Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #1



Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    6/24/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Chunks
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Very few (if any) courses in the DFW area are as scenic as Lake Park.
*Several holes overlook the lake and holes 3 and 7 have you throw shots over the lake.
*All holes are reachable for players that can throw 400ft+; however OB and large mature trees prevents this course from being a pitch and putt course.
*Fairways are fair, hit your line and make your putt and you can score extremely well
*Concrete tee pads long enough to land a Cessna
*Nice baskets that reward good putting by catching virtually everything
*Porta-potties (didn't think I'd ever mention this as a pro)
*Sits several hundred feet from camping and a boat ramp- makes this a great weekend get away for out-of-towners
*Course sits on sandy soil, and drains EXTREMELY well. After a few days of rain in DFW you can expect to see players from all over the metroplex at this course because it will be 100% mud-free
*Some of the most fun and scenic greens I have ever putted on. (Especially the holes close to the lake)
*Every hole is simply, fun to play
*Beautiful lakes attract beautiful ladies in swimsuits...not bad scenery for a dg course.
*Alcohol is allowed in park as long as it is not in glass containers.
Cons: *Lots of traffic can make for long rounds, especially on weekends when weather is ideal
*Lots of non-golfers traverse the fairways/greens to get down to the lake (only a minor annoyance)
*Look out for fisherman that fish off the rocks on hole 7
*Can't rely on tee signs- but this isnt a big problem, course is very easy to follow.
Other Thoughts: *Location (minutes off of I-35), scenery, and quality golf holes make this course a great destination for locals or anyone passing through.
*Course has a good number of locals that are willing to show you around- If you spot "Old-Man" Tom (The course designer) in his white pick-up be sure to stop by and say hello and thank him for all he has done to get this fun course in the ground.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty looking course

1    4/18/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Quality double chain baskets. Very long (20') concrete tees... somewhat overkill for a 250' hole but nice nonetheless. Adequate tee signs. Logs have been laid down throughout the course to help stem erosion problems. Ample benches and trash cans. Good use of "Next Tee" signs to help keep you from getting lost. One of the few DG courses that actually has defined greens; they add a nice look to the course. Navigating the back half of the course is easy and obvious. Hole #3 is a great risk/reward shot with the wide open RHBH anny shot out over the water, or fight the heavily wooded path over land. Hole #7 is the same shot in the opposite direction, so it's a hyzer shot over the water. This is a really nice looking course and the upkeep is evident. The holes bordering the water are a surreal on a foggy morning. Other than fishermen there doesn't look to be any interference from non-disc golfers.
Cons:
Navigating the front half of the course can be tricky for first timers. The distance posted on the sign for hole #5 was pretty far off of reality which lead me to waste some time looking for the right basket. Tee signs are missing on holes #8 and #12. The tee sign for #13 is too close to the tee to allow a good throw and follow-through. Parking close to tee #1 can be limited. Other street parking is close to several fairways, i.e. cars get hit. A few fairways play close together (#6 vs. #9).
Other Thoughts:
This course is a tale of two halves with the end result being a good balance of length and trees. The first half plays pretty technical through lots of trees while the back half is significantly more open and gives you a chance to get some distance on your discs. I did enjoy my round at the "Lake course" and would play again in a heartbeat. I can see how it might suffer a bit on replays but this one is worth checking out for players of all levels.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Always fun

2-4    5/15/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course may be hilly and wooded, but fairways are open enough that it is enjoyable. There are always great people out there.
Cons: Hit a tree or get off a fairway and you are in trouble. Brush is very difficult to throw out of.
Other Thoughts: The holes on the lake can be stupid when it is windy, be careful not to lose a disc, but you probably still will.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of a kind!

1    0/0/0000   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a beautiful disc golf course! The scenery is great right next to the lake with a few holes right next to the beach. The rest of the course plays back into the park with lots of large trees makes it nice to look at. The teepads are giant cement, if you need a larger teepad, then you need to learn how to throw again. The park was nice and clean.
Cons: The signs were old and baskets were older. Some navigation issues on the front nine. A few of the fairways were rather close together, so keep an eye open for other player's discs. Easy pars on most of the holes, longer holes would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Great park with awesome views of the lake! If you are looking for a very difficult course, go elsewhere. However if you are looking for a nice enjoyable, relaxing round of disc golf, this place can't be beat!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lewisville Lake

5+    5/2/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Gigantic teepads, could possibly land a small plane on one. gorgeous park, that is well maintained. two shots over the lake(3 & 7) which is always a treat. great course design, good flow from hole to hole.

The locals here are great, i lived in lewisville for 1.5 years and you can go up to any of these guys and ask them any question about golf or the course and theyll tell you, or just play a round with them, you might learn or see a couple holes that you wouldnt have even thought about.

