Carrollton, TX 
Jimmy Porter Park Share
Uploaded By: TxDiscGolfBoy Hole #6 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
good park course

5+    5/13/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great use of the creek and the limited elevation
-a variety of different distances, lines, and degrees of woods
-concrete tees and finally has new signs for the (relatively) new layout
-good bridges to cross the creek
-creek is shallow and clear, discs easily retrieved
Cons: -old baskets in okay condition
-no stand out holes
-some of the posted distances seem off, especially hole 14 (looks like over 500' to me)
Other Thoughts: Jimmy Porter has been around for a long time and it is not hard to see why it is a popular course. It looks easy with lots of reachable pins but there are just enough trees, water hazards, and sidewalk OB that it is much more challenging than it looks. I usually leave here eager to come back and beat my score by several strokes!

With 13 holes with water in play and 7 with an OB sidewalk, there are plenty of opportunities to take penalty strokes and it makes for great score separation. Some may find it too punitive but I like it. The OB is clear and good shots shouldn't unluckily end up OB.

There are 2 elevated tees (2 and 6), 2 large bombs (14 and 17), 1 throw across a small pond (12), and several holes with baskets nestled into protected woods (4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13). The holes are mostly short (half under 300') but the variety of terrain features keeps it interesting. That said, there are not any holes that really stand out for me as signature holes.

Jimmy Porter is right down the street from Greenbelt Park and they make a decent pair though they are similar courses. Jimmy Porter is definitely the better of the two. While there are plenty of better courses in the area, this is a solid option with replay value and decent fun factor.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bum Wrap

2-4    12/15/2013   12/16/2013
Review By: ntxdiscgolf
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Requires a number of different shots
- Majority of holes allow for multiple approach angles
- Creek forces you to be tactical, but doesn't hinder your angles
- Course was well kept and had decent flow
- Holes 2, 3, 6 and 10 were 'signature' type holes that make this course worth playing again
Cons: - Tee signs could be better
- Course map at hole #1 would also make this course more easily navigable
- The course does play across a walking/jogging path which requires the player to be constantly aware of foot traffic
Other Thoughts: In reading the previous reviews, this course gets a bum wrap for eating discs. I didn't see this to be the case at all. While water is present on most every hole, it only serves as a boundary and not really an obstacle. Without the water, this course would be fairly mundane and lack any sort of challenge. The lack of length on the course is offset by the strategic factor presented by the creek. Overall a good course and worth playing on a semi-regular basis. Not overly difficult and can be played fairly quickly.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 HUNTING TIME!

2-4    7/5/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout
Requires a good mix of throws
Flow from hole to hole is good
Nice elevation changes
Challenging
Cons: Dirt tees are really in bad shape, constant fear of falling on your face if you have a run up.
Parking lot was abnormally hard to find.
COURSE IS A DISC EATER!
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great great course. It has a great layout, great flow, good elevation changes and it really challenges you to think about what you are throwing and how. The major issues with the course are that the dirt tees are horrid and a injury waiting to happen! This course eats discs! A river/creek runs through the entire thing so be careful, if you throw bad, short, or slightly off target you will have to search for you disc for ages and HOPE to find it, and if you play here regularly the money loss in plastic will add up.
BUT, dont let this scare you away this is a great course and if you are in the area play it!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 "Disc Eater"

5+    10/11/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I just started playing the game in July '11. The better I get, the more I enjoy playing this course. A variety of shots are needed to effectively play the full 18. On some holes, a back hand just wont do.The course is unforgiving and demands precision shots. If you happen to throw your disc in a hazard (which is highly likely), there is a greater than zero chance you'll come out with a few more discs than you started with. Give me a call if you see one with a paw.
Cons: My buddy and I affectionately call this course the "disc eater". Between the two of us, we've lost 6 since July '11. Your first victory is getting through the 18 with all the discs you started with. You can see moderate improvements being made to the course over the past month. If a few more bushes and tree limbs were trimmed back and concrete tee boxes were installed, this course would rivals the best in the area.
Other Thoughts: If you have some skill and can throw without fear, this course is sure to entertain.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/21/2011   2/10/2011
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Okay course. A lot of OB and Water to watch out for. Not recommended for the beginner player. Friendly locals. Had a gentalman walk half the course with my group that was very helpful and knowledgable. Can't remember his name but a red headed college student that once went to Levelland, Tx. SPC for school. I wanted to thank him for helping out and walking us through the course.
Cons: Railroad, Apartments, Roadway, and public walking access. The peds must not see much playing time from golfers and don't realize the way the course plays (Watch out for them). Dirt tees and without the help we received wouldn't have found the next holes on some.
Other Thoughts: Would play again if the course was updated to concrete tees and marked better. Lost a disc in the pond (Discraft Surge with Hancock on it) If willing please contact for return. Thanks

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent If Maintained

1    8/28/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 122  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Requires a good variety of shots to finish course under par. (Based on all holes being Par 3s)

2. Not that hard to figure out where the next holes are located. It basically follows a general path around the whole park.

3. Makes good use of creek that runs through it. The creek comes into play on the majority of the holes.

Cons: 1. Is not maintained very well (or should I say often enough). Grass can be very high and almost unplayable in some areas.

