Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #3 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun course with a lakeside view

2-4    3/17/2015   4/2/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 298  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of short, moderate, and longer length holes.
Adequate signage and excellent tee pads.
This course uses the elevation well especially on the front 9 and the last few holes of the back 9.
There are wooded/technical holes as well as holes that are more open. All of which provide excellent lines to be hit and make for great discing.
The chance to run the chains is present here as well.
There are benches and trash cans throughout the course, so that is a plus. This course has protected baskets and elevated tees and baskets too.
The flow is logical and there are also directional arrows to keep you pointed in the right direction.
Water threat was present on hole 7 in particular and a few holes give you a nice view of the lake.
My favorite holes here are 1,3,7, and 16.
Cons: If you are not paying attention on 10 you could hit an oncoming car with a disc so safety is priority number one.
7's sign is missing its diagram and just had HOLE 7 spelled out with white tape. Sadly 8's signage is missing as is 12, 13, and there wasn't any info for 15 either.
Not a major con but you could twist an ankle in a few spots where the terrain is a bit uneven on the front 9.
Other Thoughts: I can't say enough good things about this course as I've grown to appreciate it more as the years have gone by. This was actually my second course ever played and I was really impressed by it in 2010 and even more so now that 5 years have gone by. The golf shots here are fun and challenging and you will use a variety of shots when you play this course.
This course can get a lot of traffic but after you play it you will see why so many players of all skill levels love playing here. This course is a must play if you are in the area and worth it even if you must drive several miles to get here.
I'm highly certain that you will find this course enjoyable. I know when I get the chance to make it to this area again I will be playing here again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lake Lewisville Lovin'

2-4    1/19/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 85  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Lewisville plays as nicely as it looks. Situated in a quiet neighborhood in a historic district, the course pleases from the moment you drive up to the last putt on hole 18. Hole 1 drives off the top of a hill down towards the beach and then the course winds along the shore. As you play through the course you will find that Lewisville will challenge you with uphill approaches and both hyzer and anhyzer approaches. The course is both technical and open at the same time. Great baskets complimented by luxuriously long and wide teepeads add to the atmosphere of a quality course. The parking lot for the course is marked by a sign which is situated with benches near hole 1 and hole 18 finishes near the parking area as well.
Cons: The course does have a few cons that detract from the overall experience. Parking is very close to the fairways and can become an issue. Holes in several places seem to be throwing at each other or are overlapping. There are a lot of non golfers wondering in and out of the woods and fairways!
Other Thoughts: - Need some plastic before or after the round? Stop by the Dynamic Discs pro shop, a mile from the course!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Lake Park is awesome

5+    11/13/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: ikikazz
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long tee pads, great terrain, great view, some nice ace-able holes that are not too easy. Different shot selection on most holes
Cons: Very easy to lose a disc here during the summer months be it in the lake or in the trees. There are normally a lot of people here. Parking is terrible, while abundant but in lines of shots. The port-a-cans are semi clean, but real restrooms would be nice. The random people walking through the course to get to the lake.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf by the Lake

1    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 52  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very nice course on Lake Lewisville. Several different types of shots come in to play. Generally shorter holes. The lake is put into play on a few holes, an obstacle that few other courses in the area have. The elevated basket areas are very nice.
Cons: It's easy to throw into or across the roads in a few places. In a number of places baskets for two different holes are very close to each other, 20ish feet in some cases. This can lead to some confusion as to which basket goes with which hole. The benches, while well built and in general a good idea, are too tall to really be used comfortably. This seems really odd.
Other Thoughts: I imagine that the holes by the lake shore could be hellacious in heavy winds.

The city takes care of this course very well, and the DD people help to keep it looking nice.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Sundays Had Here

2-4    10/14/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: Tiny
Played: 43  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained course, I enjoy the layout very much. The lake air is always cool on hot days. You'll need a wide variety of shots, which always makes for an excellent day of disc golf. A couple of the holes have an enormous risk/reward factor, and I absolutely love that about the course. If you don't know where to go, the locals will always be helpful on showing you the way around, from my experience.

