Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #6
3 / 408ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket

Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    8/14/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: stedily420
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The park was very well maintained. There were porta pottys by the paking area which is nice to have around just in case. Several of the first holes have a leveled putting area.
Cons: This course is way shorter than people make it seem. The layout isnt all that great either. Honestly i dont see why this course gets such good reviews. The whole course design is off in my opinion. This course had 30+ people playing on it when i was half way thru at 730 in the morning. Crazy!!
Other Thoughts: I played this course based on the reviews i read and was not impressed. This does not, i repeat, does not rank up there with other 4s and 5s of the area!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    7/30/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Spanky
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Level variations
- Wide range of shots needed
- Great location
- A few holes are great for skipping
- Nice, big tee-boxes
Cons: - People hanging out by the lake can be a distraction, I've had to ask people to get off tee-boxes before
- Vegetation during the summer. Hole 3 can become so overgrown in the summer, it's near impossible to par. Best time to play is in the Fall.
Other Thoughts: Local, been playing this course for about 8 years. Will always be my favorite.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 On lake Lewisville

2-4    7/12/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: TomSawyer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Trees
nice lake area
easy to get to
great challenge
Cons: lots of traffic at times
limited parking
some of the tee signs are missing
lots of hard dirt in areas
this is a "hang-out" for local kids
Other Thoughts: still a good course to play, nice to have in my home town

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/9/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well designed along the lake.
-A few good elevation changes on the front nine.
-You have to use a lot of different shots to play well here.
-Cement tee boxes.
-Easy to find.
-Weekly minis
-Tons of seasoned locals to learn from.
-Awesome Layout
Cons: -Too many people on the beach along the lake.
-Some people tried to have a picnic on the number 3 tee box. Kinda funny
Other Thoughts: Challenging course. Make sure you throw something stable on #7. Try going over the trees on #5. If you throw side arm, throw high left on number 3. I play this course at least 3-4 times a week. Good mix of every type of shot. No need to go anywhere else. You will fall in love with this place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easy to play in the rain

1    7/9/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: txsarge
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: My friend found this course and played the back 9 holes / Easy to get to from the highway / holes are set up to play with a nice challenge for new and pro players / after a few days of rain it does not get muddy at all
Cons: A lot of players love this course and will be busy and some times crowded / hole 3 looks like it will be a big disc eater b.c of the lake hazard...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The BEST so far!!!

1    6/14/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: redmanhmg
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New to the sport just a years worth of playing. I found this course to be the most beautiful course I have played yet. A great must play course. It will keep your focus and make you concentrate on the front nine. the back is pretty leisure more arm but very easy going and laid back. The park is well manicured and looks great.
Cons: A couple of holes on the water the trees could be cut back a little. Was a little questionable on hole locations for a few holes, but a great course.
Other Thoughts: It was well worth the drive from Shreveport, LA

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just a special place for DG

5+    8/10/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: StumperTX
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 8/11/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Changing up my review here to be a hole by hole walkthrough, maybe this will be more helpful?

1- not much mystery here, but I like to aim at the base of the one tree slightly left of the pin off the tee (FH).
2- look straight ahead of you, and see that tree dead in the middle of the fwy. throw to the gap on the right RHBH or left RHFH. if you miss all the trees, you'll be in good shape.
3- in the summer you need to throw with a fair amount of height bc of the vegetation. my preference is throwing an anny FH if I'm adventurous, a thumber started down that path you see if not. either way, be happy with par.
4. If you have any sort of FH, this is a good hole for it, start left of the clump of trees in front of you with an overstable disc and left it hyzer back toward the pin.
5. The only way I can play this is to throw a tommy over the tree that overhangs from the left. par is a nice score here, deceptively hard.
6. If you have to miss, miss left. this hole is reachable if you have the arm, but again, don't miss right.
7. a big backhand would be nice to have here. since I don't, I put a med-low height thumber down the middle, put my upshot close, and walk away with a par happy I didn't lose a disc in the lake
8. the only danger here is being long and left. right up against the front retaining wall is a nice place to be off the tee.
9. this hole is HARD if played as a par 3. I've only 3'd this a few times in ~8 tries, but if you can throw a RHBH 400ft accurately, you'll have an easier time than me, if you can snake it through the trees. there's no trouble left, so don't be afraid to miss there off the tee.
10. sets up very nicely for a RHBH, I haven't been overly successful trying to force a FH.
11. another nice hole for BHers, start it at the basket on the right (which is 12's), and let the natural fade bring it back, you'll have a pretty open path on that line, provided you at least reach the tree line.
12. nothing fancy here, but I think you're normally throwing into the wind
13. another great hole for a BH hyzer. VERY difficult to get near it with a FH.
14. if you have the tommy, throw it over the tallest trees dead ahead, and you should be in great shape, if not, big hyzer BH started out over the road
15. keep it low and relatively straight (something like a TB maybe?). pick one side of the line of trees or the other based on your BH/FH choice, and keep it low.
16. you'll see two mature trees down the path that form kind of a 'V' aim RHBH at those and let the disc fade in towards the pin
17. GREAT hole for a bombed FH drive, and I think the big tree on the right makes it easier to throw FH than BH. Careful of the OB left, start a FH drive towards the OB line and you're in great shape.
18. tough to see the pin from the tee, but if you stand next to the tree on the left hand side of the tee box, you'll see it straight ahead, left of the tree right in front of you. the easier basket to see is 15
Cons: oh man 3 and 7 could use some trees trimmed back. they're hard enough throws along the water without requiring height as well
Other Thoughts: quick DG bio for you to add detail -- I throw almost all RHFH off the tee, max D on the course is 425-430. I throw a very good thumber in terms of placement and approach shots, but don't throw it for great D (3-315). My backhand is not very accurate or long, so there are several holes that are exceptionally hard for me to shape on this course. I still love it though.

