Malabar, FL
Malabar Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #17 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 hard but cool course

1    7/10/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: jungolungo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course. All the work that was put into the place really shows. Lots of extras here; covered benches, concrete tee pads (one is "the longest tee pad on the planet"), and the brilliant "spin-o-mando" on 17. Also the grass was fresh cut.
Cons: Not for amateurs. Lots of thick brush to loose discs in. Some of the baskets were a bit confusing since there were a few in view at times.
Other Thoughts: All thing considered I loved the course and would play again and again. Only reason I didn't rate it better is because the brush is a bit too thick. Don't forget to check the time on hole 5 ;)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Much better than 2 stars!

1    3/26/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: ovar
Played: 66  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice cement tee pads - singnage on every hole - Varied hole lengths - Orange tape on baskets points to next hole - good mix of hyzer,straight,anhyzer - nice score cards with maps on them - WELL maintained by locals who put a lot of love into this place - a wheel you spin on whole 17 to decide what side of the mando you will throw, FUN!
Cons: Tightly laid out - criss crossing layout (watch out if crowded - no elevation change.
Other Thoughts: I spoke with some great locals and this course has come a long ways. It may have started out as a 1 or 2 star course but this is now a solid 3 star course. Much effort has been put into the maintenance and improvement of this course. I feel the admin should consider throwing out older reviews as they do not reflect the current state of the courese. A must play if in the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad ...

5+    3/16/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: Zigzaggler
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a good layout for the amount of land the park is built on.( and it is the only thing on the property) The course is typical Florida DG , lots of palmettos and lots of time spent looking for plastic if you are throwing solo...hahaha. The course is fun and poses a challenge, and for the lack of disc golf in the area it is not bad.
Cons: Not sure if any cons can be made due to the amount of parks in the area (3). It does get a bit crowded at times and the palmettos are a little out of control, but all in all it is descent golf.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Young course....

2-4    12/19/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: 21111
Played: 78  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes on 8 acres....don't expect to much. A fun play on the short side...lots of tight shoots and corridors

Accuracy is a must or your in for a long day
Errant shots have a high probability of being lost.

Overall nice use of the mandos creating a good flow. A little more land and it could be a real gem. . .
Cons: New tee signs maybe? A tad confusing first time through...a few different baskets visible most of the time.
Other Thoughts: The course seems to improve every time im there. all pads are now concrete as well.

I think the rating should be a little higher then whats been given so far. Alot of work has gone into making this course playable

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 i have mixed feelings

2-4    6/18/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Rufio601
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: 1.well i love how off the wall this course is. no waiting to tee off and its away from the road. i was the only person playing the course.
2. this course deffinitly requires a fairly skilled player the gaps you need to hit are very small and you only have certain ways to go.
3. very difficulty pin placements i absolutely love the challendge of this course.
Cons: 1. needs to be re-groomed for sure the course in deffinitly on the poor side of being kept up.
2. needs to have better signs for distance and routes to take. as well as better mapping to the next hole.
3. only a couple pads are concrete the rest are soft dirt and some carpet.
Other Thoughts: i think this course was a very fun course to play and glad i did. just needs to be better kept. i just moved here to sebastian and have bin playing for 2 and a half years. if i could get in contact with some more ppl that live this course and would like to help me rebiuld this course it would be appreciated thanks yall. message me if would like to help

 The rules of the Jungle apply...

1    4/9/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Good variety of distances (200' to 400'+)
2. Good challenge for variety of skill levels
3. Good variety of shots required to score well (FH, BH, Turnover, Hammer/Thumber, Sweeping Hyzer / Anhyzer)
4. Good use of limited changes in elevation
5. Multiple excellent concrete tee pads
6. Adequate signage with some Next Tee signs
7. Scorecards available at course bulletin board with accurate distances and course map
8. Adequate (and interesting) seating along the course
9. Good [and even fun (hole 17)] use of Mandos
Cons:
1. No on-site restroom facilities (and the bathrooms at the park across the road were closed, too!)
2. Fairways / holes are too close together and put players at risk if there are multiple groups
3. Confusing layout for first timer (even with maps and Next Tee signs it took some time to find some tee boxes)
4. Heavy brush / foliage makes for some difficulty in finding discs, especially on some of the longer holes
5. Tee signs do not have accurate distances
6. Some tee boxes are dirt (and hollowed out) making for some potentially dangerous throws
7. Inadequate number of trash receptacles
8. Rusty barbed wire fencing on ground on hole 17 right side of right fairway
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing Malabar's only disc golf course, and overall I found the course to be a reasonable representation of what a disc golf course should be... I found the course to be fairly technical, with multiple narrow fairways and a few holes where flight paths to the basket were very challenging (or required quite a bit of luck to get up there in 1). The brush and bushes were pretty thick in many areas, but with careful attention when teeing off you should be okay! I enjoyed the challenge and the variety of distances, along with some clever use of the limited changes in elevation. I felt the course was fairly balanced for right handed and left handed players (which probably means it favors righties!) ;-). I was surprised to find that many of the tee boxes were of a very nice concrete variety! Keep pouring those up, guys (especially on #10 and #17)... When I played, there were 2 other groups on the course (in addition to my 4 person and 2 dog group), and we found the layout to be pretty crowded and potentially dangerous (especially for people who don't know where they're going and may wander across another hole's fairway), so be wary! In my mind, if the remainder of the tee boxes are poured up and the Tee signs are updated to reflect the current distances, the course would move on up to "Good." So if you're in the area and have the itch to play a fairly long technical course (with bright discs or a spotter), hit this one up. It's a nice complement to Wickham park, which is more wide-open.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Finesse is Key

