Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: YoDesigner Hole #7 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Lake view in winter time walking from #6 basket to #7 tee

Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 One of a kind!

1    0/0/0000   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a beautiful disc golf course! The scenery is great right next to the lake with a few holes right next to the beach. The rest of the course plays back into the park with lots of large trees makes it nice to look at. The teepads are giant cement, if you need a larger teepad, then you need to learn how to throw again. The park was nice and clean.
Cons: The signs were old and baskets were older. Some navigation issues on the front nine. A few of the fairways were rather close together, so keep an eye open for other player's discs. Easy pars on most of the holes, longer holes would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Great park with awesome views of the lake! If you are looking for a very difficult course, go elsewhere. However if you are looking for a nice enjoyable, relaxing round of disc golf, this place can't be beat!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lewisville Lake

5+    5/2/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Gigantic teepads, could possibly land a small plane on one. gorgeous park, that is well maintained. two shots over the lake(3 & 7) which is always a treat. great course design, good flow from hole to hole.

The locals here are great, i lived in lewisville for 1.5 years and you can go up to any of these guys and ask them any question about golf or the course and theyll tell you, or just play a round with them, you might learn or see a couple holes that you wouldnt have even thought about.

Weekly minis on tuesday night and saturday. plenty of competition lots of people show up.

plenty of technical holes, with a lot of shot variety.
Cons: there would probably be a little confusion between hole 5 and 6 as you have to backtrack a little.

lots of walkers, and fisherman especially on hole 7, just be patient and they will move, most of the time...

45 min away from my hotel, so i have to settle for bear creek, which isnt bad but its not lewisville lake
Other Thoughts: dont forget to stop by the old man with the white ford selling discs out the back of the truck. that ole man tom, the course designer, and several time grand master world champion. be sure and tell him how much you loved the course(because you will) and dont be too shy to ask him any question about discs or shots, this man knows it all, and he's one of the nicest guys you will ever meet. AND HE SELLS HIS DISCS CHEAP TOO!!

this is my favorite course of all time, i havnt played too many yet but this one will always stick out in my mind. whenever i think best courses ive played, this is definitely one of them.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Sweetness

5+    4/1/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with lots of fun holes. There are long teepads on every hole but you dont need them except for maybe one hole(17). Good view of the lake and two shots that play over the lake(3/7). Great to play after a rain because of the sandy soil. Pretty when green like it was today. Mostly a RHBH course but the are a couple of annys. It uses the little terrain very well and makes this a fun course.
Cons: Some signs are missing. Gets very crowded on the weekends. Can be confusing first time out due to the cris crossing on a couple of holes. Parking can be dangerous.
Other Thoughts: I think they have a mini on Saturday afternoon. If you get out early you can gets the parking spots that lower your chances of getting your car hit.....just take a second and look when you pull in.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant to play when it isn't crowded; great lake views

5+    4/5/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 226  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 18.4 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Let me preface by defending myself -- I know my rating is lower than average for this course, but a 3.0 is still "Good" and is above average; this is definitely an above average course, but despite playing this course dozens of times, it doesn't capture my imagination the way many other courses do.

The pros have been covered in detail by many other folks, so I'll try to be brief:

* Great views out over the lake
* Sandy soil drains quickly, so this is a good place to play during/after a rain (many other D/FW-area courses get really messy after rain)
* Decent mix of throws required to score well
* Minimal extraneous walking between holes
* Car is always convenient if you need to grab something (you pass your car ~4 times per round)
* Two shots over the lake are among the best holes in the region (except when the lake is high)
* Longest concrete teeboxes I've ever played on -- plenty of room for ever the longest run-ups.
* Minimal trash on the course
* Friendly locals and lots of weekly events
* In a Metroplex with a lot of courses, this is the most convenient decent course for folks who are on the North side anywhere along the I-35 corridor. In traffic it would take an hour+ to get to any other course equally good.
Cons: This is where I am surprised that other viewers don't have more comments. Some of my observations are not huge drawbacks -- the course works well for the land it has available to it -- but there are many elements that give a course higher ratings in my book that this course is missing.