Weekly minis on tuesday night and saturday. plenty of competition lots of people show up.

plenty of technical holes, with a lot of shot variety.
Cons: there would probably be a little confusion between hole 5 and 6 as you have to backtrack a little.

lots of walkers, and fisherman especially on hole 7, just be patient and they will move, most of the time...

45 min away from my hotel, so i have to settle for bear creek, which isnt bad but its not lewisville lake
Other Thoughts: dont forget to stop by the old man with the white ford selling discs out the back of the truck. that ole man tom, the course designer, and several time grand master world champion. be sure and tell him how much you loved the course(because you will) and dont be too shy to ask him any question about discs or shots, this man knows it all, and he's one of the nicest guys you will ever meet. AND HE SELLS HIS DISCS CHEAP TOO!!

this is my favorite course of all time, i havnt played too many yet but this one will always stick out in my mind. whenever i think best courses ive played, this is definitely one of them.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Sweetness

5+    4/1/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with lots of fun holes. There are long teepads on every hole but you dont need them except for maybe one hole(17). Good view of the lake and two shots that play over the lake(3/7). Great to play after a rain because of the sandy soil. Pretty when green like it was today. Mostly a RHBH course but the are a couple of annys. It uses the little terrain very well and makes this a fun course.
Cons: Some signs are missing. Gets very crowded on the weekends. Can be confusing first time out due to the cris crossing on a couple of holes. Parking can be dangerous.
Other Thoughts: I think they have a mini on Saturday afternoon. If you get out early you can gets the parking spots that lower your chances of getting your car hit.....just take a second and look when you pull in.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant to play when it isn't crowded; great lake views

5+    4/5/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.4 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Let me preface by defending myself -- I know my rating is lower than average for this course, but a 3.0 is still "Good" and is above average; this is definitely an above average course, but despite playing this course dozens of times, it doesn't capture my imagination the way many other courses do.

The pros have been covered in detail by many other folks, so I'll try to be brief:

* Great views out over the lake
* Sandy soil drains quickly, so this is a good place to play during/after a rain (many other D/FW-area courses get really messy after rain)
* Decent mix of throws required to score well
* Minimal extraneous walking between holes
* Car is always convenient if you need to grab something (you pass your car ~4 times per round)
* Two shots over the lake are among the best holes in the region (except when the lake is high)
* Longest concrete teeboxes I've ever played on -- plenty of room for ever the longest run-ups.
* Minimal trash on the course
* Friendly locals and lots of weekly events
* In a Metroplex with a lot of courses, this is the most convenient decent course for folks who are on the North side anywhere along the I-35 corridor. In traffic it would take an hour+ to get to any other course equally good.
Cons: This is where I am surprised that other viewers don't have more comments. Some of my observations are not huge drawbacks -- the course works well for the land it has available to it -- but there are many elements that give a course higher ratings in my book that this course is missing.

* Yes, this course has long teepads, but they are wasted here. There are no par fours where you really need the room for a big drive.
* Parking is pretty bad -- parking along road is always exposed to golfers and there is very little parking where your car isn't in danger of getting cranked by a disc
* When the water is high, it can be within a few feet of the basket on #3 (and close to #7), rendering those holes a silly challenge for most players -- no good options when the lake is high
* The shot variety isn't that great here. Yes, there are a couple of water shots and some minor elevation, but it's mostly flat, light tree and dusty/sandy ground. A mix of left and right shots, but few shots that make you plan your placement.
* Only one teebox and one pin placement for most holes, the few holes with alternative pin placements don't change much -- this lowers replay value (for me at least).
* Several of the fairways are right next to other fairways with almost no trees defining the routes, so the overlap keeps you on your toes to keep from getting winged with an errant disc.
* Course is often very crowded -- and with tight fairways and large groups of players, rounds often move much slower than they should.
* Many days, people fishing are on the rocks near baskets #3 and #7; sometimes you have to throw conservative shots to avoid hitting fishermen instead of being able to go for it.
* Some days, the wind off the lake is awful and causes a lot of lost (virtually irretrievable) discs on holes #3 and #7, which can be frustrating.
* Teesigns are out of date.
Other Thoughts: When I first started playing disc golf (1997), I was in the Dallas area. At the time, Lake Lewisville was second only to Veteran's Park in Arlington as the best course around. And while Veteran's has aged gracefully, I find that Lake Lewisville hasn't maintained the same degree of challenge and variety that Veteran's has. Lake Lewisville has since been supplanted by several other courses as the top places to play in D/FW (The two courses at Lester Lorch in Cedar Hill, Z-Boaz in Fort Worth, Harry Myers in Rockwall, others...)

Don't get me wrong -- I've got great memories of rounds played at Lake Lewisville -- but just as a personal preference, I will never miss this course like I do some of the other courses mentioned. I dream about shots at Veterans and Z-Boaz and Cedar Hill; Lake Lewisville will never keep me up at night.