5+    2/28/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Jesterian
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 3/7/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course requires pin point accuracy and fairway management.
-Secluded, not part of a larger park.
-Close to a hospital, convenience store.
-Bathrooms across the street.
-Plenty of wild life ranging from deer to gopher tortoises.
-Friendly locals
-Wide variety of shots and shot possibilities on the various holes. There are righty and lefty holes, quite a few straight shots, and holes with two possible routes.
-Constant improvement as new pads are built often with funds from weekly random draw doubles at 9am every saturday.
-Signature double raised tee pad with a bench gives you some elevation to catch a breeze on hot days.
-Many "chill" spots with seating and shade.
Cons: -Course layout leaves something to be desired. There is tape on the bottom of each basket pointing to the next tee pad, which makes it easy to navigate. However there is quite a bit of cutting back to get to the next hole. This might be expected when shoving 18 holes onto 9 acres.
-There are some trees in fairways that obviously do not belong and make even a close to perfect shot a bit of a gamble.
-There are only 8 concrete tees thus far and some of the old dirt tee pads are dust bowls. 9 just received a carpet pad and there are at least 2-4 pads slated to go in within a few weeks.
-On two edges of the course there is very thick brush that may swallow a disc if you are not careful to keep an eye on it, or better yet keep it on the fairway. On another edge there are neighbors yards that you will need permission to retrieve a disc out of.
-Some parts of the brush within the course are also still quite thick.
-Because of how tight the course is there are quite a few mandos. I guess this may not be such a negative except that it cuts off a few routes on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and the only course in Palm Bay thus far. It was in its infancy about 5 years ago when I began disc golfing and has seen some amazing improvement in that time. While the course is challenging today, it was an absolute jungle when it was first put in and ate discs like crazy. Thanks to the help of various volunteers it is well groomed and has been scaled back in difficulty. It is still noticeably tougher than nearby Wickham Park in Melbourne as going off any of the fairways can absolutely wreck your game. They are also very complimentary as Wickham is more of a wide open, longer park, and this is a finesse course.

Don't let the other reviews confuse you as to whether this course is worth a visit. It is a gem and the closest parks that surpass it would be Barnett and Turkey Lake, all the way in Orlando.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  My local course

5+    11/15/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: Tkonnova
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Quiet and never busy
* Heavy woods/palmetto pushing accuracy and variety of throws.
* Hospital right down the road, and park across street with restrooms.
* Very natural, raw, and peacefull
Cons: * Not very polished, occasionally mowed
* Those palmettos will tear your legs up on lost discs (thankfully the hospital is right down the road lol)
* Difficult to learn course layout (until you play many times)
Other Thoughts: This is my local course, and i wouldn't have it any less wooded or more popular. You may see 1 other person golfing at any time, and its so wooded it feels like a walk in the forest.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 bad

2-4    2/5/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: DarrenFL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: its tough and never crowded.
Cons: a lotttt of trees! A lot of times i found myself shooting for the wrong basket because when teeing off there will be 2 baskets right next to each other. its a very confusing course to play.
Other Thoughts: gave it its fair chances of tries and wouldn't want to play again

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bad Design

2-4    3/10/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: Ishulebest
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A player must throw with pin point accuracy. The only use for the land is the course, no other park users wandering in the fairways.
Cons: Course is too long for the land it sits on. This causes alot of confusion as to which pin your are actually throwing to.I think it was from tee pad 10, I could see 3 baskets relatively close to each other. Hole 12(I think) and 17 tee pads share the same man made elevated hill, going in opposite directions. Alot of thick brush throughout the course to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: Re-design and shorten up some holes would be the best thing for this course. Can't have any trny. play, or even weekly events at this cousre unless you limit it to 20 people, because any more than that, would cause massive back ups. I still can't make sense of two tee pads on the same small hill, a terrible concept, which really defines how bad this course design is. This by far is the worst course I have ever played. You'll have more fun slicing your legs up with a razor blade and wading through a pool of rubbing alcohol.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.