Lewisville, TX 
Lake Lewisville Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #1



Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Mix on the Lake

5+    11/7/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: onjejank
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well manicured, challenging, diverse course. You get to use all of your shots here, long, short, tight, open, hyzer, anhyzer. The view of the lake is beautiful from most of the front 9 holes and this sandy course dries out quickly after a rain. The teepads and greens/retaining walls are in great shape and add to the experience of playing this course.
Cons: Not a lot of parking on a very busy day. This course can get moderately busy at times. Not much elevation change.
Other Thoughts: The course has lost some strategic trees over the years, but baskets have been moved in response which shows that the keepers of Lake Park want to create a challenging experience for golfers.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course on the lake

5+    10/19/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: fly_hyzer
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very attractive course, highly patrolled by lewisville police and park police so it's very safe. The course is a beast 2/3 of the year when the trees are grown in and this is a great challenge. There are very tight holes, a great RHBH anhyzer shot that runs along the banks of the lake, and 7 where you can boom it out over the water and bring it back to the pin on a natural hyzer. This a great course, and is definitely the best in it's local area, best in Denton county for sure.
Cons: Alot of people hang out on the shore along hole 7 and 3 so be careful before you throw. Trash cans could be emptied much more frequently considering how many cops pass through there, surely they could get a parks crew through there too.
Other Thoughts: If you live in Denton county this should be your #1 course...if you live in Denton, stop going to North Lakes and check Lake Lewisville out.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great all around course

2-4    8/9/2008   9/27/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best in the Metro Plex. On the first 9 holes you play close to the lake which makes for a nice view. All of the signs are there and accurate. There are always friendly locals around if it is your first time and need to ask some directions to the next hole. There are some short more technical holes and some where you can really let loose for a long drive. The first nine holes use the elevation changes to add some diffcultly to the course. Two of the holes, I think 3 and 7 run right along the lake side. On 7 you can throw a hyzer watch your disc go out over the lake and make it way back towards the basket. In a perfect world that is. The last time I went the wind was coming in from a different direction than normal and instead of the disc coming back in toward the basket it was carried out into the lake never to be scene again. Someone put a lot of though into this course and did a very good job.
Cons: Some of the brush could be cut back a little more. The Locals are great but there are always a bunch of them. The course can get a little over crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the area or ever are visiting this is definitely a course to put on your list to play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great course

1    9/14/2008   9/16/2008
Review By: myoung
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought this was a great course. The long tee pads were really nice. The course didn't seem long, but had so many different challenes and obstacles, it made it seem long. I loved how hole 3 playedblind, and by the water. This course has to be one of my favorites that i've played here in the metroplex. I used alot of different discs. There wasn't alot of elevation changes either, so it will not beat you down. I can't wait to play in the tournament in two weeks at this course.
Cons: There were alot of people who were just strolling along the course. People who camp, and fish here, probably don't understand disc golf etiquite. I had an incident where a kid about 3yrs old, picked my disc up and threw it back towards me. His mother chuckled and thought it was cute. IT WAS NOT CUTE!
Other Thoughts: Besides the traffic, this was a great course. I wouldn't hesitate one bit to go back. I might even camp there the next time I go.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lakeside Beauty...

1    8/21/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great LOOOOONG Teepads. This course is definately the most sceneic course I have played in my short time in the sport. Love the challenge of the few blind teeshots. Really enjoyed the way the lake came into play on a couple holes. The parking area being nearby could be handy, should a fresh cold one be needed from the cooler.
Cons: The only real con that I could find was on one hole we come to find a group of campers using the level area in front of the tee pad as a tentsite... Not a big deal as we were able to throw by them without much difficulty.
Other Thoughts: I definately want to play this course again, and as often as possible.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lakeside Love at First Site

5+    9/1/2009   8/18/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Starting this course off with a downhill shot toward the lake allows you to get in the mood right off. One of the baskets sits up on what from some angles looks like a small rock peninsula (but is does have some beach behind it.) It is absolutely beautiful. You may find yourself just stopping to enjoy the surroundings on more than one occasion.

The tees are cement and some of the longest I have ever seen. There are signs pointing to the next tee on a few of the holes. There are many sitting benches and trashcans. There are portable bathrooms near the center of the courrse. Some of the baskets are so well landscaped; it makes you wonder why more courses don't do this. The wildlife is amazing. The difficulty of the holes are well mixed. I love throwing out over the lake on hole #7 and watching your heyzer and the breeze off the lake work your throw back toward land. The waves seem to bring the wet floaters back to shore…if you can wait for it.

