Malabar, FL
Malabar Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #5 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Much better than 2 stars!

1    3/26/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: ovar
Played: 66  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice cement tee pads - singnage on every hole - Varied hole lengths - Orange tape on baskets points to next hole - good mix of hyzer,straight,anhyzer - nice score cards with maps on them - WELL maintained by locals who put a lot of love into this place - a wheel you spin on whole 17 to decide what side of the mando you will throw, FUN!
Cons: Tightly laid out - criss crossing layout (watch out if crowded - no elevation change.
Other Thoughts: I spoke with some great locals and this course has come a long ways. It may have started out as a 1 or 2 star course but this is now a solid 3 star course. Much effort has been put into the maintenance and improvement of this course. I feel the admin should consider throwing out older reviews as they do not reflect the current state of the courese. A must play if in the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 i have mixed feelings

2-4    6/18/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Rufio601
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: 1.well i love how off the wall this course is. no waiting to tee off and its away from the road. i was the only person playing the course.
2. this course deffinitly requires a fairly skilled player the gaps you need to hit are very small and you only have certain ways to go.
3. very difficulty pin placements i absolutely love the challendge of this course.
Cons: 1. needs to be re-groomed for sure the course in deffinitly on the poor side of being kept up.
2. needs to have better signs for distance and routes to take. as well as better mapping to the next hole.
3. only a couple pads are concrete the rest are soft dirt and some carpet.
Other Thoughts: i think this course was a very fun course to play and glad i did. just needs to be better kept. i just moved here to sebastian and have bin playing for 2 and a half years. if i could get in contact with some more ppl that live this course and would like to help me rebiuld this course it would be appreciated thanks yall. message me if would like to help

 Finesse is Key

5+    2/28/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Jesterian
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 3/7/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course requires pin point accuracy and fairway management.
-Secluded, not part of a larger park.
-Close to a hospital, convenience store.
-Bathrooms across the street.
-Plenty of wild life ranging from deer to gopher tortoises.
-Friendly locals
-Wide variety of shots and shot possibilities on the various holes. There are righty and lefty holes, quite a few straight shots, and holes with two possible routes.
-Constant improvement as new pads are built often with funds from weekly random draw doubles at 9am every saturday.
-Signature double raised tee pad with a bench gives you some elevation to catch a breeze on hot days.
-Many "chill" spots with seating and shade.
Cons: -Course layout leaves something to be desired. There is tape on the bottom of each basket pointing to the next tee pad, which makes it easy to navigate. However there is quite a bit of cutting back to get to the next hole. This might be expected when shoving 18 holes onto 9 acres.
-There are some trees in fairways that obviously do not belong and make even a close to perfect shot a bit of a gamble.
-There are only 8 concrete tees thus far and some of the old dirt tee pads are dust bowls. 9 just received a carpet pad and there are at least 2-4 pads slated to go in within a few weeks.
-On two edges of the course there is very thick brush that may swallow a disc if you are not careful to keep an eye on it, or better yet keep it on the fairway. On another edge there are neighbors yards that you will need permission to retrieve a disc out of.
-Some parts of the brush within the course are also still quite thick.
-Because of how tight the course is there are quite a few mandos. I guess this may not be such a negative except that it cuts off a few routes on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and the only course in Palm Bay thus far. It was in its infancy about 5 years ago when I began disc golfing and has seen some amazing improvement in that time. While the course is challenging today, it was an absolute jungle when it was first put in and ate discs like crazy. Thanks to the help of various volunteers it is well groomed and has been scaled back in difficulty. It is still noticeably tougher than nearby Wickham Park in Melbourne as going off any of the fairways can absolutely wreck your game. They are also very complimentary as Wickham is more of a wide open, longer park, and this is a finesse course.

Don't let the other reviews confuse you as to whether this course is worth a visit. It is a gem and the closest parks that surpass it would be Barnett and Turkey Lake, all the way in Orlando.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.