Some tight wooded shots, some open fairways, and beautiful scenery on most holes.

A con for most, but I do love the sand that is at this course, it gives it that beach feel.
Also, has the greatest teepads ever. 5-6ft by 30ft. SO MUCH SPACE.
Cons: Very few, may seem pointless to mention.
Some people sit on the bank of the lake fishing or playing with their animals, but they are pretty aware of where they are and watch the teebox that throws past em. The course isn't completely fluent, but it's not too drastic like some courses I've played. Also, some people park too close to the course and one errant shot could ruin 2 peoples days. (I've seen discers park there, so they should know that spot is bad news if they've played there before.)
Other Thoughts: There is a dynamic disc store right down the road. On sundays a great guy works there and will help you out with disc selection at the store. I played a round with him last time, he helped my brother and I with our form.

Favorite hole at this course is #8, it's the first one you see when you park. It's a slight uphill shot, but the basket and putting circle is elevated from how the hill actually runs. It's a sweet hole.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lewisville

1    7/8/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: ColtonV
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The variety in the shots is all over the spectrum. One minute you are shooting at a narrow gate and the next you have a wide open launch.

Though it was extremely hot the day we played, being next to the lake brings in a nice breeze in the summer!

I played midday on a Saturday and we didn't have to wait most of the day.

The course is challenging but extremely fun all around.

Huge tee boxes! Get the running start that you desire.
Cons: I HATE shooting close to cars and this happens multiple times. It wasn't enough to ruin the course for me, but it was pretty inconvenient.

There are plenty of places to lose a disc, but that is all the more motivation to have an excellent round.

Though there are signs everywhere pointing you in the right direction, if my cousin had not been with me then I'm not exactly sure if I would have found the tees so easily.
Other Thoughts: If you get the chance, this is a definite yes!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Local Lake Park

5+    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: IIwnimII
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mixture of technical, and open shots. Very well shaded. Massive tee boxes. Opens up with an awesome downhill ace run. Plays fair with lefties and righties. Well groomed. Only two lake hazard holes, unless you over throw or shank on 1 and 2. Sand. benches on every hole, and some chill spots tucked in the woods.
Cons: Gets pretty busy. Alot of non disc golfers walkin around, not know whats really going on there. People park in places that the vehicle can get hit. some of the signs have came out the ground, and some need to be replaced
Other Thoughts: Support Tom, buy some plastic!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    3/26/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout and use of lakefront
Challenging for left and right hand players
Holes are perfect length
Cons: Poison Ivy - be careful
Very easy to lose a disc
Extremely crowded late in the day and weekends
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I have played, very challenging and allows you to work on all kinds of different throws.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Stand out course

1    10/19/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: adamlamar
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The holes are short, but can be challenging enough that you don't feel cheated out of a good day of golf. The front nine by the lake make good use of the shoreline and wooded area. The baskets on raised areas test your putting ability as well as you never. The back nine is more open and continues to offer enjoyable play. Most holes have signage and the 'Next Tee' sings are helpful.
Cons: Hole 8 wasn't clearly marked, but a quick look at the course map let's you know you're at the right teepad.
Other Thoughts: Both 11 & 12 and 13 & 14 could be a bit confusing for first timers. Just remember that on 11 and 13, you're shooting for the left-most basket.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of two "nines"

5+    9/26/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some of the most aesthetically pleasing views I've seen. The front nine is unique, intimidating, demanding and a ton of fun to play. On multiple holes, a drive a foot right or left will be the difference between a good shot and a disastrous one. You break even on this course - you definitely have some skills.
Cons: The back nine is a major let down compared to the front. The holes turn almost elementary (save a few). Half of the course is set right off of Lake Lewisville. This can make for some incredibly windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: A few holes provide a good view of the beach-goers...Hubba Hubba!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.