Palatine, IL 
Margreth Riemer Reservoir Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #7 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good course but great for the area

2-4    11/26/2013   11/27/2013
Review By: tombrinkman01
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Only 18-hole course in the area
- Holes well marked and easy to follow
- Fairways well kept
- Baskets in good condition.
Cons: This is a fairly short course, with few obstacles. Previous reviewer is correct that in 5-10 years, when the small trees grow in, it should add challenges to an otherwise straightforward and simple course.
Other Thoughts: Stay on the fairways and your round will go quickly. Stray from the fairways and the tall grass will eat up your discs. ... Went on a day with 10-15 mph winds in the area. But with how open this course is and with the wind off the small lake, wind felt much worse. ... If you're in town, this is a must play -- it's the best course in the area. But please temper your expectations because the courses in the area are pretty weak.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

different from other Chi area courses

1    7/21/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 116  Reviewed: 19
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the reviews of this course were written on the front 9 only. But it is now 18 holes -- the back 9 just went in a couple weeks before I played it and are currently natural tees. There are a lot of smaller trees that don't add much to the challenge at the moment, but in 5-10 years, the trees on this course will be substantial obstacles. The back 9 has several really nice holes, I especially liked 11, 13, and 16. 11 is a big downhill shot with some obstructions to the drive and a narrow landing zone, and on a windy day this could be really tough. 13 is a long straight shot on a side-sloped fairway, with a right turning approach at the very end -- this one had a unique feel to it. Hole 16 was an sharply uphill dog-leg right with a thick row of trees defining the dogleg; this one played a lot longer than it is, and it was the toughest 3 on the course IMO.

The high grass presents a significant hazard on several holes, and helps define some fairways nicely. Not hard to throw out of, but could take some time to find discs. If the high grass was played as OB, it would be a really technical course.

One of the biggest pros for this course is that it offers really significant elevation change, and from what I've seen that is pretty rare for Chicago area disc golf.
Cons: There are quite a few holes in the 240-280 range, especially in the front 9, where there is not as much variety as the newer back 9 holes.

There are not enough big trees on this course, but this will develop over time.

A couple of blind baskets is kinda cool, and you expect it on par 4 doglegs. But this course had several blind shots, and it gets annoying when the baskets are blind on par 3 holes, for no apparent reason.

There are no true par 4 holes on this course.
Other Thoughts: When I was there, something had died in the brush by hole 12 and 14 baskets, OMG the stench on a 90 degree day was freakin horrible, even with the wind.

I give this course a bonus +0.5 because the Chicago area has so many bad courses, this one is pretty solid by comparison. If it were located in an area that had better courses I might give it a 3.0, but I am giving it a 3.5.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Expanded to 18

5+    7/18/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 83  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Considering the lack of trees in the park, the course is fairly challenging. The best feature of this course is the use of elevation changes, holes 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, 12, 15, and 16 all feature it. If you are looking for experience playing on hills there's really nothing like Margreth Riemer in the area. The lack of trees makes playing the hills a bit easier but the course is also more susceptible to wind because of it. The resulting experience that a disc golfer gets at this park is unique in this part of Illinois.

Some of the holes use elevation to keep you on the fairway, or you pay the price. Holes 4, 5 & 6 play along the reservoir's fairly steep bank, and a bad shot off the tee can have your disc rolling all the way down to the bottom. Holes 7 & 8 also have a steep bank along side the hole, but it's not as tricky to negotiate.

The new holes on the north side of the street play around the sled hill. For the most part they're more of the same, but better thought out than the first nine. The few trees that are around are used effectively to make the holes as challenging as possibly. Holes 11, 12, 15 and 17 are the stand out fun holes for me. On a number of the new holes you can't see the basket from the tee and that will make your first time through the new holes a bit tricky. Hole 15 tees from the top of the sled hill providing an opportunity to go big with a large landing area near the bottom of the hill. The view from the top on a clear day is also amazing.

As the trees in this park mature, the new nine holes are going to improve. Holes 11 and 18 stand to improve the most as they age with loads of well placed small trees right now.

Previously my review of this course cited the poor mowing as a serious downside to playing here. This course is about ten minutes from my house but I've hardly played it this year. After spending more time looking for discs in long grass then playing last year I'd stopped going and would drive further to Shady Oaks or Black Bear. The other week I gave Margreth Riemer another try and boy have things changed. The parks department is now mowing the course to maintain 'tournament conditions' and the previously miserly fairways are now realistic for players of the sport. In the past two times I've played the course with these mow lines I've only once gone into the rough. This is such a vast improvement that I'm re-writing this review and upping my rating.
Cons: Everything isn't perfect in this park. As with all multi-use parks you have to share with other people in the park. For the most part this hasn't really been an issue except for two distinct types of park visitors.

