Palatine, IL 
Margreth Riemer Reservoir Share
Uploaded By: BKRanger Hole #11 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Alt. Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Up and down and windy

1    9/3/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of elevation changes. Well groomed fairways. Very well signed. Grass adjacent to the fairways is not nearly as tall and dense as described in other reviews here, even with how wet it has been this year. I am putting this in as a pro... along the ridge lines (4, 5, 8, 9) the winds add a challenging element. Even on a day that is far from windy, it can be windy up along here.
Cons: Tee pads are just a bit small. Paver bricks can create some footing challenges. 9 is a bit long in my opinion for a last hole... I tend to like a 9th hole that is a bit more technical, but shorter (think 9 at willow stream). By the end of 9 longish holes or 18 standard the arm can be a bit tired... plus, I like to end on a high note and a great approach and putt out on a nice challenging 9th is a great way to end.
Other Thoughts: Snakes, cat, skunk all encountered along the way. Watch for walkers using the mowed fairways as paths, esp on 4,5,6,7,8,9. The walk down from parking to tee 1 can be treacherous as it is a bit steep.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course affected greatly by wind!

1    8/16/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 901  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This prairie course has some nice elevation changes. The first hole is slightly uphill. The second one is a slight right to left but the basket is tucked down a hill that turns to the left with about 50' left in the hole. Tough to stop your disc from sliding down the hill on your drive. Well used elevation! #3 goes back up the hill and slightly across. #4 is a slightly downhill left to righter (opposite of #2) with the reservoir off to the right (not in play but it affects the throw).

2) Paver teepads are better than grass/dirt.

3) Scenic course ebcause of the elevation changes and the reservoirs you play around. Nice prairies are always attractive because of the wind blowing around the grasses and other plant material.

4) Nice fence structure to protect one of the teepads from an errant drive on the previous show.

5) Very nice use of distance to add challenege. Shortest hole is 244' with the longest at 423'. The long ones are even tougher because of the wind. It is easy to control a drive on a shorter hole than it is on the 400+ holes. The wind is a bigger factor.
Cons: 1) Paver teepads are slightly small. Loose sand on the teepads also contributes to some uneasy steps.

2) Open prairie style courses tend to be a little boring.

3) Water never comes into play unless you really turn one over accidentally or the water level is really high.

4) The worst part of this course were the people on their mountain bikes zooming through the course with no care to consider the people on the disc golf course. i understand it might be multiuse but I would take care to concern the other people ont he course even if just walkng their pets, rollerblading or whatever else, but they were flying about 30+ MPH and zoomed right in front of me when I was trying to tee off on a hole. Plain RUDE!

5) Not real beginner friendly because of the wind factor. The deep grasses will eat up beginners discs who are not good at following their errant throws.
Other Thoughts: Normally I have been bored by these prairie type courses with mowed fairways. This one however, is different. It has some elevation changes along with a topography that really accentuates the wind. The reservoir is down at least 50' vertically and it sits somewhat on a hill so the wind comes whipping down into the reservoir and back up the other side. The fairways are truly your best aim because the rough can be tough to find discs and in spots the rough might actually affect your throw! A lot of times the prairie courses are boring because you can just throw right at the basket, but this one I recommend staying close to the fairway. I enjoyed this course because it was a windy day . . however it would be less challenging and less fun if it was not windy.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Scotish Frolfing

1    7/1/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: Seananagins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If your looking for a good challenge, this is the course for you. It has a great layout and the designer new what he was doing. The fairways are never more than 15 or 20 feet wide.
Cons: Grass up to your waist everywhere other than the fairways makes it incredibly difficult to find your disk if you don't pay close attention to where it went in.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for the early weeks of the season, then it gets incredibly buggy and grassy. Wear long pants and bug repellent.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Accurate is key.

2-4    7/30/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An exclusive disc golf course that is really easy to navigate with its great signage. The holes here are long and narrow which provides you with accuracy practice. There is also a lot of elevation change between holes so that's a great bonus compared to other courses in the area.

