Malabar, FL 
Malabar Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 233ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Malabar Disc Golf

1    12/26/2013   8/18/2014
Review By: craigd
Played: 95  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: Well my visit to the Malabar Disc Golf Course netted a fun round. It's packed into small park but it still managed to stretch itself out enough to incorporate a nice 18 hole course. The 5641-foot par 54 course plays through thick palm scrubs and tall pines. There is lots of wildlife with a good chance of seeing some big turtles during your round.

Given the available land, the designers did a good job turning a bland area into a good course. While there are no elevation changes to speak of, there are other design elements to keep it interesting. The larger palm/pine trees scattered throughout the park dictate the design as thoughtful basket placements fine-tune the holes. A reasonable variation of hole lengths pepper the course while a mix of turning shots keep it challenging. Two 9 hole loops bring you right back to the front of the course, which is always appreciated, especially if you want to run to your car for water or supplies half way through the round.

I loved the character of the course. There is just that feeling you get when a club takes ownership of a course and they add those special touches. Nothing has a particular professional feel to it but somehow you will hardly notice. A kiosk near the parking lot greets you while tee signs and next tee signs point the way. Even some unique tribal masks adorn the trees along with some totem poles in certain areas lending themselves to the overall vibe of the course. A really long elevated tee pad, which may remind you of a runway, is shared by holes twelve and seventeen and is a unique feature. On seventeen's side of the pad, you'll notice a "Spin O Mando" where you spin a wheel to discover which side of the split fairway you'll be required to play.
Cons: Losing a disc or at least spending a lot of time searching is likely out here at some point, especially if playing solo.

The course is nasty outside the fairways. First timers might struggle. From the tee, it is hard to see the rough. You can throw and then walk up and see that you're unintentionally in a bad spot to locate your disc. Of course, that translates into a bad spot to throw your next shot. Overall, I think the thick shule does a disservice and takes away from the potential fun on the course.
Other Thoughts: The course is worth the stop if you're in the area. If I play it again, I would prefer the play with a group to help one another look for discs.

There is a park across the street with bathrooms if needed. It also has other recreational activities for folks in your group (traveling families, etc.) who may not be interested in disc golf.


1    4/19/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Malabar was a lot tougher than I expected. Tight fairways with thick shule in abundance. Hit the lines here or be punished. I'm guessing that there are local routes, and ways to exploit the course if you know it well, since many of the obstacles are low brush, but playing the fairways as they are leads to a varied bunch of interesting lines. The best of them is probably 17. That tee is on a raised mound(12 shares the mound, but points in the other direction.) and the thrower is confronted with a choice of two paths: mirror images of each other, one goes left and the other right, but they both feature a narrow fairway and a wicked curve.

It's a strange layout, with multiple points where tees need to be walked by. I can definitely see where earlier reviewers could be confused. Without signs, this course would be a nightmare to navigate. However, the navigation aids are fantastic. Not only are you pointed in the right direction from the basket but there are many signs along the way. At every where confusion is possible, a sign is there. With all the winding around the paths between holes make, it's a really fun course to follow. I wonder how it plays when it's crowded though. I can't tell if it would be enhanced by all the times you walk past tees or if there would too much interference. For some reason I want to say it's a course that plays better in a large group but it's definitely a fun one either way.
Cons: Until you are familiar with the course and the landing zones, there will be some rough times. You will be digging through some pretty thick stuff for your discs. Unless you habitually scout, there will be places where you read the sign, see the fairway in front of you, throw a shot that curves nicely around the visible shule and to where you think you want to land for a run at a birdie, but upon walking to your disc, find that there is scrub where you thought there would be open field. Part of that is due to the tee signs, which are very vague but part of that is the nature of this type of course.

