Palatine, IL 
Margreth Riemer Reservoir Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #5 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good course but great for the area

2-4    11/26/2013   11/27/2013
Review By: tombrinkman01
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Only 18-hole course in the area
- Holes well marked and easy to follow
- Fairways well kept
- Baskets in good condition.
Cons: This is a fairly short course, with few obstacles. Previous reviewer is correct that in 5-10 years, when the small trees grow in, it should add challenges to an otherwise straightforward and simple course.
Other Thoughts: Stay on the fairways and your round will go quickly. Stray from the fairways and the tall grass will eat up your discs. ... Went on a day with 10-15 mph winds in the area. But with how open this course is and with the wind off the small lake, wind felt much worse. ... If you're in town, this is a must play -- it's the best course in the area. But please temper your expectations because the courses in the area are pretty weak.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

different from other Chi area courses

1    7/21/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 116  Reviewed: 19
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the reviews of this course were written on the front 9 only. But it is now 18 holes -- the back 9 just went in a couple weeks before I played it and are currently natural tees. There are a lot of smaller trees that don't add much to the challenge at the moment, but in 5-10 years, the trees on this course will be substantial obstacles. The back 9 has several really nice holes, I especially liked 11, 13, and 16. 11 is a big downhill shot with some obstructions to the drive and a narrow landing zone, and on a windy day this could be really tough. 13 is a long straight shot on a side-sloped fairway, with a right turning approach at the very end -- this one had a unique feel to it. Hole 16 was an sharply uphill dog-leg right with a thick row of trees defining the dogleg; this one played a lot longer than it is, and it was the toughest 3 on the course IMO.

The high grass presents a significant hazard on several holes, and helps define some fairways nicely. Not hard to throw out of, but could take some time to find discs. If the high grass was played as OB, it would be a really technical course.

One of the biggest pros for this course is that it offers really significant elevation change, and from what I've seen that is pretty rare for Chicago area disc golf.
Cons: There are quite a few holes in the 240-280 range, especially in the front 9, where there is not as much variety as the newer back 9 holes.

There are not enough big trees on this course, but this will develop over time.

A couple of blind baskets is kinda cool, and you expect it on par 4 doglegs. But this course had several blind shots, and it gets annoying when the baskets are blind on par 3 holes, for no apparent reason.

There are no true par 4 holes on this course.
Other Thoughts: When I was there, something had died in the brush by hole 12 and 14 baskets, OMG the stench on a 90 degree day was freakin horrible, even with the wind.

I give this course a bonus +0.5 because the Chicago area has so many bad courses, this one is pretty solid by comparison. If it were located in an area that had better courses I might give it a 3.0, but I am giving it a 3.5.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Expanded to 18

5+    7/18/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 83  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Considering the lack of trees in the park, the course is fairly challenging. The best feature of this course is the use of elevation changes, holes 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, 12, 15, and 16 all feature it.

Some of the holes use elevation to keep you on the fairway, or you pay the price. Holes 4, 5 & 6 play along the reservoir's fairly steep bank, and a bad shot off the tee can have your disc rolling all the way down to the bottom. Holes 7 & 8 also have a steep bank along side the hole, but it's not as tricky to negotiate.

The new holes on the north side of the street play around the sled hill. For the most part they're more of the same, but better thought out than the first nine. The few trees that are around are used effectively to make the holes as challenging as possibly. Holes 11, 12, 15 and 17 are the stand out fun holes for me. On a number of the new holes you can't see the basket from the tee and that will make your first time through the new holes a bit tricky. Hole 15 tees from the top of the sled hill providing an opportunity to go big with a large landing area near the bottom of the hill. The view from the top on a clear day is also amazing.
Cons: Palatine's park department is too miserly with the mowing of the grass. Most of the fairways are 15' to 30' wide with tall grass as a border. The first time through the new holes took me a long time due to searching for discs in the grass. Even with a spotter it took upwards of fifteen minutes to find a disc that I saw land in the 3 to 4 foot tall grass. This isn't a park to play alone.

If Palatine would keep the grass in check this course would be a lot more fun to casually play. THe long grass needs a mowing at least every few months. As it stands the course is going to eat discs unless you're patient and keep a watchful eye on where your disc lands.
Other Thoughts: If you play the long grass OB it's insanely technical.

The baskets are inexplicably pulled for 6 months of the year. I can understand three months, maybe, but half the year is too long to go without this course being playable. Especially when the long grass is most manageable in the early spring.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Growing Up - Updated 7/12/2013

5+    6/16/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 98  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In my reviews I normally try to write just enough to be descriptive and helpful. For this course, my home course, I hope readers can tolerate a bit more.

Margreth Riemer Disc Golf Course has just been expanded to 18 holes. I may be biased because I have been working on the expansion for several years, but I truly believe that once tee-pads are in and the back nine is "broken in" a bit more that this course will be one of the best in the Northern Suburbs and will be a true 3.5 rated course.

But that's an opinion subject to debate. What can't be debated are the facts.

*The scenery here is unlike any course in the area. From hole 15's teepad on the hill you can see all of Palatine and can even see the Chicago skyline on a clear day. The hill is one of my favorite places to be because it's such a great view!

(Okay that was more of an opinion, now onto the facts)

*This course is the only course in the area where elevation drastically comes into play on just about every hole on the course

*There is a huge variety of distances in the hole lengths ranging from just under 200' to the upper 400's and everywhere in between.

*Even though the park is busy, the course is well isolated and other park users don't come into play. A lot of park district run courses in the Chicago area are cramped... not the case here. The course is sprawled out over an 85 acre park.

*Walking through this course is quite a workout... the hilly terrain makes for great exercise.

The obvious signature hole on the course is hole 15... a huge 420-ish foot bomb down a giant hill. But holes 2, 8, 11, and 16 are also epic holes that would fit right in on high caliber courses.

Since its installation in 2004, the front nine has not been super popular among the DG community, mostly because it does not have nearly as many trees as is often preferred, making for a relatively easy round. Now, however, the challenging back nine compliments the "warmup" front nine nicely.
Cons: This course is not perfect, and it never will be. The underlying "con" of the course as a whole is the dismal state of the roughs. It can get very very long and can eat up discs unless you watch carefully and use a spotter. It's very unpleasant to walk through and I hate it! The Park District will never go wrong with mowing more here.

Also,

*Most disc golfers, myself included, enjoy trees. There aren't a whole lot of them here!
The dearth of trees means there's not much shade on hot Summer days, and a round of 18 holes can be pretty grueling.
Other Thoughts: I think this review will be lost in the reviews since it was originally an older one, but that's okay. Hopefully some people will see it and find it helpful.

As I mentioned earlier, once the back nine of this course is broken in a little it should be a great Chicagoland destination course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.