Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #10
3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Pleasant to play when it isn't crowded; great lake views

5+    4/5/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 225  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 18.3 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Let me preface by defending myself -- I know my rating is lower than average for this course, but a 3.0 is still "Good" and is above average; this is definitely an above average course, but despite playing this course dozens of times, it doesn't capture my imagination the way many other courses do.

The pros have been covered in detail by many other folks, so I'll try to be brief:

* Great views out over the lake
* Sandy soil drains quickly, so this is a good place to play during/after a rain (many other D/FW-area courses get really messy after rain)
* Decent mix of throws required to score well
* Minimal extraneous walking between holes
* Car is always convenient if you need to grab something (you pass your car ~4 times per round)
* Two shots over the lake are among the best holes in the region (except when the lake is high)
* Longest concrete teeboxes I've ever played on -- plenty of room for ever the longest run-ups.
* Minimal trash on the course
* Friendly locals and lots of weekly events
* In a Metroplex with a lot of courses, this is the most convenient decent course for folks who are on the North side anywhere along the I-35 corridor. In traffic it would take an hour+ to get to any other course equally good.
Cons: This is where I am surprised that other viewers don't have more comments. Some of my observations are not huge drawbacks -- the course works well for the land it has available to it -- but there are many elements that give a course higher ratings in my book that this course is missing.

* Yes, this course has long teepads, but they are wasted here. There are no par fours where you really need the room for a big drive.
* Parking is pretty bad -- parking along road is always exposed to golfers and there is very little parking where your car isn't in danger of getting cranked by a disc
* When the water is high, it can be within a few feet of the basket on #3 (and close to #7), rendering those holes a silly challenge for most players -- no good options when the lake is high
* The shot variety isn't that great here. Yes, there are a couple of water shots and some minor elevation, but it's mostly flat, light tree and dusty/sandy ground. A mix of left and right shots, but few shots that make you plan your placement.
* Only one teebox and one pin placement for most holes, the few holes with alternative pin placements don't change much -- this lowers replay value (for me at least).
* Several of the fairways are right next to other fairways with almost no trees defining the routes, so the overlap keeps you on your toes to keep from getting winged with an errant disc.
* Course is often very crowded -- and with tight fairways and large groups of players, rounds often move much slower than they should.
* Many days, people fishing are on the rocks near baskets #3 and #7; sometimes you have to throw conservative shots to avoid hitting fishermen instead of being able to go for it.
* Some days, the wind off the lake is awful and causes a lot of lost (virtually irretrievable) discs on holes #3 and #7, which can be frustrating.
* Teesigns are out of date.
Other Thoughts: When I first started playing disc golf (1997), I was in the Dallas area. At the time, Lake Lewisville was second only to Veteran's Park in Arlington as the best course around. And while Veteran's has aged gracefully, I find that Lake Lewisville hasn't maintained the same degree of challenge and variety that Veteran's has. Lake Lewisville has since been supplanted by several other courses as the top places to play in D/FW (The two courses at Lester Lorch in Cedar Hill, Z-Boaz in Fort Worth, Harry Myers in Rockwall, others...)

Don't get me wrong -- I've got great memories of rounds played at Lake Lewisville -- but just as a personal preference, I will never miss this course like I do some of the other courses mentioned. I dream about shots at Veterans and Z-Boaz and Cedar Hill; Lake Lewisville will never keep me up at night.

Lake Lewisville is a very enjoyable place to play; definitely above average. But it's always felt crowded to me -- not only because of the number of people, but because the fairways run against one another and the fact that parked cars are always at risk of flying discs. The crowdedness of the place always grates on me just a little -- it is far harder to enjoy a relaxing day of disc golf as it is at many other places. I play disc golf to escape, and it's hard to escape here -- I still feel like I always have to be hyper aware of everything going on around me. At many other Dallas courses, there is a much greater sense of rest.

I am probably also overly sensitized to the crowdedness because this is the only course in 11+ years of play where I have hit another person on the course. Blind shot on #2 and their was a dad and his son loitering by the basket. Lots of folks fishing or sunning themselves in this area (it is a lake), and not all of them aware about disc golf. When you combine non-disc-golfers with just enough elevation to have several blind shots on the hole, you have a formula for trouble. Fortunately the child I hit was okay (gentle throw with a Roc), but it shook me up a little bit. I know it's inevitable to hit someone (I've been hit 4-5 times), but I'm usually hyper careful and I suspected that if I ever hit anyone, it would be a fellow disc golfer who would be understanding -- not a kid who wasn't even playing.

