Marion, NC 
Marion Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #3 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Busted and hard to navigate

1    4/7/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 56  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: #1-#5 are okay if you don't mind not having a pad. Course is short so can be played quickly.
Cons: No pads. #2's basket is busted. #6-#9 are difficult to navigate, and aren't really playable in their original orientation. It seems that the land the second half of the course used to play on has changed for the worse.
Other Thoughts: There are 9 baskets, so you can play if you want, but you'd have to make up the second half of the course. In pretty bad shape.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What happened here?

1    10/15/2011   6/10/2012
Review By: WreckDirector
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hmmm, the baskets are still upright, you can take your children and allow them to play on the playground equipment while you sling a few discs and still keep an eye on them
Cons: Where do I start? It's only 8 holes (where was #9???), the tee areas where horrible or non-existent, I had no clue where to tee off from for the most part (we just picked a place), there are houses nearby some holes and don't seem to like if/when you are in their back yard retrieving a disc, it appears that right after the course was built it was abandoned and forgot about as it has had no up keep (instead of a ghost town, it is more of a ghost course), not much of a challenge here (except maybe #2), and it's not easy to find even knowing where it is. My friend and I decided to use playground equipment and foreign objects to aim for to make 18 holes if that tells you anything about the course...we didn't even want to play it through a second time!
Other Thoughts: Not worth your time or effort to even find this course in my opinion. I feel as if those baskets would be better used somewhere (anywhere) else. Just sad.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where are the holes/tees/care??

1    7/11/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 48  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -discatchers
-elevation
-ace runs (hit the basket on 8)
-good place to introduce beginners(we all were at that point at some time so courses like this are awesome for what they are intended)
-easy birdie opportunities
-holes 1-3 (we just picked a place on a random trail for the teebox on number 1, couldnt find one anywhere) were ok lines through a hillside forest
Cons: -The lack of signs/help from locals made it really confusing on where to begin, they did not seem to like the fact of having a disc golf course so close by them
-Tee box's were left undone just like mostly everything about this place
-After hole 5 we had no idea where the rest of the course went, we seen a basket that said 8 on it but could never find a tee box or a number 9 basket
-It was really grown up and my buddy lost a disc
Other Thoughts: If there was very little money put into this place it would get a somewhat better rating even though the several holes we found were really short they provided somewhat of a disc golf experience
-And trust the guy below me.. It is HORRIBLE on a wet day!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Bacchusgt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Would be quick play
Tight shots
Good elevation change
Cons: Very short. Poorly marked
Out of way
After 5 there were no holes. Mud slide took rest out? Save your trip until update confirms rest of holes.
Would be nightmare on a wet day

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I'll give it a 0.5

1    1/7/2009   1/7/2011
Review By: topflight
Played: 86  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 23.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing use of tiny park space. it is a dg course and does provide some level of dg stimulation...although only with a putter. there is not a hole you should not 2.
Cons: cramped, tight (but not wooded), not cared for, almost unplayable. as other reviewers noted - the neighbors come into plau often - dogs, houses, people -maybe those are the "hazaards?"
Other Thoughts: pull the baskets, give them to someone who cares and will put them someone decent where we all can enjoy it. Don't waste your time here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Can’t believe I gave this little course this long of a review.