It's a great course for a quick round because it is challenging for a 9 holes course.
Cons: Tall grass surrounds the fairways and can be a pain looking for your discs if you don't keep it accurate. It goes around a water reservoir so keep your discs straight and avoid grip locks or you could see it fly all the way into the water. Bring spotters to keep an eye on your discs while it flies or you'll spent some time looking for it.

The tees are bricks and fairly narrow, forcing you to keep your run-ups small.
Other Thoughts: Use bright colored discs so you'll have an easier time finding it in the tall grass. There are good amounts of wildlife around the holes, even spotted a few snakes.

It can get pretty windy sometime so be prepared for it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your accurate game!

1    7/3/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: lko102
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Clear signage at tees
- Good variety of elevations keep things interesting
- Course flow keeps you moving from basket to tee without having to search for the next hole
Cons: - Punishing rough in play on every hole
- Wind can be pretty brutal
Other Thoughts: Bring your accuracy game with you to play this course! Fairways are very narrow, usually 12'-15' for most holes, and every hole has 2-3' grass right up the edge of the fairway. Since the course follows the edge of the reservoir, errant shots can travel quite a ways down the steep slope and are difficult to find in the tall grass. There is a good mix of straight, right, and left turning shots to keep you on your toes, and a good mix of distances keep things interesting for a 9 hole course. The course layout keeps everyone moving from hole to hole without getting lost, but things can bottleneck if the group ahead of you loses a disc in the rough. Bring a spotter and you most controllable disc if you are in town with some free time, but I wouldn't come out of my way to play this again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 C = Cool concept, but falls short of potential

1    5/14/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B (It is not the beauty per se, but the very unique feeling of playing on a wide open hillside that is really cool to me.)
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and fun

5+    4/18/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: beardown4life
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: fair terrain changes. mowed fairways with long rough. reservoir can eat your disc right up. Good place to work on your short/midrange game.
Cons: too short. could continue across the street and expand to 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: small yet quick and slightly challenging. never really crowded.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    5/28/2005   2/3/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 264  Reviewed: 251  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2010
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This 9 holer in Chicago is not that difficult, but it can be pretty challenging. It is in a nice park. The holes are primarily mowed fairways cut through tall prairie grass. The course also plays on some pretty steep hills (sort of an oddity for Chicago).

Navigation is a breeze (no pun intended- see cons.) It did not take very long to play this course, so if you want to get in a quick round, this is the place.

This course will definitely test your accuracy (more like ability to land your disc exactly where you want it- you can take any shot shape you want on most holes as they are open as long as you get above the level of the grass) It will also test your ability to throw in strong winds and also mental toughness while you are searching for your discs and everyone elses.
Cons: It is very easy to lose your disc in the rough or down the hills. The narrow fairways can be hard to hit, especially in the wind (which is present often), but it is Chicago!!!

The holes begin to get repetitive. And then you get frustrated when looking for your disc in the tall grass all the time. (again, narrow fairways, strong winds, and very steep hills can make for tough conditions for many experienced players.)

This park was pretty busy with walkers, joggers, and bikers so use caution.
Other Thoughts: There is not a whole lot wrong with this course, it is pretty nice for those that may live close, but this is not one you would want to travel long distances or out of your way to play. I played it while visiting my sister. We had fun, but one time for this course is enough for me.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 tricky 9 holes

6/10/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: discNDav
Played: 339  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 30.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great elevation used around a reservior.
Easy to follow around.
Cons: Only 9 holes.
Tall grass off the 10-15 ft fairways makes it easy to loose a disc.
Known for a lot of wind.
Other Thoughts: The fairway grass is not cut wide enough. Beginners will have have trouble with this and the wind.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 windy all the time!

10/25/2006   11/26/2007
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: fun lunchtime course. Was right around the corner from Motorola campus. variety of terrain makes it interesting.
Cons: Watch where your disc goes! if you have an errant throw the shwag on the sides is just about the thickest I've seen
Other Thoughts: Trying to get my boss to send me back to Schaumburg for more classes so I can play on all your fun courses!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.