Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #7
3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Reviews: 70
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
A top course for sure

5+    8/29/2015   9/12/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very challenging course that caters to advanced disc golfers
-Nice technical holes that can build your skill set...or frustrate you...
-Simply stunning surroundings with evergreens, red sand, and lake Lewisville as a backdrop. This course just offers a different beauty than other courses in the area. I always appreciate a course that has a "different" and "fresh" feel to it, and this one certainly does
-Nice concrete teepads and good tee signs
-The front 9 are more thread-the-needle types by the lake. The back 9, though just across the street, are like playing a different course. More open, longer holes, with light to medium tree cover
-There are tons of things to do in the area as well
- A lot of top area players come here often, which is always a good sign
- This is a great course to play when area rains or inclement weather force you out of your normal course. The elevation changes along with the sand and rocks just whisk the rain away.
-There is a port-a-potty about half way through
-Nice course flow, but know that #10 is across the street (that will help everything make sense)
Cons: -This is a disc eater course, especially on the front 9 where several holes are right by and/over the water. Any really good course such as this one always presents a risk of disc loss, however. Hole #7 is the bain of my existence. You can play it safe...but where's the fun in that? Go for it! Just be sure to use a disc that isn't going to make you cry like a toddler if you lose it.
-It would be nice if they would spruce up some of the signs a bit. They're not bad, but there are a couple holes that could do with some more info...like..towards the next hole.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in dfw. There is another course nearby for those who like to play two-fers. Great fishing as well. As a side note, there is also a very nice disc shop nearby.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Always a fun round

5+    5/9/2015   5/10/2015
Review By: eegor
Played: 107  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 19.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Natural beauty.
The lake.
Well designed holes that are all fun to play.
Drains well.
Proximity to Dynamic Discs.
Elevation - OB and water hazards - well kept.
Cons: Crowded with people and crowded course design with fairways that are side by side. Some tees are in position to take incoming drives from another hole.

Be careful where you park.
Other Thoughts: I have always had a good time at this course. It's the best course to play after or during a rain in north Texas. In the summer, it's fun to swim in the lake between rounds or after playing.
This isn't a bomber course, but you will be required to play golf with well placed shots. It seems to have a little bit of everything. That's why I rated it so high. You'll love to play here - guaranteed.

If you like to drink when you play, the vigorously enforced no alcohol policy would be a con.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course!

1    3/25/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: CantThrowStraight
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course along Lake Lewisville! Played for my first time and not my last. Very challenging course of mixed shots. Everything will be needed to play here. Nice signs at most tee boxes and super long tees giving you lots of room for the run up. Trees look to have been trimmed back and some removed making it a little easier to get a disc where you want. Nice signage for next tees, very easy to navigate the course and not get lost. Though, having a local around did help us on a couple of them.
Cons: It is very busy. Be prepared to wait on people in front of you and many solo players to play through. Everyone seemed to be very respectful about it. Even turned my group of 2 into 5 with some guys who decided to play along instead of play through.

Fairways run close to each other. Pay attention if you get out of your fairway as you are probably in someone elses!
Other Thoughts: I will be back many times and hope to not get beat too bad in June!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Lakeside Golf

1    9/2/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: TexasChains
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course featured Beautiful lakeside golf with a wide variety of shot types. Technical course with only moderate distance. Fun nail-biter shots over the lakes edge and awesome pin placement. Super long tees with nice man-made additions such as railroad tie walls to prevent erosion and make the greens more interesting. The course played quickly for 18 holes and left me wanting more. "Next Tee" signs made navigation easy. A cool breeze coming off the lake made this course a few degrees cooler then other courses in the summer. Also, the course locals were all very friendly and helpful. One of the best courses in Texas!
Cons: Very few cons. A few non-disc golfers would be walking through the trails and occasionally cross fairways.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful lakeside golf, next door there is a indoor fishing barge that will sell cheap stale bread to feed the ducks!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Better than most

5+    6/10/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Dgorilla
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: O.K..Played many courses in the metro area. This is still a course that provides challenges everytime. I've played for over 10 years..It's cleaner than most, the grass is cut often, the view of the lake is great, this course will be mostly dry the next day after it rains because of the groung mixture, there the "Old Man Tom" in his white ford truck selling great plastic cheap. If you need to know anything about the course ask him(he designed it). He is very helpful with disc golf information..All of it. He runs the tuesday doubles and the saturday mini. Everyone out there is friendly and will give you advice if you ask for it. The locals are well seasoned disc chunkers and are pdga vets and will help you with you game if you ask them. I can go on and on about the guys out there, but you just need to see for yourself. There are people walking through the course from time to time, but it's a lake course suck it up. The course will make and break any pro or beginner. This is the course to spend the day at. After your done playing jump in the lake to cool off, you might find some good plastic..
Cons: Not a good idea to park along hole 15..Some people go over the road to skip it by the bucket.
Other Thoughts: Played this course at least 200 times and still my score varies from+2 to -6

