Morristown, MN 
Maiden Shade Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 155ft.   3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
great p2p

5+    8/1/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 77  Reviewed: 24
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: some elevation change. not crowded. friendly staff. many different types of shots required. hole maps were pretty good. has rake on one of the water holes if you lose your disc. some ace runs. cool other activities to do at the course too, but some of it costs extra money. course is well maintained and no garbage.
Cons: baskets are not top of the line.. last holes are kind of boring and just require a decent arm. wish the long open holes were spread out more throughout the course. have to deal with runners trail once or twice. parking is far away from hole one but pretty close to last hole. bugs are terrible so douse on the spray before. if there was a lot of heavy rain the course can stay a little damp and soggy.
Other Thoughts: easily worth the $5 to play here. some camping deals too with dg are dirt cheap i heard, probably will have to check that out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun!

1    7/8/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a 21 hole pay-to-play course in a campground along the Cannon River and Sakatah State Trail, in the small town of Morristown. Without seeing the reviews from here already, I wouldn't have known this course was of such quality!

We knew we would like this course right from the start when purchasing the round. The owners were very gracious, explained everything about the course, and seemed genuinely excited we were visiting. They also have a cute dog and cat.

There is an honor box to pay if no one is in the office, and a box with score cards, pencils, and maps. They also provide bug spray (basically required for the Minnesota mosquitoes).

There's a practice driving range with tee boxes and baskets near the parking area. That's a nice touch that I haven't seen at other courses. There are also some practice baskets near the rest area halfway through the course.

The course itself is quite impressive. All tee pads are poured concrete. Each long tee has an entire course map with the current hole highlighted, and advertising for local businesses. Most of the tees have benches and trash cans. There are port-a-potties scattered around the course (though I didn't try any, so I can't vouch for their cleanliness). A rest area with tables and course photos sits halfway through the course by the hole #10 tee. I thought all of the fairways were nicely mowed, though the owner apologized about not mowing over the past weekend.

The first 14 holes are designed quite well (see the cons list for discussion of holes 15-21). #2 has a nice easy water hazard. #3 is maddening, definitely the most difficult on the course. It's 525 feet through a thin corridor - I triple bogied the par 4. Hole #6 is an extreme dog leg that does a more than 90 degree turn - I was happy to birdie it. These are all moderate to dense foliage demanding precision and shot variety to stay out of the woods, very fun.
Cons: The baskets and chains seemed somewhat flaky - I never really trusted my putts to stay in as much as Mach baskets.

The last 6 holes are all in open field with few obstacles, and seemed somewhat repetitive, though there is a water hazard on hole 20 that did mix things up a bit. I did see some young trees planted in one of them, so they may be more interesting in 10 years or so.

Some of the rough has tall prickly weeds - try to stay on the fairway. Some of the short tees are just 15 feet or so in front of the long ones.
Other Thoughts: They recently moved the tees on hole 11, adding about 100' to the length. I believe that the blue tee was 430', but I don't remember the red tee length.

There are lots of interesting things and signs around the course. The campground has a lot of other activities as well: swimming pool, volleyball, mini golf, etc.

I've been to many courses in Southern Minnesota and the two I would recommend the most are this one and Todd Park in Austin. Definitely worth the $5 if you are in the area, and maybe even worth the hour drive from the cities!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough

1    9/28/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 103  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice/Helpful Owner (randy)
-Concrete (dual) tees
-Well maintained and designed course
-Fair mix of different shots from left, right, open, protected baskets, tunnel shots-- bring your arsenal here!
-Driving range
-On-site Camping and pool (additional fees apply)
-Nice signs
-Benches at nearly every hole
-Nice views and feeling while walking through course with rustic touches, wildlife/plants and use of land.
-Not very busy at all (we were the only ones there)
-Challenging but does not wear on you like some other longer courses.
-Well maintained and kept up.
-"lost & found" disc area
-Quiet/peaceful
-Sponsored holes
-Ample garbage cans and out-houses
Cons: -Baskets (not horrible due to additional chains added but could be MUCH better nonetheless they work...)
-Thick rough with lots of thorn like bushes
-Last holes are longer bombs in the open campground/field area along the cannon river with minimal protection from sun and probably the most grueling part of the course, unfortunately at the END also so you are a little worn to be throwing the huge open holes. Would have been nice to see some of these worked in earlier then flow back into the woods and out again. The last holes really have no challenge other than some distance (almost filler like)
-Long walk to Hole 1 from parking and back to car anytime while playing.
-Signs slightly off in representing shot needed to reach pin but scout out the basket before and good to go.
-No food/beverage area really that we noticed other than pop machine outside.
-Some "next tee" signs would be nice as the map is a little shoddy but each tee has a large map and clearly marks where you are with navigation not an issue.

