Storm Lake, IA 
Mandeville Park Share
Uploaded By: DerekTonn Hole #3 (Taken 3/2014)
4 / 465ft.   4 / 465ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun and close to my hotel

5+    1/13/2014   1/14/2014
Review By: bils247
Played: 50  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Have seen Bald Eagles and Great horned owls while playing at this park!!!
Good course plan- end near beginning
Cement tees are nicely aligned to the holes
City maintained, clean park
HOI's possible on several holes even for beginners
A nice variety of shots can be used for birdie opportunities
A couple of open, moderate length holes for power shots
Cons: Watch where you are going, although the city personnel do a nice job of maintaining the course, there are often ankle rolling opportunities around every corner....smaller logs, larger branch pieces as the city does tree maintenance.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to incorporate some of the wooded are to the East to add a few more holes...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mandeville Park

5+    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: Hawk4Real
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Nice Tee's. Nice Signs. Easy to navigate.
Short course, quick to play.
Decent Parking. Nice Map.
Gets played a lot by locals.
Cons: Holes 6,7,8 have a lot of weeds In the rough and you may have to search for your disc.
Short Course, not much distance.
Flat elevation.
Other Thoughts: Although holes 6,7,8 have a lot of weeds they are definitely the funnest holes.
Holes 2,3,9 are pretty boring.

 

1    6/2/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: JaminLDC
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.1 Years
Pros: Quite a bit of variety with it being only a nine hole course. Most of the holes have a lot of tall trees which gives some challenge. They also offer score cards but need to keep it filled because I didnt see any.
Cons: The first 5 holes are maintained but the last four definitely need some weed spraying. If you have an errant throw you'll be looking through a lot of tall weeds. Also the signs don't really give the appropriate perspective of the hole. If you've never played the course it might take 5 minutes to find the basket before teeing off.
Other Thoughts: Overall a tricky quick course to add to your list. I did manage to hit an ace on hole #7 my first time out.

 Short little Practice Course

5+    5/27/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: noobie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
Pros: 1. Easy intuitive layout.
2. Some variety of shots, especially for a nine hole course.
3. Local camping, swimming, water sports, water park.
4. relatively well thought out for the area they were given.
5. Well maintained and clean with cut fairways when needed.
Pro/Con: Quick rounds - 20 minutes solo
Cons: 1. 9 holes
2. Small area for the 9 holes to use. I think they did a good job with what they had, but just needed more area.
3. Baskets are super weird. I don't think I have seen anything like them. The bottom basket is tall, thick, with a larger than normal diameter. The chains are really stiff which seems to lead to a lot of spit outs.
4. Short shots.
5. The hole three on the course map is not a hole. The teepad is present but no basket that I could find. There were still 9 holes so apparently they added one somewhere else.
6. No tee signs. maybe still a work in progress?
Other Thoughts: overall it is ok. they could have done better with more room. i think the designer should be commended on doing what he/she did with what he/she had. If they could talk someone into letting them expand into the woods next to it and add maybe three more holes and space out the ones they had or even go to an 18 if enough room that would be great. I would not specifically come here to play a round unless I lived here in Storm Lake.

 What to do with some leftover ground?

1    7/24/2006   7/10/2009
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Varied shot shapes available
-Lots of trees to throw around
-Sturdy baskets
Cons: -Pretty rough in the wooded area
-Signage wasn't very discriptive
Other Thoughts: This was a product of Storm Lake's recent revitalization of its lake shore. Unfortunately, the space used for the course is located in whatever space was left over from all the more important elements of the park. For the most part, the course is quite wooded with two holes of considerable length playing out and back in a more open field. Baskets are non-commercial but are similar to the DGA Mach 5 and seem to be larger than PDGA spec. When I visited, the course was quite new and fairways were quite rough. Lots of ground level shrubs and weeds provide both obstacles to throw around and to lose discs in. Fortunately, most of the holes are on the short side, so spotting discs isn't too difficult.

In summary, if you ever find yourself in Storm Lake, you'll play this course once to add to your "Courses Played" list but for no other reason than that.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.