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    7/30/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Spanky
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Level variations
- Wide range of shots needed
- Great location
- A few holes are great for skipping
- Nice, big tee-boxes
Cons: - People hanging out by the lake can be a distraction, I've had to ask people to get off tee-boxes before
- Vegetation during the summer. Hole 3 can become so overgrown in the summer, it's near impossible to par. Best time to play is in the Fall.
Other Thoughts: Local, been playing this course for about 8 years. Will always be my favorite.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/9/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well designed along the lake.
-A few good elevation changes on the front nine.
-You have to use a lot of different shots to play well here.
-Cement tee boxes.
-Easy to find.
-Weekly minis
-Tons of seasoned locals to learn from.
-Awesome Layout
Cons: -Too many people on the beach along the lake.
-Some people tried to have a picnic on the number 3 tee box. Kinda funny
Other Thoughts: Challenging course. Make sure you throw something stable on #7. Try going over the trees on #5. If you throw side arm, throw high left on number 3. I play this course at least 3-4 times a week. Good mix of every type of shot. No need to go anywhere else. You will fall in love with this place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easy to play in the rain

1    7/9/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: txsarge
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: My friend found this course and played the back 9 holes / Easy to get to from the highway / holes are set up to play with a nice challenge for new and pro players / after a few days of rain it does not get muddy at all
Cons: A lot of players love this course and will be busy and some times crowded / hole 3 looks like it will be a big disc eater b.c of the lake hazard...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The BEST so far!!!

1    6/14/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: redmanhmg
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New to the sport just a years worth of playing. I found this course to be the most beautiful course I have played yet. A great must play course. It will keep your focus and make you concentrate on the front nine. the back is pretty leisure more arm but very easy going and laid back. The park is well manicured and looks great.
Cons: A couple of holes on the water the trees could be cut back a little. Was a little questionable on hole locations for a few holes, but a great course.
Other Thoughts: It was well worth the drive from Shreveport, LA

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just a special place for DG

5+    8/10/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: StumperTX
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 8/11/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Changing up my review here to be a hole by hole walkthrough, maybe this will be more helpful?

1- not much mystery here, but I like to aim at the base of the one tree slightly left of the pin off the tee (FH).
2- look straight ahead of you, and see that tree dead in the middle of the fwy. throw to the gap on the right RHBH or left RHFH. if you miss all the trees, you'll be in good shape.
3- in the summer you need to throw with a fair amount of height bc of the vegetation. my preference is throwing an anny FH if I'm adventurous, a thumber started down that path you see if not. either way, be happy with par.
4. If you have any sort of FH, this is a good hole for it, start left of the clump of trees in front of you with an overstable disc and left it hyzer back toward the pin.
5. The only way I can play this is to throw a tommy over the tree that overhangs from the left. par is a nice score here, deceptively hard.
6. If you have to miss, miss left. this hole is reachable if you have the arm, but again, don't miss right.
7. a big backhand would be nice to have here. since I don't, I put a med-low height thumber down the middle, put my upshot close, and walk away with a par happy I didn't lose a disc in the lake
8. the only danger here is being long and left. right up against the front retaining wall is a nice place to be off the tee.
9. this hole is HARD if played as a par 3. I've only 3'd this a few times in ~8 tries, but if you can throw a RHBH 400ft accurately, you'll have an easier time than me, if you can snake it through the trees. there's no trouble left, so don't be afraid to miss there off the tee.
10. sets up very nicely for a RHBH, I haven't been overly successful trying to force a FH.
11. another nice hole for BHers, start it at the basket on the right (which is 12's), and let the natural fade bring it back, you'll have a pretty open path on that line, provided you at least reach the tree line.
12. nothing fancy here, but I think you're normally throwing into the wind
13. another great hole for a BH hyzer. VERY difficult to get near it with a FH.
14. if you have the tommy, throw it over the tallest trees dead ahead, and you should be in great shape, if not, big hyzer BH started out over the road
15. keep it low and relatively straight (something like a TB maybe?). pick one side of the line of trees or the other based on your BH/FH choice, and keep it low.
16. you'll see two mature trees down the path that form kind of a 'V' aim RHBH at those and let the disc fade in towards the pin
17. GREAT hole for a bombed FH drive, and I think the big tree on the right makes it easier to throw FH than BH. Careful of the OB left, start a FH drive towards the OB line and you're in great shape.
18. tough to see the pin from the tee, but if you stand next to the tree on the left hand side of the tee box, you'll see it straight ahead, left of the tree right in front of you. the easier basket to see is 15
Cons: oh man 3 and 7 could use some trees trimmed back. they're hard enough throws along the water without requiring height as well
Other Thoughts: quick DG bio for you to add detail -- I throw almost all RHFH off the tee, max D on the course is 425-430. I throw a very good thumber in terms of placement and approach shots, but don't throw it for great D (3-315). My backhand is not very accurate or long, so there are several holes that are exceptionally hard for me to shape on this course. I still love it though.

I've you've ever scored a 2 on the 9th, you're better than me and I want to play with you.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.