Red River, NM 
Mallette Park Share
Uploaded By: sensei Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Disrepair

1    7/20/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: knaaker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The wonderful mountain scenery is the backdrop for this compact course. The park was easy to find and was walking distance from downtown. Baskets were in good condition and well marked.
Cons: The tee "pads" were difficult to locate. Hole 3's tee and signs were not even pointed in the correct direction. I assume they moved the basket for safety reasons since it used to be on the side of steep hill. Could not find the tee or the sign for hole 4. The baskets for hole 8 and 9 were missing.
Other Thoughts: The local sporting good store is on the corner down the street. They are a pretty decent selection of discs at reasonable prices.
The gravel road that goes past this park is the main output for all the four-wheeler trails. I saw hundreds of people on quads go by, making it loud and dusty.

 Family Fun on the Mountian

5+    8/16/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: Crazy Fast Ford
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free and very easy to get to, it is in the Red River City park. Great use of the area. The elevated tees are a blast and give a great feeling of throwing longer than normal. Can camp right up the road from the park and ride ATV's to the park to play.
Cons: Only Nine holes but close to a second nine on top of the mountain. The last hole is a little tuff because you have to throw past the play areas in the park making it hard to play this hole if anyone else is in the park. We have yet to be able to play from the Tee box. We have had to shorten the hole up to ensure we did not hit anyone.
Other Thoughts: Bike shop down the road has maps, discs and are helpful. We found some good places to walk to for lunch before playing the course over again for our second nine.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 To this date, best 9 holer I've ever played.

1    7/19/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in the resort town of Red River, NM, Mallette Creek Park DGC was one of the most spectacular scenery I can imagine experiencing while playing a round of disc golf. The park is located in a tiny valley, bordered by mountains on both sides. The area available has been used extremely well, using some elevation to make this course truely unique.

The course is equipped with Mach 5 baskets, rubber tee pads at most boxes, unique tee signs depicting distance, par and simple line from tee to pin. Dual tees on most, labeled Pro/Am on tee signs.

Very good use of elevation, creeks, OB and trees. Tight lines created throughout the course adds a substantial degree of difficulty. Interesting tee placements add to the difficulty.

Although being a very tough course I have to say that this may have been one of my more enjoyable beat downs of all time. Crisp, clean air, mountains everywhere and so many sights will keep you in awe.

Park also offers other ammenities. Basketball and tennis court, sand volleyball court, small skate park, playground and other hiking and trail related activities. Port-O-Johns on site.
Cons: Few cons, which would not deter me from playing here whatsoever.

Every inch of available park space is used, which leaves some baskets rather close to the next tee, or an instance or two where holes overlap by basket and next tee. This con doesn't seem to be much of an issue as this course is probably not ever crowded.

No trash cans located on site. Only saw a piece of litter or two through my round here which I snagged and dumped later, but the course seems to be respected and appeared very clean.

The basketball court comes very much in play on hole #4, which is accompanied by a 8' tall chain link fence. This hole would have been my "hole of the course" if it wasn't for the obstruction.

This course is tough to navigate and would definately be helpful if you are carrying a map. Had to replay a hole because we shot at the wrong basket. Also started on hole 3 because we couldn't find 1 or 2.

My last con, which might be the biggest one, is that this course is in a location where most will not get to enjoy its splendor. Red River is a resort town in the mountains of New Mexico, and really isn't on the way to most places. But if you are in the area, definately try to play a quick 9 out here.
Other Thoughts: This was a remarkable 9 hole course. Plenty of picture opportunities. The park is at an elevation of 8,750 feet, so if you spend most of your time close to sea level make sure you take your time or the terrain will get the better of you.

The course is easy to find, located two blocks off of main street down Mallette Rd. If you are coming from outside of town to play this course be prepared to absorb all of the natural beauty there is to take in on the way.

This course is not at all easy. A very technical course requires plenty of diffferent shots and lines, but was still a pleasant time. This course gets my highest raiting for a 9 holer to date, at 3.5.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

1    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: sensei
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, demanding shots, challenging terrain.
Cons: Nature limits the course to 9 beautiful holes.
Other Thoughts: Play this one alone and enjoy the solitude on the back 4. These holes are about as close as you can get to pristine on a disc golf course so please pack in your trash and any you come across.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

2-4    8/10/2008   5/10/2009
Review By: skipbo1
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like the design and course layout.
Cons: the park can get busy with people and they get in your way on some of the holes. Its hard to find your way around, make sure you get a map.
Other Thoughts: i have heard that they are building a new 18 hole course on top of the mountain.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Red River

1    3/20/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: djkeyzer
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course layout in a narrow canyon, part of it is through the woods. Baskets were in pretty good shape even though they had been through the winter.
Cons: Some tee boxes are hard to find. #1 is close to the kiddee play area. Be careful. Only nine holes, but with multiple tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: We were there for a ski week, and the disk golf was a fun apre ski activity. Some of the course was snowy and/or muddy, but it was interesting with the changes in elevation. Scenery is incredible.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.