It's also one of those courses that has a limited range of abilities that it appeals to. Great players will be bored, since they will be able to go over the top of everything and there isn't much distance to make it challenging. Big sky hyzers will help you score well here, but they won't really be fun. Newer players will be frustrated quickly with the technical fairways and constantly putting discs into nasty stuff. Really, you can throw in to the scrub twenty feet in front of you and be left scratching your head, wondering how your disc disappeared. It's really only those in-between players that will and can play the lines as intended that will enjoy this course.
Other Thoughts: I saw six tortoises. That's a course record for me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 hard but cool course

1    7/10/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: jungolungo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course. All the work that was put into the place really shows. Lots of extras here; covered benches, concrete tee pads (one is "the longest tee pad on the planet"), and the brilliant "spin-o-mando" on 17. Also the grass was fresh cut.
Cons: Not for amateurs. Lots of thick brush to loose discs in. Some of the baskets were a bit confusing since there were a few in view at times.
Other Thoughts: All thing considered I loved the course and would play again and again. Only reason I didn't rate it better is because the brush is a bit too thick. Don't forget to check the time on hole 5 ;)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Much better than 2 stars!

1    3/26/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: ovar
Played: 75  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice cement tee pads - singnage on every hole - Varied hole lengths - Orange tape on baskets points to next hole - good mix of hyzer,straight,anhyzer - nice score cards with maps on them - WELL maintained by locals who put a lot of love into this place - a wheel you spin on whole 17 to decide what side of the mando you will throw, FUN!
Cons: Tightly laid out - criss crossing layout (watch out if crowded - no elevation change.
Other Thoughts: I spoke with some great locals and this course has come a long ways. It may have started out as a 1 or 2 star course but this is now a solid 3 star course. Much effort has been put into the maintenance and improvement of this course. I feel the admin should consider throwing out older reviews as they do not reflect the current state of the courese. A must play if in the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad ...

5+    3/16/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: Zigzaggler
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a good layout for the amount of land the park is built on.( and it is the only thing on the property) The course is typical Florida DG , lots of palmettos and lots of time spent looking for plastic if you are throwing solo...hahaha. The course is fun and poses a challenge, and for the lack of disc golf in the area it is not bad.
Cons: Not sure if any cons can be made due to the amount of parks in the area (3). It does get a bit crowded at times and the palmettos are a little out of control, but all in all it is descent golf.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Young course....

2-4    12/19/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: 21111
Played: 85  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes on 8 acres....don't expect to much. A fun play on the short side...lots of tight shoots and corridors

Accuracy is a must or your in for a long day
Errant shots have a high probability of being lost.

Overall nice use of the mandos creating a good flow. A little more land and it could be a real gem. . .
Cons: New tee signs maybe? A tad confusing first time through...a few different baskets visible most of the time.
Other Thoughts: The course seems to improve every time im there. all pads are now concrete as well.

I think the rating should be a little higher then whats been given so far. Alot of work has gone into making this course playable

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 i have mixed feelings

2-4    6/18/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Rufio601
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: 1.well i love how off the wall this course is. no waiting to tee off and its away from the road. i was the only person playing the course.
2. this course deffinitly requires a fairly skilled player the gaps you need to hit are very small and you only have certain ways to go.
3. very difficulty pin placements i absolutely love the challendge of this course.
Cons: 1. needs to be re-groomed for sure the course in deffinitly on the poor side of being kept up.
2. needs to have better signs for distance and routes to take. as well as better mapping to the next hole.
3. only a couple pads are concrete the rest are soft dirt and some carpet.
Other Thoughts: i think this course was a very fun course to play and glad i did. just needs to be better kept. i just moved here to sebastian and have bin playing for 2 and a half years. if i could get in contact with some more ppl that live this course and would like to help me rebiuld this course it would be appreciated thanks yall. message me if would like to help

 The rules of the Jungle apply...

