Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #8
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice mix

1    4/17/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a busy multi-use park, with a mix of wooded holes and more open park style shots. Much of the front nine plays through a wooded area along the lake with enough brush on many of the holes to punish an errant shot but not so much that it would eat discs. A couple of these holes offer great risk/reward decisions with risky routes over the water and safer but tighter routes that don't bring it into play. The back 9 is a little longer and a lot less punishing. Most of the shots play through mature trees with multiple lines and no underbrush.

The distance variety is decent, with a few longer holes and some rewarding ace runs. The holes that do force a specific line offer a good balance of right and left turning shots. The concrete tees are huge and in great shape. There is basic signage with hole distance and layout, and the baskets catch fine. Despite a ton of people playing, there didn't seem to be a big problem with trash here.
Cons: Several holes have some conflicts with park roads and parking lots, and with a lot of newer players those issues will be compounded somewhat. The area along the lake seems to be a popular swimming spot, taking the lines over the water means bringing swimmers into play on a warm day.

The course seems to get a ton of traffic, we had to wait quite a bit during our round and locals told us that was pretty typical. A few holes play right alongside one another, a potential safety issue with that many people on the course.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing here, and the two water holes were some of my favorite shots of the courses I played in the DFW area. There are a few filler holes though, and some safety issues that bring my rating down a little. Beginners can have a great time here, it's challenging for newer players but not so punitive that it will get frustrating. More experienced players won't be truly tested but there are enough fun shots that it's still worth a stop.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    3/26/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout and use of lakefront
Challenging for left and right hand players
Holes are perfect length
Cons: Poison Ivy - be careful
Very easy to lose a disc
Extremely crowded late in the day and weekends
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I have played, very challenging and allows you to work on all kinds of different throws.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 N. Texas DG staple

5+    11/21/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of availale lake front land. Course holds up fine after rain or in moderate wind. Nice mix of long and short holes. Enough elevation change on the front nine to make up for the flat back. Staple of N. Texas dg. Not the best course you'll ever play, but definitely not the worst.
Cons: Better get there early if you want to beat the crowds of both disc golfers and lake goers. Only a matter of time before a fisherman gets it on hole 7.
Other Thoughts: Drink at your own risk. Apparantly you can sit by the water and drink, but you can't have a beer and play dg. With LL woods 5 minutes away, they make for a nice day of dg.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Stand out course

1    10/19/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: adamlamar
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The holes are short, but can be challenging enough that you don't feel cheated out of a good day of golf. The front nine by the lake make good use of the shoreline and wooded area. The baskets on raised areas test your putting ability as well as you never. The back nine is more open and continues to offer enjoyable play. Most holes have signage and the 'Next Tee' sings are helpful.
Cons: Hole 8 wasn't clearly marked, but a quick look at the course map let's you know you're at the right teepad.
Other Thoughts: Both 11 & 12 and 13 & 14 could be a bit confusing for first timers. Just remember that on 11 and 13, you're shooting for the left-most basket.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of two "nines"

5+    9/26/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some of the most aesthetically pleasing views I've seen. The front nine is unique, intimidating, demanding and a ton of fun to play. On multiple holes, a drive a foot right or left will be the difference between a good shot and a disastrous one. You break even on this course - you definitely have some skills.
Cons: The back nine is a major let down compared to the front. The holes turn almost elementary (save a few). Half of the course is set right off of Lake Lewisville. This can make for some incredibly windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: A few holes provide a good view of the beach-goers...Hubba Hubba!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Loving Lake Lewisville

1    1/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 735  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice massive concrete tees are always welcomed by me and so many other disc golfers.

2) Signs have all the pertinent and essential information . . . Distance, Par, and Hole # with a map and a next tee arrow.

3) Directionals in a few places are helpful for figuring out the walks between holes.

4) Nice cool park with all sorts of other things going on, but the disc golf course is pretty well segregated from the other activities.

5) Garbage cans on the course in multiple areas to help keep the course nice and clean.

6) Really cool property on the edge of the lake . . . the soil is really sandy and the vegetation is diverse and interesting on a disc golf course.

7) Benches on occassion to allow you to sit and rest if you need to.

8) Timber retaining wall sused effectively to retain the soils above the teepads and to also level the areas around the tees.

9) Elevated island green is an interesting and unique design aspect as well as challenge. No skipping onto that green!

10) Portopotties are available to players on 4 holes because of how small of an area this course is set on.

11) Nice design incorporates a nice variety of foliage. The holes along the water are different than the more open holes at the end of the front 9, then the back 9 rusn alongisde a tight wooded area.

12) Water is definitely in play and presents a real risk/reward for a couple of shots.

13) Balance is awesome on this course because of the variety of shots required here. You need to work your disc both ways you need to change your throws because of the obstacles and also elevate some shots while keeping others low.

