Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #7
3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Good Challenges, Beautiful Location, and the Locals Make It Fun

2-4    7/12/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + variety of shots are needed whether you use your Left or Right throwing arm
+ good layout for the use of space
+ popular course and many locals will help you out if you are new to the area (like myself)
Cons: - some trimming/pruning of trees on the lake side and possibly hole #3 & #16 come to mind during the Fall/Spring should be done to help the trails and flight line choices
- trash along the course sadly
- Correct tee signs and measurements
- use better markings for Mando's other than small pink tape
Other Thoughts: Good fun course and location. I was there on a busy weekend and you could see all types of experienced players throwing discs.. that's a good sign for the sport in the area.

I was able to throw a variety of shots if I chose and I had options for bigger ones, but the winds and lack of course layout knowledge prevented me, but I will consider it next time.

I enjoyed Hole #3 since I almost ACED it twice in the same weekend with a RHBH Flick over the lake's edge.

Side note/tip I got from a local: Ensure ALL WHEELS of your vehicle are OFF THE PAVEMENT when you park or else the parks police could write you a ticket for being on the right of way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course!

1    3/25/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: CantThrowStraight
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course along Lake Lewisville! Played for my first time and not my last. Very challenging course of mixed shots. Everything will be needed to play here. Nice signs at most tee boxes and super long tees giving you lots of room for the run up. Trees look to have been trimmed back and some removed making it a little easier to get a disc where you want. Nice signage for next tees, very easy to navigate the course and not get lost. Though, having a local around did help us on a couple of them.
Cons: It is very busy. Be prepared to wait on people in front of you and many solo players to play through. Everyone seemed to be very respectful about it. Even turned my group of 2 into 5 with some guys who decided to play along instead of play through.

Fairways run close to each other. Pay attention if you get out of your fairway as you are probably in someone elses!
Other Thoughts: I will be back many times and hope to not get beat too bad in June!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lake Lewisville Lovin'

2-4    1/19/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 80  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Lewisville plays as nicely as it looks. Situated in a quiet neighborhood in a historic district, the course pleases from the moment you drive up to the last putt on hole 18. Hole 1 drives off the top of a hill down towards the beach and then the course winds along the shore. As you play through the course you will find that Lewisville will challenge you with uphill approaches and both hyzer and anhyzer approaches. The course is both technical and open at the same time. Great baskets complimented by luxuriously long and wide teepeads add to the atmosphere of a quality course. The parking lot for the course is marked by a sign which is situated with benches near hole 1 and hole 18 finishes near the parking area as well.
Cons: The course does have a few cons that detract from the overall experience. Parking is very close to the fairways and can become an issue. Holes in several places seem to be throwing at each other or are overlapping. There are a lot of non golfers wondering in and out of the woods and fairways!
Other Thoughts: - Need some plastic before or after the round? Stop by the Dynamic Discs pro shop, a mile from the course!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Lake Park is awesome

5+    11/13/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: ikikazz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long tee pads, great terrain, great view, some nice ace-able holes that are not too easy. Different shot selection on most holes
Cons: Very easy to lose a disc here during the summer months be it in the lake or in the trees. There are normally a lot of people here. Parking is terrible, while abundant but in lines of shots. The port-a-cans are semi clean, but real restrooms would be nice. The random people walking through the course to get to the lake.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf by the Lake

1    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 50  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very nice course on Lake Lewisville. Several different types of shots come in to play. Generally shorter holes. The lake is put into play on a few holes, an obstacle that few other courses in the area have. The elevated basket areas are very nice.
Cons: It's easy to throw into or across the roads in a few places. In a number of places baskets for two different holes are very close to each other, 20ish feet in some cases. This can lead to some confusion as to which basket goes with which hole. The benches, while well built and in general a good idea, are too tall to really be used comfortably. This seems really odd.
Other Thoughts: I imagine that the holes by the lake shore could be hellacious in heavy winds.