I've you've ever scored a 2 on the 9th, you're better than me and I want to play with you.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Park

5+    3/26/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Lewisville Park is one of the best courses in the DFW. It is a large championship quality park right on Lake Lewisville. It is a beautiful park, and very well taken care of. There is a good mixture of long and short holes, and a great variety of shots. The difficulty level is perfect. It is a challenging course, but not to the point of losing it's fun factor. There are a few longer holes that will test your arm, but there are also a couple of ace worthy holes that reqire more finesse. This is my favorite course to go to on a nice day. The breathtaking views combined with the cool breeze off the lake makes for a one of a kind experience.
Cons: It is very hard to come up with cons about this course, but there are a few. First of all, it is not the most begginer friendly course. If you are having an off day, it will make you pay. Also, with the growing popularity of the sport, this course can get very crowded. If you go on a weekend, make sure you are not in a hurry. There are also two days a week that there are tournaments, and more and more people seem to be showing up. The wind can also play a big factor at this course. The same refreshing cool breeze coming off the lake could make for a tough round on a windy day. There are a few holes that the lake comes into play that you must be careful on if you're planning on keeping your plastic. None of the cons of this course are enough of a reason not to play this course, they could just take away from the experience a little.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the DFW, Lake Lewisville park is a must play. There are so many great courses in the Metroplex, but Lake Lewisville Park is one of the best. Bring a full bag, you're going to need all your shots.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 lake Monster!?!

5+    3/4/2010   3/5/2010
Review By: kreinartz83
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: No mud even after heavy rain. a lot of the other courses around have so much mud to work around. challenging layout with a great mix of shot types
Cons: lake monster will eat your disc on hole 3 and 7. be careful where you park as cars can get hit by off target discs can be crowded.
Other Thoughts: great course worth the 15 min drive for me to get out of the mud and to play a much more challenging course that can really test my skills, also there is usually Discs for sale out of the back of a pickup there in case the aforementioned lake monster eats your favorite disc

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Lewisville Rundown!!!

1    1/5/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2011
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads. Great pads!!! Very long with lots of room for whatever your "approach" to a drive my be.
-Great pin positions
-Shot variety is great... every shot in disc golf (hyzers, anis, treed, open, water, doglegs left/right, mid / long drives. need I say more)
-Terrain variety...everything. Being that some holes are on the lake, it makes for some awsome pin postions sitting on shelved shoreline.
-Scenery is outstanding on wholes near the lake. If you traveled far to get here, it might be worth your while to bring a camera.
-VERY clean course
-Campsites near by!!! Make a trip out of it.
Cons: -If it's windy...you'll know it for sure, especially on the front nine which plays closer to the lake (super cold on the lake in the winter).
-Might possibly bump in to other park goers.
-Lake presents "lost disc" water hazards.
-Course navigation could be a tad diff. for 1st timers
Other Thoughts: All-in-all ...there is really nothing bad to say about this course.
As far as scenery, shot variety, terrain variety, boxes, pins, signage, cleanliness...this course is one of the best in the area.

If you haven't yet played it, it'd be worth your while to travel there. There's 3-4 other great courses in the area within about a 20 min. drive.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.