* Yes, this course has long teepads, but they are wasted here. There are no par fours where you really need the room for a big drive.
* Parking is pretty bad -- parking along road is always exposed to golfers and there is very little parking where your car isn't in danger of getting cranked by a disc
* When the water is high, it can be within a few feet of the basket on #3 (and close to #7), rendering those holes a silly challenge for most players -- no good options when the lake is high
* The shot variety isn't that great here. Yes, there are a couple of water shots and some minor elevation, but it's mostly flat, light tree and dusty/sandy ground. A mix of left and right shots, but few shots that make you plan your placement.
* Only one teebox and one pin placement for most holes, the few holes with alternative pin placements don't change much -- this lowers replay value (for me at least).
* Several of the fairways are right next to other fairways with almost no trees defining the routes, so the overlap keeps you on your toes to keep from getting winged with an errant disc.
* Course is often very crowded -- and with tight fairways and large groups of players, rounds often move much slower than they should.
* Many days, people fishing are on the rocks near baskets #3 and #7; sometimes you have to throw conservative shots to avoid hitting fishermen instead of being able to go for it.
* Some days, the wind off the lake is awful and causes a lot of lost (virtually irretrievable) discs on holes #3 and #7, which can be frustrating.
* Teesigns are out of date.
Other Thoughts: When I first started playing disc golf (1997), I was in the Dallas area. At the time, Lake Lewisville was second only to Veteran's Park in Arlington as the best course around. And while Veteran's has aged gracefully, I find that Lake Lewisville hasn't maintained the same degree of challenge and variety that Veteran's has. Lake Lewisville has since been supplanted by several other courses as the top places to play in D/FW (The two courses at Lester Lorch in Cedar Hill, Z-Boaz in Fort Worth, Harry Myers in Rockwall, others...)

Don't get me wrong -- I've got great memories of rounds played at Lake Lewisville -- but just as a personal preference, I will never miss this course like I do some of the other courses mentioned. I dream about shots at Veterans and Z-Boaz and Cedar Hill; Lake Lewisville will never keep me up at night.

Lake Lewisville is a very enjoyable place to play; definitely above average. But it's always felt crowded to me -- not only because of the number of people, but because the fairways run against one another and the fact that parked cars are always at risk of flying discs. The crowdedness of the place always grates on me just a little -- it is far harder to enjoy a relaxing day of disc golf as it is at many other places. I play disc golf to escape, and it's hard to escape here -- I still feel like I always have to be hyper aware of everything going on around me. At many other Dallas courses, there is a much greater sense of rest.

I am probably also overly sensitized to the crowdedness because this is the only course in 11+ years of play where I have hit another person on the course. Blind shot on #2 and their was a dad and his son loitering by the basket. Lots of folks fishing or sunning themselves in this area (it is a lake), and not all of them aware about disc golf. When you combine non-disc-golfers with just enough elevation to have several blind shots on the hole, you have a formula for trouble. Fortunately the child I hit was okay (gentle throw with a Roc), but it shook me up a little bit. I know it's inevitable to hit someone (I've been hit 4-5 times), but I'm usually hyper careful and I suspected that if I ever hit anyone, it would be a fellow disc golfer who would be understanding -- not a kid who wasn't even playing.

For the record: Lake Lewisville is certainly worth the time to play -- especially if you are there when the lake is low and the course isn't crowded -- but so many courses have so much more to offer that I hesitate to recommend that people go out of their way to play Lake Lewisville.

If you haven't played along a lake before, it might be worth it for the two lake holes -- those holes are great -- but if you've played lake holes other places, these aren't anything radically different.

If you live in D/FW, go out here early some weekend to see for yourself. If you are visiting the area and only have a couple of days, there are better places to spend your time.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 18 on the Lake

1    1/12/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: chopz33
Played: 75  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've only only been playing about a month and have only played on 3 different courses. This one by far has been the best so far. Holes 3 and 7 are right on the water and have some great views. The front 9 is one the lake side and the back 9 is across the road. I had a great time playing this course.
Cons: I heards lots of cursing from players playing. I went on a monday during the afternoon and they looked to be college kids maybe. Not good if you are taking kids. Other than that i have no complaints with this course.
Other Thoughts: Kind of tricky to find, but not all that hard. Directions i had said turn on Sandy Beach Rd. Well there was no sign. Just turn into the main park from Mill Rd.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun round

2-4    1/4/2009   1/11/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 10.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signiture holes, and fun through the entire course. Nice mix of shots, and good practice for learning and improving new shot types. Gorgeous course on the lake.
Cons: Holes on the front nine are bunched, and some play side by side, which slows play. They are also near the parked cars...I heard a car get hit while playing the 16th hole. It seems like there is always wind, so play smart. Signs missing or beat up.
Other Thoughts: The trees are what make things tricky. This one is well wooded, but fun none the less. There aren't enough trees to discourage a visit from casual players, you just have to keep them in mind. The water was never an issue, and the holes just off the shore are great fun.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/17/2007   11/17/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well-balanced and well-maintained...long concrete tees, signs at every hole, trash cans at most holes, plenty of benches near the tee areas, 2 port-o-johns near the course.