The front 9 plays along the lakeside of the road and the back 9 is on the other side. The back nine is not as picturesque so it tends to seem like a let down, but it really isn't. Some of the holes on the back 9 will make you want to throw more than one tee shot. There is one ace run hole that a skip-in is just too tempting to pass up. That is a fun hole.
Cons: To find some cons was a bit tough. The tee signs need updated to the distances that the course now runs. I would not trust the footage on the signs…use this site's distances instead. There is probably only one true left handed hole on the entire course.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is excellant! Many of these holes are just so much fun to play. It was nice to be within a short walk back to the car numerous times during the round. You can carry less this way. I will be playing this course more and more in the future. It is just too beautiful not to. I had not played a lakeside course before this one and have been on the lookout for more of these ever since. One fun suggestion for playing here in the sumer months, try wearing your swim suit so you can cool off in the lake in the middle of your round.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Played twice today

8/10/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: YoDesigner
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to enjoy the views of the lake, especially on the front nine. Some shots are very technical. A wooden bench is provided by almost every tee pad. The complete course covers the area in a 'clover leaf' pattern, makes it easy to get cold ones from the car instead of carrying them. Sometimes we go to Sneaky Petes after the game and sit at the gazebo to watch the eye candy coming off the boats;)
Cons: We played on Sunday, first game at 8am then 2nd at 10am. The 10am game was full of noise from the nearby soccer fields with events going on. Somebody had a loud speaker over there and was constantly talking in spanish. It was very annoying especially when it is such a beautiful park you have a constant chatter going on in the background of something I couldn't understand. Last time I played here about a month ago, there were kids across the road by the guard shack for boat lake access that were constantly screaming... These are probably isolated insidents. I have played here about 20 times in the last 5 years and not much else to complain about other than seeing occasional poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: We saw a huge hawk in the tree by basket #16 that was really cool. Also a snake near the water at the edge of the beach by #3 fairway. I believe this course/park does not close and alcohol is also allowed.

Thanks for reading and please mark my review.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful lakeshore!

2-4    1/31/2009   8/4/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What makes this course great is the natural beauty of the lake shore that the front nine are set on.

It has nice long concrete teepads.

There is plenty of shade for play during those hot Texas summers.

There are benches on about half of the holes.

There are some interesting holes that you won't find at your run of the mill course:
#1 is a straight 233' downhill shot with a dropoff to the lake shore behind a basket that is surrounded by trees.

#2 is only 236 but has a good pucker factor because you are throwing blind over a small hill and you have to hit a window in the trees about 150' away.

#3 was designed to be an annie over the water but most people take the safe hyzer down the path to the basket. The elevated pin on the rocky shore makes this one of the prettiest holes in the metroplex. During tournaments they make a temp teepad down on the beach that forces everyone to throw over the water.

#4 is a 302' dogleg right and is almost impossible to get close in one throw.

#6 has a cool elevated terraced green that you must land on or be forced to putt up to the basket.

#7 is the most memorable hole on the course because this is where most people lose discs. The natural route is a 300' hyzer over the water to an elevated basket on top of a rock. People who have lost a disc will take the safer annie down the trail.

#8 is a short blind hyzer to another terraced green. Miss the green and you'll be three putting for sure.

The other 11 holes are about what you'd find on an average course.
Cons: Parking is along the side of the road and at least 4 holes have you throwing right towards where most people park.

Quite a few signs are missing or damaged and the distances are not accurate on some. I printed the distances from this website and was fine.

There are a couple of areas where you have to step onto the fairway of other holes. Just be aware and keep a lookout at all times for flying discs.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, mainly for the beauty and fun of the first nine holes.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best around!

5+    7/20/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very scenic and has a good mix of different kinds of holes. There are many holes with changes in elevation, many with trees in the fairway that will require pinpoint accuracy or a big shot over the top. There are several holes where Lake Lewisville comes into play. Hole 3 offers the opportunity to the daring for an anheyzer shot out over the lake to get to the pin and hole 7 has the same for a big heyzer shot. There are many aceable holes here as well as a few that you're lucky to par. The tee boxes are the best around. Very long, close to 15ft or so. This is a very well maintained course. It is pretty easy to navigate as well with signs after the basket that tell you where to go next. This is one of the few courses around where you are allowed to drink, provided that it isn't a glass container.
Cons: Sometimes there is heavy course traffic and there are quite a few people that will come and sit down by the lake to fish and swim. They create extra obstacles on a couple of holes, although I've never heard of anyone getting hit yet. A few of the signs have inaccurate information and need to be updated.
Other Thoughts: There are usually quite a few throwers out. The mornings are the best times to go to avoid heavy course traffic. This is one of those courses that is hard to ever get tired of.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

7/9/2008   7/10/2008
Review By: JimBeam
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has everything. From tees and baskets right on the lake to heavily wooded sections and a lot of really great downhill drives. The course is well laid out maximizing the available space. The holes are long and provide a good challenge especially as you try to navigate the trees.
Cons: Not very many problems with this course.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.