Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #3 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Just a special place for DG

5+    8/10/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: StumperTX
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 8/11/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Changing up my review here to be a hole by hole walkthrough, maybe this will be more helpful?

1- not much mystery here, but I like to aim at the base of the one tree slightly left of the pin off the tee (FH).
2- look straight ahead of you, and see that tree dead in the middle of the fwy. throw to the gap on the right RHBH or left RHFH. if you miss all the trees, you'll be in good shape.
3- in the summer you need to throw with a fair amount of height bc of the vegetation. my preference is throwing an anny FH if I'm adventurous, a thumber started down that path you see if not. either way, be happy with par.
4. If you have any sort of FH, this is a good hole for it, start left of the clump of trees in front of you with an overstable disc and left it hyzer back toward the pin.
5. The only way I can play this is to throw a tommy over the tree that overhangs from the left. par is a nice score here, deceptively hard.
6. If you have to miss, miss left. this hole is reachable if you have the arm, but again, don't miss right.
7. a big backhand would be nice to have here. since I don't, I put a med-low height thumber down the middle, put my upshot close, and walk away with a par happy I didn't lose a disc in the lake
8. the only danger here is being long and left. right up against the front retaining wall is a nice place to be off the tee.
9. this hole is HARD if played as a par 3. I've only 3'd this a few times in ~8 tries, but if you can throw a RHBH 400ft accurately, you'll have an easier time than me, if you can snake it through the trees. there's no trouble left, so don't be afraid to miss there off the tee.
10. sets up very nicely for a RHBH, I haven't been overly successful trying to force a FH.
11. another nice hole for BHers, start it at the basket on the right (which is 12's), and let the natural fade bring it back, you'll have a pretty open path on that line, provided you at least reach the tree line.
12. nothing fancy here, but I think you're normally throwing into the wind
13. another great hole for a BH hyzer. VERY difficult to get near it with a FH.
14. if you have the tommy, throw it over the tallest trees dead ahead, and you should be in great shape, if not, big hyzer BH started out over the road
15. keep it low and relatively straight (something like a TB maybe?). pick one side of the line of trees or the other based on your BH/FH choice, and keep it low.
16. you'll see two mature trees down the path that form kind of a 'V' aim RHBH at those and let the disc fade in towards the pin
17. GREAT hole for a bombed FH drive, and I think the big tree on the right makes it easier to throw FH than BH. Careful of the OB left, start a FH drive towards the OB line and you're in great shape.
18. tough to see the pin from the tee, but if you stand next to the tree on the left hand side of the tee box, you'll see it straight ahead, left of the tree right in front of you. the easier basket to see is 15
Cons: oh man 3 and 7 could use some trees trimmed back. they're hard enough throws along the water without requiring height as well
Other Thoughts: quick DG bio for you to add detail -- I throw almost all RHFH off the tee, max D on the course is 425-430. I throw a very good thumber in terms of placement and approach shots, but don't throw it for great D (3-315). My backhand is not very accurate or long, so there are several holes that are exceptionally hard for me to shape on this course. I still love it though.

I've you've ever scored a 2 on the 9th, you're better than me and I want to play with you.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Park

5+    3/26/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Lewisville Park is one of the best courses in the DFW. It is a large championship quality park right on Lake Lewisville. It is a beautiful park, and very well taken care of. There is a good mixture of long and short holes, and a great variety of shots. The difficulty level is perfect. It is a challenging course, but not to the point of losing it's fun factor. There are a few longer holes that will test your arm, but there are also a couple of ace worthy holes that reqire more finesse. This is my favorite course to go to on a nice day. The breathtaking views combined with the cool breeze off the lake makes for a one of a kind experience.
Cons: It is very hard to come up with cons about this course, but there are a few. First of all, it is not the most begginer friendly course. If you are having an off day, it will make you pay. Also, with the growing popularity of the sport, this course can get very crowded. If you go on a weekend, make sure you are not in a hurry. There are also two days a week that there are tournaments, and more and more people seem to be showing up. The wind can also play a big factor at this course. The same refreshing cool breeze coming off the lake could make for a tough round on a windy day. There are a few holes that the lake comes into play that you must be careful on if you're planning on keeping your plastic. None of the cons of this course are enough of a reason not to play this course, they could just take away from the experience a little.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the DFW, Lake Lewisville park is a must play. There are so many great courses in the Metroplex, but Lake Lewisville Park is one of the best. Bring a full bag, you're going to need all your shots.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 lake Monster!?!

5+    3/4/2010   3/5/2010
Review By: kreinartz83
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: No mud even after heavy rain. a lot of the other courses around have so much mud to work around. challenging layout with a great mix of shot types
Cons: lake monster will eat your disc on hole 3 and 7. be careful where you park as cars can get hit by off target discs can be crowded.
Other Thoughts: great course worth the 15 min drive for me to get out of the mud and to play a much more challenging course that can really test my skills, also there is usually Discs for sale out of the back of a pickup there in case the aforementioned lake monster eats your favorite disc

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Lewisville Rundown!!!

1    1/5/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2011
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads. Great pads!!! Very long with lots of room for whatever your "approach" to a drive my be.
-Great pin positions
-Shot variety is great... every shot in disc golf (hyzers, anis, treed, open, water, doglegs left/right, mid / long drives. need I say more)
-Terrain variety...everything. Being that some holes are on the lake, it makes for some awsome pin postions sitting on shelved shoreline.
-Scenery is outstanding on wholes near the lake. If you traveled far to get here, it might be worth your while to bring a camera.
-VERY clean course
-Campsites near by!!! Make a trip out of it.
Cons: -If it's windy...you'll know it for sure, especially on the front nine which plays closer to the lake (super cold on the lake in the winter).
-Might possibly bump in to other park goers.
-Lake presents "lost disc" water hazards.
-Course navigation could be a tad diff. for 1st timers
Other Thoughts: All-in-all ...there is really nothing bad to say about this course.
As far as scenery, shot variety, terrain variety, boxes, pins, signage, cleanliness...this course is one of the best in the area.

