Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #3 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Lake Lewisville Lovin'

2-4    1/19/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Lewisville plays as nicely as it looks. Situated in a quiet neighborhood in a historic district, the course pleases from the moment you drive up to the last putt on hole 18. Hole 1 drives off the top of a hill down towards the beach and then the course winds along the shore. As you play through the course you will find that Lewisville will challenge you with uphill approaches and both hyzer and anhyzer approaches. The course is both technical and open at the same time. Great baskets complimented by luxuriously long and wide teepeads add to the atmosphere of a quality course. The parking lot for the course is marked by a sign which is situated with benches near hole 1 and hole 18 finishes near the parking area as well.
Cons: The course does have a few cons that detract from the overall experience. Parking is very close to the fairways and can become an issue. Holes in several places seem to be throwing at each other or are overlapping. There are a lot of non golfers wondering in and out of the woods and fairways!
Other Thoughts: - Need some plastic before or after the round? Stop by the Dynamic Discs pro shop, a mile from the course!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Lake Park is awesome

5+    11/13/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: ikikazz
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long tee pads, great terrain, great view, some nice ace-able holes that are not too easy. Different shot selection on most holes
Cons: Very easy to lose a disc here during the summer months be it in the lake or in the trees. There are normally a lot of people here. Parking is terrible, while abundant but in lines of shots. The port-a-cans are semi clean, but real restrooms would be nice. The random people walking through the course to get to the lake.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf by the Lake

1    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very nice course on Lake Lewisville. Several different types of shots come in to play. Generally shorter holes. The lake is put into play on a few holes, an obstacle that few other courses in the area have. The elevated basket areas are very nice.
Cons: It's easy to throw into or across the roads in a few places. In a number of places baskets for two different holes are very close to each other, 20ish feet in some cases. This can lead to some confusion as to which basket goes with which hole. The benches, while well built and in general a good idea, are too tall to really be used comfortably. This seems really odd.
Other Thoughts: I imagine that the holes by the lake shore could be hellacious in heavy winds.

The city takes care of this course very well, and the DD people help to keep it looking nice.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Sundays Had Here

2-4    10/14/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: Tiny
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained course, I enjoy the layout very much. The lake air is always cool on hot days. You'll need a wide variety of shots, which always makes for an excellent day of disc golf. A couple of the holes have an enormous risk/reward factor, and I absolutely love that about the course. If you don't know where to go, the locals will always be helpful on showing you the way around, from my experience.

Some tight wooded shots, some open fairways, and beautiful scenery on most holes.

A con for most, but I do love the sand that is at this course, it gives it that beach feel.
Also, has the greatest teepads ever. 5-6ft by 30ft. SO MUCH SPACE.
Cons: Very few, may seem pointless to mention.
Some people sit on the bank of the lake fishing or playing with their animals, but they are pretty aware of where they are and watch the teebox that throws past em. The course isn't completely fluent, but it's not too drastic like some courses I've played. Also, some people park too close to the course and one errant shot could ruin 2 peoples days. (I've seen discers park there, so they should know that spot is bad news if they've played there before.)
Other Thoughts: There is a dynamic disc store right down the road. On sundays a great guy works there and will help you out with disc selection at the store. I played a round with him last time, he helped my brother and I with our form.

Favorite hole at this course is #8, it's the first one you see when you park. It's a slight uphill shot, but the basket and putting circle is elevated from how the hill actually runs. It's a sweet hole.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lewisville

1    7/8/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: ColtonV
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The variety in the shots is all over the spectrum. One minute you are shooting at a narrow gate and the next you have a wide open launch.

Though it was extremely hot the day we played, being next to the lake brings in a nice breeze in the summer!

I played midday on a Saturday and we didn't have to wait most of the day.

The course is challenging but extremely fun all around.

Huge tee boxes! Get the running start that you desire.
Cons: I HATE shooting close to cars and this happens multiple times. It wasn't enough to ruin the course for me, but it was pretty inconvenient.

There are plenty of places to lose a disc, but that is all the more motivation to have an excellent round.