Very family-friendly park...police patrolling the area regularly, no places where you might accidentally happen upon a group partaking in "illegal activities". Generally just a nice place to be!

You'll find a lot of locals playing here after a good rain, as the sandy soil on almost every hole drains faster than any other course in the Metroplex.

Throughout the 18 holes, you'll find almost every type of shot represented in some form....hyzer, anhyzer, short technical shots, long technical shots, over the water, flat, elevation...you name it.

The "signature" holes are all really fun and memorable: Hole 1 plays downhill, maybe 250', toward the lake...great ace run! Hole 3 offers a very tight hyzer route (which is rarely taken) or a giant anhyzer out over the water to an elevated pin on a small rock outcropping...great combo of beauty and challenge! Hole 7 plays along the beach and offers a giant RHBH hyzer out over the water to another elevated/terraced green.

The locals are great...never met one that wasn't friendly and willing to stop and talk to total stranger.
Cons: Some of the back 9 holes seem a little boring compared to the lake-side holes, but are all solid when viewed individually.

There are a few spots where first timers might get confused as to where to go next. After Hole 6 you have to walk back toward the lake for Hole 7, and Hole 10 is across the street from the frong 9.

Signs need to be updated...some are getting pretty ragged, and the distances on some seems wrong.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great course! When I think about the best courses inthe DFW, this one typically doesn't come to mind right away...but anytime someone brings it up, I remember just how much fun it is to play!

I don't know if it's still there, but there used to be a 3-4 hole "putter course" in the woods after Hole 16. I played through with a local about 2yrs ago, and he showed me the holes...all were <150' with trees as the targets (orange markers on the trees).

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mix on the Lake

5+    11/7/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: onjejank
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well manicured, challenging, diverse course. You get to use all of your shots here, long, short, tight, open, hyzer, anhyzer. The view of the lake is beautiful from most of the front 9 holes and this sandy course dries out quickly after a rain. The teepads and greens/retaining walls are in great shape and add to the experience of playing this course.
Cons: Not a lot of parking on a very busy day. This course can get moderately busy at times. Not much elevation change.
Other Thoughts: The course has lost some strategic trees over the years, but baskets have been moved in response which shows that the keepers of Lake Park want to create a challenging experience for golfers.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course on the lake

5+    10/19/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: fly_hyzer
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very attractive course, highly patrolled by lewisville police and park police so it's very safe. The course is a beast 2/3 of the year when the trees are grown in and this is a great challenge. There are very tight holes, a great RHBH anhyzer shot that runs along the banks of the lake, and 7 where you can boom it out over the water and bring it back to the pin on a natural hyzer. This a great course, and is definitely the best in it's local area, best in Denton county for sure.
Cons: Alot of people hang out on the shore along hole 7 and 3 so be careful before you throw. Trash cans could be emptied much more frequently considering how many cops pass through there, surely they could get a parks crew through there too.
Other Thoughts: If you live in Denton county this should be your #1 course...if you live in Denton, stop going to North Lakes and check Lake Lewisville out.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great all around course

2-4    8/9/2008   9/27/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best in the Metro Plex. On the first 9 holes you play close to the lake which makes for a nice view. All of the signs are there and accurate. There are always friendly locals around if it is your first time and need to ask some directions to the next hole. There are some short more technical holes and some where you can really let loose for a long drive. The first nine holes use the elevation changes to add some diffcultly to the course. Two of the holes, I think 3 and 7 run right along the lake side. On 7 you can throw a hyzer watch your disc go out over the lake and make it way back towards the basket. In a perfect world that is. The last time I went the wind was coming in from a different direction than normal and instead of the disc coming back in toward the basket it was carried out into the lake never to be scene again. Someone put a lot of though into this course and did a very good job.
Cons: Some of the brush could be cut back a little more. The Locals are great but there are always a bunch of them. The course can get a little over crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the area or ever are visiting this is definitely a course to put on your list to play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.