into play on a warm day.

The course seems to get a ton of traffic, we had to wait quite a bit during our round and locals told us that was pretty typical. A few holes play right alongside one another, a potential safety issue with that many people on the course.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing here, and the two water holes were some of my favorite shots of the courses I played in the DFW area. There are a few filler holes though, and some safety issues that bring my rating down a little. Beginners can have a great time here, it's challenging for newer players but not so punitive that it will get frustrating. More experienced players won't be truly tested but there are enough fun shots that it's still worth a stop.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 N. Texas DG staple

5+    11/21/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of availale lake front land. Course holds up fine after rain or in moderate wind. Nice mix of long and short holes. Enough elevation change on the front nine to make up for the flat back. Staple of N. Texas dg. Not the best course you'll ever play, but definitely not the worst.
Cons: Better get there early if you want to beat the crowds of both disc golfers and lake goers. Only a matter of time before a fisherman gets it on hole 7.
Other Thoughts: Drink at your own risk. Apparantly you can sit by the water and drink, but you can't have a beer and play dg. With LL woods 5 minutes away, they make for a nice day of dg.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Metroplex Course

5+    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: BrookDaves
Played: 169  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Long Concrete Tees
- Good use of the land given, the holes wind around each other with only 3 holes in any danger of getting too close. Trees, brush and cliffs provide boundaries for the others.
- Tight lines on some holes.
- A course to birdie 14-15 holes if you hit the lines. If you don't you can easily bogey many too.
- Some good pin-placements.
- Great practice course.
- Good scenery and right on the lake. #3 is a great green.
Cons: - Tees are sandy on some holes, hopefully they sweep them before tourneys.
- A few too many righty-hyzer holes. Some old lefty lines have been overgrown.
- Everything is a par 3 and only 1, maybe 2 at 400 feet.
- Some too simple pin-placements.
- It gets packed on Thurs-Sunday.
Other Thoughts: This is my go to course if I want to play something good and challenging and not too far - I live in Denton. Playing here in the summer and the winter is night and day. Winter the lines are MUCH more open.
If you are in the North Metroplex, make the trip to the Lake and play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice day at the lake

5+    7/24/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 132  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
1, This course is right on the lake, could get some cooler weather (its also a con, see below).

2. Course is pretty easy to navigate and flows very quickly.

3. There are some difficult dog legs with plenty of elevational changes.

4. It does not get very muddy, should there be rain.

5. Park is nice and clean with stalls and all.
1. As I said earlier its on the lake, so typically its quite a bit cooler, but when there is no wind at all (which was the case when I last played, it is a scorcher, first time i had to take a real break for water).

2. It can get crowded, parking becomes an issue. You will see plenty of people parking along the street (sometimes these cars become disc hazards!!).

3. Everything is a Par 3, even though I can see why it is. Some of the wholes are unrealistic if people think everyone can birdie those holes.

Other Thoughts: Since this is on the lake, its very nice. Plenty of things to do after or before the golf. You can take your family out and they will enjoy the park (while you and the guys/gals play some disc golf). I would give this a 4, but based on some of the other courses that I give 4s or higher, this one is not as good.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Another Great Course in the DFW!

1    12/26/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice concrete tee pads
-Decent signs with hole info
-Easy to navigate without a map
-Baskets are in good shape
-Nice mixture of short and long shots
-Porta pottys
-Fun and Challenging
-Good hole layout
-Front nine plays by the lake and has some nice scenic views.
-Back nine is mostly open shots
-Signs directing you to the next tee, which was real helpful
-Good parking
-Cleaned and maintained
Cons: -Baskets and signs are worn but still does the job
Other Thoughts: This park has a real nice disc golf atmosphere. I had a great time playing this course and will come back again.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

fantastic course

5+    11/2/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 225  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -fun layout, nice variety of shots
-uses the limited elevation well and two great water shots also
-mostly shorter holes but many technical shots
-lots of blind baskets and challenging pin positions
-GREAT concrete tee pads, longer than you will need
-baskets are in good condition
-signs are mostly vandalized or missing but navigation is pretty straight-forward, with the exception of 5-7
-sandy soil drains quickly after a rain, doesn't get real muddy
-trash cans, porta-johns, and benches
-friendly locals, 2 weekly minis, great tournament events
Cons: -no alternate pins or tees
-signs mostly missing or vandalized, not good for visitors on blind holes
-navigation is a little tricky from 5-7, best to take a look at the map (lots of locals to help though)

Beware where you park your car on the street. Several holes have fairways next to the street and cars are likely to get hit.

Also, many people use the basket for 8 as a practice basket (it's right next to the tee for 1). Careful though because the basket is blind from the tee and you may hit someone putting or get hit yourself.
Other Thoughts:
The first two trees have been cut down on hole 14.
Hole 16 has a new pin position, deeper in the woods.
Some trees have recently been cut down that really altered holes 5 and 16. Much wider lines now.
RIP Old Man Tom; you will be missed.

This is a really fun technical course that opens up a bit on the back 9. The front 9 is has mostly shorter shorts, lots of trees, a bit of elevation, and 2 holes next to the lake. The back has a bit more distance and fewer trees. A good shot will have you parked on half the holes, a great shot can get you parked on all 18. Hole 1 is a great ace run and 16 used to be until they moved the pin in early 2013. Course is split with the front and back on opposite sides of the road. Almost a double loop; makes it easy to play 9 holes.

A fun option on the north side of the metroplex. Great course and great scenery. Fun factor is high and risk/reward opportunities are present, especially around the water.

The minis are usually well-attended with a good group of locals but bring lights for your discs. Tuesday minis are at 6:30 even during the winter so the sun will be down.

Look for Old Man Tom hanging out at his truck right by baskets 15 and 18. He runs the minis and sells discs out of his truck. Sometimes people return found plastic to him too.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.