Though there are signs everywhere pointing you in the right direction, if my cousin had not been with me then I'm not exactly sure if I would have found the tees so easily.
Other Thoughts: If you get the chance, this is a definite yes!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Local Lake Park

5+    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: IIwnimII
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mixture of technical, and open shots. Very well shaded. Massive tee boxes. Opens up with an awesome downhill ace run. Plays fair with lefties and righties. Well groomed. Only two lake hazard holes, unless you over throw or shank on 1 and 2. Sand. benches on every hole, and some chill spots tucked in the woods.
Cons: Gets pretty busy. Alot of non disc golfers walkin around, not know whats really going on there. People park in places that the vehicle can get hit. some of the signs have came out the ground, and some need to be replaced
Other Thoughts: Support Tom, buy some plastic!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    3/26/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout and use of lakefront
Challenging for left and right hand players
Holes are perfect length
Cons: Poison Ivy - be careful
Very easy to lose a disc
Extremely crowded late in the day and weekends
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I have played, very challenging and allows you to work on all kinds of different throws.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Stand out course

1    10/19/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: adamlamar
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The holes are short, but can be challenging enough that you don't feel cheated out of a good day of golf. The front nine by the lake make good use of the shoreline and wooded area. The baskets on raised areas test your putting ability as well as you never. The back nine is more open and continues to offer enjoyable play. Most holes have signage and the 'Next Tee' sings are helpful.
Cons: Hole 8 wasn't clearly marked, but a quick look at the course map let's you know you're at the right teepad.
Other Thoughts: Both 11 & 12 and 13 & 14 could be a bit confusing for first timers. Just remember that on 11 and 13, you're shooting for the left-most basket.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of two "nines"

5+    9/26/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some of the most aesthetically pleasing views I've seen. The front nine is unique, intimidating, demanding and a ton of fun to play. On multiple holes, a drive a foot right or left will be the difference between a good shot and a disastrous one. You break even on this course - you definitely have some skills.
Cons: The back nine is a major let down compared to the front. The holes turn almost elementary (save a few). Half of the course is set right off of Lake Lewisville. This can make for some incredibly windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: A few holes provide a good view of the beach-goers...Hubba Hubba!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Loving Lake Lewisville

1    1/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice massive concrete tees are always welcomed by me and so many other disc golfers.

2) Signs have all the pertinent and essential information . . . Distance, Par, and Hole # with a map and a next tee arrow.

3) Directionals in a few places are helpful for figuring out the walks between holes.

4) Nice cool park with all sorts of other things going on, but the disc golf course is pretty well segregated from the other activities.

5) Garbage cans on the course in multiple areas to help keep the course nice and clean.

6) Really cool property on the edge of the lake . . . the soil is really sandy and the vegetation is diverse and interesting on a disc golf course.

7) Benches on occassion to allow you to sit and rest if you need to.

8) Timber retaining wall sused effectively to retain the soils above the teepads and to also level the areas around the tees.

9) Elevated island green is an interesting and unique design aspect as well as challenge. No skipping onto that green!

10) Portopotties are available to players on 4 holes because of how small of an area this course is set on.

11) Nice design incorporates a nice variety of foliage. The holes along the water are different than the more open holes at the end of the front 9, then the back 9 rusn alongisde a tight wooded area.

12) Water is definitely in play and presents a real risk/reward for a couple of shots.

13) Balance is awesome on this course because of the variety of shots required here. You need to work your disc both ways you need to change your throws because of the obstacles and also elevate some shots while keeping others low.

14) Awesome variety in distance of the holes. They range from 200's to 400's with everything in between. This is a design aspect tha I think gets forgotte but should be integral in good design if at all possible.

15) Maps are available at the ranger shack to the east of the course.

16) This is simply put just a really pretty course . . .because of the lake, but also because of how the course is setup and it is just a diverse property.
Cons: 1) Because of the sandy soil . . . there is a lot of sand on some of those front 9 tee pads especially.

2) Some of the distances on the teesigns really seemed to be incorrect.

3) # plates would really help because of the proximity and orientation of some of the baskets.

4) Some of the greens are wore out and bare . . . being a sandy soil it is going to happen and I am sure this park is played often and by a lot of people.

5) The footing on a lot of the fairways is tough because of the sandy soil . . . its loose and leaves you unsure of your runup. There also seemed to be a lot of holes in the sand from rodents and other animals.

6) A couple of places are pretty dangerous because of proximity of the holes and fairways running very close to other fairways or tees or baskets.

7) Parking area seems to be really tight to the road and risk damage to your vehicle . . . and it also seems to be really small making get togethers tough.

8) The road is a little too close to a couple of the holes in my opinion . . . risk of hitting a car is possible.
Other Thoughts: I was pumped to find a 4.0 disc rated course on the outskirts of the cities. I wasn't sure what to think but this was really a unique property. I was also not let down after playing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.