14) Awesome variety in distance of the holes. They range from 200's to 400's with everything in between. This is a design aspect tha I think gets forgotte but should be integral in good design if at all possible.

15) Maps are available at the ranger shack to the east of the course.

16) This is simply put just a really pretty course . . .because of the lake, but also because of how the course is setup and it is just a diverse property.
Cons: 1) Because of the sandy soil . . . there is a lot of sand on some of those front 9 tee pads especially.

2) Some of the distances on the teesigns really seemed to be incorrect.

3) # plates would really help because of the proximity and orientation of some of the baskets.

4) Some of the greens are wore out and bare . . . being a sandy soil it is going to happen and I am sure this park is played often and by a lot of people.

5) The footing on a lot of the fairways is tough because of the sandy soil . . . its loose and leaves you unsure of your runup. There also seemed to be a lot of holes in the sand from rodents and other animals.

6) A couple of places are pretty dangerous because of proximity of the holes and fairways running very close to other fairways or tees or baskets.

7) Parking area seems to be really tight to the road and risk damage to your vehicle . . . and it also seems to be really small making get togethers tough.

8) The road is a little too close to a couple of the holes in my opinion . . . risk of hitting a car is possible.
Other Thoughts: I was pumped to find a 4.0 disc rated course on the outskirts of the cities. I wasn't sure what to think but this was really a unique property. I was also not let down after playing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Metroplex Course

5+    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: BrookDaves
Played: 99  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Long Concrete Tees
- Good use of the land given, the holes wind around each other with only 3 holes in any danger of getting too close. Trees, brush and cliffs provide boundaries for the others.
- Tight lines on some holes.
- A course to birdie 14-15 holes if you hit the lines. If you don't you can easily bogey many too.
- Some good pin-placements.
- Great practice course.
- Good scenery and right on the lake. #3 is a great green.
Cons: - Tees are sandy on some holes, hopefully they sweep them before tourneys.
- A few too many righty-hyzer holes. Some old lefty lines have been overgrown.
- Everything is a par 3 and only 1, maybe 2 at 400 feet.
- Some too simple pin-placements.
- It gets packed on Thurs-Sunday.
Other Thoughts: This is my go to course if I want to play something good and challenging and not too far - I live in Denton. Playing here in the summer and the winter is night and day. Winter the lines are MUCH more open.
If you are in the North Metroplex, make the trip to the Lake and play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Better than most

5+    6/10/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Dgorilla
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: O.K..Played many courses in the metro area. This is still a course that provides challenges everytime. I've played for over 10 years..It's cleaner than most, the grass is cut often, the view of the lake is great, this course will be mostly dry the next day after it rains because of the groung mixture, there the "Old Man Tom" in his white ford truck selling great plastic cheap. If you need to know anything about the course ask him(he designed it). He is very helpful with disc golf information..All of it. He runs the tuesday doubles and the saturday mini. Everyone out there is friendly and will give you advice if you ask for it. The locals are well seasoned disc chunkers and are pdga vets and will help you with you game if you ask them. I can go on and on about the guys out there, but you just need to see for yourself. There are people walking through the course from time to time, but it's a lake course suck it up. The course will make and break any pro or beginner. This is the course to spend the day at. After your done playing jump in the lake to cool off, you might find some good plastic..
Cons: Not a good idea to park along hole 15..Some people go over the road to skip it by the bucket.
Other Thoughts: Played this course at least 200 times and still my score varies from+2 to -6

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Lake Lewisville still fun

5+    6/15/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: Runnin-Rams
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, let me add that I have been playing Lake Lewisville for over a decade now. Have played it easily 100 times and still enjoy it every time. The trees, especially in the summer make you work the disc a lot more than most courses in DFW. As has been mentioned several times - truly the best place to play in the area after rainfall. Baskets, tees, and course is clean and well-maintained.
Cons: Minor blemishes - and maybe this is only for those that played Lewisville 6+ years ago, but the trees on 3 and 7 make those two holes much less adventuresome. #3 used to be decision-time - out over the lake or play it safe. #7 the same risk reward out over the water how much are you willing to bite off and risk a disc in the drink? Now, however, with the trees easily doubling in height over the last decade makes these holes much less enjoyable.
Other Thoughts: Crowded on the weekends. Yes, that is very true, but for those with the ability to play on weekdays - Lewisville is still a great destination. Happy to say this is my home course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: yourmomrhymes
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course, great variety, used every disc in my bag.
Tee boxes for every hole are nice and long, and signs for every hole are detailed and very helpful. Trees in this course give the holes personality and a fun challenge.
Cons: Very difficult to think of cons for this course.
There are a few holes where the pin cannot be seen and one must take an "I'll throw my disc this way and find it when I get around the brush" mentality. There may seem like a lot of thick brush but discs were surprisingly easy to find if it flies into the brush.
Other Thoughts: I walked away thinking, "what a great course, I cannot wait to come back and play it again."
This is a must play, you will not be disappointed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.