1    4/4/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 294  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Decent Little Shots. Surprisingly enough, (after having looked at the courses disc score and read the other reviews), Marion had a few decent little shots. It wasn't even close to being epic, but it wasn't terribly lame either (although bordering on terribly lame). All the holes were very short and practically reachable with a putter. The only thing that made the shots decent was the…
- Use of Terrain. For such a small crappy course, the use of terrain here might be about as good as it gets. Every hole had some sort of elevation change, with a few being fairly drastic… and others having the potential for drastic rolls. Aside from the hills, trees and brambles were used effectively… as well an eroded ravine.
Cons:
- The Forgotten Course. Someone went through the trouble of getting permission, getting the baskets, installing the tees and pins… and then… it seems like that's about when they forgot about the course. The tee-pads were unfinished (in that they were un-mulched), the 2x4 frames were weathered and buckling, and there were weeds growing out of center of them. It didn't appear that anyone had played the course in months.
- The DOG. Behind the Pin of Hole 6 and the tee-pad of Hole 7 is the meanest dog in the world. It was some sort of terrier/pit bull mix and he was Pissed Off that we were there. He was chained tightly to his dog house… but that was of little reassurance since there was no fence. If your disc was to travel into his range, forget about it; you might as well have thrown it in a lake, cuz your not getting it back.
Other Thoughts:
- DCB18's Big Putt. On Hole 6, DiscChainBasket18's drive bounced off the top of the basket and flew to within feet of the DOG's reach. Simply put, the dog was foaming at the mouth and practically on DCB18's calf as he knocked down one of the best 25 foot putts I have ever seen.
- Pulling into the Park… you can see all the baskets on the side of a hill. In one view you can see 5 baskets, seemingly right next to each other… and you think to yourself (or to your travel partner), "Damn, this is going to suck." However, once on the course, the layout begins to open up and it makes sense. They did about as good as they could with what they had.
- No Tee-Signs. (Usually a Con)… although, once you find Hole 1, you don't really need them to play the course.
- Directions to Hole 1. From the parking lot, walk down the sidewalk past the picnic shelter and down to the basketball court. You'll see the tee-pad there, along with a welcoming sign. From then on, navigation is a breeze.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hillside course

1    4/4/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 90  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of limited space. DISCatcher baskets. Easy to navigate. Clearly numbered tee boxes & baskets.
Cons: No benches or map. Tee pads are narrow short & wood frame only. No tee signs (but you dont need them).
Other Thoughts: Arriving at this course & seeing all the baskets (seemingly) right next to each other, you think "this could not work". But once you find hole #1 (left side of property near basketball court), the layout is pretty good. It is very well laid out for the 'postage stamp' plot of steep hillside land they have to work with.
#1: Short drive across open field then hyzer uphill left sharply to pin. You are throwing over walking paths & a bench & #2's tee pad is right next to the area your throwing to. Use caution driving on this hole.
#2: very narrow, steep uphill shot through tree gap.
#3: Short, steep downhill shot. Multiple lines through the trees.
#4: Short uphill shot fade left to pin. Dont throw too long or you end up in someone's backyard & you meet barking dog #1. Pin is set on steep hillside rolling left to right.
#5: Short hyzer left over small valley fade uphill to pin. Pin is set on steep hillside rolling down to right. Select tree trunks either help or hinder your landing.
#6: I like to call this hole "Barking dog/Ace/Ravine Run". It is a short, downhill ace run. If you miss short, you fall down into a deep ravine. And if you go long, you could land in the barking dog's space. Tough throw!
#7 is a short drive back across the side of the hill. Steep roll away down the hill to the left. There is a helpful tree trunk near the basket to help stop your disc.
#8: Short downhill throw. Hillside backing up the basket allows you to try an ace run!
#9: medium length throw across hillside then uphill to pin. Short throws land in deep ravine. Cross wood bridge to basket area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 C- = Cool concept, but weak holes

2-4    4/23/2008   4/20/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- D
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- D+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/28/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The baskets are good.
- The course is easy to navigate. Holes are close to each other, so you can get through a round in no time.
- You get a work out walking up and down the hill.
- The course is good practice for short shots.
Cons: It's a course only in the sense it has 9 baskets.
- The baskets are all on the side of a hill that poses a threat to twist an ankle.
- A couple holes come within 20 feet of backyards. In one of the backyards, there was a big, barking dog. Thankfully, I didn't throw long on that hole.
- The course essentially was a bunch of overgrowth that somebody cut with a bush hog. The ground still has lots of small roots and vines that you can trip over if you're not watching every step.
- The holes are all short. There may be only 1 hole that's more than 150 feet.
- I could never find the tee for the first hole.
Other Thoughts: I'm hard-pressed to give any course a zero, but if there ever was one, this would be it. I'm being generous with this rating.
- Being optimistic, with a little work, this course could be be a decent 9-hole course. The park is really small, but there is enough room to move a couple holes from the side of the hill and use the rest of the room in the park.
- Unless you live close by, or just want to add the course to your played list, it's not worth playing.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.