For the record: Lake Lewisville is certainly worth the time to play -- especially if you are there when the lake is low and the course isn't crowded -- but so many courses have so much more to offer that I hesitate to recommend that people go out of their way to play Lake Lewisville.

If you haven't played along a lake before, it might be worth it for the two lake holes -- those holes are great -- but if you've played lake holes other places, these aren't anything radically different.

If you live in D/FW, go out here early some weekend to see for yourself. If you are visiting the area and only have a couple of days, there are better places to spend your time.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 18 on the Lake

1    1/12/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: chopz33
Played: 75  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've only only been playing about a month and have only played on 3 different courses. This one by far has been the best so far. Holes 3 and 7 are right on the water and have some great views. The front 9 is one the lake side and the back 9 is across the road. I had a great time playing this course.
Cons: I heards lots of cursing from players playing. I went on a monday during the afternoon and they looked to be college kids maybe. Not good if you are taking kids. Other than that i have no complaints with this course.
Other Thoughts: Kind of tricky to find, but not all that hard. Directions i had said turn on Sandy Beach Rd. Well there was no sign. Just turn into the main park from Mill Rd.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun round

2-4    1/4/2009   1/11/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 10.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signiture holes, and fun through the entire course. Nice mix of shots, and good practice for learning and improving new shot types. Gorgeous course on the lake.
Cons: Holes on the front nine are bunched, and some play side by side, which slows play. They are also near the parked cars...I heard a car get hit while playing the 16th hole. It seems like there is always wind, so play smart. Signs missing or beat up.
Other Thoughts: The trees are what make things tricky. This one is well wooded, but fun none the less. There aren't enough trees to discourage a visit from casual players, you just have to keep them in mind. The water was never an issue, and the holes just off the shore are great fun.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/17/2007   11/17/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well-balanced and well-maintained...long concrete tees, signs at every hole, trash cans at most holes, plenty of benches near the tee areas, 2 port-o-johns near the course.

Very family-friendly park...police patrolling the area regularly, no places where you might accidentally happen upon a group partaking in "illegal activities". Generally just a nice place to be!

You'll find a lot of locals playing here after a good rain, as the sandy soil on almost every hole drains faster than any other course in the Metroplex.

Throughout the 18 holes, you'll find almost every type of shot represented in some form....hyzer, anhyzer, short technical shots, long technical shots, over the water, flat, elevation...you name it.

The "signature" holes are all really fun and memorable: Hole 1 plays downhill, maybe 250', toward the lake...great ace run! Hole 3 offers a very tight hyzer route (which is rarely taken) or a giant anhyzer out over the water to an elevated pin on a small rock outcropping...great combo of beauty and challenge! Hole 7 plays along the beach and offers a giant RHBH hyzer out over the water to another elevated/terraced green.

The locals are great...never met one that wasn't friendly and willing to stop and talk to total stranger.
Cons: Some of the back 9 holes seem a little boring compared to the lake-side holes, but are all solid when viewed individually.

There are a few spots where first timers might get confused as to where to go next. After Hole 6 you have to walk back toward the lake for Hole 7, and Hole 10 is across the street from the frong 9.

Signs need to be updated...some are getting pretty ragged, and the distances on some seems wrong.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great course! When I think about the best courses inthe DFW, this one typically doesn't come to mind right away...but anytime someone brings it up, I remember just how much fun it is to play!

I don't know if it's still there, but there used to be a 3-4 hole "putter course" in the woods after Hole 16. I played through with a local about 2yrs ago, and he showed me the holes...all were <150' with trees as the targets (orange markers on the trees).

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mix on the Lake

5+    11/7/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: onjejank
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well manicured, challenging, diverse course. You get to use all of your shots here, long, short, tight, open, hyzer, anhyzer. The view of the lake is beautiful from most of the front 9 holes and this sandy course dries out quickly after a rain. The teepads and greens/retaining walls are in great shape and add to the experience of playing this course.
Cons: Not a lot of parking on a very busy day. This course can get moderately busy at times. Not much elevation change.
Other Thoughts: The course has lost some strategic trees over the years, but baskets have been moved in response which shows that the keepers of Lake Park want to create a challenging experience for golfers.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course on the lake