2. Signs and launch pads show some age.

3. Some of the baskets are very old and are not even close to regulation height. (Almost feel like you need be on your knees to put).
Other Thoughts: I have made it almost a quest to play all the 18+ basket courses in the DFW area. Since I just played this one today, I thought I would review this one first. Note: Recently they have replaced the missing basket on the course and the park is mowed, so today it was very playable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Close to home

2-4    7/5/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: JustinKule
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very large and wide open course. This being one of the first courses I ever played, I found this to be great so I wouldn't have to worry about hitting anyone.

The course design is excellent Imo. You will do lots of walking from tee to tee, but never are you crossing through someone else's path. Once you get to around the 4-6th hole the course really begins to open up as you get away from the parking lot. From here on the course just follows a large curve around the entire park.

Cons: My biggest complaint with this course is the lack of any decent tee boxes. If I remember correctly, the first 2-3 holes have cement boxes, but after that you're on your own. The dirt boxes are very uneven and if you are not careful you can easily roll your ankle. I typically tee off slightly to the side of the box to avoid this.

Another concern, at least for relatively new players like myself, is the constant threat of losing a disc. I have not lost any on this course, but have driven home soaked from head to toe and covered in mud. The large pond near the end isn't that deep. If you are still new and are not sure you can throw it over the creek/pond/15 feet grass, you may want to just play around to be on the safe side.

While the course layout is great, some signage would be greatly appreciated. My first time playing here my friend and I had to be pointed in the right direction several times as it doesn't always flow the way it looks like it should.
Other Thoughts: This has become one of my regularly played courses, simply due to my living 5 minutes from it.

I do have my qualms with the course, but I keep coming back. It's challenging, long and worth the time to play a full 18.

P.S.
If you land your disc in the pond near the mid teens, just empty your pockets, lose your shoes, and jump in! It's not too deep(2-3 feet max) A lot of players simply don't even try to get their discs out and you can usually find a few free discs if you wade through the mud.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Tough Course

1    5/4/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: medic87
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots trees which means lots of obstacles to go around to get to the basket. 5 holes maybe a couple more and ltos of water to go over so better be able to throw far and accurate..I saw lots of people goin in the pond out their and all the Daily players for this course had poles to get their dics out of the water so atleast 5 people doing this. Grass is cut and its mostly a narrow course. I had a lot of fun their today!
Cons: The tee of box is mostly all dirt maybe 1 or 2 are concrete. They are not market very well. My friend lost 2 frisbees their in the water. The tea boxs are hiddin not marked with paint and they dont have good maps on the signs before you tea off.
Other Thoughts: bring a ple to get your frisbee out of the water!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun to play

5+    2/24/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Some hidden baskets, plenty of water hazards, easy to follow and improving each time I play there.

Both right and left doglegs come into play. No "cookie cutter" holes zigzagging across a field... each one has its own character and will get better with time (as trees grow and improvements are made).

No really long holes to sap the life out of noodle arms like mine. A good "course management" experience for players that aren't able to bomb the basket from the tee. Not too hard, but tight enough to make you pay if you're throwing wild. Some good birdie opportunities for the average player.

Good balance between easy and difficult. A fun course for the intermediate player... like me.

Parking lot is nice and used for disc golfers only...
Cons: The new tee boxes (elevated dirt surrounded by rail road ties) are better than ruts on the ground, but not by much. At least they drain enough to get dry (with the exception of #11). #14 tee is not elevated (just a rut in the ground) and is a pool of water for days after a good rain. With the drainage problems on this course, concrete tees are needed.

Drainage is a problem for all but the driest of times on holes 11 and 13. It's difficult to navigate the fairways without getting your feet wet in the fall, winter and spring. The Texas sun will take care it in the summer.

Basket areas on 3, 8 and 10 have drainage problems that are badly in need of attention... and there is often standing water too close to baskets 11 and 14.

Signs would be nice for those that haven't played the course before. Mostly on 4, 7, 8 and 9... where you can't see the basket from the tees.

No restroom.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. I don't want this review to look like the course wouldn't be fun, because it is fun. The city (and the wonderful people that help on their own) is really working hard to improve this park... and there are more improvements on the way. The course is fun to play as it gets better, just know it's not finished yet.

When I'm in the neighborhood, I definitely stop by for a nice round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Reborn, Refreshed, Revived

1    7/29/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 211  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a some good elevation, protected/hidden pins, decent hole lengths, accuracy shots, OB's, water, and some real picturesque holes. I played this course as it is still under development. But when the cement tee pads and new signs get put in place, this is sure to be a fun course to play. The shots from up high were great. I loved the few protected pins and felt this course layout was pretty good.
Cons: There is a few extended walks between some on the holes. A map or guide is not necessary, but it sure helps. A few of the latter holes will be much more challenging as the trees grow. There is few tee signs and the tee pads are presently dirt, but give it a little time, I am sure that will be rectified soon!
Other Thoughts: The par 3 settings are not bad for holes of these lengths. The fun factor was pretty good for this course. Some of the holes were so much fun, it made you want to throw multiple drives. As we all know that is a pretty good sign of a fun hole. I wish there was a bit more variance in hole length, but out side of that, this was a fun course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.