Other Thoughts: One of the better courses in the state. Feels a lot like Blue Ribbon but actually has better scenery and feeling as well as not being so busy. The owner cares about the course as well as you coming to play and will answer any questions as well as be creeping around on his 4x4-- don't be surprised when he pops out of no-where to watch you throw your next shot and chat it up a little. Each hole felt different (other than the last few open field rips but nice to get some of those in also) Some holes will leave you scratching your head as to what line you will take and the safest way to approach the basket. Take a look from the tee at ALL your options on each hole as many times your drive will just be for good placement to make a solid upshot. Lots of birdies but also lots of chance for snowmen if you are not playing smart (and accurately lol) No major elevation but holes also are not just flat through the woods like you get at BRP and actually felt more "fun" playing here. Not a bad drive down to this course from the cities and worth checking out NO doubt. Plug your nose driving on CR 99 to this place as you will pass multiple farms and the smell coming from the land was HORRIBLE, luckily they are far enough away not to effect the course itself. Pretty secluded area with state bike trail running through it (watch out for bikers when crossing over) and good multi-use area. Not a bad vacation place in the summer for family with the pool, basketball courts, walking paths and DG course. By the time we were done here it was hard to warrant another round right away but if staying there would have no problem going through multiple times without getting boring as there are so many different shots and even lines to take on some holes. WORTH THE TRIP! GO SEE RANDY!

www.facebook.com/DiscGolfMN

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Maiden Shade

1    5/15/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: Milano
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Extremely well Maintained.
Good mix of technical shots and bomber holes.
Cheap pay to play.Saw 1 other group the whole time we played. Sick driving range with multiple baskets.
Cons: Scary baskets... have you holding your breath even at center chain wondering if your shot was gonna stick! Too far from the truck until about hole 18 to re-fill the brew
Other Thoughts: This course is sick. It will eat your lunch if you are off your game, or make you feel like a pro if you save par on some of the monster holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Challenging Course

1    7/31/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: brass4Him
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variety of long and short holes. Brand new cement tees. Porta-potties and trash recepticles throughout course. Plenty of challenge and fun with hills, narrow tree windows and some blind tee shots. Owner loves disc golf and takes good care of the course. There's also a disc golf range which is a first for me. Pretty cool.
Cons: Would be nice to eventually have hole information placards at each tee.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you load up on mosquito repellent before heading out....

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice

1    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Markymark
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
Pros: Good mix of long and short holes. You spend the first 14 holes working around trees, and the last 7 out in the open. There are even a few water hazards thrown in, just to make it interesting. The course is in good shape and I spoke to the owner who has big plans to improve the course. I would have loved to play a second round, if I didn't have to get to the cities.
Cons: Not all of the tee boxes are cement, but those that aren't are framed up and should be ready very soon. Skeeters are as big as sparrows, but it's MN, what do you expect. A spray of OFF and you are good to go.
Other Thoughts: This was my first pay to play course, so I was a little skeptical. To me, it was well worth the trip and the $5 to play. I would absolutely go back, the next time I'm in the area. Give it a try, you won't be dissapointed. I may need to change my review to a 5 next time I visit.

 Great Course Worth Playing

1    8/3/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: Moptop88
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- A wide variety of shots; everything from short, pin-point accuracy shots, long wooded fairways, tree obstacles, and bomber holes near the end.
- Grounds are kept in very good condition by the owners, who are very cool guys in their own right.
- A lot of decor along the course that greatly adds to it's image.
- Pro and short tees
- Not a lot of water hazards except at the last 4 holes, which run next to the Cannon River
Cons:
- Tee boxes are still a little uneven, very minor quibble though
- A LOT of trees so if you're aim is bad, your score will be decimated and you could be spending quite some time looking for your discs.
- Course can be difficult to navigate, you WILL need a course map.
-$5 per round/ $10 per day is a bit steep as far as course fees go
Other Thoughts: My experience here was nothing short of great, this course is one of the best kept secrets in the state in my opinion. If you're in the mood to do a little bit of driving to check out a great, challenging course, this needs to be at the top of your list.
Only about an hour south of the cities on a mostly straight shot down I-35.
In addition to the disc course, the camp grounds have a pool, mini-golf, a playground and also a stage, so this could be a great week-end getaway for discers and their family.
You will come back to this course...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center