5+    10/19/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: fly_hyzer
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very attractive course, highly patrolled by lewisville police and park police so it's very safe. The course is a beast 2/3 of the year when the trees are grown in and this is a great challenge. There are very tight holes, a great RHBH anhyzer shot that runs along the banks of the lake, and 7 where you can boom it out over the water and bring it back to the pin on a natural hyzer. This a great course, and is definitely the best in it's local area, best in Denton county for sure.
Cons: Alot of people hang out on the shore along hole 7 and 3 so be careful before you throw. Trash cans could be emptied much more frequently considering how many cops pass through there, surely they could get a parks crew through there too.
Other Thoughts: If you live in Denton county this should be your #1 course...if you live in Denton, stop going to North Lakes and check Lake Lewisville out.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great all around course

2-4    8/9/2008   9/27/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best in the Metro Plex. On the first 9 holes you play close to the lake which makes for a nice view. All of the signs are there and accurate. There are always friendly locals around if it is your first time and need to ask some directions to the next hole. There are some short more technical holes and some where you can really let loose for a long drive. The first nine holes use the elevation changes to add some diffcultly to the course. Two of the holes, I think 3 and 7 run right along the lake side. On 7 you can throw a hyzer watch your disc go out over the lake and make it way back towards the basket. In a perfect world that is. The last time I went the wind was coming in from a different direction than normal and instead of the disc coming back in toward the basket it was carried out into the lake never to be scene again. Someone put a lot of though into this course and did a very good job.
Cons: Some of the brush could be cut back a little more. The Locals are great but there are always a bunch of them. The course can get a little over crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the area or ever are visiting this is definitely a course to put on your list to play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great course

1    9/14/2008   9/16/2008
Review By: myoung
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought this was a great course. The long tee pads were really nice. The course didn't seem long, but had so many different challenes and obstacles, it made it seem long. I loved how hole 3 playedblind, and by the water. This course has to be one of my favorites that i've played here in the metroplex. I used alot of different discs. There wasn't alot of elevation changes either, so it will not beat you down. I can't wait to play in the tournament in two weeks at this course.
Cons: There were alot of people who were just strolling along the course. People who camp, and fish here, probably don't understand disc golf etiquite. I had an incident where a kid about 3yrs old, picked my disc up and threw it back towards me. His mother chuckled and thought it was cute. IT WAS NOT CUTE!
Other Thoughts: Besides the traffic, this was a great course. I wouldn't hesitate one bit to go back. I might even camp there the next time I go.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lakeside Beauty...

1    8/21/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great LOOOOONG Teepads. This course is definately the most sceneic course I have played in my short time in the sport. Love the challenge of the few blind teeshots. Really enjoyed the way the lake came into play on a couple holes. The parking area being nearby could be handy, should a fresh cold one be needed from the cooler.
Cons: The only real con that I could find was on one hole we come to find a group of campers using the level area in front of the tee pad as a tentsite... Not a big deal as we were able to throw by them without much difficulty.
Other Thoughts: I definately want to play this course again, and as often as possible.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lakeside Love at First Site

5+    9/1/2009   8/18/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 219  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Starting this course off with a downhill shot toward the lake allows you to get in the mood right off. One of the baskets sits up on what from some angles looks like a small rock peninsula (but is does have some beach behind it.) It is absolutely beautiful. You may find yourself just stopping to enjoy the surroundings on more than one occasion.

The tees are cement and some of the longest I have ever seen. There are signs pointing to the next tee on a few of the holes. There are many sitting benches and trashcans. There are portable bathrooms near the center of the courrse. Some of the baskets are so well landscaped; it makes you wonder why more courses don't do this. The wildlife is amazing. The difficulty of the holes are well mixed. I love throwing out over the lake on hole #7 and watching your heyzer and the breeze off the lake work your throw back toward land. The waves seem to bring the wet floaters back to shore...if you can wait for it.

The front 9 plays along the lakeside of the road and the back 9 is on the other side. The back nine is not as picturesque so it tends to seem like a let down, but it really isn't. Some of the holes on the back 9 will make you want to throw more than one tee shot. There is one ace run hole that a skip-in is just too tempting to pass up. That is a fun hole.
Cons: To find some cons was a bit tough. The tee signs need updated to the distances that the course now runs. I would not trust the footage on the signs...use this site's distances instead. There is probably only one true left handed hole on the entire course.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is excellant! Many of these holes are just so much fun to play. It was nice to be within a short walk back to the car numerous times during the round. You can carry less this way. I will be playing this course more and more in the future. It is just too beautiful not to. I had not played a lakeside course before this one and have been on the lookout for more of these ever since. One fun suggestion for playing here in the sumer months, try wearing your swim suit so you can cool off in the lake in the middle of your round.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center