First, the park seems to attract the most selfish mountain bikers I've ever come across. These folks pay absolutely no attention to anyone else in the park other than themselves. I've been on the tee about to drive and had a mountain biker zip past me right into the fairway without any notice. A few milliseconds later and that cyclist would have had a disc hit her smack in the head. I've had to wait for mountain bikers while they circle trees oblivious to the fact that they're on a hole that a group is playing. I've been pushed off paths as a group of mountain bikers plow through. I haven't seen this behavior in other area parks; just in Palatine.

The second group is dog owners who don't leash their dogs. Again I've been on a tee waiting to drive and had to wait even longer due to some dog owner chasing after their loose dogs right into the fairway. I've had discs chewed by loose dogs and the owners don't care. The park rules are pretty clear about leashing pets, and most park visitors do, but the ones that don't definitely detract from enjoying the course.
Other Thoughts: The baskets are inexplicably pulled for 6 months of the year. I can understand three months, maybe, but half the year is too long to go without this course being playable. Especially when the long grass is most manageable in the early spring.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Reservoir Course

2-4    7/27/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located on a large hill with two ponds at the bottom.

Uses elevation fairly well.

Good signs, tee pads, and baskets.

Good practice in wind, as it is a open course with few trees.

Uses punishing rough on sides of fairway to force better throws from the tee.
Cons: Rough can be very thick and underestimated when playing. Makes looking for even a slightly poor throw take longer than it should. Always look where it goes.

Pretty open and fairly short course with little obstacles between you and the hole.
Other Thoughts: It is an interesting place to play and it does well with the land it is on. Overall it is an average 9 hole course, but I may stop by now and again to play a round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Simple at First Glance

5+    7/14/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Tom_rrsh
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well defined fairways, excellent signage, and good use of change of elevation .
Cons: Can be overly windy, no trees (for shade or for obstacles), a walking/jogging/biking path winds through the course so you do have to be very mindful of pedestrians/joggers/cyclists. Very tall and very thick grass on either side of the fairway can make it difficult to find your disc if you don't keep it on the fairway. Perilous brick tee boxes that can be slippery, and create footing problems
Other Thoughts: This course has the same feel as the old course at St. Andrews, thick roughs and strong winds. That being said, the narrow fairways actually make this a very technical course. Beginners will lose discs. There are several holes that I recommend sacrificing distance for accuracy, specifically hole 7 which is short enough to drive to the basket, but strong cross winds and a steep hill along the right edge of the fairway may make you reconsider. Holes 2 and 5 are unique. Hole 2 is a blind, downhill, dogleg left, that can be very unforgiving. Hole 5 is a down hill dog leg right, and if you go to the right of the basket at all you may find yourself looking for a disc for a very long time, because of the steep hill down to the reservoir, and the tall grass. But for the most part if you can keep it straight, you will have no problems with this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Windy And Smelly

2-4    7/19/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: Derbodis
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great distances for each hole

-Not usually too crowded

-Pretty difficult to land a disc in the retention basin water

-Easy to find discs in the high grass

-Many of the holes are straight forward, no confusion

-Signs have an accurate mapping of where the hole is

-Nice size tees
Cons: -The water smells like rotten eggs and sulfur

-Although easy to find the discs, it takes a while to actually do so. Once you are within 5 feet of the disc, you won't miss it. Otherwise, you're searching for a while just for the area

-On top of a big reservoir hill, so the wind takes your disc for a ride (not usually towards the hole)

-Steep drop-offs from the tee to the fairway
Other Thoughts: With my group, we found 2 discs while here. One was in the retention pond, so it smells awful! Of course that's the one i happened to find. Another was just in the tall grass a ways off of the 7th hole. Not exactly beginner friendly, but oh well. Adds to the challenge

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OPEN

5+    7/3/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a unique park for the area. There are some large hills sloping toward the retention ponds. This is a very open area with tall grass. Only a few trees scattered around the park.

Tee signs and brick tee pads

Good Mach 3 baskets with # plates.

Couple of fast sloping greens.
Cons: Very wide open. I can throw a right hand back hand hyzer on every hole.

The tee pads are rather short and there is no run up room from behind since they are elevated off the ground.

