Glendive, MT 
Makoshika State Park Share
Uploaded By: Craig639 Hole #12 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 210ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee: Basket is on the other side of the "Gumbo Column"



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Unique and fun!

1    5/18/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: woodman
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: Beautiful and unique course. Easy course to play with good signs and trails. Love the topography. Spring flowers are just starting to pop up. Very pretty course. Great tee pads and basket placements.
Cons: Would not play it in temps above 70. No shade. Tee pads could be longer. Lots of blind basket placements. Four holes are very short, drove them with a putter and almost aced all four.
Other Thoughts: All and all a great course and I have told lots of friends to go play it.

Unique Badlands Course

1    5/15/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides an amazing opportunity to play in a Badlands type setting and requires players to use quite a bit of precision in their throws.

The teepads are nice and the hole maps are easy to follow once you figure out the topography facing you ahead. All pads are quite close to the previous holes chains so the course is pretty easy to navigate as well.

The topography is unique in that it's not hilly but because of all the mesas and buttes you need to climb up and down it can be some decent hiking.

The layout of the course was done really well, each hole provides different challenges. Some are a bit easier but others are long and many are blind. Take your time and find where you need to throw and having bright discs will help a lot! They will stand out if your disc disappears into some of the brush around this course.

Hole #18 is definitely the signature hole on this course, being placed on top of the hill. Have fun if your disc decides to roll.

Hole #2 also was one of my favorites, it's not a big butte to land on to get the birdie but it's fun to toss a few drives at to try making it.



As stated in every review, the scenery here is unmatchable and will leave you wanting more. It's a must play!
Cons: I have no real cons for this course, these are more of things to be aware of:

Fortunately, I didn't have any encounters but the presence of rattlesnakes are big on this course. Beware and don't play music if you can avoid it so you can hear their warnings!

Also, BRING WATER. Don't fool yourself, the course is in the Badlands and it is HOT and you will be thirsty!

There is cacti all over so be sure to wear good shoes and watch your step/ hand placements.
Other Thoughts: The fee to get into the park is $5 but it's definitely worth it.

Be sure to stop in the visitors center before you go! They have maps and scorecards available, just ask!

Also, they have XL drivers, BUZZ mid range and Magnet putters with the state park logo for sale in the center, only $10! I have to get a new Magnet, who can pass up a triceratops marked disc?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Makoshika's great, DO NOT miss the course tweo miles away at Dawson Community College!

5+    7/14/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: JefeMT
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Unique badlands setting.
Cons: Heat. Glendive is warm from mid-June through August-- play early, or after 7:00PM
Other Thoughts: DO NOT MISS the EXCELLENT (longer, more treacherous pin placements) 9 hole course two to three miles away on the south side of Dawson Community College campus... more prairie, some badlands, creek bottom... Glendive has 27 world-class folf holes!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 gorgeous and fun

1    9/21/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: alexaaron
Played: 271  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scenery is beyond description. The course has challenges different from any other course i've played. Most tees and pins are located on mesas with washes inbetween that you have to walk through and climb back up to get to the basket. The course was pretty easy for us to follow as most tee pads are directly beside the previous hole's basket.
Cons: The online map wasn't really helpful for locating the baskets, so we had to walk most holes first to get an idea where the basket was. But this was not a big con as everything is so pretty there a little extra walking is enjoyable.
Other Thoughts: If you enjoy disc golf, this course will not disappoint you. A challenging, fun and gorgeous course. Definitely worth the drive from Minneapolis!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 "where would Jesus throw" Right Here

1    7/9/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: schnelle
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very beautiful in the spring time. A great mixture of holes. NO TREES. Tee pads are excellent wood tees. Baskets are top notch. This course uses "washes" and "mesas" as obstacles. Nice elevation changes.
Cons: Could use better Tee signs. The current ones are just a post with a # on it. Without a map might be a little confusing. I would say park entry fee is a con, but it's well worth it. Rain and Snow make this unplayable in those conditions.
Other Thoughts: PUT THIS COURSE ON YOUR WISH LIST. Overall this has been the best i've played. Enjoyed every second of it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unlike Any Course I've Played

1    8/13/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: owlontheground
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While the photos are impressive, you have to see this course with your own eyes to believe it. The terrain is unlike any other disc golf course that I have ever played. As the other reviewer Innovadude noted, the mesas come into play on almost every hole. Whether it be a basket on top of a mesa, a basket completely hidden on the other side of a mesa, or a blind basket below the base of a cliff, this course is intimidating and requires some precision shots. Adding to the risk/reward of your drives is the fact that if you through an errant drive, you could come face to face with a rattlesnake (seen on our way to Hole #2 and heard a few other times).

While the landscape provided many challenges, there were also a few shorter holes that were a welcome relief.

Some other pros:
- Walking through the course was spectacular.
- Most baskets were positioned near the next holes tee pad.
- Hole #18 is amazing with a basket being positioned at the peak of this rock formation, (see posted photo).
- Course easy to find off of I-94.
- I played at 11:00 AM on a Monday and was the only one on the course.
Cons: There was a suprising amount of trash on the course, especially considering the State Park location. It makes me kind of sad that people cannot even pick up after themselves in such a beautiful environment.

Blind shots were a bit difficult not having played the course before and without a map, I can see not knowing where you are throwing on the blind pin placements.

Other than that, if you don't like grasshoppers jumping/flying all around you and the potential to encounter snakes, this course is not meant for you.

Other Thoughts: $5 to enter course (worth every penny). I suggest printing the map off of this website as opposed to using the one at the ranger station as it is much more detailed and larger.

In my humble opinion, if you like disc golf and are ever near Glendive, you have to play Makoshika!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 stunning

7/13/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: At the base of the mountains in the Badlands, this course should be on everyone's wish list. The 2nd hole features a basket on a small Mesa, with 10-20' high straight sand walls all around it except for the climb path up. You have to land on top to have any chance at a putt. There are shots over and around washes, valleys, foots of mountains, and giant sand stone towers 80' tall. It uses only landscape of rocks and mountains for obstacles, with no trees.
Cons: Long pants necessary due to snakes, cacti, ticks. Dangerous for a little kid, can't push a cart here. No trees. Not very well marked, maps are provided but not at 7:00 am when I got there.
Other Thoughts: Must play, if not must see pictures of at least.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.