Palatine, IL 
Margreth Riemer Reservoir Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #8 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 331ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Palatine Course

1    5/17/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Putting a disc golf course in this area was a great idea, the land is definitely great for it. There's a lot of elevation change here and I had a good time playing it. The course flows very, very well and I didn't lose anytime looking for the next tee.
Cons: It'd probably just be easiest to list these:
- Watch out for the red-winged blackbirds. I was attacked at the first tee by one of these little kamikaze bastards. They're the most aggressive bird I've ever seen.
- The lakes that this course play through are kind of gross looking and polluted and that gives this course a sort of gloomy vibe
- The grass is pretty high in the rough which makes it pretty painful to look for bad drives.
- There's only 9 holes when this course could easily be expanded to several more.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go out of your way to play this course. It was a nice break from driving for me but I don't necessarily know if I'd go back and play it again. This course doesn't really offer any signature memorable holes, but if you have an hour to kill and you're in the area, you might as well check it out. :)

EDIT: Updated an old 2.0 rating to 3.0 because of the nine new baskets. I haven't played it with the new nine yet though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Time

1    9/10/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic park, and great elevation change. Many holes seemed wide open and easy to birdie/eagle, but wind and a few well placed trees added more difficulty than expected. Designers could have used the elevation a bit more but I think it was used solidly. The wind can make the holes seem longer then they are. Favorite hole was either 2 or 5. Two seems short but it is easy to shank your tee shot; the hole is flat for about 100ft, but then drops at about a 45 degree angle for the last 150 to the pin. Even keeping your tee shot down wont prevent it from ending up wide left or right depending on how you throw. Five is a dogleg that plays a bit more tricky then it looks. For rhbh players you have to choose to either drive straight at the pin or hyzer it around a tree, both shots are great risk/reward.
Cons: Could be a little longer and use the elevation more. It would also be nice to see more trees put in around the course to make it a bit more difficult.
Other Thoughts: Playing this course at 6:30pm and the temperature at 65, I had a great time playing. The rough wasn't as bad as some people have reported, although I think this is because I played later in the season and it was trampled down a bit. There are some very fun holes and with a little work this course could be a lot better.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scotish Frolfing

1    7/1/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: Seananagins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If your looking for a good challenge, this is the course for you. It has a great layout and the designer new what he was doing. The fairways are never more than 15 or 20 feet wide.
Cons: Grass up to your waist everywhere other than the fairways makes it incredibly difficult to find your disk if you don't pay close attention to where it went in.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for the early weeks of the season, then it gets incredibly buggy and grassy. Wear long pants and bug repellent.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 windy all the time!

10/25/2006   11/26/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: fun lunchtime course. Was right around the corner from Motorola campus. variety of terrain makes it interesting.
Cons: Watch where your disc goes! if you have an errant throw the shwag on the sides is just about the thickest I've seen
Other Thoughts: Trying to get my boss to send me back to Schaumburg for more classes so I can play on all your fun courses!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.