Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #14
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great Sundays Had Here

2-4    10/14/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: Tiny
Played: 43  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained course, I enjoy the layout very much. The lake air is always cool on hot days. You'll need a wide variety of shots, which always makes for an excellent day of disc golf. A couple of the holes have an enormous risk/reward factor, and I absolutely love that about the course. If you don't know where to go, the locals will always be helpful on showing you the way around, from my experience.

Some tight wooded shots, some open fairways, and beautiful scenery on most holes.

A con for most, but I do love the sand that is at this course, it gives it that beach feel.
Also, has the greatest teepads ever. 5-6ft by 30ft. SO MUCH SPACE.
Cons: Very few, may seem pointless to mention.
Some people sit on the bank of the lake fishing or playing with their animals, but they are pretty aware of where they are and watch the teebox that throws past em. The course isn't completely fluent, but it's not too drastic like some courses I've played. Also, some people park too close to the course and one errant shot could ruin 2 peoples days. (I've seen discers park there, so they should know that spot is bad news if they've played there before.)
Other Thoughts: There is a dynamic disc store right down the road. On sundays a great guy works there and will help you out with disc selection at the store. I played a round with him last time, he helped my brother and I with our form.

Favorite hole at this course is #8, it's the first one you see when you park. It's a slight uphill shot, but the basket and putting circle is elevated from how the hill actually runs. It's a sweet hole.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Lakeside Golf

1    9/2/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: TexasChains
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course featured Beautiful lakeside golf with a wide variety of shot types. Technical course with only moderate distance. Fun nail-biter shots over the lakes edge and awesome pin placement. Super long tees with nice man-made additions such as railroad tie walls to prevent erosion and make the greens more interesting. The course played quickly for 18 holes and left me wanting more. "Next Tee" signs made navigation easy. A cool breeze coming off the lake made this course a few degrees cooler then other courses in the summer. Also, the course locals were all very friendly and helpful. One of the best courses in Texas!
Cons: Very few cons. A few non-disc golfers would be walking through the trails and occasionally cross fairways.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful lakeside golf, next door there is a indoor fishing barge that will sell cheap stale bread to feed the ducks!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lewisville

1    7/8/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: ColtonV
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The variety in the shots is all over the spectrum. One minute you are shooting at a narrow gate and the next you have a wide open launch.

Though it was extremely hot the day we played, being next to the lake brings in a nice breeze in the summer!

I played midday on a Saturday and we didn't have to wait most of the day.

The course is challenging but extremely fun all around.

Huge tee boxes! Get the running start that you desire.
Cons: I HATE shooting close to cars and this happens multiple times. It wasn't enough to ruin the course for me, but it was pretty inconvenient.

There are plenty of places to lose a disc, but that is all the more motivation to have an excellent round.

Though there are signs everywhere pointing you in the right direction, if my cousin had not been with me then I'm not exactly sure if I would have found the tees so easily.
Other Thoughts: If you get the chance, this is a definite yes!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Local Lake Park

5+    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: IIwnimII
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mixture of technical, and open shots. Very well shaded. Massive tee boxes. Opens up with an awesome downhill ace run. Plays fair with lefties and righties. Well groomed. Only two lake hazard holes, unless you over throw or shank on 1 and 2. Sand. benches on every hole, and some chill spots tucked in the woods.
Cons: Gets pretty busy. Alot of non disc golfers walkin around, not know whats really going on there. People park in places that the vehicle can get hit. some of the signs have came out the ground, and some need to be replaced
Other Thoughts: Support Tom, buy some plastic!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix

1    4/17/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a busy multi-use park, with a mix of wooded holes and more open park style shots. Much of the front nine plays through a wooded area along the lake with enough brush on many of the holes to punish an errant shot but not so much that it would eat discs. A couple of these holes offer great risk/reward decisions with risky routes over the water and safer but tighter routes that don't bring it into play. The back 9 is a little longer and a lot less punishing. Most of the shots play through mature trees with multiple lines and no underbrush.

The distance variety is decent, with a few longer holes and some rewarding ace runs. The holes that do force a specific line offer a good balance of right and left turning shots. The concrete tees are huge and in great shape. There is basic signage with hole distance and layout, and the baskets catch fine. Despite a ton of people playing, there didn't seem to be a big problem with trash here.
Cons: Several holes have some conflicts with park roads and parking lots, and with a lot of newer players those issues will be compounded somewhat. The area along the lake seems to be a popular swimming spot, taking the lines over the water means bringing swimmers into play on a warm day.