The city takes care of this course very well, and the DD people help to keep it looking nice.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Crowded, but good

2-4    1/25/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
- Lots of different lines and distances
- Ridiculously long teepads
- Challenging, but not annoyingly tight - a good mix of open and tight holes
Cons:
- Very crowded on the weekends, a lot of riff-raff
- Not a ton of elevation change
- Some bad overlap of fairways and proximity to parked cars
Other Thoughts:
I always play this course early in the morning or at a time when I know it won't be as crowded, because it can get bad. There are a lot of tournaments here, and they can get obnoxious practicing on baskets that other players are actually throwing on. A bad shank could easily hit a car on several holes, and there are a lot of "lake people" hanging around.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Sundays Had Here

2-4    10/14/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: Tiny
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained course, I enjoy the layout very much. The lake air is always cool on hot days. You'll need a wide variety of shots, which always makes for an excellent day of disc golf. A couple of the holes have an enormous risk/reward factor, and I absolutely love that about the course. If you don't know where to go, the locals will always be helpful on showing you the way around, from my experience.

Some tight wooded shots, some open fairways, and beautiful scenery on most holes.

A con for most, but I do love the sand that is at this course, it gives it that beach feel.
Also, has the greatest teepads ever. 5-6ft by 30ft. SO MUCH SPACE.
Cons: Very few, may seem pointless to mention.
Some people sit on the bank of the lake fishing or playing with their animals, but they are pretty aware of where they are and watch the teebox that throws past em. The course isn't completely fluent, but it's not too drastic like some courses I've played. Also, some people park too close to the course and one errant shot could ruin 2 peoples days. (I've seen discers park there, so they should know that spot is bad news if they've played there before.)
Other Thoughts: There is a dynamic disc store right down the road. On sundays a great guy works there and will help you out with disc selection at the store. I played a round with him last time, he helped my brother and I with our form.

Favorite hole at this course is #8, it's the first one you see when you park. It's a slight uphill shot, but the basket and putting circle is elevated from how the hill actually runs. It's a sweet hole.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Lakeside Golf

1    9/2/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: TexasChains
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course featured Beautiful lakeside golf with a wide variety of shot types. Technical course with only moderate distance. Fun nail-biter shots over the lakes edge and awesome pin placement. Super long tees with nice man-made additions such as railroad tie walls to prevent erosion and make the greens more interesting. The course played quickly for 18 holes and left me wanting more. "Next Tee" signs made navigation easy. A cool breeze coming off the lake made this course a few degrees cooler then other courses in the summer. Also, the course locals were all very friendly and helpful. One of the best courses in Texas!
Cons: Very few cons. A few non-disc golfers would be walking through the trails and occasionally cross fairways.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful lakeside golf, next door there is a indoor fishing barge that will sell cheap stale bread to feed the ducks!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lewisville

1    7/8/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: ColtonV
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The variety in the shots is all over the spectrum. One minute you are shooting at a narrow gate and the next you have a wide open launch.

Though it was extremely hot the day we played, being next to the lake brings in a nice breeze in the summer!

I played midday on a Saturday and we didn't have to wait most of the day.

The course is challenging but extremely fun all around.

Huge tee boxes! Get the running start that you desire.
Cons: I HATE shooting close to cars and this happens multiple times. It wasn't enough to ruin the course for me, but it was pretty inconvenient.

There are plenty of places to lose a disc, but that is all the more motivation to have an excellent round.

Though there are signs everywhere pointing you in the right direction, if my cousin had not been with me then I'm not exactly sure if I would have found the tees so easily.
Other Thoughts: If you get the chance, this is a definite yes!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Local Lake Park

5+    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: IIwnimII
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mixture of technical, and open shots. Very well shaded. Massive tee boxes. Opens up with an awesome downhill ace run. Plays fair with lefties and righties. Well groomed. Only two lake hazard holes, unless you over throw or shank on 1 and 2. Sand. benches on every hole, and some chill spots tucked in the woods.
Cons: Gets pretty busy. Alot of non disc golfers walkin around, not know whats really going on there. People park in places that the vehicle can get hit. some of the signs have came out the ground, and some need to be replaced
Other Thoughts: Support Tom, buy some plastic!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.