If you haven't yet played it, it'd be worth your while to travel there. There's 3-4 other great courses in the area within about a 20 min. drive.




6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Another Great Course in the DFW!

1    12/26/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice concrete tee pads
-Decent signs with hole info
-Easy to navigate without a map
-Baskets are in good shape
-Nice mixture of short and long shots
-Porta pottys
-Fun and Challenging
-Good hole layout
-Front nine plays by the lake and has some nice scenic views.
-Back nine is mostly open shots
-Signs directing you to the next tee, which was real helpful
-Good parking
-Cleaned and maintained
Cons: -Baskets and signs are worn but still does the job
Other Thoughts: This park has a real nice disc golf atmosphere. I had a great time playing this course and will come back again.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best of

1    11/18/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Amazing course design, Played this on a road trip, I played 81 holes in 2 days, and this was the best. Lots of long holes, very challenging layout. The lake tried to steal a disc but I got it back. The challenge level here is really high, hole number 3 is absolutely awesome, but frustrating. The back half is all the open shots here, front half is mostly wooded. Good chances for anny shots and tomahawks. Not a lot of trash on the course. The lake is a beautiful backdrop for the first nine.
Cons: Really I didn't see many. The course was tough, but I never felt like someone had made an impossible hole. I was there Tuesday at about 2pm, and it was very crowded, apparently everyone knows how good this course is. A couple of the signs led us astray, but its forgivable
Other Thoughts: I like the mixture here. Wooded and water holes on the front, open holes on the back. Beautiful lake as a backdrop. I'll play this one when I'm in town for sure.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

fantastic course

5+    11/2/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 220  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -fun layout, nice variety of shots
-uses the limited elevation well and two great water shots also
-mostly shorter holes but many technical shots
-lots of blind baskets and challenging pin positions
-GREAT concrete tee pads, longer than you will need
-baskets are in good condition
-signs are mostly vandalized or missing but navigation is pretty straight-forward, with the exception of 5-7
-sandy soil drains quickly after a rain, doesn't get real muddy
-trash cans, porta-johns, and benches
-friendly locals, 2 weekly minis, great tournament events
Cons: -no alternate pins or tees
-signs mostly missing or vandalized, not good for visitors on blind holes
-navigation is a little tricky from 5-7, best to take a look at the map (lots of locals to help though)

Beware where you park your car on the street. Several holes have fairways next to the street and cars are likely to get hit.

Also, many people use the basket for 8 as a practice basket (it's right next to the tee for 1). Careful though because the basket is blind from the tee and you may hit someone putting or get hit yourself.
Other Thoughts:
**Updates**
The first two trees have been cut down on hole 14.
Hole 16 has a new pin position, deeper in the woods.
Some trees have recently been cut down that really altered holes 5 and 16. Much wider lines now.
RIP Old Man Tom; you will be missed.
*****

This is a really fun technical course that opens up a bit on the back 9. The front 9 is has mostly shorter shorts, lots of trees, a bit of elevation, and 2 holes next to the lake. The back has a bit more distance and fewer trees. A good shot will have you parked on half the holes, a great shot can get you parked on all 18. Hole 1 is a great ace run and 16 used to be until they moved the pin in early 2013. Course is split with the front and back on opposite sides of the road. Almost a double loop; makes it easy to play 9 holes.

A fun option on the north side of the metroplex. Great course and great scenery. Fun factor is high and risk/reward opportunities are present, especially around the water.

The minis are usually well-attended with a good group of locals but bring lights for your discs. Tuesday minis are at 6:30 even during the winter so the sun will be down.

Look for Old Man Tom hanging out at his truck right by baskets 15 and 18. He runs the minis and sells discs out of his truck. Sometimes people return found plastic to him too.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lewisville Lake

2-4    10/21/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course gives you everything you need with maybe the exception of rollers. Tomahawks or thumbers may be needed in your arsenal. Challenging.
Cons: Lake to your left on 2 holes and then back on your right for 1 hole that will eat your discs if you're not very careful. Parking seems to always be a problem in the sense of avoiding dings in your car because the lot lines up right next to the course on several holes.
Other Thoughts: New discs are usually sold by a guy, so don't worry about having to hit up a store before going if you're wanting a few new discs.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your 'A' Game

5+    5/31/2010   10/19/2009
Review By: allenbosox
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good layout
Most holes require accuracy off the tee, which is a plus for me because I think this improves your game.
If you are new to the game this course will be quite challenging.
I was glad to see that the two water holes (3&7) had routes you could take with very little risk of getting wet. The back 9 are a little more open than the front, and make for a good chance to work on distance, especially 10-13 and 17. 16 is probably the easiest hole - go through the 'tunnel' rather than around to the right as the sign suggests.
Cons: Heavy play during nice weather. Summer foilage makes some holes harder, esp. 3, 5, 7. On a windy day, the wind is especially tough on the lake holes - 2, 3 and 7.
Other Thoughts: Please, here and at all dg courses, dispose of your litter in provided containers or take it with you!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Title of review

1    7/11/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: ftwxj
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Overall very nice course. The breeze off the lake is nice on a hot summer day. The elevation, trees, and lake make great natural obstacles.
Cons: Like most courses this one is difficult to navigate your first time out, but the friendly locals can help with that. It seemed a little crowded but we did go on a Saturday. My biggest complaint would have to be the park roads that the course crosses. On the weekends these can be filled with traffic. So be sure and look both ways before crossing roads. Safety first!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.