The course seems to get a ton of traffic, we had to wait quite a bit during our round and locals told us that was pretty typical. A few holes play right alongside one another, a potential safety issue with that many people on the course.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing here, and the two water holes were some of my favorite shots of the courses I played in the DFW area. There are a few filler holes though, and some safety issues that bring my rating down a little. Beginners can have a great time here, it's challenging for newer players but not so punitive that it will get frustrating. More experienced players won't be truly tested but there are enough fun shots that it's still worth a stop.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    3/26/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout and use of lakefront
Challenging for left and right hand players
Holes are perfect length
Cons: Poison Ivy - be careful
Very easy to lose a disc
Extremely crowded late in the day and weekends
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I have played, very challenging and allows you to work on all kinds of different throws.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 N. Texas DG staple

5+    11/21/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of availale lake front land. Course holds up fine after rain or in moderate wind. Nice mix of long and short holes. Enough elevation change on the front nine to make up for the flat back. Staple of N. Texas dg. Not the best course you'll ever play, but definitely not the worst.
Cons: Better get there early if you want to beat the crowds of both disc golfers and lake goers. Only a matter of time before a fisherman gets it on hole 7.
Other Thoughts: Drink at your own risk. Apparantly you can sit by the water and drink, but you can't have a beer and play dg. With LL woods 5 minutes away, they make for a nice day of dg.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Stand out course

1    10/19/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: adamlamar
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The holes are short, but can be challenging enough that you don't feel cheated out of a good day of golf. The front nine by the lake make good use of the shoreline and wooded area. The baskets on raised areas test your putting ability as well as you never. The back nine is more open and continues to offer enjoyable play. Most holes have signage and the 'Next Tee' sings are helpful.
Cons: Hole 8 wasn't clearly marked, but a quick look at the course map let's you know you're at the right teepad.
Other Thoughts: Both 11 & 12 and 13 & 14 could be a bit confusing for first timers. Just remember that on 11 and 13, you're shooting for the left-most basket.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of two "nines"

5+    9/26/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some of the most aesthetically pleasing views I've seen. The front nine is unique, intimidating, demanding and a ton of fun to play. On multiple holes, a drive a foot right or left will be the difference between a good shot and a disastrous one. You break even on this course - you definitely have some skills.
Cons: The back nine is a major let down compared to the front. The holes turn almost elementary (save a few). Half of the course is set right off of Lake Lewisville. This can make for some incredibly windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: A few holes provide a good view of the beach-goers...Hubba Hubba!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Loving Lake Lewisville

1    1/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 858  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice massive concrete tees are always welcomed by me and so many other disc golfers.

2) Signs have all the pertinent and essential information . . . Distance, Par, and Hole # with a map and a next tee arrow.

3) Directionals in a few places are helpful for figuring out the walks between holes.

4) Nice cool park with all sorts of other things going on, but the disc golf course is pretty well segregated from the other activities.

5) Garbage cans on the course in multiple areas to help keep the course nice and clean.

6) Really cool property on the edge of the lake . . . the soil is really sandy and the vegetation is diverse and interesting on a disc golf course.

7) Benches on occassion to allow you to sit and rest if you need to.

8) Timber retaining wall sused effectively to retain the soils above the teepads and to also level the areas around the tees.

9) Elevated island green is an interesting and unique design aspect as well as challenge. No skipping onto that green!

10) Portopotties are available to players on 4 holes because of how small of an area this course is set on.

11) Nice design incorporates a nice variety of foliage. The holes along the water are different than the more open holes at the end of the front 9, then the back 9 rusn alongisde a tight wooded area.

12) Water is definitely in play and presents a real risk/reward for a couple of shots.

13) Balance is awesome on this course because of the variety of shots required here. You need to work your disc both ways you need to change your throws because of the obstacles and also elevate some shots while keeping others low.

14) Awesome variety in distance of the holes. They range from 200's to 400's with everything in between. This is a design aspect tha I think gets forgotte but should be integral in good design if at all possible.

15) Maps are available at the ranger shack to the east of the course.

16) This is simply put just a really pretty course . . .because of the lake, but also because of how the course is setup and it is just a diverse property.
Cons: 1) Because of the sandy soil . . . there is a lot of sand on some of those front 9 tee pads especially.

2) Some of the distances on the teesigns really seemed to be incorrect.

3) # plates would really help because of the proximity and orientation of some of the baskets.

4) Some of the greens are wore out and bare . . . being a sandy soil it is going to happen and I am sure this park is played often and by a lot of people.

5) The footing on a lot of the fairways is tough because of the sandy soil . . . its loose and leaves you unsure of your runup. There also seemed to be a lot of holes in the sand from rodents and other animals.

6) A couple of places are pretty dangerous because of proximity of the holes and fairways running very close to other fairways or tees or baskets.

7) Parking area seems to be really tight to the road and risk damage to your vehicle . . . and it also seems to be really small making get togethers tough.

8) The road is a little too close to a couple of the holes in my opinion . . . risk of hitting a car is possible.
Other Thoughts: I was pumped to find a 4.0 disc rated course on the outskirts of the cities. I wasn't sure what to think but this was really a unique property. I was also not let down after playing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.