Larger areas of tall grass could be mowed around the baskets making it more enjoyable to play.

Several holes play very close together. They built a fence to protect the tee of #7 of incoming hyzer bombs from #6.

Water was not utilized in the design.
Other Thoughts: I would not drive too far out of your way to pay this course.

Durty Nellies is not far away. Great place to get a drink and there have been some pretty good bands that play here.
http://www.durtynellies.com /

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not your average park

5+    10/15/2013   7/10/2011
Review By: hankbuck
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Volunteer "Stewards of the Course" have been, mowing to expand playability one all holes, making this course much easier to play without as much risk of losing discs then previously. The course is in great shape right now.

The Challenging Course, the tall grasses force you to play the course as it is laid out. Good change of elevations. Other than dog walking this park is pretty much dedicated to disc golf. You can download a scorecard from the Palatine Park District web site, and also submit your low scores.
Cons: If you don't stay on the course, it is easy to lose discs, and you might want to wear long pants, because some of the prairie is rough on the legs. But I have found more disc's then I've lost.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice if this course was 18 holes. It looks like they have the room.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Growing Up - Updated 7/12/2013

5+    6/16/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 99  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In my reviews I normally try to write just enough to be descriptive and helpful. For this course, my home course, I hope readers can tolerate a bit more.

Margreth Riemer Disc Golf Course has just been expanded to 18 holes. I may be biased because I have been working on the expansion for several years, but I truly believe that once tee-pads are in and the back nine is "broken in" a bit more that this course will be one of the best in the Northern Suburbs and will be a true 3.5 rated course.

But that's an opinion subject to debate. What can't be debated are the facts.

*The scenery here is unlike any course in the area. From hole 15's teepad on the hill you can see all of Palatine and can even see the Chicago skyline on a clear day. The hill is one of my favorite places to be because it's such a great view!

(Okay that was more of an opinion, now onto the facts)

*This course is the only course in the area where elevation drastically comes into play on just about every hole on the course

*There is a huge variety of distances in the hole lengths ranging from just under 200' to the upper 400's and everywhere in between.

*Even though the park is busy, the course is well isolated and other park users don't come into play. A lot of park district run courses in the Chicago area are cramped... not the case here. The course is sprawled out over an 85 acre park.

*Walking through this course is quite a workout... the hilly terrain makes for great exercise.

The obvious signature hole on the course is hole 15... a huge 420-ish foot bomb down a giant hill. But holes 2, 8, 11, and 16 are also epic holes that would fit right in on high caliber courses.

Since its installation in 2004, the front nine has not been super popular among the DG community, mostly because it does not have nearly as many trees as is often preferred, making for a relatively easy round. Now, however, the challenging back nine compliments the "warmup" front nine nicely.
Cons: This course is not perfect, and it never will be. The underlying "con" of the course as a whole is the dismal state of the roughs. It can get very very long and can eat up discs unless you watch carefully and use a spotter. It's very unpleasant to walk through and I hate it! The Park District will never go wrong with mowing more here.

Also,

*Most disc golfers, myself included, enjoy trees. There aren't a whole lot of them here!
The dearth of trees means there's not much shade on hot Summer days, and a round of 18 holes can be pretty grueling.
Other Thoughts: I think this review will be lost in the reviews since it was originally an older one, but that's okay. Hopefully some people will see it and find it helpful.

As I mentioned earlier, once the back nine of this course is broken in a little it should be a great Chicagoland destination course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Palatine Course

1    5/17/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 115  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Putting a disc golf course in this area was a great idea, the land is definitely great for it. There's a lot of elevation change here and I had a good time playing it. The course flows very, very well and I didn't lose anytime looking for the next tee.
Cons: It'd probably just be easiest to list these:
- Watch out for the red-winged blackbirds. I was attacked at the first tee by one of these little kamikaze bastards. They're the most aggressive bird I've ever seen.
- The lakes that this course play through are kind of gross looking and polluted and that gives this course a sort of gloomy vibe
- The grass is pretty high in the rough which makes it pretty painful to look for bad drives.
- There's only 9 holes when this course could easily be expanded to several more.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go out of your way to play this course. It was a nice break from driving for me but I don't necessarily know if I'd go back and play it again. This course doesn't really offer any signature memorable holes, but if you have an hour to kill and you're in the area, you might as well check it out. :)

EDIT: Updated an old 2.0 rating to 3.0 because of the nine new baskets. I haven't played it with the new nine yet though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.