Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #3 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 64
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Lake Lewisville still fun

5+    6/15/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: Runnin-Rams
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, let me add that I have been playing Lake Lewisville for over a decade now. Have played it easily 100 times and still enjoy it every time. The trees, especially in the summer make you work the disc a lot more than most courses in DFW. As has been mentioned several times - truly the best place to play in the area after rainfall. Baskets, tees, and course is clean and well-maintained.
Cons: Minor blemishes - and maybe this is only for those that played Lewisville 6+ years ago, but the trees on 3 and 7 make those two holes much less adventuresome. #3 used to be decision-time - out over the lake or play it safe. #7 the same risk reward out over the water how much are you willing to bite off and risk a disc in the drink? Now, however, with the trees easily doubling in height over the last decade makes these holes much less enjoyable.
Other Thoughts: Crowded on the weekends. Yes, that is very true, but for those with the ability to play on weekdays - Lewisville is still a great destination. Happy to say this is my home course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: yourmomrhymes
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course, great variety, used every disc in my bag.
Tee boxes for every hole are nice and long, and signs for every hole are detailed and very helpful. Trees in this course give the holes personality and a fun challenge.
Cons: Very difficult to think of cons for this course.
There are a few holes where the pin cannot be seen and one must take an "I'll throw my disc this way and find it when I get around the brush" mentality. There may seem like a lot of thick brush but discs were surprisingly easy to find if it flies into the brush.
Other Thoughts: I walked away thinking, "what a great course, I cannot wait to come back and play it again."
This is a must play, you will not be disappointed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Course

5+    11/11/2010   6/3/2011
Review By: ezyrider
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with a couple of holes utilizing water hazard. Fun course to play with good mix of medium distance technical holes and long open drives. Great course to play year round.
Cons: None - Well designed course.
Other Thoughts: I miss this course!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better played during the week

2-4    1/22/2011   2/10/2011
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very good course and well laid out. Good elevation changes and the front 9 is very technical.
Cons: Played the second time on Sat. Too many people taking up time drinking beer and smoking marijuana in the bushes. If their etiquette was better than the round would have been much better. A lot of people were out that day and most were having a good time, but had to jump two different groups to continue playing. Went back and had to wait to play the holes we missed.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course. I went on a weekday and had a much better time. Older men out in the parking area selling disks, people having fun with their families, and great weather make this course a "Must Return". Get ride of the alcoholics and pot heads the rating will go up.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice day at the lake

5+    7/24/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 132  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
1, This course is right on the lake, could get some cooler weather (its also a con, see below).

2. Course is pretty easy to navigate and flows very quickly.

3. There are some difficult dog legs with plenty of elevational changes.

4. It does not get very muddy, should there be rain.

5. Park is nice and clean with stalls and all.
Cons:
1. As I said earlier its on the lake, so typically its quite a bit cooler, but when there is no wind at all (which was the case when I last played, it is a scorcher, first time i had to take a real break for water).

2. It can get crowded, parking becomes an issue. You will see plenty of people parking along the street (sometimes these cars become disc hazards!!).

3. Everything is a Par 3, even though I can see why it is. Some of the wholes are unrealistic if people think everyone can birdie those holes.

Other Thoughts: Since this is on the lake, its very nice. Plenty of things to do after or before the golf. You can take your family out and they will enjoy the park (while you and the guys/gals play some disc golf). I would give this a 4, but based on some of the other courses that I give 4s or higher, this one is not as good.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 OVERATED

1    8/14/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: stedily420
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The park was very well maintained. There were porta pottys by the paking area which is nice to have around just in case. Several of the first holes have a leveled putting area.
Cons: This course is way shorter than people make it seem. The layout isnt all that great either. Honestly i dont see why this course gets such good reviews. The whole course design is off in my opinion. This course had 30+ people playing on it when i was half way thru at 730 in the morning. Crazy!!
Other Thoughts: I played this course based on the reviews i read and was not impressed. This does not, i repeat, does not rank up there with other 4s and 5s of the area!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    7/30/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Spanky
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Level variations
- Wide range of shots needed
- Great location
- A few holes are great for skipping
- Nice, big tee-boxes
Cons: - People hanging out by the lake can be a distraction, I've had to ask people to get off tee-boxes before
- Vegetation during the summer. Hole 3 can become so overgrown in the summer, it's near impossible to par. Best time to play is in the Fall.
Other Thoughts: Local, been playing this course for about 8 years. Will always be my favorite.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 On lake Lewisville

2-4    7/12/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: TomSawyer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Trees
nice lake area
easy to get to
great challenge
Cons: lots of traffic at times
limited parking
some of the tee signs are missing
lots of hard dirt in areas
this is a "hang-out" for local kids
Other Thoughts: still a good course to play, nice to have in my home town

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

5+    7/9/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well designed along the lake.
-A few good elevation changes on the front nine.
-You have to use a lot of different shots to play well here.
-Cement tee boxes.
-Easy to find.
-Weekly minis
-Tons of seasoned locals to learn from.
-Awesome Layout
Cons: -Too many people on the beach along the lake.
-Some people tried to have a picnic on the number 3 tee box. Kinda funny
Other Thoughts: Challenging course. Make sure you throw something stable on #7. Try going over the trees on #5. If you throw side arm, throw high left on number 3. I play this course at least 3-4 times a week. Good mix of every type of shot. No need to go anywhere else. You will fall in love with this place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easy to play in the rain

1    7/9/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: txsarge
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: My friend found this course and played the back 9 holes / Easy to get to from the highway / holes are set up to play with a nice challenge for new and pro players / after a few days of rain it does not get muddy at all
Cons: A lot of players love this course and will be busy and some times crowded / hole 3 looks like it will be a big disc eater b.c of the lake hazard...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.