1    4/9/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 15 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Good variety of distances (200' to 400'+)
2. Good challenge for variety of skill levels
3. Good variety of shots required to score well (FH, BH, Turnover, Hammer/Thumber, Sweeping Hyzer / Anhyzer)
4. Good use of limited changes in elevation
5. Multiple excellent concrete tee pads
6. Adequate signage with some Next Tee signs
7. Scorecards available at course bulletin board with accurate distances and course map
8. Adequate (and interesting) seating along the course
9. Good [and even fun (hole 17)] use of Mandos
Cons:
1. No on-site restroom facilities (and the bathrooms at the park across the road were closed, too!)
2. Fairways / holes are too close together and put players at risk if there are multiple groups
3. Confusing layout for first timer (even with maps and Next Tee signs it took some time to find some tee boxes)
4. Heavy brush / foliage makes for some difficulty in finding discs, especially on some of the longer holes
5. Tee signs do not have accurate distances
6. Some tee boxes are dirt (and hollowed out) making for some potentially dangerous throws
7. Inadequate number of trash receptacles
8. Rusty barbed wire fencing on ground on hole 17 right side of right fairway
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing Malabar's only disc golf course, and overall I found the course to be a reasonable representation of what a disc golf course should be... I found the course to be fairly technical, with multiple narrow fairways and a few holes where flight paths to the basket were very challenging (or required quite a bit of luck to get up there in 1). The brush and bushes were pretty thick in many areas, but with careful attention when teeing off you should be okay! I enjoyed the challenge and the variety of distances, along with some clever use of the limited changes in elevation. I felt the course was fairly balanced for right handed and left handed players (which probably means it favors righties!) ;-). I was surprised to find that many of the tee boxes were of a very nice concrete variety! Keep pouring those up, guys (especially on #10 and #17)... When I played, there were 2 other groups on the course (in addition to my 4 person and 2 dog group), and we found the layout to be pretty crowded and potentially dangerous (especially for people who don't know where they're going and may wander across another hole's fairway), so be wary! In my mind, if the remainder of the tee boxes are poured up and the Tee signs are updated to reflect the current distances, the course would move on up to "Good." So if you're in the area and have the itch to play a fairly long technical course (with bright discs or a spotter), hit this one up. It's a nice complement to Wickham park, which is more wide-open.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Finesse is Key

5+    2/28/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Jesterian
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/7/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course requires pin point accuracy and fairway management.
-Secluded, not part of a larger park.
-Close to a hospital, convenience store.
-Bathrooms across the street.
-Plenty of wild life ranging from deer to gopher tortoises.
-Friendly locals
-Wide variety of shots and shot possibilities on the various holes. There are righty and lefty holes, quite a few straight shots, and holes with two or more routes.
-Signature double raised tee pad with a bench gives you some elevation to catch a breeze on hot days.
-Many "chill" spots with seating and shade.
Cons: -Course layout leaves something to be desired. There is tape on the bottom of each basket pointing to the next tee pad, which makes it easy to navigate. However there is quite a bit of cutting back to get to the next hole. This might be expected when shoving 18 holes onto 9 acres.
-On two edges of the course there is very thick brush that may swallow a disc if you are not careful to keep an eye on it, or better yet keep it on the fairway. On another edge there are neighbors yards that you will need permission to retrieve a disc out of.
-Some parts of the brush within the course are also still quite thick.
-Because of how tight the course is there are quite a few mandos. I guess this may not be such a negative except that it cuts off a few routes on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and the only course in Palm Bay thus far. It was in its infancy about 5 years ago when I began disc golfing and has seen some amazing improvement in that time. While the course is challenging today, it was an absolute jungle when it was first put in and ate discs like crazy. Thanks to the help of various volunteers it is well groomed and has been scaled back in difficulty. It is still noticeably tougher than nearby Wickham Park in Melbourne as going off any of the fairways can absolutely wreck your game. They are also very complimentary as Wickham is more of a wide open, longer park, and this is a finesse course.

Don't let the other reviews confuse you as to whether this course is worth a visit. It is a gem and the closest parks that surpass it would be Barnett and Turkey Lake, all the way in Orlando.

*update* So it's been a few years and the course has only gotten better. The bushes are a little better cleared out courtesy of hard working locals. There are pads on every hole. After playing many courses across the country, I still come back here and enjoy my rounds. Why? Because this course calls for a wide variety of shots on tight fairways. It makes you a better player, every time you play it. It still eats more plastic than your standard course, but you can't help but love playing it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  My local course

5+    11/15/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: Tkonnova
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Quiet and never busy
* Heavy woods/palmetto pushing accuracy and variety of throws.
* Hospital right down the road, and park across street with restrooms.
* Very natural, raw, and peacefull
Cons: * Not very polished, occasionally mowed
* Those palmettos will tear your legs up on lost discs (thankfully the hospital is right down the road lol)
* Difficult to learn course layout (until you play many times)
Other Thoughts: This is my local course, and i wouldn't have it any less wooded or more popular. You may see 1 other person golfing at any time, and its so wooded it feels like a walk in the forest.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.