Lake Lewisville is a very enjoyable place to play; definitely above average. But it's always felt crowded to me -- not only because of the number of people, but because the fairways run against one another and the fact that parked cars are always at risk of flying discs. The crowdedness of the place always grates on me just a little -- it is far harder to enjoy a relaxing day of disc golf as it is at many other places. I play disc golf to escape, and it's hard to escape here -- I still feel like I always have to be hyper aware of everything going on around me. At many other Dallas courses, there is a much greater sense of rest.

I am probably also overly sensitized to the crowdedness because this is the only course in 11+ years of play where I have hit another person on the course. Blind shot on #2 and their was a dad and his son loitering by the basket. Lots of folks fishing or sunning themselves in this area (it is a lake), and not all of them aware about disc golf. When you combine non-disc-golfers with just enough elevation to have several blind shots on the hole, you have a formula for trouble. Fortunately the child I hit was okay (gentle throw with a Roc), but it shook me up a little bit. I know it's inevitable to hit someone (I've been hit 4-5 times), but I'm usually hyper careful and I suspected that if I ever hit anyone, it would be a fellow disc golfer who would be understanding -- not a kid who wasn't even playing.

For the record: Lake Lewisville is certainly worth the time to play -- especially if you are there when the lake is low and the course isn't crowded -- but so many courses have so much more to offer that I hesitate to recommend that people go out of their way to play Lake Lewisville.

If you haven't played along a lake before, it might be worth it for the two lake holes -- those holes are great -- but if you've played lake holes other places, these aren't anything radically different.

If you live in D/FW, go out here early some weekend to see for yourself. If you are visiting the area and only have a couple of days, there are better places to spend your time.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 18 on the Lake

1    1/12/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: chopz33
Played: 74  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've only only been playing about a month and have only played on 3 different courses. This one by far has been the best so far. Holes 3 and 7 are right on the water and have some great views. The front 9 is one the lake side and the back 9 is across the road. I had a great time playing this course.
Cons: I heards lots of cursing from players playing. I went on a monday during the afternoon and they looked to be college kids maybe. Not good if you are taking kids. Other than that i have no complaints with this course.
Other Thoughts: Kind of tricky to find, but not all that hard. Directions i had said turn on Sandy Beach Rd. Well there was no sign. Just turn into the main park from Mill Rd.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun round

2-4    1/4/2009   1/11/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signiture holes, and fun through the entire course. Nice mix of shots, and good practice for learning and improving new shot types. Gorgeous course on the lake.
Cons: Holes on the front nine are bunched, and some play side by side, which slows play. They are also near the parked cars...I heard a car get hit while playing the 16th hole. It seems like there is always wind, so play smart. Signs missing or beat up.
Other Thoughts: The trees are what make things tricky. This one is well wooded, but fun none the less. There aren't enough trees to discourage a visit from casual players, you just have to keep them in mind. The water was never an issue, and the holes just off the shore are great fun.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/17/2007   11/17/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well-balanced and well-maintained...long concrete tees, signs at every hole, trash cans at most holes, plenty of benches near the tee areas, 2 port-o-johns near the course.

Very family-friendly park...police patrolling the area regularly, no places where you might accidentally happen upon a group partaking in "illegal activities". Generally just a nice place to be!

You'll find a lot of locals playing here after a good rain, as the sandy soil on almost every hole drains faster than any other course in the Metroplex.

Throughout the 18 holes, you'll find almost every type of shot represented in some form....hyzer, anhyzer, short technical shots, long technical shots, over the water, flat, elevation...you name it.

The "signature" holes are all really fun and memorable: Hole 1 plays downhill, maybe 250', toward the lake...great ace run! Hole 3 offers a very tight hyzer route (which is rarely taken) or a giant anhyzer out over the water to an elevated pin on a small rock outcropping...great combo of beauty and challenge! Hole 7 plays along the beach and offers a giant RHBH hyzer out over the water to another elevated/terraced green.

The locals are great...never met one that wasn't friendly and willing to stop and talk to total stranger.
Cons: Some of the back 9 holes seem a little boring compared to the lake-side holes, but are all solid when viewed individually.

There are a few spots where first timers might get confused as to where to go next. After Hole 6 you have to walk back toward the lake for Hole 7, and Hole 10 is across the street from the frong 9.

Signs need to be updated...some are getting pretty ragged, and the distances on some seems wrong.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great course! When I think about the best courses inthe DFW, this one typically doesn't come to mind right away...but anytime someone brings it up, I remember just how much fun it is to play!

I don't know if it's still there, but there used to be a 3-4 hole "putter course" in the woods after Hole 16. I played through with a local about 2yrs ago, and he showed me the holes...all were <150' with trees as the targets (orange markers on the trees).

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.